Pakistan vs India

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
So, if by some freak accident England beats Australia, then Pakistan can still get knocked out even after winning the next two matches.

nahi faisal bhai, pakistan's runrate will get way betetr IF they win both of these games, and England has only one game. so Pakistans rate will get better then them unless Pakistan play two close games and England wins comfortabl;y against Australia.

A request to Azkar bhai, plz dont let the server go down during the match!!!!!! Warna 3 saal ka mazah kharab ho jaye ga!!!

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
England beating Aussies? Guys, you must be dreaming!

PT kya pata yaara :(, i always wished England beat Australia in VB series, but now i HAVE to pray for Australian win :D

Here goes Faisal:

India

If India beat Pakistan in their final match - or if it is a tie or a no-result - they go through. If they lose, they will still go through unless England beat Australia. If that happens, and if Pakistan beat Zimbabwe as well, it will be two from three between Pakistan, England and India, decided on net run-rate.

Pakistan

If Pakistan win their remaining two matches (against India and Zimbabwe) they will go through - unless England beat Australia. Then, it would be two from England, India and Pakistan, decided on net run-rate.
If Pakistan beat India but lose to Zimbabwe they are out.
If they beat Zimbabwe but lose to India, they can go through only if Australia beat England. Then it would be one from England, Pakistan and Zimbabwe, decided on net run-rate.

England

England can beat Australia and go out (see India) - but they can also lose and go through. For that to happen, India need to beat Pakistan, and Pakistan to beat Zimbabwe. Then it would be one from England, Pakistan and Zimbabwe, determined on run-rate. England's is currently the best of the three. If England do beat Australia, they still need India to beat Pakistan and Pakistan to beat Zimbabwe to guarantee them a Super Six place.

Zimbabwe

Presuming Zimbabwe beat Holland, a win over Pakistan would guarantee them a Super Six place. If they beat Holland but lose to Pakistan, they can go through only if Australia beat England and India beat Pakistan. Under those circumstances, it would be one from Zimbabwe, England and Pakistan, to be decided on net run-rate.

And now I am going to clean the therad. So please Asif, Spock and others lets keep teh discusiion relevant.

Originally posted by ehsan: *
If Pakistan win their remaining two matches (against India and Zimbabwe) they will go through - **unless
* England beat Australia.

ehsan bhai, I read this in the other thread... and this point didn't look too good. We will still be on prayer mats in Eng-Aus match; and if England win then we will be relying on the NRR.

Also the point that if we win against India and lose against Zim, we are out.. oh darn! :(

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

ehsan bhai, I read this in the other thread... and this point didn't look too good. We will still be on prayer mats in Eng-Aus match; and if England win then we will be relying on the NRR.

Also the point that if we win against India and lose against Zim, we are out.. oh darn! :(

Well England defeating AUS is tough task.But you never know.
I dont think PAK is out if they win against India and loose to ZIM. there are too many ifs and buts....

Anythign is possible.Any 2 team out of ZIM,ENG,PAK,IND can go to super six but India is in strongest situation.It will take too many upsets to get India out as they have decent NRR.

Best bet for Pakistan is too win both the matches .One with big margin and not only qualify to super six but almost reserve a place in SEMIS. Yes I said SEMIS... :)

So too much is at stack tomorrow.

:k: Well Said.. :slight_smile:
Ekayak Padosiyon me kitna pyar badh gya hai… :wink:

Well 5 min pehle aana tha na. :hehe:

Humm…I figured from Faisal’s comment… :slight_smile:

All this X beating Y team, and Z going to the super sixes is confusing...

I thought India secured its position in the super sixes, and all of a sudden Im hearing it may change if England beat Australia (which is highly unlikely)...

Some people are predicting that the team who wins the toss in the grand finale (1st march) is going to win. Well, according to them, its a 50-50% chance, but they should keep in mind that our captain might be good enough to ask India to bat first even if he wins the toss (he might have been inspired by the Dutch captain). So Id say India is likely to bat first in that game... A total like 260 would ensure victory for them. On the other hand, if Pakistan bat first, I think 230 would be enough for the bowlers to defend.

