Pakistan tour of England - June 2003

^^ well said PT:k:
Shoaib Akhtar is of no use. They think that he can bowl good in England pitches but he’s a BIG STOP SIGN in front of young players like UMAR GUL who performed very well and better then Shoaib Akhtar. Umar Gul has an ability to break partnerships.

All depends on the 3rd match now and i think we should not be amazed if Shoaib Akhtar will be playing the final match instead of Umar Gul. Yousuf Youhana is finally back with his form:k:. Younis Khan performing bad in England pitches :nook:, i think will make a chance for Misbah-ul-Haq to show his ability.

Let’s see what Pakistan can do in the 3rd and Final Game:jhanda:

I have a feeling Pakistan will ended up winning it. This has happend so many times before, they lose one match, they win the next one and they win the 3 series.
If we bat first and our top order batsman play their natural game with Nazir playing is sqaurish coverdrives while Hafeez playing his defensive game. Youhana is back and that is a huge relive.

Shoaib Akhtar has a habit of being spanked like a little kid in one match and comes back strongly in the next one.

A very pathetic performance by Pakistan on a pitch where we could hav e gotten atleast 250. YY seems to be back in form but Younis Khan’s continious failures are just not acceptable. Trescothick’s batting and Anderson’s bowling were brilliant but every dog has its day :wink:

The bowling wasn’t any better. I hope Rashid would have realized that we can’t afford to go with 4 all rounders. Razzaq and Azhar can NOT play in the same team… they are just ordinary bowlers. I never liked the idea of Shoaib opening the bowling either.

I’m not losing hope yet.. inshAllah Pakistan can make a great comeback in the decider on Sunday :jhanda:

a very good performence by England, jsut wasnt our day!!
a wicket off the first ball, catch of no-ball, dropped catches!!!
our approach was too agressive, its gonna be tough to bounce back from here, especially at lords, but hope we do so!

I dont get this bakwas of playing 4 all rounders on a team
Why not play people who can do one thing very well than playing someone who does 2 things below average. I would prefer to have a specialist basman in the lineup over Razzaq who has'nt played a good match in a long time (including the World Cup). Play Misbah there instead. I also think they really should give Danish a shot and I probably would'nt lose any sleep if Yunis Khan got a chance to rest.

height of disappointment :rotfl:

i dont understand this batting line-up. The top order lays the foundation for the innings, what harm will it do having an experienced batsman in the first three. These young guys wont be able to handle the pressure if early wickets fall. I think younis khan or youhanna should bat at no. 3. Thats the most important position!
Inshallah, they'll win the 3rd game!!

well, you cant say akhtar is of no use!
pakistan went out on the field with poor planning, the plan was to bowl as fast as possible and blow the opposition away, it didnt work and they didnt have a back up plan. Looking at the pitch, it was difficult to defend the total so they tried to use pace to bowl england out, which wasnt a good idea.
the important thing is, can shoaib and the rest of the team bounce back after such humiliation, its not at all easy, that defeat was demoralising and i think rashid n miandad have a little work to do with the planning as well as with the morale of the players.

if shoaib pays more attention to cricket other then what he does now...then our opening bowling attack with shoaib and sami and bcome a super combo ...

Anywayz i hope we win the next game...and its time for younis to get some rest and bring misbah in to check him..

and so whats the use of bring shabbir and danish then ????

I blame President Musharaf. He brought bad luck to the team with his presence at the ground. For the sake of Pakistani team, let's hope he doesn't even listen to the commentary on Sunday. :)

*Originally posted by PakistaniAngel: *

The bowling wasn't any better. I hope Rashid would have realized that we can't afford to go with 4 all rounders. Razzaq and Azhar can NOT play in the same team... they are just ordinary bowlers. I never liked the idea of Shoaib opening the bowling either.

I've said this previously as well. Shoaib and Sami are not great with the new ball but they can be devastating later on especially at the end of an innings. Umar Gul or Shabir Ahmed would probably give the likes of Trescothick a much harder time as they get more movement and are more likely to probe the weakness out of off stump which the Aussies exposed so badly.

Umar should come in for Azhar or Razzaq as we can't play them on the strength of their batting with their bowling proving useless so far. If we can't get enough runs on the board with 3 allrounders then we aren't likely to get enough with 4 either.

As for Shoaib there's a theory that there wasn't enough runs to defend so he went flat out to try and bowl England out. If that was the captain's instructions then fair enough. If he was told to bowl line and length though then he should be dropped because he failed to do so.

I couldn't agree more...........
Pakistan just can't depend on Shoaib Akhtar because he was unable to do the job aganist India in WC2003 and now England.....he has excuses excuses... he can't bowl unpressure.........

01 Imran Nazir
02 Muhammad Hafeez
03 Misbah
04 Yousuf Youhana
05 Younis Khan
06 Shoaib Malik
07 Azhar Mahmood / Abdul Razzaq
08 Rashid Latif
09 Shoaib Akhtar
10 Muhammad Sami
11 Umar Gul / Shabir Ahmed

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *

I've said this previously as well. Shoaib and Sami are not great with the new ball but they can be devastating later on especially at the end of an innings. Umar Gul or Shabir Ahmed would probably give the likes of Trescothick a much harder time as they get more movement and are more likely to probe the weakness out of off stump which the Aussies exposed so badly.

