Pakistan v/s India-- 2nd ODI

*Originally posted by Captain1: *

I thought the ball Razzaq got bowled from did move outwards for Razzaq and into the wickets as he was way back on the leg side.

that was a slower ball, an off spinner from Zaheer Khan and thats why it turned and clipped the off stump.

:blush: aap k aur mairey khayalaat kitney miltey-jultey hain :slight_smile:

Imran favours Umar

Taufiq Umar should be elevated to the senior Pakistan one-day side as soon as possible, according to Imran Khan.
The opener scored a dazzling century as Pakistan A beat India on Thursday.

But it had already been decided he would not feature in the first of two one-day internationals between the two countries, in Karachi and Rawalpindi.

“Had I been the captain I would have put him in the team straight away,” Imran told BBC Urdu in an interview. Pakistan lost the first one-day match.

Imran said the player had performed well in the World Cup before disappearing from the team.

He favours India in the one-day matches because of their batting strength, but he takes Pakistan to win the Tests because of their bowling.

“In one-day matches, a strong batting lineup always has better chances,” he said.

Imran was impressed with India’s performance in Australia.

“No one expected such a good performance from the India side in Australia,” he said. “Their morale is very high, and they have enough self-belief and confidence to beat any team in the world.”

When Pakistan and India play against each other, he added, the pressure on the players is so high that sometimes they cannot live up to their standards.

*Originally posted by karina: *
My decision was right... I’m not here to please others

Inzamam-ul-Haq
March 15

That article isnt written by Inzi. Thats not even a translation of any of his thoughts. Just doesnt sound like him. Inzi is too calm and cool to come out blasting his critics like that.

The urge to change team after one loss seems tremendous among Pakistani cricket fans. I think the team that played on Saturday is talented enough to win us the next 4 matches, given they play to their potential. Its a done deal. I think by insisting to change the team so much, we're showing our inability to analyse the reasons for the loss i.e. extras, and ways to fix the shortcomings. We need to minimise those no and wide balls. India did not beat Pakistan. Pakistan beat Pakistan. Can someone please explain to me how brining in Afridi will help us if the two S's continue to give away extras like they did on Saturday? Similarly, its ridiculous to discard Imran Farhat and Yasir Hameed for failure in just one match after labelling them the best opening pair a few months back. Now the fascination seems to have shifted back to Imran Nazir after his knock against India. Picking him or anyone on just one performance is just as iffy as it is criminal to drop someone after a failure in one match. What happens if he fails, like he did before he was dropped? I am sure the same people who are vouching for his return to the team would want him exiled from Pakistan. This one match-fuse is getting pretty laughable. Atleast wait for two ODI's people. Have some patience, and faith.

How Ironic that we keep on demanding consistency from our cricketers yet when it comes to us, we prove to be the most impatient, inconsistent bunch of all cricket fans.

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
The urge to change team after one loss seems tremendous among Pakistani cricket fans. I think the team that played on Saturday is talented enough to win us the next 4 matches, given they play to their potential. Its a done deal. I think by insisting to change the team so much, we're showing our inability to analyse the reasons for the loss i.e. extras, and ways to fix the shortcomings. We need to minimise those no and wide balls. India did not beat Pakistan. Pakistan beat Pakistan. Can someone please explain to me how brining in Afridi will help us if the two S's continue to give away extras like they did on Saturday? Similarly, its ridiculous to discard Imran Farhat and Yasir Hameed for failure in just one match after labelling them the best opening pair a few months back. Now the fascination seems to have shifted back to Imran Nazir after his knock against India. Picking him or anyone on just one performance is just as iffy as it is criminal to drop someone after a failure in one match. What happens if he fails, like he did before he was dropped? I am sure the same people who are vouching for his return to the team would want him exiled from Pakistan. This one match-fuse is getting pretty laughable. Atleast wait for two ODI's people. Have some patience, and faith.

How Ironic that we keep on demanding consistency from our cricketers yet when it comes to us, we prove to be the most impatient, inconsistent bunch of all cricket fans.

Very well said. I am always amused by the reactions from Pakistani supporters whenever they lose a match. Belive me I spent long enough time on this forum to know it. It looks like their urge of blood is too much.As if every time a team loses some head MUST roll. Its just a game and sometime you lose. I think pakistani team played really well. And they dont need too mamy changes .

It was established beyond any shadow of the doubt the matches between these two side would be played on the wire. Karachi was such a lucky venue to witness the history in making. Millions were treated to a feast that you can only dream about. Many Gupies themselves wrote in these threads that :they cud’nt sleep the night bbefore the start. Such was the intencity and interest witnessed by the millions all over the world. Yes ! all over the world. It was a global event. I have seen and read articles from various sport personalities from Baseball/Football and Mr. Packers camp. Who all had some stunning things to say about this thriller of an event. It made me so proud that I could not get the dust particle out of my eyes before they got wet.

Karachite were never a threat to any one, not before and not now. It is a peacfull city which has the main pulse of the nation running through its vain. Historically it reacts to the Politics/Incidents/Demagraphic reforms. Yes ! Things got ugly on various occasions, could it not be the important reaction which was vital to have in ups and downs of nation building?. Let us not put a tabo on things and places that are only reactionary to thier suroundings.

Both Pakistan & India played to thier full potentials and the game of cricket once proved it self that this a game played by the millions spontaniosely and only 11 a side reacting to the other 11.

Last but on least, I agree with gupy CP some where on this thread that no matter who is in final 11, it is the manner of engaging your self and how to improvise to various situation of the game. both side have equal potential and lethat weaponary at this point.

