Was Mohammad Sami Playing with the Queensland Team ?? I saw his name in the Team line up ? I mean is he the same Mohammad sami who plays for Pakistan ?
AK
Was Mohammad Sami Playing with the Queensland Team ?? I saw his name in the Team line up ? I mean is he the same Mohammad sami who plays for Pakistan ?
AK
Who do we use as an opener with Saeed Anwar, I have no confidence in Afridi opening against the full Australian attack, they would eat him for breakfast. Opening with him is like playing with 10 players. He should bat lower down, maybe in the last 10 overs. Try Youhanna as an opener, after all if Afridi is opening, then he will be there within the first five overs anyway.
The most interesting aspect of the tour happens to be Wasim/Shoiab/Waqar... Nothing can match this lethal attack...
[This message has been edited by Spock (edited June 08, 2002).]
Originally posted by Asif_k:
**Was Mohammad Sami Playing with the Queensland Team ?? I saw his name in the Team line up ? I mean is he the same Mohammad sami who plays for Pakistan ?
Yes.I was surprised too.
Originally posted by Asif_k:
**Was Mohammad Sami Playing with the Queensland Team ?? I saw his name in the Team line up ? I mean is he the same Mohammad sami who plays for Pakistan ?
As the match was a warm up game Sami played for Queensland in order to gain match practice.
Originally posted by ehsan:
Who do we use as an opener with Saeed Anwar, I have no confidence in Afridi opening against the full Australian attack, they would eat him for breakfast. Opening with him is like playing with 10 players. He should bat lower down, maybe in the last 10 overs. Try Youhanna as an opener, after all if Afridi is opening, then he will be there within the first five overs anyway.
DUDE!!!
i know u don't like afridi in paki team but hez still there n will be there...i know some ppl rn't happy w/him no matter wut he do....well u can't take him outta the team coz he has a good record against the aussies...n he can play WARNE better than other batsmen.....so chill
no offence
~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~
Originally posted by Spitfire:
** he can play WARNE better than other batsmen
And did you conclude that because he says so himself?
And there are lots of people who have problems with Afridi and some with Nazir (me). Why? Because we want stability at the top of the order. How many times do you expect Inzi, Younis and Yohana to bail us out? They'll fail occasionally and the team will be in a rut. I much prefer Pakistan to be something like 75-100 for 2 after 25 overs than 100 for 4 after 15 overs. Our batsman can accelerate the inings at an amazing rate. We don't need to worry about our batting going after the bowling post 40 over mark. But we often stumble in the first 15-20 overs courtesy of the hormonal imbalance in Afridi bhai's physiological system. Therefore, he should be sitting out unless you can assure me that our middle order will always repair the damage that is caused by his recklessness.
Lastly, no offence.
Three things:
Firstly I dont know how you can say that he plays warne better then other batsmen and
Secondly, I have yet to see Warne open bowling for Australia. By the time Warne comes to bowl Afridi would be long gone, because he normally comes to bowl after the tenth or fifteenth over.
Thirdly, I never said drop him, I only said he should come down the order where he can clobber Warne out of the game.
[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 08, 2002).]
Originally posted by ehsan:
**Firstly I dont know how you can say that he plays warne better then other batsmen and
He said that because Afridi claimed in an interview that Warne si extremely easy to play and doesn't know what the hype is about Warne being the best and what not.
whatever the line up is , if Pak wanna include Shoaib Malik then they should make sure he opens for the team or atleast one down..He is not a big hitter nor he is good at the later stages of the game so basically it wont be a good idea for him to play down the order..
Afridi on the other hand can be placed any where..he is a very hard hitter of the ball and can be dangerous on any stages of the game..
Well said Sherry, Afridi is a extremely talented batsman who can bat at any position, I prefer him to come at no 4 if our top 3 gives a good start.
Its a must to have Afridi in a lineup if Pakistan wants to win a match against a solid batting like Australia, he's usually the bowler who takes key wickets of Ponting or Bevan, great allrounder.
