Pakistan V England.

Re: Pakistan V England/ English squad announced.

If I am not mistaken, most of the ODIs will be played in day/light. James have a tendency to swing ball under lights. He was successful against Pakistan in WC 2003. Hmmmm sounds like a good fantasy pick, don’t ya think? :wink:

On that thought, Go England! :smiley:

England's concerns

What with Pieterson having a hamstring injury and Flintoff taken to hospital today for X-RAYS on the area just above his wrist, England might be in a spot of trouble when they come to Pakistan. On top of that, Jones is also not playing.

Jimmy Anderson is a has been and he is nothing short of a pedestrian bowler in the subcontinent pitches. With Flintoff, Harmison and Hoggard firing, I don’t see him getting much playing time.

By reading the selectors interviews it looks like, they will drop Shoaib once again ...rightly so I guess :)

Will Sami, Shabbir, Gul and Rana make a formidable attack for Pakistan? specially when they are planning to prepare spin wickets?

**England face tour fixture switch **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | England face tour fixture switch)

None of Michael Vaughan’s men is expected to pull out
England’s first tour match in Pakistan, due to start on 31 October in Rawalpindi, may be switched to Lahore.
The need may arise for all available accommodation in Rawalpindi to house those left homeless by the earthquake and for foreign aid workers.

Rawalpindi is close to the capital Islamabad, which has become the centre for the relief effort.

England players’ agent Richard Bevan said: “The tour may assist in helping Pakistan get back to normality.”

The players are happy that the procedure in place is the correct one

Richard Bevan

It remains extremely unlikely that the tour will be cancelled or postponed.

Bevan, chief execuitve of the Professional Cricketers Association went on: "Our security people hare monitoring and liaising with the relevant authorities in Pakistan.

"It won’t be for another three or four days before we receive any firm thoughts as to whether [the earthquake] will have an effect on the tour or not.

"Personally I doubt that it will. It may have some impact on the logistics, but again we won’t know what our advice is on that for a few days.

“I’ve spoken to the players about the tour and they are happy that the procedure and the strategy in place is the correct one.”

About 35,000 people were killed by the disaster, with many more left homeless as houses, public buildings and communication links were badly affected in the north of the country.

Tremors were felt earlier on Wednesday in the southern port of Karachi - one of the cities on England’s tour itinerary - as a result of a smaller earthquake, but no injuries were reported.

Michael Vaughan’s men fly out on 26 October.

^ Chaloo Ehsan Bhai nai bhee koi achee news post kee warna ehsan bhai kabhee khair kee khaber nahi latey heen :)

**Vaughan warning over tough tour **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | England | Cautious England fly to Pakistan)

England captain Michael Vaughan warned the tour of Pakistan would present a tough challenge in different conditions from those enjoyed during the Ashes.

The team fly from Heathrow on Tuesday morning, scheduled to play three Tests and five one-day internationals.

"The last two years have seen some very good cricket played by the England team and I think the tour of Pakistan is really going to test all our skills.

“Pakistan are a very dangerous team. It will be a really tough test,” he said.

"There will be conditions which some of our players haven’t played in.

"I think only four or maybe five of the team have played Test cricket in the subcontinent so it’s going to be a real challenge.

"It was great to play the cricket we did in England. We’re used to the conditions over here so we knew the kind of cricket we needed to play.

“Pakistan is new to a lot of the players. There are different techniques which will be required over there and a lot of skill will be required.”

England coach Duncan Fletcher emphasised that the nature of the wickets England will find would play a large part in their tactics.

“One thing that’s going to be different (from England) is the wickets will probably be different,” said Fletcher.

"It’s going to be interesting to see the wickets because if they are going to go with spinning wickets it brings our reverse swing into play.

"If they don’t and they go with seaming wickets I don’t know if they’ll seam around much, so there’s a lot of things we’re going to have to look at and assess when we get out there.

"Every tour you go on it’s a brand new challenge and you’ve got to start afresh with every challenge.

“Over the past two years and tours before that we’ve been thrown out a challenge and, especially over the last two years, we’ve risen to that challenge.”

Pakistan was hit by a massive earthquake just over two weeks ago, and Vaughan said he hoped England’s visit would help lift spirits at a difficult time.

“They’re fanatical about the game of cricket in Pakistan and by us touring there hopefully we can bring a little bit of joy back to their lives,” he added.

I say to English team, bring on some Haajmola.

**Pakistan ground guides **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Pakistan ground guides)

Collingwood: ‘Our main goal in Pakistan will be to win 3-0’

Paul Collingwood has insisted England can achieve a 3-0 whitewash in the forthcoming Test series in Pakistan. England fly to Pakistan today, and play a warm-up match against a Patron’s XI at Rawalpindi on October 31.
“That’s our goal,” Collingwood told BBC Sport. “We’re looking at things to achieve and going to Pakistan and India we want to win these series. Whether we win them 2-1, 1-0 we’re going to be happy to win the series but I certainly think our main goal in Pakistan will be to win 3-0.”

England last toured Pakistan in 2000-01 under the captaincy of Nasser Hussain. After two draws in the first two Tests, England clung on in the gloom to achieve their first series victory on Pakistani soil since 1961-62. Ashley Giles and Marcus Trescothick are the only two survivors from that win at Karachi - although Andrew Flintoff, Michael Vaughan and Matthew Hoggard all toured with the side.

