Pakistan Vs. England

Finally GS is working.

I think most of our batsmen were playing defensively even Akram was playing defensively none of them tried attacking the English bowlers.

Anyway PAK lost and it was really hurting at one stage I was about to die when PAK was 80 for 9 but the entertainment put up by Shoaib brought me back to life and I was hoping for PAK to atleast cross 125 :wink: and I am sure some guppies here must have been sharpining their teeth when they saw PAK 80 for 9. Thanx to Shoaid :k: saved us some humiliation.

I think we should not blame PAK players, they are not like class players and so we shoule not have high hopes from them. All of us deep down think that PAK will win the CUP or atleast want PAK to win the CUP but I think thats too much to expect from PAK. I’d say if they make to super six thats more than enough and hope Wasim gets his 500 ODI wicket milestone.

I am expecting only 2 things right now from PAK, Wasim’s 500 wicket and PAK beating indians. I expect them to do so and if they perform more than this that be awesome otherwise its all well and good.

Goodluck to PAK. :jhanda:

P.S. After the world cup PAK should try to rebuild the team by giving chances to youngsters and picking up good players. :jhanda:

Defeat like this against Australia is understandable. But against England, oh me oh my…

Toss played a major role. If Pakistan won it, Waqar would have chose to bat first. I bet, toss will play the same major role between England and India as that match will be play D/N duration.

Afridi? What can I say about? Saeed bhai was repeatedly saying ‘Ahram say Ahram say’ lehkin kambakhat sixer laga kar out hogaya. :mad:

Whose idea was to send Inzi after Fall of 1st wicket? Most of you guys would say Waqar but I doubt it. Two quick deleveries from James Anderson snatched the game from Pakistan as Yoyo and Inzi got out.

Saeed bhai stick around, looking for partnership but couldn’t succeded either. If one single partership worked, we would have been celebrating victory rightnow. Afterall, we needed 113 runs in 19 overs.

Since Inzi lost his weight, he has been poor with bat. Time for him to gain the weight again.

And please, will anyone care to replace Razzaq with Azhar Mehmood? Razzaq has been getting his ass kicked since the tournament began. Azhar Mehmood has been hot on SA pitches. Time for bring him back in the squad.

Oye…Pindi Xpress :smiley: Wah bhai Wah. Congratulations Shoaiba. Fastest ball of his career(For jealous people —> :mocking: ) and 43 runs with 5 boundaries and 3 sixers. Bang Bang Bang! Also Saqlain did a great job both with bat and ball. :k:

Australia is already in the Super Sixes. England is almost. For the third spot, Pakistan and India are in a ‘Do and Die’ situation. Clash of Sachin and Shoaib would be a good treat. :slight_smile:

NRR of India is better than Pakistan. Still, Pakistan can make her NRR better if we outplayed Zimbabwe and Netherlands with high margin.

We gotta win rest of the matches at any cost to stay in the tournament; and Inshallah we will.

:jhanda: Pakistan Zindabad :jhanda:

If England loses to Australia and India, is there a good chance they will not make the Super Sixes?

Pathetic batting display by Pakistan, especially Inzamam, Youhana, Younis Khan, and Rashid Latif. Considering it was a good batting pitch...Pakistani bowlers did well. But the batting gave the match away easily. I mean if Shoaib Akhtar can smash 43 then why cant world class batsmen like Inzi and Youhana can't? Inzi has just been plain pathetic in the WC. I think he needs to be dropped and Taufeeq Umer needs to be brought in, he will at least do better then Inzi. If anyone needs to be dropped the most then it has to be Razzaq. He has been granted in permanent place in the team and I don't know why. Why not bring in Azhar Mehmood? Razzaq has done absoultly nothing with the bowl or bat in the 3 matches he has played in the WC. Its time he's dropped, he just totally looks unintersted in the game. Afridi bowled well today, and also was good in the feild, taking an excellent catch of Ashley Giles. But as I keep saying, opening with him is not a good idea, especially when Inzi Younis are playing the way they are. Afridi needs to be brought in down in the order. I say for the next match, bring in Azhar for Razzaq and Taufeeq for Inzamam. Yeah I know Inzamam is too good to be dropped, but Im jus tired of seeing this guy play his pathetic shots in such an important WC. He is a very vital part of the Pakistani team, and he has scored a combined of 10 runs in 3 matches. That is just totally unacceptable. Saeed doesn't have his old touch. He looks rusty out there, coming across the wickets too much and eventually geting out lbw. Lets just with best of luck to the Pakistani team for their remaining 3 matches. I hope they can play a bit more sensibly.