Opening position should go to Anwar and Malik, he's a solid batsman and a extremely slow starter, meaning that he won't throw his wickets in the begining.
my team
1.) Saeed Anwar
2.) Shoaib Malik
3.) Yousuf Youhana
4.) Shahid Afridi
5.) Inzimam-ul-Haq
6.) Younis Khan
7.) Azhar Mahmood
8.) Rashid Latif
9.) Shoaib Akhtar
10.) Wasim Akram
11.) Waqar Younis
I'm somewhat surprised to hear that Malik is a slow starter. That's actualy very good. He'll be a good foil to Anwar's fluency. I think their partnership should be successful and hopefully Waqar will stick to it.
That's a very strong lineup that you suggested Umair. The only change I would make is adjust Affer's position in the order based on the situation. I would only like him to go in early if there is a significant cushion in terms of the number of overs and wickets. If we are in trouble early on either Khan bhai or Inzi should be walking out of the pavilion.
At a second look, however, aren't we a bowler short. Afridi and Malik aren't really run stoppers or wicket takers. They can only amplify a job well done by the opening bowlers. But they can't reverse the damage as Akhtar or Saqi can. The absence of Saqi really has left us in a quandry.
[This message has been edited by sambrialian (edited June 08, 2002).]
We already have 4 bowlers and we need someone to fillup for Saqi and like I said before Afridi and Malik can be useful most of the time, especially taking wickets as we saw against NZ and SL in Sharjah and Pak.
Your'e right about Afrid's position, it really depends on the situation, if our top 3 fails early on then he should be saved for 6 or 7th position, bringing up inzi, khan and azhar but when we get a decent start for say 100 for 2 then he is an ideal batsman to come in and strike used bowls out of the ground.
We have solid bowlers who almost never fails but its the batting I'm always worried about especially against Australia.
I rather have 4 bowlers with 3 of them who can bat a little rather than having 5 or 6 especialist bowers.
considering malik’s low score and afridi’s 52 in the practice match i think afridi will open with anwar…
nazir is definitely out and i think sami will accompany him on the bench…
good luck team…
btw anyone seen how hard aussies hit queensland
Guys don't take the Pak win against Queensland seriously, that was just the warmup match so they can get used to the conditions, it wasn't for seeing who is good or bad, I think Nazir will sitout like you said but it will be shuffle between him and Afridi but Afridi gives a bowling option than Nazir and that is why he has been picked over Nazir so many times.
Here is the history between Pak vs Australia, not so good for Pak. Aus has beaten Pak 9 of the 11 times they have met since the wc 99.
History
Originally posted by sambrialian:
He said that because Afridi claimed in an interview that Warne si extremely easy to play and doesn't know what the hype is about Warne being the best and what not.**
its fact that he can play spinners better n i don't need to conclude this from wut he says ..... let's see wut happens
~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~
I have seen Afridi play spinners really few times but I think its true, he does seem to play spinners really well.
And Warne used to be a good bowler in mid 90s till his shoulder surgery came about then he became just an average spinner.
Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**I have seen Afridi play spinners really few times but I think its true, he does seem to play spinners really well.
And Warne used to be a good bowler in mid 90s till his shoulder surgery came about then he became just an average spinner.
Yes, indeed he does play spinners well. But most of the time he just gets carried away and gets out softly after playing a really good over against them.
I think Afridi really unsettle spinner's line and length by attacking them from ball one. Most of the top world batsmen like Tendulkar and Lara tend to play defensive for a while, and get use to turn and bounsce, before they take the charge.
Mind you, Warnah doesn't mind batsmen attacking him! And Afridi wud have to do really well to stay on wicket until its Warnah's turn to come and bowl.
Lets wait n see till Wednesday. Can't wait!
[This message has been edited by Pathan Bhai (edited June 09, 2002).]
afridi knows only one way to play a spinner....
hit the ball and hard....
and if that hit, by the bowler's luck, takes a height, afridi is gone....
anyway lets see what will happen....
cant say anything until we see it....