Even though England’s triumphant summer has heightened the expectations of the team, Collingwood was quick to warn against complacency: “It’s a major challenge but everybody is looking forward to it. There are not many players in the squad who have experienced the subcontinent but this is a very good side and players can adapt very quickly.”

The first Test starts on November 12 at Multan, followed by two more Tests and a five-match one-day series.

SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakveng/content/story/223103.html

Ya’Allah khair … hope pakistan doest not concede 1:0 advantage to the english only to come back … hope Pakistan wins the Test-Series … but oh well what i’am asking for … must be the effects of the roza today :wink:

ye to pehlay say he dranay lag gay. I am already feelign we are going to lose :p

**Inzamam hoping to raise spirits **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | England | Inzamam hoping to raise spirits)

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq says an exciting Test series against England will help take the county’s minds off the aftermath of the recent earthquake.
“Cricket has been a great healer and we hope that both teams put on their best show to heal some of the wounds caused by the earthquake,” said Inzamam.

“The loss of lives is irreparable but what I appreciate is England’s resolve to bring smiles back.”

The 8 October earthquake killed more than 53,000 and left millions homeless.

England captain Michael Vaughan said his side, who arrive on Wednesday, will do their best to help.

“They’re fanatical about the game of cricket in Pakistan and by us touring there hopefully we can bring a little bit of joy back to their lives,” he added.

England open their tour with a three-day fixture against the PCB Patron’s XI at Rawalpindi from 31 October.

Star all-rounder Andrew Flintoff and pace bowler Steve Harmison will arrive later in the week, after taking part in a fund-raising programme for quake victims in Dubai.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has donated £485,000 for victims and will also give the gate money from the first one-day international in Lahore on 10 December.

The security arrangements for the England tour extend to emergency evacuation plans in case of another earthquake.

**England arrive for Pakistan tour **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | England | England arrive for Pakistan tour)

England arrived in Pakistan early on Wednesday to begin a tough tour they believe will strengthen team bonding.
Because of security fears, they will be guarded like visiting heads of state.

But spinner Ashley Giles believes the increased security and the lack of opportunity to socialise will work in England’s favour.

Giles said the last tour there in 2000 was, “a very good trip for team bonding because there wasn’t a lot to do apart from watching films and talking.”

The bulk of the England squad arrived in the capital Islamabad at 2200 local time (0200 GMT) after an 18-hour flight from Heathrow.

They begin their first match against a strong PCB Patron’s XI in Rawalpindi on Monday.

Stars Andrew Flintoff and Steve Harmison, who took part in the recent Super Series in Australia, will not join the squad until 6 November.

The first of three Tests begins in Multan six days later and there are five one-day internationals in the seven-week trip.

Unlike their last trip to the country five years ago, England will not take a trip to the Khyber Pass and there will be no match in Peshawar, the nearest cricketing venue to the Afghanistan border.

But England are hoping to raise the morale of the Pakistani people in the earthquake-ravaged country.

“The carnage we have seen out in Pakistan puts cricket in perspective really but if we can go there and lift the nation 2% then we will have done our jobs,” said Giles.

“We know how much they enjoy their cricket, it’s almost a religion out there, and if this England team can go out there and do something for the people then that would be great.”

Razzaq doubtful for first Test

Pakistan’s allrounder, Abdul Razzaq, is unlikely to be fit for the first Test against England owing to an injured elbow. Pakistan face England on November 12 at Multan, in the first of three Tests.
“He has been advised rest and treatment for this elbow problem for two to three weeks,” Bob Woolmer, Pakistan’s coach, told BBC Sport. “I don’t think the chances of him playing in the first Test are good. He is a key player for us.”
Razzaq, 25, has played 37 Tests for Pakistan and his allround versatility would be sorely missed by the home side. With the ability to bowl at a sharp pace, and bat aggressively at any position, he is a vital cog in Pakistan’s lineup. He has taken 77 wickets and scored 1523 runs in Test matches, since making his debut as a nineteen-year-old against Australia in 1999.

Pakistan are also uncertain about the fitness of Shoaib Akhtar, although Woolmer said the bowler looked good at the national training camp in Lahore - despite arriving on Sunday, two days after it began.

SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakveng/content/story/223340.html

yaar ye kab baraa ho gaa? ye to Afridi ka bhee bara bhai niklaa!

I don't mind Razzaq's injury too much (I hope he gets better before the one dayers though). He is not test match material. Now get Umer Gul in there as the third seamer and we should be set.

When is the team suppose to be announced? I mean Pakistani team.

I guess during or immediately after the 3 day match between England and Patrons X1 which would start on 31st October.

According to jang, the 18 man squad has already been announced and there is no Hasan Raza aur Faisal Iqbal in the squad of 18, I think Hasan should at least be in the squad of 18. Imran farhat, Bazid Khan has been chosen instead.

I don't know how accurate Jang's forecast is but they are spot on most of the times.

Pakistan squad finalised for Multan Test

From our correspondent

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan cricket squad for the first Test of the forthcoming home series against England has been finalised, according to sources. The national selectors gave final shape to the 18-member squad on Thursday for the opening Test starting at the Multan Cricket Stadium from November 12. The sources said the Pakistan squad for the Multan Test would be announced officially on Friday. Pakistan squad for Multan Test: Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Younis Khan (vice-captain), Mohammad Yousuf, Asim Kamal, Shoaib Malik, Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Bazid Khan, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Mushtaq Ahmed, Danish Kaneria, Arshad Khan, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Umar Gul, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan and Shabbir Ahmed.