Pakistan to be an Islamic and not a secular state

In his famous Allahabad address of 1930, Sir Muhammad Iqbal concluded:

One lesson I have learnt from the history of Muslims. At critical moments in their history it is Islam that has saved Muslims and not vice versa. If today you focus your vision on Islam and seek inspiration from the ever-vitalising idea embodied in it, you will be only reassembling your scattered forces, regaining your lost integrity, and thereby saving yourself from total destruction.

Presidential Address, annual session of the All-India Muslim League, Allahabad, December 1930, by Sir Muhammad Iqbal

Therefore the secular elites of All India Muslim League found Islam the uniting force in their demand for a separate electorate in 1906.

All India Muslim League was zero without a reference to Islam. The League leaders could have as well joined or remained part of Indian National Congress and they wouldn’t have been more prominent than Gandhi or Nehru. Even Jinnah became Quaid-e-Azam in the name of Islam. If Jinnah remained in Congress, his role would be diminished in Indian politics.

Liaquat Ali Khan became the Prime Minister of Pakistan in the name of Islam, or in the United India with no separate electorate, he wouldn’t even have been able to become a minister.

800,000 Muslims laid their lives in the making of Pakistan. Many of them believed Pakistan was to be a holy land, not just a purified land (Pakistan).

Pakistan was not created by one or two or a few more secular individuals. It was created by the Muslim voters of Bengal, Assam, United Provinces, Bombay, Sindh, Punjab, NWFP etc. and it was created by those 800,000 innocent lives who were sacrificed in the name of Islam and Pakistan.

Re: Pakistan to be an Islamic and not a secular state

This is how Iqbal defined Islamic nationalism:

It cannot be denied that Islam, regarded as an ethical ideal plus a certain kind of polity (civil government/constitution) – by which expression I mean a social structure regulated by a legal system and animated by a specific ethical ideal – has been the chief formative factor in the life-history of the Muslims of India. It has furnished those basic emotions and loyalties which gradually unify scattered individuals and groups, and finally transform them into a well-defined people, possessing a moral consciousness of their own. Indeed it is not an exaggeration to say that India is perhaps the only country in the world where Islam, as a people-building force, has worked at its best. In India, as elsewhere, the structure of Islam as a society is almost entirely due to the working of Islam as a culture inspired by a specific ethical ideal. What I mean to say is that Muslim society, with its remarkable homogeneity and inner unity, has grown to be what it is, under the pressure of the laws and institutions associated with the culture of Islam.

Presidential Address, annual session of the All-India Muslim League, Allahabad, December 1930, by Sir Muhammad Iqbal

We lost East Pakistan in 1971, because it was secularism of Ayub Khan, Yahya Khan, Sheikh Mujib and Bhutto which couldn’t keep both parts together and united.

We saved West Pakistan under Zia in the name of Islamisation (Nizam-e-Mustafa) which didn’t let Sindhu Desh, Pakhtunistan and Azad Balochistan become a reality.

By saying this I’m not supporting Zia’s Islamisation outwardly. Zia used Islamisation to serve his own agenda to some extent. For example press freedom was limited. There was lots of Islamic talk but practically video cassette players were sold in bulk and Amitabh Bachan was promoted through Bollywood in every home of Pakistani families.

However we can’t deny that only Islam can keep together all the constituent units of Pakistan.

But Islam in its true form which gives equal and justified shares and rights to all.

I totally agree to what you said here. Our seculars should understand that Pakistan is made up of different ethic groups and each ethic group has its own local culture, language, norms, food e.t.c There are growing tentions among different ethnic groups as well
The only thing that bindes these different ethnic groups is religion. Pakistan will disintegrate into pieces the day you take out religion from state. ISLAM is a symbol of unity here and nobody should be allowed to disturb this balance.

You look like JI person disciple of mardood Zia-ul-Haq.

Quaid’s Aug 11 speech to be included in school curriculum

**“You are free, you are free to go to your temples, you are free to go to your mosques or any other place of worship in this State of Pakistan. You may belong to any religion or cast or creed — that has nothing to do with the business of the State … Now I think we should keep that in front of us as our ideal and you will find that in course of time Hindus would cease to be Hindus and Muslims would cease to be Muslims, not in the religious sense, because that is the personal faith of each individual, but in the political sense as citizens of the State” —

**Allam Iqbal Said

Cheen-o-Arab Humara, Hindustan Humara
Muslim Hain Hum, Watan Hai Sara Jahan Humara

Not really. I’m a big critic of Zia-ul-Haq.

This speech of Quaid-e-Azam was delivered on 11 August 1947, when the British had not yet transferred power and Pakistan had not come into existence. Therefore you may give Quaid-e-Azam the benefit of doubt that he was trying to appease the British, the Hindus and the international community that Pakistan was not going to have Shariah laws as some people might have expected at that time.

Secondly, Quaid-e-Azam made Pakistan a parliamentary democracy; which means one person cannot dictate to people about how to govern the country. In other words, Quaid-e-Azam alone, according to the principles set by himself, could not decide how this country would be ruled. Therefore in March 1949, the Parliament/Constituent/Legislative assembly decided that Pakistan was going to be an Islamic country and this decision was documented in the Objectives Resolution.

