Pakistan vs Australia....

ok lets start talking abuot this forthcoming series…

misbahulhaq out of the team due to illness…

the 13 man squad is…

saeed anwar
shahid afridi
imran nazir
younis khan
inzamamulhaq
yousuf youhanna
rashid latif
azhar mahmood
shoaib malik
wasim akram
waqar younis
shoaib akhtar
mohammad sami

i think azhar and sami will sit out in the games…

Wheres saqi when u need him?

It is going to be painful for me to see Sami sitting on the sidelines again, what a great bowler.
If everyone remembers the last time Pakistan toured Newzeland, does anybody remember how Sami was turning the bowl, just unbelievable.

I think Imran Nazir would open with Anwar.

Anwar
Nazir
Youhana
Inzimam
Khan
Afridi
Malik
Latif
Wasim
Waqar
Shoaib

I think its going to be tough decision between Malik and Mahmood, I wonder who will be played, we already have 3 fast bowlers so there is no use for one more, we need a decent spinner and Afridi and Malik can come close to makeup for Saqlain, so I will be in favor of having Malik instead of Mahmood.

I think inclusion of Imran Nazir is causing alot of problems, taking away the opportunity from Malik to open on a fast pitch, he still hasn't recieved a chance to play on a fast decent pitch and Nazir will also have problems on fast pitches.

So much talent but so little space.

umair, whats up with saqi? injured??

No, stupid county cricket in England, he is playing for Surrey as Razzaq is playing for Middlesex.
PCB should have waited a month before they sent off the 2 players after the australia series, Razzaq can be replaced rightnow with the prescence of Malik and Mahmood but I don't think any member in that 13 man squad can replace saqi.
We need a specialist spinner, maybe Kaneria or Arshad Khan could have replaced him but with the 3 great pace trio, I don't think we will miss him that much.

Arshad khan, no way yar!!! way to many chances for him!! kaneria will do... Razaqs absence will be felt, i think hes amongst the players that really know how to counter the aussiez!

[This message has been edited by Spock (edited June 03, 2002).]

Saqi and Razzler are playing county cricket. Trying to get "experience and exposure" in English conditions while playing with extremely mediocre level of players.

This whole county thing pisses me off so much. I remember in 97 after Pakistan won the World Series Cup, Pakistan could realistically claim to being the best side in the world. But immediately after the series, Wasim, Waqar and Mushy went on county duty leaving Pakistan with its second best bowling ensemble. That was a time when we really could've pushed ourselves towards excellence. The W's were in amazing form, Mushy was doing great, and Saqi was also starting his rise to the top. And remember this was a time when Pakistan won matches without Anwar or Malik. But our batting though without stars stuck to the job at hand.

I think county cricket is responsible for the demise of some of our players. Examples being Saqlain (I know I'm treading into dangerous waters but most people will agree that Saqi is not the same) and Waqar.

This brings me to the present. We still somehow might be able to do without Saqi but we simply will not be able to execute the last 10 overs' flourish as well as with Razzaq. I don't think many can match Razzaq when it comes to accelerating the innings at the end.

Anyways, lets hope we don't miss these guys too much. Hopefully Azhar and Malik will step into their shoes.

Nazir should open instead of Malik....n Razzaq hasn't been successful in county cricket so far unlike Afridi who was player of the season last season n saqlain also does well....so did azhar mahmood.
NO ONE CAN REPLACE RAZZAQ..... u can't replace him w/someonelse....he doesn't have a substitute in paki team especially not in youngsters eventhough they r talented....
Arshad Khan hasn't proved bad at all.....Kaneria's best was against Bangladesh but hez still good....Arshad Khan is an off-spinner n he should be given a chance i think especially at such a moment....i dunno wut Kaneria can do against a european team!
Its good to have Wasim in the squad as he can atleast control the runrate. Youhana n Inzi are also back into form...Younis Khan is also in good shape after lot of consecutive 50s in the last series.
GOOD LUCK!!

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Yeah, Arshad Khan has been given many chances but most of them have been in Sharjah or Pakistan, if I remember correctly, he bowled really well on the tour of South Africa, couple years back, now days Pakistan are developing more fast bowlers than spinners like Saqlain and Kaneria.

Guys;

Will it be a problem pitching Saeed Anwar against none other than Australia as his first match after the encounter.

My worry is that if he is not accustomed to playing at the international level, a few quick losses at the top will put pressure on the team once again.

And we all know how good Aus is in pressurizing the opponent.

Razzaq will be sorely missed in this series.

AK

Originally posted by Asif_k:
**Razzaq will be sorely missed in this series.

