had hotiee hai…there was nothing in pitch. what happened to them? why were they so scared? lost like 5 wickets in couple of runs. they were so nervous. did you see their faces.
hell with those push ups in first innings. oh pehlay match to jeet lo baiwaqoofo
It is disappointing when you lose a game after winning more sessions than the opposition and after being ahead after day 2.
Looking back, the last session yesterday where Moeen and Bairstow scored some quick runs really hurt us and took the game away from us. Bowlers had kept it tight till tea. It enabled Cook to declare after half an hour today (just as I had predicted)
Disappointing that we lost so many wickets between lunch and tea today. For some reason, Azhar and Sami went into a shell after lunch (maybe instructed to bat like that by the management) instead of rotating the strike which proved to be suicidal. They built pressure on themselves. Sensing that Pakistan were not going for a win, Cook applied more pressure by having more fielders around the bat. The rest is history.
Some poor shots by the batsmen also contributed to the defeat (Hafeez attempted an awful pull, Younis and Sarfraz too loose outside the off stump). Asad had a poor game. I agree with Misbah, that the lack of a genuine all-rounder at this level is affecting the balance of the side and hurting Pakistan.
Above being said I have seen teams lose 8 or 9 wickets after tea on the final day. Day 5 batting is always tricky. Overall we were really competitive but a couple of bad sessions literally cost us the game (last session day 4 and 2nd session day 5)
After this test series…PCB must enforce a forced retirement of Muhammad Hafeez, Younis Khan & Misbahul Haq with great thanks…actively and
brutally look for the emerging talents…or should I ask Pakistan Rangers to do that…
Azhar Ali can be the next test captain…
In the Oval test…Pakistan must include another bowler…morons should understand that bowlers get tired and start conceding extra runs…a
bowler who takes a couple of key wickets is equal to a batsman who makes a ton…
Although I get your point, teams can afford to play 5 bowlers only if at least one of them is a genuine all rounder who can contribute some runs down the order. Otherwise it adversely affects the balance of the side. The fact that Hafeez cannot bowl (apart from the fact that he cannot bat either!) has hurt us. Should have included Babar Azam who can bowl as well. If we play with 5 bowlers with the current batting our already fragile batting line up will become even more weak. For the next game at The Oval I will replace Hafeez with Rizwan or Iftikhar. Open with Azhar and Sami and send Asad at one down. Let out of sorts Younis bat at 3 or 4 down. Unless Younis does something special at The Oval, there will be strong calls from ex-players and everyone for him to retire. Perhaps Misbah should use Azhar more as a 5th bowler.
In ability of hafeez to bowl hurting us big time not only in test but more in ODI and T20. He himself is also less in confidence. He usually bats well when he had a good spell of bowling. So his inclusion in the team must depend on his ability to bowl.
Need to groom another off spinner who can bat as well. ( Pl. not Shoaib malik )
Bhai sahib, had Misbah not scored the century in first match it would be 0-3 right now. He is still the most consistent batsman of Pakistani team despite few non-scoring innings.
And no, we dont need another bowler. We need right batsmen. Hafeez and YK must go. And if Asad shafiq, after pair of ducks, doesnt look right he should too. The only criterion of having a place in team should be performance.