Umar should come in for Azhar or Razzaq as we can't play them on the strength of their batting with their bowling proving useless so far. If we can't get enough runs on the board with 3 allrounders then we aren't likely to get enough with 4 either.

As for Shoaib there's a theory that there wasn't enough runs to defend so he went flat out to try and bowl England out. If that was the captain's instructions then fair enough. If he was told to bowl line and length though then he should be dropped because he failed to do so.

I would drop Shaoib and Azhar and play Kaneria and Umar Gul. I would not drop Younis Khan because he is a very solid batsmen.

Good luck to the Pakistani team.

I read that Pakistan named an unchanged side. Hmm now I cant remember where I read that :confused:

Ok, here it is:

Pakistan, who won the opener at Old Trafford on Tuesday, will name an unchanged side despite their heavy loss at the AMP Oval.

Latif - Shoaib Should Strike Fear](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/030621/203/e2xmj.html)

Rashid Latif leads his Pakistan team into Sunday’s NatWest Challenge decider at Lord’s claiming England’s fear factor levelled the series.

After surviving a shaky couple of overs against speed merchants Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami at the AMP Oval on Friday, Marcus Trescothick’s adrenalin rush hurried his side towards a 186-run victory target which was breached with 28 overs to spare.

To the neutral, the emphatic seven-wicket nature of Michael Vaughan’s first win as England captain might hint momentum is with the home side.

Latif, however, suggests taking on cricket’s fast show, as Trescothick did with aplomb, highlights England’s dread of Shoaib and Co.

Shoaib, who took the brunt of Trescothick’s 16 fours and two sixes in a 55-ball 86, worked up a head of steam throughout his nine overs, which included the dismissals of Vaughan and Jim Troughton in quick succession but cost a staggering 69 runs.

Numerous deliveries whizzed past Trescothick’s outside edge in Shoaib’s first over of the chase, though, and Latif revealed: "I think England are very concerned about the Pakistan attack, that is why Marcus Trescothick tried to finish the game in 15 overs.

"It was a good tactic by Michael Vaughan and the England team to play like that because they only have Trescothick, Vaughan and Andrew Flintoff in their batting with experience.

“If Shoaib had taken his two wickets in his initial five overs it would have been a very different game because we have two very good spinners (Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez) and Azhar Mahmood and Abdul Razzaq, who are both good bowlers with the older ball.”

Shoaib proved a valuable run flow to England in their World Cup win over the Pakistanis in Cape Town four months ago, when he went at seven-an-over, but his determination to deliver a stellar performance when it matters most led the Rawalpindi Express to a voluntary net session at Lord’s today, where he worked one-on-one with coach Javed Miandad.

When he finds his rhythm, the speed generated is a potent weapon and means any score is defendable, which is handy given Pakistan’s recent form with the bat: Tuesday’s 208 for eight to win at Old Trafford is their highest score in their previous seven matches.

Not surprising, perhaps, having turned to a new-look top three of Imran Nazir, Hafeez and Yasir Hameed.

“In general our scores have not been good since the World Cup but our bowling has defended very well in recent games,” said captain Latif.

“The top three are crucial positions but the guys we have brought in are not experienced and had one bad game yesterday, otherwise they have played good cricket over two months.”

**Pakistan will keep faith with the same XI as they seek a second tournament success since their World Cup humiliation. Having sacrificed nine of the squad that returned from South Africa for new blood, they won a four-nation event in Sharjah. **

“It is a testing time for us because the young guys will have to handle the international pressure and that is something they are not used to,” said Latif.

"Tomorrow is all about mental toughness. But it will be good for them whatever happens because it is the first time they are playing under pressure at Lord’s on a big occasion.

"If we win the game it will be very good for the future of the Pakistan team but we are not worried about winning or losing, we just want to play good cricket and entertain the crowd.

“We are not going to win every game, we are just trying to develop players and get them to experience Test and one-day internationals.”

The third and final challenge match will provide a chance for individuals to cement their places for a hectic end-of-year schedule at home, which begins with three Tests and five one-dayers against Bangladesh in August.

South Africa tour Pakistan immediately afterwards for a three-Test series and three limited-overs matches and New Zealand have agreed to a best-of-five one-day head to head in November.

Latif is right, Shoaib always strikes fear, sometimes in the opposing batsmen but quite often amongst his own supporters either with his loud mouth or wayward bowling. :(

I dont agree with Latif’s assesment that England were afraid and thats why they wanted to finish the game asap. The pitch was actually just very good, and the bowling was ordinary which is why England finished the match off early.

But its good to know that shoaib is practising to give a better game in the next match.

:jhanda:

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
I would drop Shaoib and Azhar and play Kaneria and Umar Gul. I would not drop Younis Khan because he is a very solid batsmen.

Good luck to the Pakistani team.

Eshan Bhai,

Do you want to add Umar gull and Danish?

Shoaib Akhtar has good & bad days, we usualy lose the match when he is having a bad day because he doesn't care about line & length.
I think we need more variety in our bowling, we just can't count on Shoib Akhtar, maybe adding Umer or Shabir. I think replacing Azhar and adding Umer Gul will be a good Idea. I think Rasheed should have given Kaneria chance to play in the 2nd match but it is do or die /must win situation and we can't have weak batting or bowling line up.

:k: Shoaib, Sami and Yoyo need to come up with something.