Pakistan vs India 2nd Test Match @ Faisalabad *Jan21 - Jan 25 2006*

Re: Pakistan vs India 2nd Test Match @ Faisalabad Jan21 - Jan 25 2006

Why was my thread on second test disregarded ? Would somebody explain.

For those who are looking for a result, 50/50 here we go

http://statserver.cricket.org/guru?sdb=ground;groundid=639;class=testground;filter=basic;team1=PAK;team2=0;notteam=0;decade=0;homeaway=0;month=0;season=0;startdefault=1978-10-16;start=1978-10-16;enddefault=2005-11-24;end=2005-11-24;tourneyid=0;finals=0;daynight=0;toss=0;scheduledovers=0;scheduleddays=0;result=0;followon=0;recent=;viewtype=resultlist;innings=0;runslow=;runshigh=;wicketslow=;wicketshigh=;ballslow=;ballshigh=;bpo=0;overslow=;overshigh=;event=0;submit=1;.cgifields=viewtype

Since flat-batting tracks are not acceptable anywhere in Pakistan, it would only be fair if a thread dedicated to such surface is garbaged and trashed immediately, not to be seen anywhere again.

:stuck_out_tongue: / :clown: / :hug:

i don't understand the concept of a certain ground having a history of no results or whatever when a pitch/ground can be manipulated any way one wants to manipulate it.

^^ i agree last time a international match was played there was pakistan vs england and it was a very good result for us

The name FAISALABAD is an oxymoron....since test matches there almost always end without FAISALA.

That's WHY it's known as faisla BAD

you need to learn a lot about stats and other conventions in life :stuck_out_tongue: … as mentioned above by acrobi, 11 out of 23 Test matches played produced result… that is not “almost always no result” :kursi:

Okay ladies, thank you for biology lesson on Faisal-Abad. Back to test 2!

Hmm so there was at least one result. It will be nice to find result in this match. Otherwise unlike Lahore, Faisalabad ground offer other ways of entertainment to the crowd. A gas cylinder can suddenly blow causing Afridi to go mad and damage the pitch.

:slight_smile: By the way, all three results were possible in this recent match as well. After day 2 Inzy was confident of an easy win as 679 was a good total and he was expecting his bowlers to work hard and get early wickets ( :cb: ). Then India was confident that they must have won this match if weather was not playing its role. At the end it was a draw. Sehwag found the pitch very sporting.

Here is another update regarding weather, as another day passes by.
the news is Okay - shokay coz on the 1st, 3rd and 4th day there is a 20% chance of rain. I hope this will go down with time.

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/tenday/PKXX0002?dp=precipdp

Has anyone of u Pak fans noticed that almost none of the guppies says Pakistan will insha'Allah win but press on claims like "we'll kick some indian a$$" or "let's hit the veggie bowlers" ...... is it the Ghroor of Victory against Eng or how should one discribe it ????? atleast during the England series almost everyone had the word Insha'Allah in his/her post ...... sorry to do the Mullah part here but i think this is from our (Pak Fans, atleast the Muslims, i don't know about others) point of view a very important thing namely the belief in the help of the almighty Lord

I can definitely attest to the fact, at least from my side, that personally, I haven’t come across any “ghroor” posts from any members that would signify any such indicators in the personality and/or the behavior. What I do have is at least three (3) documented instances of posts, taken out of the context of first test match’s thread, that I am proud to present. Here it is, for your convenience: :slight_smile:

1. Ameer Hamza

2. dhobi_bhai

3. Captain 1

:slight_smile:

I heard in News that second test is under threat of weather due to persistent rain.......

Was it just now? Today's news?

I saw this on news channel in the evening, let me check web and see if there is something about it..

http://news.webindia123.com/news/showdetails.asp?id=223823&cat=Sports
Here is the article..
**I can’t go against nature, says Pakistan pitch doctor
**Faisalabad | January 18, 2006 9:51:50 PM IST

With rain lashing the city last night and a downpour forecast for tomorrow, the fate of the crucial second cricket Test between India and Pakistan starting here from Saturday hangs in balance.

As the severe cold wave is sweeping across the region, it is likely to have major effect on the proceedings of the game slated to be played at Iqbal Stadium.
‘‘After several decades, this area is witnessing such a severe cold and that has hampared the pitch pepration at the Iqbnal Stadium’’, said Pakistan Cricket Board’s chief groundsman Agha Zahid.
‘‘I just can’t go against nature. I can prepare a track as good as the conditions allow me’’ the visibly upset groundsman said.
‘‘It rained yesterday and there is a prediction for more rain.
So what you expect me to do in such situatio?’’ he asked.
Zahid said there is a little grass on the track ‘‘but it is dead grass and where you expect me to get that green grass? I am not a magician.’’ The curator however had a special word of thanks for Indian skipper Rahul Dravid, who did not criticise him for the track in Lahore.
‘‘Rahul is a fine cricketer, a good human being and I am happy that he defended me’’ Agha said adding ‘‘It feels nice to be defended by such a big cricketer. I am happy that Dravid understood the problem faced by groundsmen in such conditions.’’ After the drawn Test at Lahore, Dravid saw no reason to blame the groundsman for the pitch.
‘‘It’s easy for people to criticise the groundsman. But, there’s no science behind preparing a pitch. As cricketers, even after so many years, we are not sure how a wicket will play,’’ Dravid had said.
‘‘I am sure they also want good wickets. Hopefully, we will get good tracks in the remaining Tests,’’ Dravid said.
Zahid also cautioned the teams of another problem that of bad light. The second Test is also likely to be hit by bad light - apart from bad weather - and poor visibility may play havoc with the proceedings of the game as it happened in Lahore. Meanwhile, Indian team drove down from Lahore and arrived here this evening

Janab apkey moun main ghee shakkar :slight_smile:

Yaar hum to news bata raheny hain... baki to sab top floor vale ka kamal hai

:eek::eek::eek:

Mian Sahab, yeh pitch kay doctor kubsay banna shuru hogaye?

Mein ney pehley hee kaha tha, chalo chalo Karachi chalo. Sub nay sunee ansunee kar dee. Kambakhton, baron ka kehna kabhi maan bhi liya karo. :stuck_out_tongue: