Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

Re: Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

**"Here too there is good news for Pakistan as, for the first time since the departures of Wasim and Waqar, Pakistan have a full complement of first-choice fast bowlers to choose from." **

Source: Cricinfo Match Preview

This is some statement. It is a really good omen that we can choose from a full arsenal from fast bowlers but it also leaves a lot of headache for management. So any bets who is gonna break down first this time around? ( God forbid x 1000)

^ Yeah and according to cricinfo this is only 4th time in 2 years that Sami & Shoaib are going to open the bowling for Pakistan :k:

It will be a Break-Fast I can assure you :wink:

:elmo: I was just kidding.

duniyaa ke azeem tareen cricket mubbassir, mein jaanta hoon aap apnay halaq per itna zor kiyon de rahe hain. ur the genius who has chosen Afridi as trump :smiley: and that tells a lot about ur cricketing brain.

:k: keep up the good work and enlighten us time to time :blush:

I just read some where that they didn't decide until Friday that the openers are going to be butt and malik. They are double minded and are also thinking of afridi and malik opening pair.

Pakistan says don’t write us off](Yahoo! Sports Singapore | News, Scores, Video, Schedules & More)

Pakistan’s vice-captain and batting lynchpin Younis Khan warned England not to underestimate his side in the three-match Test series starting in Multan from Saturday.

“Don’t write us off, our team is not weak,” Khan told reporters after the home team’s net session on Friday.

Khan said England’s Ashes win over Australia this summer would count for little in Pakistan.

“The Ashes was different. It had a different environment. It’s just like we have a cricketing rivalry with India, but playing on Pakistani pitches will be different for England,” Khan added.

England start as favourites for the series, despite losing captain Michael Vaughan for the first Test to a knee injury and performing poorly in their two warm-up games in Pakistan.

The tourists are on a roll after the Ashes – their sixth successive series win under Vaughan – and hope to continue with replacement skipper Marcus Trescothick.

But Khan said Pakistan had already proved cricket pundits wrong once this year and aimed to do so again.

“Everyone wrote us off when we went to India and the West Indies, but we levelled both the Test series and we have matured as a side,” said Khan, whose double hundred led Pakistan to series-drawing win at Bangalore, India.

England have only ever won two Tests in Pakistan since their first tour here in 1961-2, the last being in 2000. Pakistan have a poor home record, losing six out of their nine home series.

The 29-year-old said the underdog tag would help Pakistan.

“It will ease the pressure for us, especially since we are more used to home pitches,” added Khan, who has scored 2,765 runs in 37 Tests.

Khan said England would rue the loss of quick Simon Jones, ruled out of the tour by an ankle injury after a heroic Ashes performance.

“Jones knows how to reverse swing the cricket ball on dry pitches like we have in Pakistan and England will surely miss him,” said Khan, who has scored 2765 runs in 37 Tests.

I must say Afridi was quiet handy lately in tests (specially his bowling complements his batting) but Butt still deserves a chance atleast in the first match.

i dunno if there's room for afridi this time in pak's test side...

There definitely is room but will be a risky decision. However I can understand how difficult this decision is to drop afridi after his recent performace . Frankly speaking I won’t be too surprise if I see afridi and malik both in the squad for the first match. I personally would like to see butt there as an opener.

This will definitely confuse all those predicting the final 11 for Multan Test:smiley:

Pakistan weigh up playing eleven

as showdown starts in Multan

MULTAN: Pakistan cricket team’s think tank was pondering late Friday night on the playing eleven for the first Test against England starting here at the Multan Cricket Stadium from Saturday (today) with a toss-up between Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi to open the innings with Salman Butt to accommodate recalled batsman Hasan Raza in the middle order.
‘The News’ has learnt that till late evening, captain Inzamam-ul-Haq and coach Bob Woolmer were thinking whether to have Malik or Afridi to open (Pakistan innings) with specialist Butt as it had been decided to give Hasan his first chance since November 2002.

“They remain undecided on whether to open with Afridi and Butt or Malik and Butt. There is also some debate on whether to play Mohammad Sami or Rana Naved as the third pacer with Shoaib Akhtar and Shabbir Ahmed being the first-choice pace bowlers,” a team source said.

The source added the captain and coach were confused as Afridi had agreed to open if he didn’t find a place in the middle order and his performances in his last five Tests warranted him a spot in the starting line-up against England. "The idea is to go in with six specialist batsmen including Afridi or Malik, wicket-keeper and four bowlers. “Neither Afridi nor Shoaib Malik (whoever plays) will be pressed into bowl too many overs which will be shared among the three pacers and Danish Kaneria,” the source said.

He explained that Afridi could win the nod over Malik as his bowling and hard-hitting batting had been a crucial factor for Pakistan in their last few series while Malik had not done much bowling. “The team’s think tank also feels it would be a good option to go in with two leg-spinners on a dry pitch.”

“Woolmer and Inzamam are keen to give Hasan Raza a chance at the number six position as he has been in prolific form in recent months and also got runs against England in the tour match at Lahore. The feeling is that this is the right time to play him as he is in exquisite touch and is likely to score runs given his confidence and high morale at the moment. And as it is Asim Kamal has struggled for form,” the source stated.

Sami, it seems, is in close contest for a place with Rana Naved who has been bowling well in recent months. “Shoaib, since he is in the squad, can’t be ignored while the captain has a lot of confidence in Shabbir despite problems with his bowling action. So the axe is going to fall on either Sami or Rana Naved,” the source said.

