Pakistan Vs India | Champions Trophy Final | at The Oval London, 18 June 2017

Re: Pakistan Vs India | Champions Trophy Final | at The Oval London, 18 June 2017

Pakistan have a better overall record (72-52) against India in ODIs, lekin baat yahan ICC tournaments (or pressure games) ki ho rahi hai and there India have a clear psychological edge over us.

Although Pakistan have never beaten India in World Cups, they have twice beaten the latter in CT matches

12th Match: India v Pakistan at Birmingham, Sep 19, 2004 | Cricket Scorecard | ESPN Cricinfo

6th Match, Group A: India v Pakistan at Centurion, Sep 26, 2009 | Cricket Scorecard | ESPN Cricinfo

Re: Pakistan Vs India | Champions Trophy Final | at The Oval London, 18 June 2017

Lets do it boyz..

We all are with you regardless of any possible outcome.

No team is better than india on paper but you can’t and should not rule out unpredictable Pakistani team. We just need to get 2 early wickets ( dhawan, rohit or Dhawan, kohli or rohit kohi) and they would not be able to cross 260 InshALLAH.. As of yet no team has tested indian middle order as their top order has been performing well since the start of the tournament . I am sure if we put their middle order under pressure by taking early wickets, the result would be quite different .

Regardless of any possible outcome?
We want victory else it will not be good for them, telling yew

Ok, thats your personal choice. It shouldnt be that way.

For me, I’ll love and back them no matter what happens tomorrow.

i would love to see India and Pakistan play in the FINAL of every tournament…that’s good for health of those who have low blood pressure…haha

Let’s hope for the best but the fact is the same bowling attack (despite doing well against other teams) has come unstuck against India in ICC matches in recent times.

Very interesting stat!

guys, i am running all kind of complicated data-based simulations to find out a scenario in which we can beat india but alas not finding much. the problem is our pathetic batting. if you look at the oval wicket for last few years, it is a high scoring pitch with an electric outfield. so i really dont see how can we restrict india below 250. in a very good bowling scenario for us, India will still score minimum 0f 290-300 and I just dont see this Pakistani batting lineup scoring 290 given our historical record.

and can we restrict india even to 300? the wicket is flat and will be a batting wicket. and the biggest weakest bowing link is junaid who does not bowl well in death overs in big matches based on the data i pulled from cricinfo. looks like he is mentally weak. so he may go for a lot of runs in his final 5 overs.

Also, our 5th bowling option is comprised of part times such as faheem, hafeez, imad and shoaib malik and most likely can go for 100-130 runs in 10-15 overs. So between Junaid last 5 overs and 10 overs between likes of hafeez, imad or faheem, shoaib, india will score minimum of 150 runs, which means even if hassan, aamir and ruman (or shadab) bowls exceptional and give only 140-150 runs between their 30 overs, india will still score 300.

looking at the historical data in big ICC matches, we could not even chase easy 260 runs against india on batting pitches. Indian bowling especially in death in the best in the world right now.

so i think our best bet is to magically restrict india to below 250 to have any chance. maybe play 4 fast bowlers. data not supporting pakistn but who knows. mircale do happen

To simplify the Strategy:

-Pakistan batsmen should avoid aerial shots or in some cases hit overhead with conviction… :k:

-Pakistan bowlers should bowl wicket to wicket(look for LBWs) with some good line & length with great discipline… :k:

-The fielders should expect catches on every delivery and take them well… :k:

-A 300+ chase should be calculative from the very first over to the end… :k:

:jhanda: and Good Luck! :smiley:

I see what you are doing here, young phoenixdesi. You are doing panvathi on the Indian team. Here is a counter panvathi on the Pakistani team - take that.

The Pakistan cricket team is mercurial, with an unconventional approach. It started slowly, and has been improving each game. The bowling unit is performing like a well tuned machine. The fielding has improved with each game. The hunger is back.

The much maligned batting showed its potential in the game against England. It faced down the fast bowlers without breaking a sweat. The openers went about their business prefessionally. The young blood has transformed this side - with caution mixed with the right proportion of aggression. Sarfraz provided great leadership with impeccable decisions. Not to mention India killer Shoaib Malik is due for a big one. Along with Prof Hafeez.

The sleeping giant is awake. Doesn’t look very good for India.

based on my analysis, i have a recommendation. if you have to kick someone out to accommodate aamir, kick junaid out and keep rumman raees. i am saying this bcause junaid is mentally weak in death overs plus after seeing rauman spell, i really like that the guy is mentally strong. he bowled yorker length throughout to players like ben stokes which shows he has stamina and mental strength.

bhai jan, very good summary but sarkar, one has to do all of this in every match. give us some out of box solutions.

I am still struggling to understand why would Pakistan love to bat second against india? against india, everything changes in the pakistani team. they lose their natural flair and become under pressure. why would you want their already brittle batting to bat second? their best chance to bat first no matter what the conditions are, and somehow score above 280 or so and then hope pressure and good tight Pak bowling will win us the match. if india bats first, it will be exponentially difficult for us

It is going to be baking hot tomorrow (31c) which means The Oval pitch will be dry and flat. This will help batsmen more than the bowlers.

Batting first will be a bonus

BBC Weather

so much heat and dry wicket may mean some reverse swing can happen plus in second half, expect some spin in the wicket

dont understand how can faheem Ashraf will fit as 4th regular bowler? he is simply not an international bowler. simple as that. mediocre, slow, medium pacer, no swing, useless bowler. any good international team will eat him alive

so guys, help me understand. apart from hassan ali, aamir and junaid, who will bowl rest of 20 overs? faheem, imad, hafeez and shoaib malik? allah o akbar. complete disaster. indians may score 180 runs in those 20 overs on a good batting wicket.

faheem ahsraf shd not play as 4th regular bowler replacing shadab. if he plays, he will play as a bastman and 3-5 overs as a bowler. matlab, kick imad out aandplay faheem. shadab or ruman will play as 4th bowler.

strongly recommend kicking imad out and play faheem

**PD final recommendation for bowling:

**Amir
Hassan
Junaid
Rumman
Faheem+Hafeez+Shoaib to bowl remaining 10 overs between them

Shadab and Imad need to sit out to make way for aamir and faheem

man our batting is weak. Sarfraz will come at 6 and then remaining 5 are simply useless except some hitting here and there. that is where we lose all the balance. plus in top 6 we have hafeez, malik, babar and azhar who are all slow players.

^ This is what I believe to be the best combination as well.

Malik is not slow. He has been just too inconsistent lately

didn’t see your post but both of us arrived at exact same conclusion…so i reckon there is some logic behind it.

now lets’s hope mikie arthur does not use his half brian too much . i have said this many times, arthur is a blunder strategically and i am not impressed by him.