Pakistan V Bangladesh - Test and ODI series.

According to the new ICC rules, if the injury occurs once the match has progressed, then the player can be replaced ONLY for batting and that too ONLY by someone who is already retired. In this case, the most eligible players are Imran Khan, Saeed Anwar, Rameez Raja and Aamir Sohail.

Which one you think Rashid Latif will pick?

*Originally posted by funguy: *
According to the new ICC rules, if the injury occurs once the match has progressed, then the player can be replaced ONLY for batting and that too ONLY by someone who is already retired. In this case, the most eligible players are Imran Khan, Saeed Anwar, Rameez Raja and Aamir Sohail.

gosh! i didnt know that! i think rashid'll pick rameez raja.

For the heck of it, I’ll say Amir Sohail :slight_smile:

Really?
On a serious matter, Pakistan should pick one of the guys from the squad.

Shoaib couldn’t have said it any better.

Pakistan pitches ‘too slow’

Shoaib feels the strain as Bangladesh pinch a single
Pakistan must do more to produce livelier pitches, according to fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar.
He took 6-48 to help bowl out Bangladesh for 361 in Peshawar despite an unresponsive surface and a temperature which soard to 40 degrees C.

They were the second best figures of his Test career.

"The wicket is dead. There is absolutely nothing in it for the bowlers and I took wickets just because of my sheer speed, " the 28-year-old commented

"I got no support from the track and had to put in extra effort. But the wickets in Pakistan are always like that - even Imran Khan used to complain about it.

“Something should be done to make sporting tracks.”

Shoaib’s destructive spell came only 24 hours after he had been taken ill because of the heat and humidity.

SHOAIB’S TEST BEST
6-11 v New Zealand,
Lahore 2003
6-48 v Bangladesh,
Peshawar 2003
5-21 v Australia,
Colombo 2002
5-24 v West Indies,
Sharjah 2002
5-43 v South Africa,
Durban 1998
5-75 v Sri Lanka,
Peshawar 2000

And the conditions took their toll on umpire Russell Tiffin, who had to retire to pavilion on the second day because of stomach cramps and exhaustion, with local official Asad Rauf taking over out in the middle.

"The conditions are in total contrast to England where the weather is cold and I could bowl a 12-over spell at a stretch.

“Here is is difficult to even bowl three overs,” said Shoaib.

“I think it’s only half a job done. I hope to come back with the same performance in the second innings and help Pakistan to win the match and the series.”

The Pakistan Cricket Board is waiting to see what happens in Peshawar before deciding whether Shoaib can return to England to complete a summer contract with Durham.

They initially agreed that he would play only two of the three Tests against Bangladesh, but Mohammed Sami - who would be the obvious replacement - is suffering from an ankle injury.

Bangladesh opener Javed Omar, who completed a maiden Test hundred, paid tribute to Shoaib’s persistence.

“I think he produced a wonderful spell of reverse swing and extreme pace after lunch. Shoaib showed his class today - he bowled very fast, even on this pitch and in hot conditions.”

Only bowlers with great class have the ability to take wickets on tracks like these, thats one thing which separates Ws with other fast bowlers in world cricket.

If they have to pick from Retired Squad then how about Saeed Anwar sahab ..

Janab apna aik last match bhi khel len gey :)

What, a retired guy is gonna play in this test
That is pure comedy, watch Imran Khjan score 200 runs off Bangladesh 12 years after retirement
If there is any truth to this then Saeed Anwer is teh guy to bring in

IMO..the bangladeshis have improved their cricket markably and ppl shld give credit where it is due and stop blaming it on the pitch.They look like a much more disciplined side,increased confidence in their abilities which can be seen in the batting performances at the top.Good news for cricket as a whole,makes the game more competitive and fun to watch.

I agree Bangladesh has come a long way but Shoaib is right too. Pakistan have produced world class fast bowlers one after the other yet because of our inability to produce consistent batsmen who can score on fast tracks we have been making dead wickets. One the one hand its providing shelter for our batsmen but on the other hand bowlers have to do that much harder. The best part is not only our batsmen cant seem to score consistently on fast tracks our fielders also cant seem to grab all the chances they are offered.

The only thing the bowlers like Shoaib can do is keep firing down deliveries in the middle in the hope to get a LBW or clean bowled a batsman. In their attemt to that sometimes the seamers drift down either side of the wicket and at Shoaib's pace once the batsmen got a nick you can kiss the ball's ass goodbye, specially considering our pathetic fielding standard over the years. Yes, the young blood have improved the fielding standard a little but even the young ones are not capable to hanging on to every catch.

Pak 161-3. Taufeeq out after making 75. YoYo 2* and Inzi 34*.

This is the last of the recognised batsmen with Rashid to follow. These two will have to play very responsibly now. I hope Inzi and YoYo both get their form back and score some runs here.

A Huuuuuge SIX from Inzi.

59.1 Mohammad Rafique to Inzamam-ul-Haq, SIX, Wow! down the track and its a big one, lofts it for a huge six over long off...
Pakistan 174/3

inzi gone

65.6 Mohammad Rafique to Inzamam-ul-Haq, OUT: Gone! arm ball got some
bounce too, Inzamam plays off the backfoot missed and of course
onto off stump

**Pakistan 178/4, Partnership of 19**
   Inzamam-ul-Haq  lbw b Mohammad Rafique  43 (137b 6x4 1x6)

Pakistan trail by 183 runs with 6 wickets remaining in the 1st innings
:~)

Who is replacing Shoaib Malik?

The big man once again disappoints after doing all the hard work. He really needs to get his act together and play responisbly. Rashid is not much a of a batsmen and with Malik being reitred, I highly doubt Pakistan will be able to score many more runs. But I hope YoYo and Rashid can do something :(

*Originally posted by yaasir: *
The big man once again disappoints after doing all the hard work. He really needs to get his act together and play responisbly. Rashid is not much a of a batsmen and with Malik being reitred, I highly doubt Pakistan will be able to score many more runs. But I hope YoYo and Rashid can do something :(

Yasir bhai so far YOYO and Rashid are doing fine, they keep ticking the board with 4s 3s and 2s.

PAK 206/4 Trail by 155 runs.

*#1, 2, 3 must be strong, We can't afford to lose any matches. I hope PCB is paying attention and will make the adjustment for the 3rd match.

Bengla players are playing with alot of confidence, 100% credit goes to their coach. If bengla team performance is that good in test match, i wonder if we will be able to win any ODI.*

*Originally posted by teaser: *

Yasir bhai so far YOYO and Rashid are doing fine, they keep ticking the board with 4s 3s and 2s.

PAK 206/4 Trail by 155 runs.

I hope they keep it up...but Rashid is known to throw away his wicket...but I hope he doesnt do that :(

Pakistan 242/5

Rashid Latif st Khaled Mashud b Mohammad Rafique 40 (93m 66b 5x4 0x6) SR: 60.61

Shoaib Malik In :eek: :eek: :eek: