Pakistan vs Australia - First Test (July 13-17)

We have kept Younis and Yousaf out and i think we have got new talent as Azhar Ali seems to be good player and soon we may find other, but if the batsman who we know is gifting his wicket from last 4/5 matches ( 9/10) innings then doesn't matter how much experinced he is, we don't need him as he may undone all the good work by others...

Umer Akmal need to be taught that he is not indispensable, we can get back when he performs.. otherwise no need to carry extra luggage

ye din bhi dekhna tha hamein :smiley: Shahid Afridi Test captain and Salman Butt praised by ehsan bhai …rotfl. Pakistan cricket is so much fun and truly unpredictable.

:blush:

Re: Pakistan vs Australia - First Test (July 13-17)

Good job Australia :k:

Chalo ya to mature decison ha , and i think its in good time too ...

Pakistan does need a captain to lead from the front

he certainly did'nt even tried to be that in this test match

Shahid Afridi to retire from Tests
Cricinfo staff
July 16, 2010
Text size: A | A

Shahid Afridi, the Pakistan captain, has said he will retire from Test cricket following the second Test against Australia at Headingley starting on Wednesday. He has not yet informed the PCB of his decision. Salman Butt, the vice-captain, is likely to take over the leadership in the second Test.

I was not very keen to play Test cricket but the board ask me to see how I felt,” :hoonh: Afridi told Sky Sports. "My temperment is not good enough to Test cricket and we need a proper batsman or a proper bowler.

"I injured by side in the Asia Cup and am still struggling. I can’t carry it in Test cricket where you need to be at full fitness. I’m enjoying one-day and Twenty20 so I’ll concentrate on that. It’s very difficult playing Tests after four years so it’s better to leave this cricket.

Ijaz Butt, the PCB chairman, told Cricinfo that the board was not aware of the decision. “We’ll make some decision when he comes and tells us but as of now we have not been informed,” Butt said.

Afridi made the surprising announcement to BBC Radio after leading Pakistan in a 150-run defeat in the first Test at Lord’s. He was out to rash shots, for 31 and 2, in each innings. Afridi said he no longer had the temperament for the five-day game after what was his first Test in four years.

Yawar Saeed, Pakistan’s manager, told Cricinfo that Afridi had a side strain and felt “that he shouldn’t keep a specialist out of the side.”

“Temperamentally he feels not comfortable with the format so Leeds will be his last Test.” Yawar said. “Salman Butt was appointed vice-captain for the tour and he will take over unless the PCB meets and decides otherwise. But as per procedure, he will take over.”

More to follow …

what good job? agar gyara gudhay bhee laa ker khurray ker deye hotay against Pakistan, even then our greats would have managed to lose the game somehow.

They won the game regardless they put up 11 donkeys or they played against 11 donkeys.

Only Butt took the pressure! sign of a responsible individual

I think he deserves to be the captain but I am not sure if he will get the respect from his teammates. He will constantly have to deal with leg pulling and politics.

Well...Pakistan got more than 7 sessions to make world record win...440 runs on a dead pitch...nothing for the pacers...9 wickets were gifted to the slow bowlers...but most Pakistani batsmen played it like an ODI instead of a test...lol

I was away from GS since last eve and upon reaching back to GS, I noticed strange and shocking news ... Although, the result was much understood for this match earlier, but the retirement of Afrdi ... This is a real shock for me ...

It seems he tried to safe himself from the bad image of loosing a clean wash from the Aus and again, the upcoming series with Englad.

Learnt that Yousef has decided to withdraw his retirement and ready to accept the cap and he has been called in England by the board ...

Ya Allah Pakistan ki team per reham kar ... :(

new players needed soon.. these guys have their weaknesses and strenghts but have served as best as they could, new players need to be given exposure now or there will be a shortage/ gap due to retirements

Pakistani team has no fighting spirit under Afridi's captaincy. They are surely fired up, just like the captain himself, but have no direction.

Coming back to temperament and by that I mean having patience to stay at the wicket and your mental approach to batting, Umar Akmal is a prime example of someone who has talent but lacks test temperament

Oh I know Ijaz was talented. You need talent first and foremost. But even though Ijaz and Chanderpaul did not have the best techniques, they made up for it with temperament and patience at the crease

Ofcourse some great batters possessed all three in rich abundance

Sir Isaac Vivian Alexander Richards