Have faith guys... My final is on the 1st! Lets see what happens then ;)
Where are all those, who were saying Afridi should play. Lo beth ke chaato ab Afridi ko...
Waqar is such an asshole....is kicked out the only inform batsman....Saleem Elahi, for Afridi. What a pathetic decision. By the likes of how they are going about, I hate to say this, but our team does not deserve all what we are hoping for.
Yeah We also had three finals in last three years ![]()
TRUE…he took 2/36 in his 8 overs…not bad if u look at how ur pacer shoaib bowled after setting the world record which might do him some good…afridi served an extra bowler…what did inzi n youhana do??? u can’t just blame one person for a loss of 112 runs its not just 12 runs…why the hell are the rest of the 10 players there for
EXACTLY…i think the captain knows but he still keeps saying that we’ll win the worldcup n experienced players like wasim say stuff like we’ll meet aussies in the final when they’ven’t even made it to the super six its just stupid…they can’t do it…
*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
Where are all those, who were saying Afridi should play. Lo beth ke chaato ab Afridi ko...
Waqar is such an asshole....is kicked out the only inform batsman....Saleem Elahi, for Afridi. What a pathetic decision. By the likes of how they are going about, I hate to say this, but our team does not deserve all what we are hoping for.
Where are all thse, who constantly yelled at Waqar for not playing 6 bowlers against Australia.
AFridi should NOT open on those tracks, i agree. But the team selctionw as fine. Aur kiss ko drop kerain? All peolple were saying ke backup your strength aka bowling so he included six bowlers. Its another matter that all these players Inzi's and youhanas havent performed to thier potnetial. I hope they strike form against Holland and score big, improve thier run rate and play at thier best Against India.
*Originally posted by Spitfire: *
TRUE...he took 2/36 in his 8 overs....not bad if u look at how ur pacer shoaib bowled after setting the world record which might do him some good.....afridi served an extra bowler...what did inzi n youhana do??? u can't just blame one person for a loss of 112 runs its not just 12 runs...why the hell are the rest of the 10 players there for
yeah agreed. Afridi contributed in some sense, what did other batsmen do??? There were 4 other specialist batsmen outt there and none of them except for Saeed did any better then Afridi.
*Originally posted by saby: *
yeah agreed. Afridi contributed in some sense, what did other batsmen do??? There were 4 other specialist batsmen outt there and none of them except for Saeed did any better then Afridi.
Exactly, Inzi and Youhana went for 0 and Younis went for 5. Afridi scored 6, still higher than the other 3 "specialst batsmen." You jus can't blame one person for the loss. Afridi contributed with the ball and in the feild...yeah he shouldnt open, but he deserves a place in team for his bowling. It gives Pakistan a strong 6th bowling option in situations like today, when Shoaib was expensive. But one person who needs to be dropped is Razzaq. He has been really unimpressive in the WC. Inzi hasnt done anything, but u cant drop a player like him.
Unpredictable pakistanis and the matches to COME
Ok guys, a miserable match by Pakistan against england indeed, if anything positive came out was that Shoaib can actually bat ;) and the pakistani bowling attack is still very consistent and dangerous.
pakistan will probably still make it to the super sixes as long as they beat holland and zimbabwe with convincing run rates. that leaves India to beat England, and England losing to Australia, which will give both pak and eng. 3 wins, but if pak has a better r/r which they should, they should come out 3rd place, and if they happen to beat india, they may or may not end up 2nd place.
however, we all know how unpredictable this pakistani side is. we can not expect them to win all 3 matches to come, yet we cannot say that they wont win all 3. it may take just one good match in both ends (batting and bowling) to put some confidence into pakistan.
I think azhar mahmood deserves a chance in the holland match before the India match next week, and they should play with the lineup and see which pairs of batters play well together, i.e. anwar/elahi, anwar/taufiq, or even taufiq/elahi with anwar coming in at 1 down, inzamam at 4, then youhana, younis khan at 5 and 6, latif at 7, followed by the rest of the team as it is now.
i waz still hopin when wasim waz still on pitch but after him i waz bout to kry but shoaib didn't let me kry:)
There is only one world describes today's performance, PATHETIC.
You can blame Waqar all you want but people know that our batsman are pathetic. They beat up on wounded kids like Zimbabwe and New Zealand once in a while and they become world beaters, they are nothing but one hit wonders.
It doesn't matter what the excuses were, Pakistani batting was horrible. The batting conditions were perfect, and a score of 247 was very easy. Its one thing being failed to chase 200+ against Australia or South Africa but not England.
