Pakistan tour of England - June 2003

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Good thing they are batting second. had they batted first, 400 was on the cards. J/K

:) well they wouldn't have attacked us then.. rather they would have make 1/2 of what they have right now..

England 174/3. RR 8.29

Shoaib 9 overs 69/2

aww ehsan bhai.. shoib akter century shayed na karpaye :(

*Originally posted by proudpakistani007: *
aww ehsan bhai.. shoib akter century shayed na karpaye :(

Shoaib kuch bhi kar sakta hai.

** All over. England Rout Pakistan. Congrats England.**

England wins by 7 wickets and they deserved it. :k:

Good job, England. Congrats.

Next time, inshallah.

Once again saby makes the most sensible comments wrt Shoaib. He bowled ok in his 2nd spell, took 2 wkts, had solanki ct behind off a no ball and dropped by Younis in a shocker of a catch attempt. So he got panned by Trescothick, but then so did everyone else, because he was a good batsman in form on a good wicket.

Razzaq on the other hand is getting pounded even by ordinairy players because he's basically a waste of space as a bowler. Sami should have been brought back like Saby said.

Anyway, congrats to England they did everything better today by a long way. Sobi can still piss off though.

Very famous words from ramiz raja when he was on mike in an India-pak game Thats How Matches Are Won!!!!!!!

congrats!

Too slow start by Pakistan, they need to let Imran Nazir play his natural game.

Score of 185 was never defendable on this pitch, no team would have bowled out England specially the way Trescothick was going.

All bowling was horrible specially led by Shoaib. Not just the conditions causing the loss but also alot of short pitched delivers from all the fast bowlers.

England 189/3 RR 8.6.

A match Pakistan will need to forget and get it out of their system before Sunday's match.

Pakistan lost the initiative from ball one by Nazir getting out and then shortly aferwards Hafeez getting out, put pressure and they were never able to break the shackles.

Good to see Youhanna coming back into form and it bodes well for Pakistan.

Shoaib has to bowl better then what he did today. In the end everyone bowled poorly.

My conclusion: The game was lost in the first few overs with the fall of those two wickets. We put ourselves under pressure and never recovered.

Just a bad day, lets forget it and concentrate on sunday.

Well played England.

Agreed, just an off day for this young team, they are much capable of doing better.

Just like Saby mentioned, Shoaib bowled well in the 2nd inning, he needs to stay in his abilities and bowl good line and length.

I'm sure he will be back for the next match.

That opens up the series for the last match. Pakistan seriuosly needs to improve thier batting, there are no collective efforts, one day youhana scores, other day he doesnt. This gotta stop if we need to win matches consistently.

For batting everything comes down to Youhana and Younis khan, if they don't do well, the whole team won't do anything special.

After the 2003 WC, Pakistani think tank seemed to be on the right track when they dropped the big names and selected teams only on merit. They did well until today. They went back to the old games. Picked Shoaib Akhtar only because he is the Rawalpindi Express and dropped Umar Gul because he is new and unproven. However, Umar Gul bowled really well in the first match at Old Trafford.

I am not saying that Umar Gul would have won us today's match. The point I am trying to make is the mentality of the selection team committee. They need to select teams based on performance and not disturb winning combinations for the sake of including a super star. These may seem little things but they affect the over-all moral of the other 10 players in the team. I bet a lot of the guys were against Shoaib's inclusion today. And rightly so.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
congrats!

Too slow start by Pakistan, they need to let Imran Nazir play his natural game.

Umair i dont agree with u, i did not think that Imran should have been part of this team,i watched the H/L of the first game last night and even though he scored runs his footwork is as awful as ever.. i thought imran Farhat deserved a chance in England, He was here on Last tour, i was surprised then too that was not given any chance aprt from few side games.

** MOM Trescothick**

*Originally posted by Nikema: *

Umair i dont agree with u, i did not think that Imran should have been part of this team,i watched the H/L of the first game last night and even though he scored runs his footwork is as awful as ever.. i thought imran Farhat deserved a chance in England, He was here on Last tour, i was surprised then too that was not given any chance aprt from few side games.

I am not saying Imran was the right choice but if a player is going to do then he has to play his natural game, you can't play according to a batsman like Miandad who played 10 years ago.

bowlin ke saath saath aik single run tak score nahi kia :mad:

kia kia umeedain thin :teary1:

but no worriesss FG.. we will win the series.. so fiker not :slight_smile:

What, no invasion by the Pakistani fans :confused:

What a day, What a match, What a team.

Anderson should have got man of the match though.