*Originally posted by Spock: *
On the other hand, if Pakistan bat first, I think 230 would be enough for the bowlers to defend.

Well I disagree but then you are entitiled to your opinion.
Anyway what will be crucial for Pakistan is to not to allow India to get a good start.If both Sachin and Sehwag are gone with in first 7-8 overs then its easy for Pak but if anyone of them stick till 20-25 overs then it will be tough.As far as bowling is concerned on current form both team have pretty equal bowling lineup.sure on paper Pakistan has better bowling lineup.

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

Well I disagree but then you are entitiled to your opinion.
Anyway what will be crucial for Pakistan is to not to allow India to get a good start.If both Sachin and Sehwag are gone with in first 7-8 overs then its easy for Pak but if anyone of them stick till 20-25 overs then it will be tough.As far as bowling is concerned on current form both team have pretty equal bowling lineup.sure on paper Pakistan has better bowling lineup.

Andha,

The bowling is no where equal... I mean you cannot compare Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib, Saqi to the present Indian bowlers. However, I would also say the opposite holds for Indias batting, which is superior to Pakistans. Again, you cannot compare people like Taufeeq to the likes of Tendulkar...

Andha,

The bowling is no where equal... I mean you cannot compare Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib, Saqi to the present Indian bowlers. However, I would also say the opposite holds for Indias batting, which is superior to Pakistans. Again, you cannot compare people like Taufeeq to the likes of Tendulkar...

spock,

I said they are equal on ** current form **. And I am sticking to it.
If we were comparing over all greatness then yes Pakistani bolwing is better. But Unfortunatley its no the Waqar of 1994 and Shoib of 2002 summer.
Waqar is a liability.He is just another ordinary bowler these days..Shoib is inconsistant(may be good on 1st march,may not be)....Yes Wasim is brilliant. Saqy has been decent.

And if you look at Indian bolwing Zaheer and Srinath has been bowling brilliantly for last 4 months. Cant say same about Nehra. He was good only yesterday that too condition was favourable.

so please make the distinction here.I am not counting past laurels of great Ws.

And if you look at Indian bolwing Zaheer and Srinath has been bowling brilliantly for last 4 months. Cant say same about Nehra. He was good only yesterday that too condition was favourable.

so please make the distinction here.I am not counting past laurels of great Ws.

Come on man, you are still comparing Srinath and Zaheer with Wasim and Waqar, let alone Shoaib...

I do not think Srinath and Zaheer have been bowling brililantly during the past 5 months... Srinath becharey ne tu retirement bhi le li thi yara...
As for Nehra, rehne hi do us ko...

Come on man, you are still comparing Srinath and Zaheer with Wasim and Waqar, let alone Shoaib...

I do not think Srinath and Zaheer have been bowling brililantly during the past 5 months... Srinath becharey ne tu retirement bhi le li thi yara...
As for Nehra, rehne hi do us ko...

Dont just brag .Proof your point with stats.
As for Nehra I agree.

I stick to my point that Zaheer and Srinath has been doing better than Waqar and Shoib in last 4-5 months.

good luck Pakistan:jhanda:

P.S. guys if i actually stop breathing and die during the match…press charges against the Pak team!

Ind v Pak, a World Cup delight

Centurion, South Africa, Feb 28: If cricket alone mattered, Saturdays high-profile World Cup showdown between arch-rivals India and Pakistan would be a connoisseurs delight.

One-day cricket`s leading batsman Sachin Tendulkar facing record-breaking bowler Wasim Akram is only one of the mouth-watering contests on offer at SuperSport Park.

There is also the world`s fastest bowler Shoaib Akhtar sending down thunderbolts at the star-studded Indian batting line-up of captain Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Virender Sehwag.

