Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

Re: Pakistan vs England, 1st Test, Multan

Yes, the above is the team who will play tonite.

According to Jang and other sources, officials are finalizing these names.

6 specialist batsmen (still has some grass on pitch which will last for three days)
1 wk batsman
3 pacers
1 spinner Kaneria (complemented by Malik’s spin)

Psycologically they are playing Malik as a specialist batsman and he will be the only allrounder (on paper only) in the team. We hope our three pacers will do ‘esi ki tesi’ of Barmy Army along with Kaneria. If the specialist can’t cut it, nobody else can.

So hope for the best. I hope we will see some sensible batting from Younis and Hasan. We need two centuries atleast.

I don’t know how true is the source which you mentioned. If you simply ignore the news which we have been hearing for the last one month regarding woolmer and co willing to try malik as an opener for the entire series, than afridi’s incluson wont surprise you at all over malik. Afridi’s average in the last 5 test matches which he has played this year is:
5 matches
418 runs average 42 50’s 2 100’s 1
14 wks avg 29.78
What else do you want from an allrounder in a test match?
But its just that woolmer is so willing to malik as an opener that he is ready to drop afridi. Its not a simple straight forward competition between 2 allrounders but woolmer believes that malik can be a better opener than afridi.
Anyway lets see what will happen on saturday.

I think Malik will open.

Afridi v Malik is such a confusing choice. I also worry about our pace attach. Sami, Shoaib, Rana all are quite one dimensional. Shabir should replace Rana and Kaneria should play as the lone spinner with the help from Malik. Malik as a genuine all rounder is a weaker choice than Afridi's who I believe will get the nod ahead of Hasan Raza (at least for the first test).

With all due respect I must say, Afridi has no place in current Test team. Malik is under microscope and his test career will depend upon his newly polished opening skills. Otherwise we better don't see him even carrying water during test matches.

afridi must be include in the side...shoaib malik should be kick out and hassan raza must be include in the side...5 bowlers r enough...

afridi should not be advice to play "a bit slow"...he should be given free hand to strike the ball as he starts striking,opposite side comes in pressure ...

If you are comparing both of them as allrounders than definitely it will be unfair to say that malik is a better choice. We know how afridi has performed in test matches this year and as an allrounder I can say that he is currently the best one because of his recent performance. I repeat his recent performace.
However malik, the likely one to be selected, will be there in the team because woolmer is hoping that he has the potential to be the test opener which he has been looking for the past 1 year.
If you remember the last time malik and afridi played together in the 2nd Test in Windies at Kingston, malik was the opener and afridi was in the middle order.
So if malik will play on saturday that doesn’t mean that he is a better allrounder right now than afridi but because he could be a better opener hopefully.

To answer your question quickly: Afridi is a much better allrounder than Malik. Specially his bowling is far superior then Malik. But we are talking about openers here. Nothing against Afridi, but he is not fitting in any where with Hassan and Malik needed badly in the team.

The background:
Sir, if you’re not seeing it coming I don’t have any words to describe it better. Both Greg and Woolmar are implying the secrets of Austrailia’s sucess in Desi teams. You will see the difference in a year. There will be very hard decissions ahead and you will see very huge public idols in dust. ‘The best fit and suitable for the match’ is the slogan that Austrailians are carrying for last 12 years or so. We have seen them dropping their captain even. Greg/Woolmar are now backed up with a good stream of talent from domestic and things will change now. From Super Star (taking the place for granted) to hungry for performance (saving the place in team) professionalism.

From Inzi to Kaneria and From Dravid to Karthik, everyone will have a fully fit replacement and everyone will do their 110% to save their place in the side. That’s the theme these guys are working on. Give it a year and you will see how Cricket in sub-continent will change.

p.s: The above is my observation based on the events happened in last 14 months or so.

I hope both the openers do well, if they are to open the innings, you dont know what afridi said that he doesnt like to open, could be just to throw back the english tactics!!! After all the did we forget the brawl between Afridi and younis when they were in W.I.