:jhanda:

yup this will b my team :k:
so who will bowl 5/5 overs?:confused:
afridi and razzler?

:konfused:

Replace ABdul Razzaq with me :)

Everyone is discussing Paki team. here is my Indian team for tomorrows match.

Sachin
Sehwag
Laxman
Ganguly
Dravid
Yuvraj
Kaif
Ramesh Powar
Irfan pathan
Zaheer Khan
L Balaji

If Ganguly is not fit play Badani.

I think they should give one more chance to Karthik. I mean he's supposedly the geniune spinner and he should be given a chance..

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Everyone is discussing Paki team. here is my Indian team for tomorrows match.

Sachin
Sehwag
Laxman
Ganguly
Dravid
Yuvraj
Kaif
Ramesh Powar
Irfan pathan
Zaheer Khan
L Balaji

If Ganguly is not fit play Badani.

Talk about hypocrisy :hehe: Jeetnay wali team ke proponents apni team change kar len woh theek hai, harnay wali team ke proponents change demand karayn to woh ghalat hay… bhai wah… wah wah :k: shabash

Out of team: Younis Khan , bring in Taufeeq Umer
Out of team: Shoaib Malik: bring in Shahid Afridi
Out of team: Rana Naveed: bring in Shabbir

Pakistani bowlers need to maintain a great line and length.
Fielding needs to step up, without dropping catches and please run fast between the wickets, and even if it is a single run.

Well…We were talking about pattern in behaviour of Paki supporter.

Now,In case of India we are talking about a fringe player not about droping guy who makes our core team.Some pakistani supporters suggested to drop guy like Yasir or Sami who has been core of team for a while now. try to see the difference

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Well.....We were talking about pattern in behaviour of Paki supporter.

Now,In case of India we are talking about a fringe player not about droping guy who makes our core team.Some pakistani supporters suggested to drop guy like Yasir or Sami who has been core of team for a while now. try to see the difference

Bhai, people demand any player who does not perform, esp in an important match. You suggested that Murali be taken out, while he played only one match against Pakistan, right? Powar, I understand is on same level of experience as Murali (both inexperienced, or lil). When you end up on losing side due to a player's inconsistency, its natural to demand axing. I am sure that this is not limited to Pakistani cricket fans.

Sami is talented, but when players start taking their position for granted, they don't perform consistently and don't put their heart/brain to work. Just look at Razzaq's bowling, brainless. Same thing had happened to Afridi. Every such player should be removed from the team for a couple of matches if not series to tell them that they've got to get serious, if they want to keep it as a career, otherwise get a carrier and fly out.

*Originally posted by arifmir: *
... please run fast between the wickets, and even if it is a single run.

Sorry thats not gonna happen if our captain is on the crease.

Well said Captain. We are accussed of being sentoo…look who’s talking :rolleyes:

^ he proved during the 1st ODI against India that he can run between the wickets by scoring 62 runs through boundaries and the remaining 60 runs by running between the wickets!

Pakistan zindabad!

I don't remember any other ODI where Inzi worked real hard and made singles into doubles. His running between the wickets was excellent, better than Younis and others. For the first time I saw Inzi who actually wanted to win. Instead od fielding in his usual slip he was fielding in mid-on area where he was actually talking with his bowlers.
Sabash Inzi!

Shabbir set to play; Nehra out, Ganguly doubtful for today’s tie

RAWALPINDI: Pakistan was facing a selection dilemma and the Indians were confronted with fitness problems in the run-up to the second day and night One-day International here at the Rawalpindi Stadium on Tuesday.

While Indian vice captain Rahul Dravid confirmed that left-arm pacer Ashish Nehra was out of the match because of a swollen ankle and skipper Saurav Ganguly was also doubtful as he was down with a severe cold and had fever.

“What is certain is that Nehra will not be playing,” Dravid said. "The left ankle which bothered him on the Australian tour has flared up again. Hopefully he will be fit for the third match. We will take a decision on Saurav’s fitness after medical examination in the morning.

On the other hand, **the Pakistan camp was still having second thoughts on playing Shahid Afridi as a sixth bowling option. A source close to the selectors said that at the meeting with captain Inzamam-ul-Haq and coach Javed Miandad, it was decided to wait and see as to how important a factor the dew plays under lights before deciding on whether Afridi should play.

“The captain and coach remain adamant that in the given conditions at the Pindi Stadium they can manage without Afridi and have given opener Yasir Hameed plenty of bowling in the nets so that he can send down a few overs as a sixth bowler if the need arises,” the source said. “They are not keen to break up the batting combination but it has been agreed to replace Rana Naveed-ul-Hasan or Muhammad Sami with Shabbir Ahmed in the bowling line-up as he has now recovered from his finger injury,” the source disclosed.**

The Pakistani bowlers struggled badly in the first match in Karachi and sent down a record number of 20 no-balls and 10 wides, the no-balls being a new record for Pakistan in one-day cricket. The absence of a sixth bowler was badly felt with Muhammad Sami, Abdul Razzaq and Rana Naveed all struggling to stop the run flow.

And the source said that the problem of the bowlers to concede too many extras was discussed in detail at Tuesday’s meeting with the coach expressing confidence this problem would be sorted out in the coming match. The Indians on the other hand will have VVS Laxman back in place of Hemang Badani while they are contemplating playing Irfan Pathan in place of the injured Nehra and giving the Mumbai all-rounder Ramesh Powar his first cap in place of Murali Kartik.

But if Ganguly is not fit to play then obviously Badani would get another chance with Laxman coming in at number three.