Pakistan V Bangladesh - Test and ODI series.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Congratulations to Pakistan and also well played BD.

The positives from this match have to be Yasir Hameed and Shabbir. Let's hope they continue in the same vein.

Good to see that Shoaib bowled well without much luck and kept his mouth shut.

Also it was good of PCB to have awarded Yasir RS 5 lakh for his efforts.

The opening slot needs to be sorted out. I would keep Hafeez but am not so sure about Taufiq.

Also Danish's performance was mediocre.

It would be nice to see a 3/0 sweep as it will put the team in the right frame of mind for the big series against SA.

BD have been improving fast since their tour of Australia and Dave Whatmore seems to be doing wodners with them. The team can no longer be taken lightly.

whoa, yaasir is getting 5 lakh rupees. man, i wanna play cricket for pakistan.

well played both teams :k:

nice to see the Inzi i remember, back. (well hopefully)

PCB announces unchanged squad for second Test

LAHORE: **The Pakistan Cricket Board national selection committee, headed by Aamir Sohail, announced an unchanged squad for the second Test against Bangladesh starting next week in Peshawar, said a spokesman for the PCB here Saturday. **

The spokesman said that the same 15 players who had been named for the first Test had been retained for the second. “The selectors have decided to keep a consistent policy of giving every player a proper chance to prove his worth,” the spokesman told media.

The unchanged squad means that batsman Inzamamul Haq will get another chance to regain his form against Bangladesh after his first innings duck in Karachi. **“The selectors will review the performance of the squad after the second Test and than decide on any changes in it,” ** said the spokesman.

• Pakistan squad: Taufiq Umar, Muhammad Hafeez, Yasir Hameed, Inzamamul Haq, Yousuf Youhana, Misbahul Haq, Rashid Latif (capt), Shoaib Akhtar, Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Danish Kaneria, Farhan Adil, Saeed Bin Nasir, Muhammad Khalil and Shoaib Malik.

Pakistan should play the exact same team with the exception of Saeed Bin Nasir coming in for Muhammaz Hafeez.

*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *
well this match is out of pakistan's reach now. :~)

you were saying?

they are saying next week ???

isnt the match on 27

27-31 2nd Test, Peshawar

oh boy! With nothing to celebrate you guys wouldn't stop floating - now Pakistan actually won a game --- there'll be no holding you. Enjoy kiddos.

Congrats.

*Originally posted by TomSawyer: *
oh boy! With nothing to celebrate you guys wouldn't stop floating - now Pakistan actually won a game --- there'll be no holding you. Enjoy kiddos.

Congrats.

Hai main maar jawan Gurr kha keh...O meree jaan ke totay Tomy..what happen to your english..janee yeh anyai maat kaar stick to your old style(klingon) i was falling in love w/ you..you can call it my fetish ... i was hooked 2 your style...

I want my old TomySawyer back!!!

I told you guys that PCB will not change the team.

I think Aamir Sohail wants to give both Hafeez & Taufeeq another chance to see if the can survive against the minnows. Taufeeq need some serious training, his shot selection and Technical flaws are few reason I will not include him in the team. Hafeez just need some time, he too slow but he is learning and I think PCB wants to see his performance in next match before they make any decision about his future. I think Aamir Sohail is confident that Hafeez & Taufeeq can pull it through. But I beg to differ, after knowing that Taufeeq has some technical flaws and his ability to perform under pressure, PCB still giving him chances…I don’t know why?
I think PCB should have send Hafeez & Taufeeq to the “A team”, just like Faisal Iqbal, before promoting them to national squad. There are several players in PCB A Team and else where in Pakistan that deserver to be in Nation Squad, Players like Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Saeed Anwar Junior and Shadab Kabir who have played/performed well in PCB Academy Team.

http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/xp/afpji/20030824/030824104524.jb90x3tu0b.jpg

Sunday August 24, 11:45 AM
Pakistani batsman Yasir Hameed (right) is congratulated by his team coach Javed Miandad (left) and another unidentified team official (centre), as he walks to his team’s dressing room after getting a rare century in each innings on Test debut against Bangladesh AFP/Aamir Qureshi

http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/xp/afpji/20030824/030824165327.o5egtrqe0b.jpg

Sunday August 24, 05:53 PM
Pakistani batsman Yasir Hameed scored a rare century in each innings on Test debut in the first Test against Bangladesh at Karachi AFP/Jewel Samad

http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/xp/afpji/20030824/030824103337.zj3feivw0b.jpg

Sunday August 24, 11:33 AM
Pakistan cricket captain Rashid Latif has praised Bangladesh’s team AFP/Saeed Khan

*Originally posted by TomSawyer: *

Congrats.

That reply was pure jealousy... Koi baat nahee tommy, hockey me bronze nahee milla, tu saqlain ka 'thappar' tu milla na? LOL

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *

Hai main maar jawan Gurr kha keh...O meree jaan ke totay Tomy..what happen to your english..janee yeh anyai maat kaar stick to your old style(klingon) i was falling in love w/ you..you can call it my fetish ... i was hooked 2 your style...

I want my old TomySawyer back!!!

yara becharey ki itni bezti hoi thi keh us ne khud he style change kar diya tha...

