Pakistan V India - 1st Test Match.

sp how many hundred overs will kumble bowl in this match????

im assuming dravid had told the batters (or had in mind) that they would declare at 650 runs.

When Sachin was nearing his 200 i assume Dravid felt obliged to let him get it, however with the fall of the wicket, he fell back to his original plan and declared to try and see if India could take a wicket or two before stumps.

In my opinion this is good captaining. Mere "landmarks" should not affect decisions.

476 to avoid follow-on .... good luck Pakistan u'll need every bit of it ......

Originally posted by Surdar Asif: *
Tendi stranded on 194
!!!!

This is just like Imran's declaration when Middan bhai was abt to get his double! wow, interesting decision by Dravid.

Miandad was on 280* I believe

*Originally posted by Captain1: *

Miandad was on 280* I believe

Yes he was.

What´s the score at the end of the day?

India 675/5d
Pakistan 42/0

Thanks ehsan bhai.

salam umer bhia..
at the end of the day pakistan is 42/0 in 16 overs

Imran farhat 17
taufeeq umer 20

pakistan trail by 633 runs

Pakistan great Imran Khan blasts pitch after India’s run feast](Yahoo is part of the Yahoo family of brands.)

MULTAN, Pakistan (AFP) - Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan has lashed out at the dead wicket prepared for the first Test against India, saying it was bad for the country’s image.

“Such tracks not only provide boring cricket but are also detrimental for the development of Pakistan cricket,” Imran said after India ran up a mammoth 675-5 declared on Monday.

“Pakistan’s strength lies in its fast bowlers but that strength is negated by laying out such a lifeless wicket.”

India’s highest total against Pakistan was built around opener Virender Sehwag’s 309 and an undefeated 194 by Sachin Tendulkar.

Pakistan’s four-pronged attack, led by the fiery duo of Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami, toiled in vain on a wicket devoid of any assistance.

“With Shoaib asked to bowl on such a wicket, it is frustrating,” Imran told AFP. “Someone has to take the blame of ordering such a pitch.”

“It seems the captain (Inzamam-ul Haq) or coach (Javed Miandad) wanted the grass removed because the square looked green a day before the match.”

Imran, who took 362 Test wickets, said pitches in Pakistan were more conducive to fast bowling when he played.

“When I used to play even the worst pitch had traces of grass on it and that is why we produced such class bowlers like Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis,” he said.

Pakistan Cricket Board hired English curator Andy Atkinson two years ago to prepare pitches around the country.

Atkinson, who hails from Essex, agreed with Imran that the hosts did not take advantage of their strengths.

“I am also not happy at the behaviour of the pitch,” he said.

But Atkinson, an advisor to the International Cricket Council (ICC) on pitches, said the wicket at the Multan stadium here will assist spin later in the match.

“We had just three days to prepare the pitch but I am sure it will take turn on the last two days,” he said.

Atkinson, who prepared two bouncy tracks against South Africa last year, claimed the wicket for the second Test in Lahore will be different.

“There will be some bounce there because we have been working on the square at the Gaddafi stadium,” he said.

The second Test starts from April 5 while the third and final Test will be played in Rawalpindi from April 13.

ehsan bhia… main batarahi thi na :bailan:

:stuck_out_tongue:

Aap bauhat slow hain. Aab itan bhi na marein, bailanay say roti banayein. :stuck_out_tongue:

Originally posted by Surdar Asif: *
Tendi stranded on 194
!!!!

This is just like Imran's declaration when Middan bhai was abt to get his double! wow, interesting decision by Dravid.

Imran was way ahead of the pack. Indians until late were focused on individual records rather than team benefit. Imran was a genius and didn't give a hoot about records. Rahul Dravid today made me a proud cricketer by declaring at the right time without considering individualism.

PS. However, inside I hope for a brawl breaking between Tendulkar and Dravid on this issue. :D

I think Khan Saheb is forgetting the run feast of Hyderabad in 1982-83 when Mudassar Nazar (232) and Javed Miandad (280*) had a fourth wicket world record breaking partnership of 460 odd runs on a pitch as dead as this belter in Multan.

*Originally posted by funguy: *

I think Khan Saheb is forgetting the run feast of Hyderabad in 1982-83 when Mudassar Nazar (232) and Javed Miandad (280*) had a fourth wicket world record breaking partnership of 460 odd runs on a pitch as dead as this belter in Multan.

perhaps 20 wickets falling for 462 runs after mudassir was finally out showed how dead the picth was????
and not to forget 15 of those 20 wickets were shared between imran and sarfaraz....

this series is turning into a humiliation. 50+ years of effort are being wasted by this talentless, lazy team. sami's dropped catch is probably the most expensive drop in cricket history.

TUMS, yaar itnay frustrate na ho, did you forget the catches dropped by our great players in World Cup? Great Taufeeq dropped catches in last ODI ? and in this test we are just continuing the tradition of dropping sitters to give batsman a chance to prove himself.

Now Imran Farhat needs to score 400 to make up for dropping that sitter :hoonh:

So the last 2 days are supposedly “spinners” pitch, I can see Kumble haunting our batsmen while Saqi still trying to throw “pehla” right.

I am surprised Rashif Latif has not made a comment yet - giving his reason for leaving Sachin stranded on 194. I guess Rashid would say that there was heavy betting on Sachin reaching the 200 mark, hence Dravid (at the behest of the bookmakers) declared before Sachin reached 200. :)

I look forward to seeing demons that were nowhere in sight when the Indians were batting, spring up all of a sudden when our boys start batting. :hehe: