Pakistan v/s India-- 2nd ODI

So exactly in how many hours the match is going to start? :o

like 8 and a half more hours I guess...

i cant wait... ive already got the butterflies

I think it would be suicide for Pakistan to go into the 2nd ODI without a sixth bowler. We all saw wat happened in the first ODI. We can't afford to give as many runs in the 2nd ODI. With Sami and Razzaq, both horribly struggling with their bowling, it seems the coach and captain still don't get it that they need a sixth bowler.

Originally posted by yaasir: *
I think it would be suicide for Pakistan to go into the 2nd ODI without a sixth bowler. We all saw wat happened in the first ODI. We can't afford to give as many runs in the 2nd ODI. With Sami and Razzaq, both horribly struggling with their bowling, it seems the coach and captain still don't get it that they **need
* a sixth bowler.

Well..Team bowling 2nd under light may not need a sixth bowler. That might be reason of their thinking.
But Yes I agree..Its suicidal.

Team batting second shouldn't be chasing more than 240, so it's really imperative Ganguly wins the toss, since our bowlers cannot restrict Pakistan.

My gut feeling is Pakistan will win. They're going to fight with all their might to stop India being in a pretty position of 2-0.

*Originally posted by karina: *

My gut feeling is Pakistan will win. They're going to fight with all their might to stop India being in a pretty position of 2-0.

So you think they didnt fight last match with all their might.
In international games,every teams plays all the matches with all their might.

Anyway.. Even I think Pakistan will win this one. :p
Even I want to see ya in green dupatta.

It's kind of scary that India will have Laxman again as a full time batsmen. We cannot continue to give up so many free runs again and Shoaib Akhter, Mohammad Sami have to start bowling the right line of length instead of trying to put together a show.

Whats up with Umar Gul? Is he going to be allowed in the team anytime soon?

Thank god Laxman is playing! He is on my fantasy team and thus I want him to play..

:nono1: Kabhi achha nahi boltin. Are you still in late 80’s :hoonh:

I think today’s gonna be Yuvi’s and Pathan’s day. Goodluck to India and Pakistan both. May the better team win :k:

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

Even I want to see ya in green dupatta.

you have a point - last match pakistan fought TOO well. It is WE who need to spruce up. Btw I agree with your team selection, powar should play.

Indian teen - I knew I would get a response from you. lol
Ok, so what's your prediction?

India has beaten Pakistan twice in a row now in ODIs. A streak of three will be against the overall record of the teams.

India's bowling simply is way too friendly. Even though Irfan (once?) and Zaheer have in the past had effective days, I cannot remember a single inning of Indian bowling that came together as a quartet. And that will be necessary against a Pakistani batting team which a) knows they can chase any total if they keep their heads cool b) the batting line is hungry and pumped and c) the whole team is tasted a historic victory so so close.

India will sorely miss Ganguly. He has been able to keep the team together and focussed. While he can alongwith other seniors still strategize, someone needs to think of and execute in-field tactics. Rahul Dravid may surprise us yet, but that is another unknown.

Shoaib Shabbir and Sami can be a scary 30 overs

Sehwag has to click AND Tendular VVS Dravid HAVE TO SHINE and then Irfan and Zaheer HAVE TO penetrate.

Oh boy!

Another close game and better team-on-field wins :snooty:

Btw, if Pathan and Lax play, India would be a better team :stuck_out_tongue:

*Originally posted by Dhum Maro Dhum: *

Shoaib Shabbir and Sami can be a scary 30 overs

Oh boy!

haha they will be scary for pakistan because of their no balls :-)

Only if Pakistani bowlers learned their lesson from first match (as Indian did from the practice match against Pakistan A) and they came back with their usual leathal spells, India can give away their early wickets. Can’t say this about Dravid though. This guy has impressed me a lot. After Viv Richards and Miandad, he surely has bag full of trumps when on crease. This guy is too much for any attack in the world. pata nahi kiya khaata hai saala. :k: I hope Taufeeq will mature in the same way in the years to come, the guy has improved a lot and has over come on his technical flaws. I have big hopes with him, he is so young and patient, and can be another Zaheer or Miandad for Pakistan.

If Pakistan bat first, chances are that they will put up a 280+ figure on the scoreboard (this is with an average Paki batting performance, if they got the ball right on the bat as in Karachi and are in full mood of putting up 300+, chances are that they will make another world record against mediocre Indian attack). Indian bowlling is surprisingly TOO bad, it was almost like a club side (what the heck these Indian newspaper 've been screaming about for last several months). Except the first few good line and length overs, these guys must have made Kapil cry. Nehra did a good last over, thats it all. Zaheer is not even half a bowler of Shabbir. Only line and length helps him a bit, but once the batsmen are in swing, every ball of his sees the ropes. Phattan will be tested in Pindi. I hope he will live upto his nations expectations, I don’t know much about his pace and majic deliveries. Kartik has to put a show too. I hope Indian bowlers will prove me wrong.
Needless to say that if Pakistan put 280+, how difficult it would be for the world’s strongest batting line up to face Shoaib and Co. in misty flood light conditions. But who knows how serious our fast bowlers are to correct their mistake.

If India bat first, then the game already goes into their hand, I would say 70%. Only if our pacers restrict them at 220 miracously, then our batting can thrash Indian attack even in night conditions.

But all these IFs can’t be happening as this is a game of chance. We can predict only based on talents. what happens in ground is another story and that is why we all are in love with this game. Unpredictable!

Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
**Phattan
* will be tested in Pindi. I hope he will live upto his nations expectations, I don't know much about his pace and majic deliveries.

Neo de peo jee, aapka paal kabhi kisi pathan se nahi pada hai kya? His name is Pathan, not Phattan. Thanks.

sighhhz... I hope they dont drop rana naved... I think hes got some great talent. Give him a chance. He could be a very good find for pakistan. Yes, he stuffed up in his first over.... but I can tell that he can be a great player...

I think i,m in love...

abay oye woh typo tha. pathan ne doosray pathan ko phattan likha, aapko takleef. wese i do write it as phattan :p galti se mishtake hogaya!

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

Even I want to see ya in green dupatta. /QUOT

F&B, stop being negative about your team all the times... you did the same when india was playing against australia and when india made some history, you were the first one to celebrate and jumping all over...and if you have to be negative, provide some logic....as a matter of fact, india has better chances to win tonite as paki bowling is pretty dejected and off-color after first match. I mean come on, we never gave away so many runs in our whole history....so that is a big shock for our bowlers ....whereas india has given away 335 runs or more 5 times in last one year...

hold ur horses everyone, let the match start, n we'll ssee the team....

the pak cricket management never fails to surprise us....