Or Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh plying his trade against two of the best players of slow bowling, Yousuf Youhana and Inzamam-ul Haq.

Alas, the hype surrounding the first encounter between the arch-rivals in two and a half years has relegated the cricket to the background.

The intense political rivalry on either side of the border has spilled over to cricket with India refusing to sanction bilateral matches against Pakistan in protest at Islamabad`s alleged support of militancy in the disputed region of Kashmir.

The winner on Saturday will be feted when the team returns home, the loser faces heaps of humiliation - irrespective of how far the rivals progress in the World Cup.

Coming at it does towards the end of the preliminary league, the match assumes greater signficance in the race for the Super Sixes.

India, with 16 points from five games, will qualify if they win. Even a defeat will see them through unless England upset the form book and defeat reigning champions Australia on Sunday.

Pakistan, who are lagging behind with just eight points from four matches, must beat both India and Zimbabwe to seal a place in the next round.

We want to win, not only because it is Pakistan, but we want to take as many points as we can into the Super Six, Indian captain Sourav Ganguly.

For his Pakistani counterpart, Waqar Younis, losing is not an option.

We don`t want to leave it to other teams to decide our fate, he said. We have to win both our remaining matches.

The match promises an exhilerating contest as 502-wicket Wasim pits his skills against 11,917-run Tendulkar and Shoaib attempts to rattle the likes of Ganguly, Dravid and Sehwag.

I will target everyone, said Shoaib who was timed at a record-breaking 161.3 kmh (100.23 mph) against England last Saturday.

``Naturally I want to get Tendulkar, because this is a big, big wicket, but not many realise removing Dravid is equally important.

He rotates the strike and in no time he is on 50.

Tendulkar is the tournaments top run-getter with 371 while Wasim is the joint leader with Sri Lankas Chaminda Vaas on 12 wickets apiece.

Pakistan`s wayward bowling and inept batting has so far been a concern for Waqar.

Inzamam, the side`s premier batsman, has scored just 10 runs in four innings, while hard-hitting opener Shahid Afridi has made only seven runs and taken two wickets with his leg-breaks.

The rest of the batting has been so ineffective that number 11 Shoaib tops the team`s averages at 72 following his spectacular 43 against England.

Wasim and Shoaib aside, the rest of the bowlers have bagged just 13 wickets between them and the problem is magnified by the high number of wides and no balls conceded.

Pakistan conceded 41 extras against the Netherlands on Tuesday, the highest in the tournament so far, surpassing their own tally of 31 squandered against Australia.

It may be a different ball game against India, but Pakistan can`t afford to repeat the same mistakes if they are to remain in the tournament
link

HOw is Indian Bowling. We've been hearing its bad but I've heard a lot about Zaheer Khan and NEhra lately. Plus they dominated a good English batting team.

Someone said 230runs would be enough for us. Personally i want to see India score 350runs. Imagine if they play Afridi and he's really on hitting 6's on 6's. Chakkay per chakkay. Can you imagine how pissed the Hindus-tanis's would be? Ah man that would be the best. But i would be surprised if Afridi plays because we cannot take so many chances in such a big match with Inzimam and Afridi.

I will take a win any way we can get it though but a huge score and seeing the faces of Indians would be pretty nice.

come on Pakistannnnnnnnnnnnnn. puhleeeeeeeease. Let's get our form and show the world that we have arrived in South Africa(altough 3weeks late).

I stick to my point that Zaheer and Srinath has been doing better than Waqar and Shoib in last 4-5 months.

Yeah, and I have been to the moon in the past 4-5 months...

btw, leave waqar and shoiaby, our akram alone is enough to encompass your 5 specialist bowlers...

Let's have a clean fight boys.. nothing under the belt.

I just hope the game goes equal, and we have a thrilling game. No one sided affairs.

I also pray that no one gets too badly injured in or after the game.
Who's cleaning up the blood stains in Gupshup after it's all over?

We need a old fashioned pitch invasion, British Style.