Nothing to celebrate? we just kicked your butt in hockey today and now winning against an ever improved Bangali side, the same team which scored 400+ runs in its first match against India. :eek:
Man atleast the less educated version of yours actually knew what was goin on.

[thumb=D]PakBangTest1.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest2.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest3.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest4.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest5.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest6.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest7.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest8.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest9.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest11.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest13.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]PakBangTest14.JPG[/thumb]

Nice Pix Teaser Bhai :k:

salman butt for 3rd test match

If PCB gives Salman Butt a chance to play in 3rd test match who will he replace, Taufeeq or Hafeez or both?

so in next match in Peshawar, see Yasir's performance....
this time may be double century? , or 2 more centuries????? :D
he doesnt look bit more One day player?.... i mean he plays fast, though i like it too, but right now we cant say that he is "great" batsman... wait for tough matches, though i hope and think that he will perform good :)

welldone to pakistan and congrats to yasir

and i am impressed with how bangladesh performed and specially the way that guy from bangladesh batted welldone :k:

i hope bangladesh becomes a gd cricketing nation soon

oh and i forgot gd to see inzii not out in the second inning :smiley:

TomSawyer; Peupols look like thay warry jealouus of Pakistan winning winnning in cricket and also beating beating India in field hockey? No?
TomSawyer bacha warry jealous me thinking thinking not liking Pakistan beating India?
Anyways, it was a good performance. I would hesitate before jumping on the Yasir boat if only because Taufeeq Umar scored very well against Bangladesh as well. I think it is important not to discount Bagla too much because they certainly look much improved under Dav. I would like to see both Shoaib Malik and Saeed Bin Naser get a chance to play in the next test. Taufeeq is looking shaky and Inzi had better start scoring more consistently. Umar Gul has’nt impressed much either and even Hafeez needs to improve somewhat. Anyways, it was well done. But man was the crowd small, I wonder if tehy can a few more people to show up in Peshawer. I mean Chacha Cricket can’t watch a match all by himself.

Bangladesh impress in defeat but Pakistan disappoint

Bangladesh impressive in defeat but Pakistan disappoint
Taha Noor - August 26, 2003

Pakistan might have won the first Test at Karachi, but all the gains went to Bangladesh. To push Pakistan into the fifth day was an excellent effort on their part, especially after their hapless showing of the last few months. Pakistan’s performance, on the other hand, left a lot to be desired.

Bangladesh batted with a new-found grit and determination, especially in the second innings. Shoaib Akhtar was not allowed to rip through the batting order, and Rajin Saleh and Habibul Bashar handled his extreme pace with remarkable ease. Saleh, the talk of the town on his debut, is a player to watch out for – he has a good technique and can stay at the crease for long periods of time without getting flustered.

Dav Whatmore, who took over as coach just before Bangladesh’s series against Australia, has already made an impact on his side. Whatmore was instrumental in converting one Asian minnow into a top team – he coached Sri Lanka to the 1996 World Cup. Bangladesh might be a different ballgame, as he recently explained in an exclusive interview to Wisden CricInfo, but he has begun well.

One of Whatmore’s biggest worries will be the bowling. Mashrafe Mortaza troubled the Pakistani batsman and Mohammad Rafique was economical, but the rest lacked penetration. Bangladesh do not yet have the ability to take 20 wickets in a Test, and Khaled Mahmud hardly leads by example. He doubled his tally of Test wickets in this game, but his bowling average still stands at 244. The cricket academies back home need to breed genuine pace bowlers – and a quality legspinner would do quite nicely as well.

Pakistan do not have much cause for cheer. Their fielding was atrocious – a major reason for Pakistan’s lack of success in the longer version of the game is their inability to hang on to chances in the slips. The bowlers, as a result, concentrate on getting batsmen out bowled or lbw and are taken for runs when they drift onto the pads. This Test was no exception, as Taufeeq Umar dropped a sitter in the first innings and Yasir Hameed bungled a simple chance offered by Habibul Bashar in the second. Bashar was then on zero – he went on to make 108.

The batting, with the exception of Yasir Hameed’s centuries, was ordinary. The shot selection by Inzamam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez and Taufeeq Umar was awful. Pakistan must sort out its opening combination quickly, as neither Hafeez nor Taufeeq seem to possess the technique to succeed against better teams. The Bangladesh attack was modest, yet Pakistan managed just 346 in the first innings on a docile pitch.

The only positive to come out for Pakistan was the impressive performance of 25-year old Hameed. He had shown a glimpse of his talent in the one-day internationals that preceded this Test, but had failed to convert any of his starts. He showed great composure and concentration and worked his way to two centuries on debut, only the second player to achieve that feat. However, it would be too early to say that Pakistan’s worries over the crucial No. 3 slot are over. Pakistan has a penchant for discarding players after the odd appearance in a Test match, and Hameed will have to prove himself against better teams.

The pitch at Karachi was pathetic. Pakistan’s strength lies in its pace attack, and the pitches prepared for a home series should be lively, with an even covering of grass. The Karachi pitch offered no assistance to Pakistan’s fast bowlers, and neutralised the home advantage they had. It may not matter against Bangladesh – it will against better teams.