Pakistan team insured for 445,000 dollars for Ahmedabad match

AHMEDABAD, India (AFP) - Organisers of a one-day cricket match in a communally-sensitive western Indian city have insured the touring Pakistan team for 445,000 dollars as security cover, officials said.

India and Pakistan will play the one-dayer on April 12 in Ahmedabad, the commercial capital of Gujarat state where at least 2,000 people, mostly Muslims, were hacked, burnt or shot to death in 2002 following the death of 59 Hindus in a train carriage fire blamed by state authorities on a Muslim mob.

Pakistan had initially declined to play a five-day Test match in Ahmedabad but later agreed to take part in a one-dayer after the Indian cricket board and local officials guaranteed them high-level security.
Gujarat Cricket Association president Narhari Amin said Monday each of the 16 Pakistan cricketers and support staff will be insured for 22,000 dollars for the two-day duration of their stay in Ahmedabad.

“This insurance is to safeguard us against any eventuality,” said Amin, adding this was the first time cricketers were being insured for security reasons.

Some 15,000 police and security personnel will be on hand to guard the cricketers at the hotel and the 47,000-capacity Gujarat stadium where the match will be played, Amin said.

Spectators will have to show documents proving their identity before they are allowed into the stadium and will be barred from bringing in food packets and placards.

Pakistan are currently touring India for the first time since 1999.

Re: Pakistan team insured for 445,000 dollars for Ahmedabad match

Thats how much they are worth , half a million Dollars ? wow - third world life is so cheap!

After seeing the crowed response at various venues, I can say this now for sure that
Pakistan was right in declining AhmedaBad as a Test or ODI venue. They were wrong to
Succumb to political pressures in agreeing to play an ODI there.

Thus the 'Double Jeopardy' play in Ahmedabad;

If India plays well and beat Pakistan, the crowed would be off the roof availing the opportunity of showing their solidarity with with na Hindu na Muslim bas 'Bharat hamari dharti maa' campaign.

If Pakistan is to win a match in AhemadabaD then the sentiments of the Hindu crowed would be doing a strip tease analysis of all the local 'Musalmaans for many days to come after the match end. (Reference to the aired tabloid on ATN channel 604 – Sunday morning Apr-03)

And yet again Pakistan would be dragged into a limbo fiasco.

Why the hell did they have to change their stance of earlier policy on Ahmedabad.

This tour is becoming a dying fizzy drink going flat. (Giving full credit to the players of some fine cricket)

Dont u feel ur post is bit communal

^^ we have atleast 3 different threads on the subject prior to the series start.
Yes ! The controvercy behid Ahmedabad was communal politics on part of the BJP and Hindu Communist parties in that area. I am merely touching up on the facts.
Imagine , Crowed cheering a Paki player in AhmadabaD !!! (in the present context of overall cold responce from the crowd - inconclusive) :elmo:

you can hardly buy a 5 year old, 3 bed room and 2 bath townhome in Dc Metro Area for 450,000 dollars. Pak team is cheaper than that? Very sad indeed.....

So who exactly will get the money if all the players are killed by riots?

Thats all?

Breaking News ******************

Its the Indian Insurance company GIG which covered the insurance arrangement and unfortunatley it was their capital limit & Liability Biggest they ever had so far. 2ndly it was arranged by the BCCI and not PCB.

As far as the Paki boys are concerned. They are fully capable of handling the safety threats themselves , :hula:
Pakistan enjoys winning crunch matches in India, specialy the ones that are more important to the Indians, bad habit,but how can I stop it Praa,:hehe:

Pakistan ZindabaD , :jhanda:

bhai, next time Faisal will complain that you can’t buy a 10 year old 2 bed room / 2 bath townhouse in San Jose… so? the list goes on… these are Pakistani players, you can’t compare them with “estate assets” in your counties/cities etc.

^ No, you can, but thats really not the point, right? :hehe:

yes I know… you are right for both of them. :smiley:

Nah You cant !!! If you can please get me one. :smiley:

yaar, a townhouse shouldn’t cost more than $300k even in San Jose … my friend bought one last year for $225k or so.

Not now and specially if it is 10 yrs old and is in decent location and not 20 mile south. It is 1/2 million deal these days,buddy.
Ask if your friend wana sell it for $300 I will take it. :smiley:

If you don't have a lot of nakhray ke ji school bhi acha ho, commute bhi ziyada na ho, ghar bhi naya ho... then you can get a 2 BR/2 BA townhouse, about 5 years old for $400k. Good school district, about $500k. not a problem. $225k is pushing it. Either its a hell-hole or he is making a fool of you. :)

Can you imagine if something does happen, people run into the field to hurt Pakistani players and get the beating from Afridi, Razzaq and Inzi. I think its the crowd that needs to be insured.

“and get the beating from Afridi, Razzaq and Inzi”

afridi and inzi make sense, but razaaq :eek:. Have you looked at him lately??
beycharay ka khana, afridi aur inzi kha jatay hian :rolleyes:

lunatic... you are forgetting, he is our popeye-the-sailor-man!

popeye-the-sailor-man!

i completely forgot about that