Re: Pakistan vs India 3rd Test Match @ Karachi Jan 29 - Feb 2 2006
only 200-odd runs in next two days? Are you still living in the 70’s?
Even Rizwan-u-zaman can do better than that in 80s.
haha kya yaad dila diya! Do you know he was still playing? (at least till last two three seasons) I found it quite disturbing! :D
Cant forget his batting in 1987 sereis. This guy batted for 5 hours to score 50. And he did it 2-3 times.
Most boring bastman of all time…
http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1980S/1986-87/PAK_IN_IND/PAK_IND_T4_04-09MAR1987.html
http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1980S/1986-87/PAK_IN_IND/PAK_IND_T2_11-16FEB1987.html
yar f & b kya zamana yad dila dya tum nay. One of the most boring cricketer Pakistan has ever produced was that guy.
Precisely. He actually put me off cricket in those days even though I was a kid but I blame him for the death of test cricket audience in Pakistan.
5 off 54 and 58 off 252. Oh God that must have been torture!
^ I wouldn’t know anything about the 70’s. I wasn’t even born than. ![]()
Look at Ahmedabad test.
Pak batted 99 overs for 135 run and chief architect by Rizwan bhai..
Thinking of 'batting out India out of game' will not take us anywhere, unless this is yet another useless "mind-game". Same happened in Test 2, Younis could've added some spice in the game by declaring at some point on day 5 before lunch and let India bat. Pakistan should (try to) play till tea time of day 4 (I wish they can last that long) then declare (if not already all out :D ).
Boss,
Lets not get carried away. By hoping that pakistan will bat till tea time on 4th day you are basically expecting Pak team to play out 6 complete session in this test match and then get Indian out in 4 session.
Wicket has to be pretty damn easy for them to survive 6 sessions and if it is so then Indian can easily bat 4 session. Dont make too many khayali pulao. Pakistan doest need to bat that long. If they are able to bat full 3rd day then they will be atleast 450 runs ahead and that score is good enough to win the match. If they wait till tea on 4th day then we have a drawn match on our hand. And I dont think this is going to be a drawn test match.
Ia gree with f&b. On one hand we want ourselves to be positive and on the other we want them to leave no time for our bowlers to dismiss them. Target should be unreachable but should still give Indians some sniff (400+ should do) so that they dont go in the blocking mood altogether.
First session is the key. If we survive that successfully, then these permutations are realistic.
haha. white lie. That too coming from GS director? What would us admins learn then:D
Yaar. If i was Younis Khan, this would be my plan. Bat all of Day 3 and add around 340 runs (lead of 520) keeping in mind that a declaration is imperative at stumps. If we have wickets in hand by the end of the day then we can go crazy slogging last 10 overs @ around 7-8 per over. Declaration because then Pakistan will get a whiff at indian wickets on Day 4. We have seen and reconfirmed by Michael Holding himself that this is a new ball pitch. So plug the variables in the equation and see for yourself: EARLY MORNING MOISTURE + NEW BALL = CHAOS, DEATH, DESTRUCTION, HUNGER AND FAMINE!!
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
Tumhara bura time aanay wala hai. :p
Pakistan should save the match first and then look for the win. Both teams have scored above 4 run/over. Considering the number of sessions left and Inida's oh so amazing batting lineup, anything less than 500 is not a safe total.
If India goes on defensive with their oh so amazing batting line up that would be a shame! I see them playing for a draw already.
bhai issi liye to mai ne bola “I wish”
… anyway, what I meant was for Pakistan to play till atleast lunch day 4 and declare by lunch or anytime after lunch that would leave like 1.5 days for bowlers to wrap Indian inning :).
Mujhay maaf kerna bhaio,70’s aur 80’s kay shumaray mai, bhai Fayz ki baat bilkul Shirly Temple ki squeckiness jaisi lagi,:Pretty::k:
j/k bhaiya!
Lets hope Pakistan team can play the whole 3rd day withuot any batting collapse. Considering the past record and tension for this decider, there could be a batting collapse. Inshallah, if every thing goes well on day 3, Pakistan could exceed their lead to 500+. In that case we need to bat for an hour on day 4 and than declare. Ideally we don't need to bat for an hour on day 4 but considering the defensive mentality, it is likely that they will try to reach the target of 600.
Captain1 Bhai,
If Wishes were Horses Beggers would Ride:p , Waise seriously I feel there is nothing that can take away this match from Pakistan, Until and Unless, the Pakistani Players themselves throw it away.
Anything above 450 is going to be a very very Uphill Task for India.