Re: Pakistan v/s India 1st Test @ Lahore 13 - 17 jan 06
BBC sports headline: http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41223000/jpg/_41223822_dravidsehwag66.jpg
They didnt get their world record....hahaha
Even though they didn't get the "world record" for the highest partnership, but still it is second highest partnership which is AGAINST PAKISTAN!!!, shame on PCB.
Lets move on to next one with hopes that it'll have better pitch.
Shoaib was talking sh1t about Indian batsmen being afraid of him before the series, and Sehwag nonchalantly mentions that Shoaib has not backed up his comments in response to a question.
Once again, I am yet to get enlightened by any such articles in which Shoaib has ridiculed Indian batters in any way, shape, or form. As mentioned earlier several times, an authenticated copy of a reference would be a great help. :)
Widely circulated story in Indian tabloids and press at that time. :)
Sure it was. At least up until now. :)
the middle one is not bad
Even the camera-men have to find something interesting......:p
Thankfully, I slept soundly last night. Good dreams......
Closes the 'tension packet' for the next several days
Phir dobara sey packet khol lengey......kiya karein. :D
The sooner we forget about this test the better.
do you think Sehwag would have demanded “an authenticated copy of a reference” after hearing a simple comment in a newspaper?
lol, either way…do a google search. i don’t bookmark these kinds of things.
I’d recommend you start the same from now on. Such things are hard to come by, and especially in these situations, it provides a wide diversity of topics to choose from. ![]()
Thank God, it is over. What a boring match it was.
Well Dhobi bhai, u were insisting so much so here you go. mein garhe murde ukharna nahi chahta but yaar izzat to bachani hai na.
Ab yeh mat kehna ke woh TV program le ke aao.My point is, if we read these staements,whether they are true or not is besides the point,then obviously both teams are also aware of them.So in this context it’s quite natural that sehwag made that statement,as i’m sure any pakistani player would have done in this situation.That was what I was trying to tell fkhan too.
Anyway let’s move on to the next test and good luck to both the teams
Thanks much for the great find! I whole-heartedly agree with your post, and also wish both teams the best of luck for the next two tests. :)
How does a team that scored 678 runs, with 4 centuries, all at a fairly good clip and after a afridi smash up.....still come out feeling losers? how did this happen? I just came back from a desi get together with both Indian and Pakistan crowd and that was the prevailing feeling.
Fans of both sides had over rated and expected from Shoab Aktar and rest of the Pak bowling and seemed to be in lingering shock that they couldn't get a single wicket....Sehwag getting out seemed viewed as charity!
^ I believe this to be an after effect of the England series. Complacency killed the cat.
English battling lineup, not very accustomed to subcontinental conditions, collapsed again and again and again. They collapsed on bowler friendly warmup match pitches and they collapsed on batsmen friendly pitches.
The average Pakistani joe then thought if England can crumble under Shoaib's wrath then so can India. Unfortunately India is India and not England and their batsmen have spinners and slow bowlers for breakfast. That means the threat from Shoaib's slower balls has been neutralized and our generous pitches helped neutralize the threat from Shoaib's faster balls.
Hoping for an Indian collapse on a batting paradise like the one we saw in Lahore is like waiting for lightning to strike you on a cloudless day.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
^ true, English were high after smashing Australia in Ashes series, we got high after beating England and one good knock from Sehwag/Dravid has brought us to some senses.
this is good i think in a way, as Inzamam still has to improve his captaincy, i think he has to think a bit more about innovations, in such run fest i think thats where the captain somewhat wills his team 2 a wicket!
^ well, whatever the reason, it's good for Indian morale and also took the Ganguly distraction away for a few days. Dravid and I thank you!
Unfortunately India is India and not England and their batsmen have spinners and slow bowlers for breakfast. That means the threat from Shoaib's slower balls has been neutralized and our generous pitches helped neutralize the threat from Shoaib's faster balls.
Same Indian batting lineup collapsed on a bowler friendly pitch against SL during first test. So chances are that it can, if PCB backs it bowlers.......
Back to the basics - Pitch, weather, sunlight, breeze, pollution, crowd everything including the morning bus ride are influences but the main thing is player selection, play selection and playing attitude.
They seem to have focussed on over engineering the ground conditions to the point of it being unsportsmanlike and lost sight of the skills of the Indian players.
Well, for once the mistake is on the other side