well, Waqar brought Shoaib and Saqlain back. And they both provided breakthroughs immediately. Then after having thm 190-7 he brought Wasim back in 38th over to finish them up but Wasim just couldnt. So why blame Waqar?? I know you like Wasim a lot and dont like Waqar at all. But unfair criticism is not god, dont you think? Our bowlers no doubt conceded 20-0dd extra runs but n a great batting strip in day light. Our batters just couldnt do it again. And yeah, its not the end of the road yet. We can still fight, though its gonna be really hard for them to pick themselves up after such a dismal performance. I hope they do
you only dunno one little detail that how much i adore Waqar as a bowler
he just isn’t the right choice for captaincy and mind you balling change isn’t the only thing required to take wickets ![]()
sorry for the offense if you think there was :). Yeah i agree that keeping the pressue is also reuiqred to take wickets. But his bowlers disappinted him that aspect. He himself bowled a good spell of 5 overs , took 2 wickets and gavfe away 16 runs. Got spanked in the next two, brough shoaib who just wasnt putting the ball in the right areas. Insha’allah he will improve even more and we will qualify. ![]()
P.S i also agree he isnt the ideal man for the captaincy but we had NO other choice.
I myself thought Waqar did a really good job as the captain yesterday. His rotation of the bowlers was done really well. Unlike the Aussie game, he actually brought back Shoai earlier on, and it resulted in a Micheal Vaughan wicket. I don't think Waqar did anyything wrong yesterday, only the batsman should be blamed for this disaster.
Xtreme bhai, please don't blame the conditions, as it were perfect for batting.
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
I myself thought Waqar did a really good job as the captain yesterday. His rotation of the bowlers was done really well. Unlike the Aussie game, he actually brought back Shoai earlier on, and it resulted in a Micheal Vaughan wicket. I don't think Waqar did anyything wrong yesterday, only the batsman should be blamed for this disaster.
agree with part about Waqar ...
But the conditions were NOT perfect in any imagination of the word prfect. Even commentators were saying tht the ball is suddenly started doing wonders and moving sideways. But they are professional, they shold know any tactic to cover that. Like standing some foot outside thier creases to give ball minimum chances of swinging.
LOLZZZZZZZzzz LolZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ........Pakiz lost to Gora's.........
ahh well at least they mgt still reach super 6!!!!
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
When England play India in another D/N'er I can guarantee you that if India bat first they will make a useful score against an ordinairy attack in daylight, but if India have to bat under the lights they will struggle the same way we did. If that doesn't happen then you can say I was wrong :)
Totally Agree.It will be vey intresting if India bats 2nd in Druban. Good match on Card.
.The next outing against England could well be decided by the toss
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Were you watching this game or did you read about it in the papers Umair? The ball was bouncing, swerving, seaming all over the place. The same thing happened in the D/N'ers in our one day series with SA. The ball which got Youhanna was heading for leg stump then swerved and hit middle and off. Craig White clean bowled Razaq with one that that moved from middle/leg and hit off stump. Rashid nicked one that moved away off the seam and bounced chest high off a length...I could go on but you get the picture. That's not to say we couldn't have played better though.
It might have been a perfect batting strip in the morning but by the time the lights came on it was doing all sorts (as it always does). If it was such a perfect batting strip maybe you can explain how from 18 matches played at Cape Town 14 have been lost by the side batting under lights?
Newland and infect other stadiun close to sea in SA are notorious of assisting swing bowler around 0700 PM.Thats why batting 2nd on these wickets in ODI becomes very difficult.You need to be very cautious or stand 6-8 inches outside the crease to negate the swing.Or Just pray to God.
Thats why Toss is very important in these conditions and probably India vs Eng match will be decided by Toss.
That's right AQ, and Nasser Hussain has just given an interview saying that if they win the toss against India in Durban, they will be batting first although he did say they will look at the stats for D/N matches there. The point about Newlands being notorious for swing bowling under the lights was mentioned by him as well.
Bad luck guys. Better luck against Holland :D
Were you watching this game or did you read about it in the papers Umair? The ball was bouncing, swerving, seaming all over the place. The same thing happened in the D/N'ers in our one day series with SA. The ball which got Youhanna was heading for leg stump then swerved and hit middle and off. Craig White clean bowled Razaq with one that that moved from middle/leg and hit off stump. Rashid nicked one that moved away off the seam and bounced chest high off a length...I could go on but you get the picture. That's not to say we couldn't have played better though.
It might have been a perfect batting strip in the morning but by the time the lights came on it was doing all sorts (as it always does). If it was such a perfect batting strip maybe you can explain how from 18 matches played at Cape Town 14 have been lost by the side batting under lights?
