Re: Pakistan vs India 3rd Test Match @ Karachi Jan 29 - Feb 2 2006
Dhoni can put his share as well.
On a "fast & bouncy track", Sami and Akhter must start the attack.
I think Pak should go back to the old Sami, Rana, Akhtar attack with Razzaq as back up. But that is only if the track is indeed a bit "fast and bouncy" :D.
I think Pak should stick with Asif instead of Sami. Asif is much better than Sami.
I am afraid they might make this pitch too sporting. But I think cricket deserves it after first two tests.
Yep and India wins the toss and put us in … we score 300+ and they follow with 500+ … we score 250+ in 2nd innings … they chase a target below 100 for series victory and manage to do it for the loss 2 or 3 wickets …
^ do u mean that by i’m afraid???
I am glad Pak lost few quick wickets on day 5 of Test 2. That will keep them on the ground and will be in their minds when they play in Karachi. So I have a feeling if the Karachi pitch is bouncy Pak will have a good chance of winning the last test. InshAllah. Our Boyzzz can do it.
Apkey moun main ghee shakkar Anees Bhai
^ do u mean that by i'm afraid????
Zero_one Bhai,
Kiyun apni banning kou invitation bhej rahe hou, its like telling Saby Bhai, Aa Bail mujhe maar, Singh nahi tou dum se maar:p
And I will be glad when Pakistan lose a few quick wickets at Karachi:D
^ We will make sure to lose few [only few not all] quick wickets to make you happy and if Pak won you make sure you are celebrating with us :)
When India-Pak play cricket matches, nobody wants to lose cause that means losing your job as captain or manager and in certain cases the entire board gets changed. Therefore, this final test match will most likely be played on defensive tactics by both sides, moreso Pakistan cause they may have to play w/o the services of Inzimam and maybe Akhter.
Fartguru Bhai,
What happened to Akhter????
Akhter's ankle niggle is becoming a source of major concern, its quite possible that they may rest him in Karachi. Aur banao aisee dead wkts, like Lillee and Botham had experienced in the past such wkts are grave yeards for fast bowlers. Our great Khan sahib also had suffered from shin fractures after playing regularly on sub-contenental pitches.
Aejaz Bhai yaar jab baat moun say nikaal dee to abb jaisa bhi tofan a’ay hum ko manzoor hai … and u know **… kiya to darna kya
Shoaib doubtful for third Test
Cricinfo staff
Pakistan’s strike bowler, Shoaib Akhtar, may miss the third Test against India at Karachi next week, after aggravating an ankle problem during the two drawn matches at Lahore and Faisalabad.
Shoaib was the bowler of the series in the Tests against England last month, picking up 17 wickets in three matches. But he has struggled to make any impact on the current series, with just one wicket in 41.2 overs, and according to Pakistan team sources, a decision on his fitness will be taken in two days’ time.
“Yes his ankle is bothering him and right now we are not sure if he will be completely fit for the Test,” Pakistan’s captain, Inzamam-ul-Haq told Reuters. “But he is very keen to play and take some wickets which is good news.”
In spite of his poor returns at Lahore and Faisalabad, Inzamam recognised that Shoaib’s absence would be a huge blow to Pakistan’s prospects of victory, especially as Karachi is widely expected to offer more assistance for the bowlers on both sides.
“Hopefully things will be different in the final Test,” said Inzamam. “I do feel sorry for Shoaib and the other bowlers because in my entire career I have not really seen Tests turning out this way and the batsmen dominating the way they have done so far in this series.”
“We are keen to get a result from this series because the last two series have been very well contested and it would be a pity if we didn’t have a clear winner.”
‘We wanted pitches with bounce’ - Woolmer
January 26, 2006*
Bob Woolmer, Pakistan’s coach, today rubbished suggestions that the hosts had deliberately prepared batsmen-friendly wickets to avoid losing the Test series to India. “Quite frankly, the instructions passed to the groundsmen were that we wanted good cricket pitches with bounce,” he told AFP.
“Those were the instructions. We don’t make the pitches, we don’t roll them, but we were hoping that they will produce good wickets for us. We don’t want bare pitches without any grass on it and that’s what Lahore and Faisalabad pitches were. It was the combination of weather and over-use of the pitches in the middle of the season.”
Woolmer revealed that the National Stadium pitch at Karachi had a fair amount of grass on it but was unsure how much of it would remain when the Test starts. “There are still two days to go, the pitch will be rolled and the juice will be removed. I suspect they will cut it down to a normal Test pitch,” he said.
Meanwhile, stung by criticism about the lifeless pitches in Lahore and Faisalabad that produced piles of runs and utter boredom, the Pakistan Cricket Board has announced remedial measures while stoutly defending itself and the Pakistan team management.
Citing an attempt to amend the docile pitches on view in Pakistan, the PCB announced that it is taking initiatives with international assistance. “In order to improve soil conditions at our venues, the PCB will hold an international experts workshop to chalk out measures to improve the sub-soil so that our pitches are able to produce the required bounce for a proper contest between bat and ball,” the PCB said today. “The PCB has already requested Turf Institute of New Zealand to send an expert after the conclusion of the current series.”
The board also clarified that it had, in consultation with Inzamam-ul-Haq and Woolmer, indeed asked for “hard, bouncy pitches” to be prepared for the three-Test series against India but unfavorable weather conditions - rain, frost and an absence of sunshine - had a large role in turning both venues into bat-dominated affairs.
It also absolved the curators at both venues of any particular blame by citing the example of the recent series against England, during which the pitches had held up admirably. After the run-glut on a featherbed of a pitch in Lahore in the weather-hit first Test, the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad had assumed importance, but any hopes were dispelled with a match aggregate of 1702 runs - the fourth-highest for five-day Tests - with only 28 wickets falling.
All hopes now rest on a more responsive pitch at Karachi to salvage the series.
Then why did PCB arrange the series in such conditions? PCB should've known what the weather is in Pakistan/Punjab in this month of year, shmucks, drained much of the interest in series down the drain.
Abb khuda ka wasta Pitch ki jaan chorr do ...... Khas kum jahan paak ...... wait for the ODIs if u expect a bit excitement otherwise do as i did ...... just notice th score and smile about and wait for a real series which is atleast worth looking forward too insha'Allah
I am boycotting this series, if they had another bouncy wicket in Karachi. ![]()