Pakistan’s expected combination of Shoaib Malik or Shahid Afridi (with) Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Yousuf, Hasan Raza, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Shabbir Ahmed and Danish Kaneria appears logical with the only serious doubt being the selection of young Butt who himself has been in poor form. One just hopes that Inzamam is not seduced into changing his mind on the morning of the match going by the dryness of the pitch and talk that it will take spin on the last two days and try to go in with two pacers and both Kaneria and Mushtaq Ahmed.

It would be a mistake that Pakistan could regret early on in the series and could decide the course of the series.

England, on the other hand, have some selection problems of their own due to the injury to their captain Michael Vaughan who is also an experienced top-order batsman with 62 Test appearances.

While the presence of someone as outstanding as Andrew Flintoff in their line-up gives them the advantage of trying to play with two pacers (Matthew Hoggard and Steve Harmison) and two specialist spinners (Ashley Giles and Shaun Udal) with Paul Collingwood to provide some back-up medium pace stuff, it is their batting which is a concern for them.

There are no problems with the opening slot unlike Pakistan as Marcus Trescothick and Andrew Strauss form an experienced and dangerous pair while Flintoff at number five, Collingwood at number six and Geraint Jones at seven followed by the two spinners who are competent batsmen ensure make up for a dependable and solid lower middle-order.

But England is facing problems at the number three and four positions as both Ian Bell and Kevin Pietersen are struggling for form and failed in the two tour matches as well failing to cope with the different pace and bounce of the Pakistani pitches.

And Vaughan’s cover - the 20-year old Alistair Cook of Essex is yet to join the team. And Pietersen in particular played a very important role in England’s Ashes win over Australia particularly with his match-saving hundred in the final Test at The Oval.

On paper England’s current batting line-up appears to be more fallible than the one that came in 2000 and this is something that Pakistan must exploit to topple them.

England’s probable team for the first Test should be: Trescothick, Strauss, Bell, Pietersen, Flintoff, Collingwood, Jones, Giles, Udal, Hoggard and Harmison.

Both sides have a lot to prove in the series. England would be keen to prove to the world their Ashes victory was not a fluke and to continue their outstanding form of the last 18 months in which they have won 12 out of 14 Test matches.

While Pakistan who have lost five, won two (including one against Bangladesh) and drawn one of their last eight home Test rubbers since 1998, have a lot to prove specially under a foreign coach. One series against New Zealand in 2002 was abandoned after just one match, which Pakistan won.

Pakistan’s last series win at home came in October 2003 against South Africa in a two-Test series.

http://jang.com.pk/thenews/index.html

I am off to bed, will see you all tomorrow after the match has started. Good luck to Pakistan. Come on lads, Chuk dayo phattay. Go Pak Go. Inshallah Inzi’s tiger will prevail. :jhanda:

I think it would best to open with Afridi and Malik. I know both are all-rounders, but Butt isnt anything special either. The amount of runs Butt is gonna score, im sure Afridi or Malik will score the same if not more, so why not open with them, as it also increases our bowling line up.

What the heck!!! Just heard on news there will be no match due to security concerns and a bomb was found in media center of the stadium.

Damn ;)

So karr uth giee yaa still dreaming:D

Yeah I am up all set for the game. :smiley: Kya cheez hai cricket, I had hard time going to bed cuz I was so exited for the game. I hope we get to see a good game instead of one sided match.

so teaser bhai are you bcasting the match??

I would but I don’t have enough bandwidth.

Oh I know one thing we can do is if I broadcast than one person picks it from me and broadcast and others pick from him and me and broadcast and so ON and everyone can watch the match. Its like P2P but live TV.

Inzamam not satisfied with Multan Test pitch
MULTAN: A senior official of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) flew into Multan on Friday and pulled up curators Agha Zahid and Haji Bashir for not being able to satisfy Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq over the pitch prepared for the first Test starting here against England from Saturday.
Inzamam - in a replay of last year’s Test against India - had on Thursday expressed his unhappiness over the pitch prepared for the first Test to Zahid and Bashir who were able to give him a satisfactory answer.

The Pakistan skipper was clearly upset with the dry and bouncy track for the Test on which the spinners are likely to get purchase only on the last two days. “The even and consistent bounce in the pitch does give an advantage to England who have a good pace attack in Steve Harmison, Andrew Flintoff and Matthew Hoggard,” a team source said.

Inzamam - during his brush with the two PCB curators - wanted to know from them what was the use of playing at home when he was not consulted in the preparation of the pitch.

“Inzamam asked them when he had been in Multan for the last two days why they didn’t bother to ask him about his opinion regarding pitch on which there are now dry and rough grass patches,” the source said.

Inzamam has been saying for sometime now that England were vulnerable against quality spin and Pakistan had the spinners to put them on the defensive on low-bounced tracks favouring the slow bowlers. Apparently, Inzamam was told by Haji Bashir that the pitch was prepared with the knowledge of the PCB chairman.

Last year also before the Test match against India, there was plenty of controversy over the pitch prepared by foreign curator Andy Atkinson who later said he was not allowed to do what he wanted and was dictated by the players.

Inzamam also told the curators it would’ve been better if he had brought his own men to prepare the first Test track.

On Friday PCB Director, Abbas Zaidi flew into the city on a scheduled visit but apparently was also on a mission to calm Inzamam down. Because he told both the curators that they should have made efforts to explain things to the Pakistan captain and satisfy him.

SOURCE: http://jang.com.pk/thenews/index.html

I have heard Hasan Raza in and Shahid Afrid out :eek: is that true? can any one confirm that plzzzzzzzzz?

Yes I can, just give me couple of hours:D