What is an example Islamic State? Saudi or Iran? Both are worst examples of govt in modern age. Or is it ISIS and Taliban?

Now dont give some 1000 year old jahil mullah type fantasy rule in response. Jahil mullah have stuffed nonsense in Pakistani brain.

Thanks for giving Qaid benefit of the doubt btw. Blaming seculars for Bangladesh debacle. Another master piece. How much more Islamic does Pakistan need to be? Which jahil mulla should we have rule it? Please give a name.

Iran and Saudi Arabia both are wrong examples of Islamic states. Iran is following a sectarian Islam under clerics. Saudis are also following a sectarian Islam under Pro-American royals.

ISIS and Taliban both were created by the American CIA. Taliban were later adopted by ISI to rule Afghanistan as Pakistan’s satellite state. Taliban rule was as artificial as Zia’s Islamicised Pakistan which didn’t survive after both departed.

Let me tell you that within 100 years since the advent of Islam, Muslims not only conquered half of the world but they established an excellent governing system to their empire. **Arabic was the language of science in that golden period of Islam.

When Europe was sunk in darkness of the Dark Ages, when Christians didn’t take a bath because they believed if they took a bath they would become sick, and people in the whole lifetime took a bath only twice, once at the time of birth and next when they died… that was when Muslim world was shining like a bright star.**

All key players to the debacle of Pakistan were secular. Or do you think they were mullahs?

**Examples of a Muslim state
Since Islam is related to the Messenger of Allah, محمد عربی ﷺ, I would definitely and proudly give example of his period. Whether it gives you a heart attack or not, I don’t care.

After the Prophet محمد ﷺ, there are noble examples of the caliphs of Islam under whose period Islam prospered. And then there were ups and downs, nevertheless, Muslim society was much better than the present day Muslim world and Western world combined.

**Quaid wanted an economic system in accord with Islam
Following words of قائد اعظم محمد علی جناح رحمہ اللہ are an eye opener to staunch believers of secularism:

In the inaugural ceremony of the State Bank of Pakistan, the قائد said:

**I shall watch with keenness the work of your Research Organization in evolving banking practices compatible with Islamic ideas of social and economic life. The economic system of the West has created almost insoluble problems for humanity and to many of us it appears that only a miracle can save it from disaster that is not facing the world. It has failed to do justice between man and man and to eradicate friction from the international field. On the contrary, it was largely responsible for the two world wars in the last half century. The Western world, in spite of its advantages, of mechanization and industrial efficiency is today in a worse mess than ever before in history. The adoption of Western economic theory and practice will not help us in achieving our goal of creating a happy and contended people. We must work our destiny in our own way and present to the world an economic system based on true Islamic concept of equality of manhood and social justice. We will thereby be fulfilling our mission as Muslims and giving to humanity the message of peace which alone can save it and secure the welfare, happiness and prosperity of mankind.
This speech is available on the official website of SBP here.

State Bank of Pakistan

Now the desi, brown-skinned secular lot is free to commit suicide, as this speech was delivered when Pakistan had been established and Quaid-e-Azam was the Governor General of Pakistan, whereas on 11 August 1947 the Quaid had not yet sworn in as the Governor General.

Saudis custodians of Kaaba consider likes of you and I, non Arabic speakers half Muslims.

Irani Shias likely do the same for perhaps different reasons. These morons want to fight you over events of Karbala, till this day.

The golden age for Muslims, if there was one, was because we were studying things - not just the Quran. Now which jahil mulla has knowledge and education that is compatible with 21st century? O wait - you label them secular and blame them for your jahalat.

Bravo. You learned to google quaid speeches. One question. Is a Muslim man allowed to marry a non Muslim woman and give birth to non Muslim kids - in your Islamic Pakistan?

This statement of you has nothing to do with the subject of this thread, nor is it relevant to my previous arguments.

It was Quran that made the ignorant Arabs leaders of the world. They sought education because Islam made it mandatory upon all Muslim men and women.

Muslim man is allowed to marry a Christian or Jewish woman. However, I don’t know if Islam permits them to have non-Muslim kids. Usually, in a Muslim country, children being born in such marriage arrangements are Muslims. Having said that, if something is permitted, it doesn’t mean it’s mandatory. Muslims are encouraged to marry Muslim women with good character. This is the theoretical concept that I’m telling you.

What exactly is an Islamic state?

You are advocating for Islamic Pakistan. Can’t answer basic questions on laws this state should have. So which mullah’s Islam should dictate Pakistan’s rule making with?

Or should We reverse back time for you to live in?

Some mullah consider Saudi to be a role model Islamic State. Some consider Iran. I’m also trying to understand what is your definition of Islamic State. Because we just can’t live in todays world with laws from 1400 years ago. They need modern interpretation on slaves, multiple women wives, having non Muslim kids which Quaid had, birth control, crime etc.

Are you going to have mullah that just knows Quran interpret it. Or will you allow someone educated to do it. I’m for the later.

Source of all education and knowledge today is with non Muslims. All inventions we have are thanks to them. So why not learn from them and try to modernize Pakistan. No good can come from a mullah Islam. They can’t cure flu if you get sick.

Islam is not about mullah. Islamic laws are clearly written in Quran and prophetic instructions (hadith).

deleted