Xtreem bhai, the delivery that Youhana got out to was the only wicket which signeled some swing, but in the manner that Younis Khan, Inzi and Afridi got out dissappointed the hell out of me. The ball was swinging the later part of the inning, thats why I'm not so hard on the lower order, but the top order played pathetically. Saeed got out very early on but he was given not out. It looked like almost every single delivery, he tried to flick the ball on the leg side, for a batsman of that class, he should have known that not to play those shots when there is swing. Our batsman have done well in swinging conditions before, but this was just too bad.
Everything was wrong, except our batsmen, they were perfect. Wish someone had told Shoaib as well that the ball is swinging and therefore he must get out. He must have made our brilliant highly talented batsmen squirm in their shameless ....... :(
Saeed Bhai played well - he was the only one along with Shoaib who actually tried to fight it out with the bat.
He hasnt played for 2 years yet he has outscored all the so-called class players like Youhana,Inzamam etc who have been playing criket non stop and have no excuse for their pathetic performances.
We lost the game when Afridi slogged his wicket away and Inzamam showed no guts whatsoever.
Inzamam,Afridi,Younis,Youhana,Razzaq,Latif showed no guts and commitment. That is the reason we lost the game.
Shoaib came in when the ball wasn’t new. Do you honestly think he’d do the same if he was moved up to no 3?
The truth is that our two best batsmen got exposed by Afridi getting out quick as usual, and for some reason Inzimam and Youhanna being moved up the order to virtually play as openers against a swinging ball under the lights. Duhh! great move… ![]()
I think the biggest reason Pakistan has been underperforming recently is middle order, not the opening. Pakistan hasn't has a settled opening pair for a long time now. But Nazir should have been in the 15 man squad for the WC, becasue this is the time when we need him. Although he isn't great, but im sure he would have done better than Afridi or Elahi. Elahi hasn't looked great at all, and Afridi is a slogger, and he should be used down the order how WI use Ricardo Powell. The real problem is the middle order, especially Inzamam and Younis Khan. Youhana is a fine player and he had just one bad game agianst England. But Inzamam has scored a grand totall of 10 runs in 3 macthes. That is just pathetic.
Its true when the first wicket falls, it puts presure on the incoming batsmen, but our opening has been a problem for quiet some time now, and batsmen should get used to it and thats no excuse for getting out on 0. Pressure is a part of a game, and Pakistan's opening has rarely given any great starts ever since Saeed has lost his magic touch, (just a few blasts from Afridi and Nazir). Bowling and Middle order has always been Pakistan's strengths. I think Pakistan should just go with 5 bowlers, since our batting is just too Pathetic. Saqlain should play for Razzaq, as Razzaq just looks too unintersted in the game and his body language is horrible. Saeed should open with Elahi or Umer. The problem with Umer is that he isnt ODI material and seems to be in a rush and uncomfortable opening the innings. Therefore, Elahi is the only option.
Afridi should be sent down the order and do what Shoaib did. Afridi is a hitter, and if you send him to open, its just too much pressure on him to not get out and he ends up playing a bad shot. He is a much better batsmen than he is currently performing right now, and sending him down the order, when Pakistan is in good shape and giving him the green light to hit, will help him play more to his ability. Saqlain can take a couple wickets and he certainly needs to bowl better than how bowled against England. It was just too easy for the batsman to play against him.
Shoaib came in when the ball wasn't new. Do you honestly think he'd do the same if he was moved up to no 3?
Of course he wouldnt have. Shoaib knew Pakistan had lost the match and just went out and swung the bat every ball. Would he played the same way if Pakistan only required 50 runs to win? Definetly not.
well our bowling and fielding was very much better than the match against Australia, and this time it was managed well too by Waqar Younis, just at the end got they got some 20 runs extra, but 246 wasnt such a big task, just had to keep their cool!!!
Pakistan's batting, kya boloon iska, well it might be a bad decision to play 4 batsmen, but does it mean that these 4 batsmen arnt suppose to perform and leave it on the 5th batsmen, the way Inzamam has been playing since the last 10 odd innings [including test mactch] i dont think the experience counts, y cant he be left out of a match or 2 for Taufiq Umar or Saleem Elahi, who atleast try to play and make the new ball playable and get the 20-30 odd runs, they might not be experienced, but thats stupidity not to play them who are having a better average in the last few games than Inzamam, and i guess if Inzama is left out for 2-3 games it will make him somewht embarassed and it might make him to work hard and concentrate, aisa lagta hai ke dil laga kar hi nahin khelta
if he plays next so i just hope he thinks hard now, its hi-time that Pakistan hasnt been consistent with batting, and if this keeps on happening bowlers will become frustrated ke khuamo khua mehnat karte hain!!!
hope for the best, n Insha Allah Pakistan will go ahead and win!