I dont know where to start or who to blame for this BIG UPSET. The bowlers must be given credit for keeping it clean till the very end, with very few extras but I think the field placing let them down once again. There were too many singles in the english innings allowing them to get to 246 when they should have been restricted to no more than 200.
Afridi WAS YET AGAIN THE BIGGEST REASON for today's defeat. By throwing his wicket he put all the pressure on out of form inzi and the rest of the lineup. I must say that i havent seen any english bowler swing the ball so much ever. Yes the wind was helping anderson but the way he got yoyo out was just amazing.
Now here is how in Pakistan could still reach the super sixes (wishfull thinking at its best)
1) Pakistan HAS to win its next three matches: Holland, India & Zimbabve to get to 16 points
2) India beats Namibia but GETS BEATEN by england (India:12,England:16)
3) Zim beats Holland and gets points from Australia (ZIm:16)
4) Australia beat england (Eng:16, Aus:doesnt matter)

England, Pakistan and ZIm will each have 16 points. Pakistan could go thru due to its better NRR than Zim. But seriously guys, I dont think this current Pakistani team deserves to go to the super sixes after the kind of performance they have showed. The pre-WC tour to southafrica went to complete waste by not taking Saeed Anwar who is still out of match practice. And did you guys notice that the english bowlers were helpless at the very end when the wind subsided and Shoaib started wacking them all over.

Matti dalo, aur khoon na jalao apna!

Q: Do you guys remember when was last time pakistan won against a quality team*( All TEST playing Nation except ZIM and BANG)* batting second ?

Ans: Agains AUS in Melbourne ,June 2002

Q: Do you guys remember when was last time pakistan succesfully chased a targetof 200+ against a quality team*( All TEST playing Nation except ZIM and BANG)* ?

Ans: Agains NZL in Rawalpindi ,Apr 2002

Q: Do you guys remember when was last time pakistan succesfully chased a target of 200+ against a quality team*( All TEST playing Nation except ZIM and BANG)* outside Asia?

Ans: Agains NZL in Old Trafford , WC Semifinal ,June 1999 :( :(

That tells the story.... Probably pakistanis are poorest chaser among test playing nations these days barring BANG.
Sad but true.... !!!
I think I got my data correct.let me know if I am wrong.

It really is a sad reflection when a team that boasts an experienced line-up (with over 2000 one-day caps between them) can’t even put together a run chase of about 250 runs.

The condition may not have been right, but a little application by the batsmen should have, at least, allowed for a fighting chance.

Hats off to England. They may not be the most talented side in the world, but by heck, they showed great spirit and maturity in putting together a total that gave them a fighting chance - especially after losing early wickets. In contrast, the Pakistanis played as if they were making their debuts.

Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *
Q: Do you guys remember when was last time pakistan won against a quality team
( All TEST playing Nation except ZIM and BANG)* batting second ?

Ans: Agains AUS in Melbourne ,June 2002

Q: Do you guys remember when was last time pakistan succesfully chased a targetof 200+ against a quality team*( All TEST playing Nation except ZIM and BANG)* ?

Ans: Agains NZL in Rawalpindi ,Apr 2002

Q: Do you guys remember when was last time pakistan succesfully chased a target of 200+ against a quality team*( All TEST playing Nation except ZIM and BANG)* outside Asia?

Ans: Agains NZL in Old Trafford , WC Semifinal ,June 1999 :( :(

That tells the story.... Probably pakistanis are poorest chaser among test playing nations these days barring BANG.
Sad but true.... !!!
I think I got my data correct.let me know if I am wrong.

Abey andhay, you're talkin a lot of smack coming from a country that hasn't won a series abroad in 16 years, got smashed by NZ in several matches in a row, and is about to get thrown out of the Super Six on March 1.

why are you so desparate to beat Indians? IF this team can’t beat England, they should change the whole team, remove Inzimam - the biggest liability in Pakistani batting right now -, remove Afridi… Bring in Taufeeq Umer or Saleem Elahi in Inzi’s place, and Azhar Mehmood in Afridi’s place.

Today’s Pakistan batting was totally pathetic, I can’t find words to describe. Our TOP CLASS batsman, who is supposed to consolidate inning with snail pace is out - big duck -, our best batsman is out on first ball faced, couldn’t even block it.