Pakistan beat Pakistan today, not England. The only 2 dissmisals I believe derserve credit to the fielding sides was the dissmisals of Saeed Anwar and Yousuf Youhana. Other than that, all of them were 3rd class display by our batsman.
It all started with Afridi being carried away. Then Inzimam looking stupid, then Younis Khan playing an ugly shot.
Nevermind about the lower order, how can you play well when your so called "specialist batsman" couldn't get into the double digits.
Someone said bring Elahi, he would have done the same. Atleast Afridi took crucial wickets or the margin of English victory would have been larger. Saeed Anwar once again looked badly out of touch, he was very lucky to survive the earlier LBW appeal which was plumb.
But in the end Shoaib brought some excitement into the match. I have never seen anybody hit like that before ever. I saw when Lance Klusener hit Windies bowler in the same ground 2 weeks ago, but this is the single best inning I have every seen in my life. Brilliant hitting from Rawalpindi Xpress.
About bowling, it was good and bad, Wasim was great as usual, Shoaib never really looked like taking wickets, I guess he set out a plan today to bowl 100 mph delivery. Did everyone see his change of action of that delivery.
Waqar Younis, Abdul Razzaq, Saqlain Mushtaq and Shahid Afridi all bowled decently, and concerning that this pitch was a batsman's paradise, they did a pretty good job. But at the end of the day, the batsman once again have failed us.
Its a tought task from now on if Pakistan has any chance of going to the super 6.
Go back to the beginning of the thread where I said BEFORE the match started that the only problem would be if we had to bat under lights which would make England’s medium pacers look like world beaters. So far we have been beaten by the Aussies who are the best team by a long distance and by England in freak conditions. If we lose to India I’ll hold my hands up and say we deserved nothing better but until then we fight on ![]()
Well, I said after the namibia game that Inzimam should be dropped but people said he was such a class player. Now see what we got for that. It doesn't matter if you are a class player or not if you can't score. Saleem Elahi and Taufeeq Umar may not be such 'classy' players but at least they would have scored more than duck! We should play these 2 in the games against Holland to give them some practice and then again against india. Afridi and Inzimam shouldn't play against India. Afridi can play if we play 5 other batsmen and team decides to have 2 spinners though i don't think it is necessary against India.
Oh come on yaar, I didnt expect you to defend the pathetic performance of our team. They were crushed by a third rate attack. I dont think the conditions played anybig part in it. Remember when Afridi, Inzi, Youhanna and Younis got out the night conditions had not set in. It was just a spineless, gutless display by our team.
ehsan if I see a pathetic performance I'll be the first to point it out. England might have a third rate attack but under the lights it's tranformed into a damn useful one. Don't tell me you didn't see that ball swinging and seaming pretty sharply right from the off. Maybe we could have played better but it was hard work out there.
Here's my litmus test:
When England play India in another D/N'er I can guarantee you that if India bat first they will make a useful score against an ordinairy attack in daylight, but if India have to bat under the lights they will struggle the same way we did. If that doesn't happen then you can say I was wrong :)
inzimam and afridi both need to be dropped
Ehsan bhai, Xtreme is right, the conditions were freak and bowler friendly. We were bad enough to lose the match. And even commentators were saying that pitch suddenly looking a green top wicket. I m as much disappointed as you are But there was not 100 percent thier fault. say 70-30. Insha’allah we will beat India and move on into the super sixes. ![]()
Better luck on Tuesday ![]()
As long as we are not out of the world cup, fight on ![]()
As for yesterday’s performance what our batsmen did was nothing new, so no point in saying anything to the batsmen
jiyo hamarey shairoon ![]()
Our bowling was good but the flaw was once again there in Waqar’s acaptaincy. He did not go for the kill just as he didn’t do it against Aussies after having send their top batting back to the pavillion.
inning or loosing is part of the game. If Pak is to win the world cup we will have to win every match including the final from now on. Pretty tough ask from a team that has lost atleast two times more than it has won. But as they say it you are in with a chance until its over.
I said it again and again and again.........we need Sami replacing Razzaq. We need a sixth bowler who can take 2-3 wickets in the middle. That makes alot of difference.
As for the worst batting display....i think it would be a tough decision but we need to drop inzi now....we need taufeeq umer and saeed anwer for openning. If afridi has to play, he should be as spinner and for batting he should be sent at no. 6. We might need to bring Imran Nazir. perhaps we can't afford more experiments in a torny like that.