Meray sitaray gardish main hain. Asif and I have agreed on some thing. Strange times we live in.

Originally posted by Asif_k:
**Razzaq will be sorely missed in this series.

Actually no, we have number of allrounders to fill in the spot, they may not be good as him but he certainly won't be missed that much, like I said before, Azhar Mahmood and Shoiab Malik can fill up that spot, the guy who will be missed the most is Saqi, Pakistan should have included atleast one specialist spinner, Malik and Afrid are good part time bowlers who can come and take valuable wickets but 10 overs is too much for part time bowlers.

when is the first match and where will it be played if at all its gonne happen???

It will happen in Australia, 3 one days.

June 12 in Colonia Stadium
June 15 in Colonial Stadium Melbourne
June 18 in Gabba stadium in Brisbane

Someone recheck that for me.

Does anyone know if they are going to show it on the dish network, the last I heard was they will show India, SL, Eng tri series, so they might not be able to fit it in.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 04, 2002).]

We always had an option for a sixth bowler but against Aus, it never proved to be very much effective why not just stick with 5 bowlers and add more depth to the batting..

Batting was our biggest concern against Aus so we need solid defensive batsmen like Shoib Malik. Actually Shoib Malik proved to be a very decent spinner and can be regarded as a full time spinner ofcourse cannot be compared with Saqalin but he is a good replacemet gives us a depth in batting.

Azhar is a specialist bowler and had improved alot recently and Afridi is only a part time bowler

I would try Shahid Afridi in the second ODI depending on the performance of the other players, its for sure Afridi cannot bowl full ten overs..so that means Afridi can only replace Imran Nazir ONLY and that gives us an option for a sixth bowler

Saeed Anwar
Imran Nazir/Afridi
Shoib Malik
Youhana Youhanna
Inzimam
Younis Khan
Azhar Memmood
Rashid Latif
Wasim Akram
Waqar Younis
Shoaib Akhtar

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited June 03, 2002).]

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**Anwar
Nazir
Youhana
Inzimam
Khan
Afridi
Malik
Latif
Wasim
Waqar
Shoaib

Umer, you are asking AFridi to bowl ten overs..do you think he can handle the Aus batsmen..well he had a successful stint in Aus but asking him to bowl full ten overs is very risky..

I would go for Azhar Memhmood instead..

Sherrybabba, yes you are right about that, but the problem is if Mahmood is included in top 11 than who should be eliminated, I want Malik and Afridi to share 10 overs to makeup for the absence of Saqlian, the only soulution I can see is that to takeout Nazir and bring in Malik as an opener, afterall he has scored a century, eventhough not on a lively track but century is a century, not many people accomplish that in one day cricket.
Not only he gives bowlers some support but also have good batting depth, I would rather take Malik and Afridi anyday in exchange for Nazir.

[This message has been edited by UMAIR316 (edited June 03, 2002).]

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
Sherrybabba, yes you are right about that, but the problem is if Mahmood is included in top 11 than who should be eliminated, I want Malik and Afridi to share 10 overs to makeup for the absence of Saqlian, the only soulution I can see is that to takeout Nazir and bring in Malik as an opener, afterall he has scored a century, eventhough not on a lively track but century is a century, not many people accomplish that in one day cricket.
Not only he gives bowlers some support but also have good batting depth, I would rather take Malik and Afridi anyday in exchange for Nazir.

Umer bhai..I see your point even I want afridi to play so bad but as you said so much talent but very little space.

Imran Nazir is very talented batsman and frankly speaking he needs more exposure and experience and recently he proved to be very reliable batsman who has an ability to detroy the bowler too.

The problem with afridi is that he is very inconsistent but he gives us a sixth bowler option. I see it a plus but against Australia it would be ineffective and we really need to strenthen our batting..

Shoib Malik is a solid defensive batsman, wouldnt be nice to have em both(nazir and malik) instead of inconsistent Afridi..

Remmber we should concentrate more on the batting than on the bowling..
Mashallah we are already gifted with an amazing bowlers..

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited June 03, 2002).]

looking at the gap in the bowling department caused by razzaq’s absence i think azhar wud replace imran nazir…
i changed my view now…
i think afridi will open with anwar…
and azhar will be in…

that way we will have only waqar and akhtar as tail-enders (assuming wasim can/will bat)…
and we will have 4 fast bowlers (wasim,waqi, shoaib, azhar) and two spinners (malik and afridi)…
but in case of playing nazir and taking out afridi or azhar, waqar will have no bowling options…
and we need atleast one quality spinner to get rid of gilchrist…

sigh
it will be a pain to see gilly hit wasim bhai for a SIX again