All batsmen should learn from Shoaib today. All English bowler needed was a little hammering and they’d have lost confidence/line n length, but heck what we loose our confidence/patience on few good deliveries.

Good job by Nasser Hussein to keep Anderson bowling until 20th over to wrap up the game. Thats how to tackle a shaky team (hint, Pak vs Aus).

Honestly speaking, when I saw England batting first, I knew we are gonna loose, but I watched it anyway waiting for a miracle to happen, but :mad2: :teary3:

*Originally posted by Kareem: *

Abey andhay, you're talkin a lot of smack coming from a country that hasn't won a series abroad in 16 years, got smashed by NZ in several matches in a row, and is about to get thrown out of the Super Six on March 1.

Again ..Dont make it India Pak thread.OK..Talk sense and logic which I know u dont have.
Point that I am making is that pakistan is a poor chaser and , yes its true that India didnt win a TEST series in many years.

If you find anything wrong with my post then discuss it on qualitative basis..

If India didnt win a TEST series abroad then it doesnt mean that all indians arent qualify to make comment on other teams.keep ur dumb logic to urself.From now onwards I wont respond to your post unless you have something to contribute.

Tell me if I am wrong about PAK being very poor chasers in ODI??

Ask anyone else not just me most of the guppies here expect PAK to beat india but not lift the trophy. I guess its something that comes naturally being arch rival maybe you can’t feel that. Thats all I can say :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by Kareem: *

Correction: its 17 years. :)

ITs too late for the replacements or axing of the players. We have to stick with what we have and cant afford take chances with inexpeirence and out form players( Taufeeq & Azhar).

Afridi played well both as a bowler and fielder. He looked far better bowler than Saqlain. Saqlain is not a match winner anymore. He looks very flat and ordinary. Batsmen played him with great ease. I hate it when he continoulsy bowls at leg.Why not take him out and include Salim Elahi and strenthen our batting. I don't give a dayom about sixth bowler. What Aus did was a result of having a defensive approach not because of Saqlain's absense. It was a bad luck for Pak. I doubt it Saqlain would have made any difference. Its time for Waqar to sternly order all the 4 bowlers to bowl with discipline and if anyone is having a off day we can always ask Younis khan or Saeed to bowl one or two over respectively and use them in a strategic manner so that they dun get wacked.

Its pointless to make anyone a scaegoat for this game but one must look ahead and see what improvement can be done. It was a collective effort for our loss.

Shoaibs batting performace could be a divine revelation for the team management. He punished the bowler because of his height and power. He didnt have to shuffle around. IT was just plain power. He played bouncers and short pitch deliveries with great ease. Why not use him one down and it would be really a bonus if the 11th batsman goes after the bowlers . If he is successfull good for us if not then it wont hurt to lose his wicket.

Here is my unconventional lineup

Saeed Anwar
Salim Elahi
Shoaib Akhtar(pinch hitter)
Younis khan
Inzimam
Yousuf Youhana
Shahid afridi
Razzaq
Rashid latif
Wasim Akram
Waqar Younis

We should realy strenthen our batting! We are already strong in bowling. If we are discipline then we surely do not need a sixth bowler.

BTW they were showing bbq'ed sauages on th gril which I believe was a strong indication of what we shoud be doing with our batsmen.....

Can I sue our team for making me pay 300 bucks for the whole package :(

oh, well, we lost, again. not the end of the world, i guess...
Pak can still make it to super 6 (Just a few days ago we were talking about Pak playing in final):)
I don't blame any Pak player, cause at night ball movement was just too much. I want Shoib to be our opening batsman.
I don't care that Pak lost, or our batting lineup failed (which wasn't a surprise), but rather I am HAPPY. Indian team was all out around 126, Pak did better than them.
(This is my opinion. Indian fans, don't try to jump on me now. I have the right to say what I want to say. As I respect other people's feeling, try to respect mine.)

Originally posted by a1kashur: *
**I want Shoib to be our opening batsman.

OK, let's not get carried away :) Would Australia send Lee to open the batting if Hayden has a bad string?

People need to learn from the methodical and deliberate approach Aussies have for everything. Cricket is not a movie production - we need to check our wild emotions over every win and loss.

they should have bring Imran nazir at least just in case.. that's such a loss right there :-\

They should kick:kaboom: Afridi’s:rocket: A$$ out of the team!!!:mad3:
:rocketup:

And after England took Inzi's and Youhana's wickets, I new pak would not win:(