Anyways if Mr. Butt come in to play I hope he doesnt play any pull and hook shots, all he does is give away the wicket. and as for Malik I have a feeling he will have all 3 test to his disposal and I think he will be a proven winner, after all he is my fantasy team "Ace" :D

Shahid Afridi & Shoaib Akhtar create the fear factor(the most feared crickets in the history...who could turn the match outcome at will...their inclusion in the team is ultimate...hmmmmmmmmmmmm

PS: I hope not that stupid Woolmer would be mistaking constantly...hmmmmmmmmm2

^ no more hmmm1 and hmmmm2 :grumpy: From now on they will be edited. Little kids get scared from cricketnama. I care for their future.

I was gonna suggest that, but then his comments give you laugh in many situations, so we might keep him and his comments as clown in the group :slight_smile:

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…I see…hmmmmmmmmmmm…

Meine Afridi and meine Akhtar…hmmmmmmmmmmmmm3…there is no other way…hmmmmmmmmmm4…voilá… :k:

Very nice, yaar aapke mu mein ghee shakar…this will be the best thing to happen for desi cricket…

England underdogs for Multan Test

England start the first Test against Pakistan in Multan as underdogs just 61 days after being hailed as heroes during the Ashes victory parade.

They were favourites at the start of the tour but Michael Vaughan’s knee injury and defeat by Pakistan A means bookmakers now favour the hosts.

Marcus Trescothick will lead a side set to include Hampshire spinner Shaun Udal, making a debut at 36.

Pakistan are able to pick from a squad of 16, all of whom are fit. One interesting area of selection for the home side is the number six batting slot, currently in the hands of Asim Kamal.

Hasan Raza, who played his first Test at the age of 14 in 1996, is set for a comeback and could oust Kamal.

Captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said: "I would think [Raza] will play although we have not finalised our playing XI as yet. “He has been in prime form and scored a lot of runs. You would like to play an in-form player who is high on confidence in such an important Test.”

He added: "We have a little bit of an advantage because Vaughan is not playing.

“But we know the England team are still very strong and we will have to work hard and play very good cricket to beat them.”

England’s team is set to include out-of-form Ian Bell, with Paul Collingwood also playing.

It means the only change from the team that drew the last Test at The Oval is Udal in place of Vaughan, giving the team an extra bowler, but one fewer batsman.

Trescothick is mindful of Bell’s lack of runs but insists nonetheless he is capable of rising to the occasion.

“He missed out on one of the warm-up games, but I have a lot of confidence that he will do well,” said Trescothick. “It is an opportunity for him here. The wickets are pretty good, and I hope he can take advantage in this series.”

He said the team were in good shape mentally for what could be an arduous battle of wits in Multan.

“The boys have sort of switched on in the last couple of days.”

“Losing the tour match does give you a bit of wake-up call to make sure you do remain switched on and you work hard.”

Chairman of selectors David Graveney acknowledges that Trescothick’s task is a hard one.

“It is a difficult job coming in as temporary captain because you haven’t got the time to stamp your personality on it,” he said.

“Fortunately he’s coming into a winning dressing room - the system is working, the spirit is there.”

England have drawn 17 of 21 Tests in Pakistan.

Multan has only hosted three Tests - but all have achieved results, with Pakistan beating Bangladesh twice and losing once to India.

That match, played 18 months ago, featured a first innings score of 675-5 by India, who won by an innings. The weather forecast is for fine weather with highs of around 27 degrees through the Test, but there may be some mist and dew first thing each day.

SOURCE: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/cricket/england/4426272.stm

inzi and trescothick holding the Bank Alfalah Trophy

http://www.pcboard.com.pk/Pakistan/Pictures/5/5624.html

mujhey neend na ayee
mujhey chain na ayee
koi jayee zara mujh ko bataieey
na janey kub match shuru ho gaa
na janey jub match shuru ho gaaa,,,,,

aaj tu eik $ ka kam nahi keya job per , sara demagh first test per laga howa hai :D