Pakistan team for the Hockey World Cup.

Well done Pak.
Good luck

** I politely protest against the desicion of our respected mod to post about all WC matches in one thread. I request that we be allowed to start a new thread upon every Pakistan victory. We should be allowed to enjoy as long as Pakistan is in the race for the world cup. Its our right and its more fun that way. **

Pur next opponents are;

Belgium
Newzeland
Argentina
Netherland
Spain
Germany

Looks like the last 3 matches are going o be the tough ones.
If Pakistan can qualify for the semis, they are guarenteed to go to the finals because no team from the other table is a threat to Pakistan.
Even if Pakistan doesn't do well against Germany and Holland we can still qualify if we get the wins like we did against South Africa.

Thank you, come again

Here is Pakistan's schedule! All tough teams are in the end! So it will be interesting!

Feb 24th
Pakistan 5 (1)

South Africa 0 (0)

Feb 25th, 2002
Pakistan - Belgium

Feb 27th, 2002
Pakistan - New Zealand

Feb 28th, 2002
Argentina - Pakistan

Mar 2nd, 2002
Pakistan - Netherlands

Mar 3rd, 2002
Spain - Pakistan

Mar 5th, 2002
Pakistan - Germany

PlanetFieldHocky had a good guessing game going.

I predict Pakistan 3-0 Belgium for the next match!

Originally posted by Spock:
** What do you mean by ‘one’?? We won so many worldcups before. **

Spock i think he meant “won”

Spock and Fantastic1, your points are noted. The reason only one thread has been started was because in the past multiple threads have been started on the same issue which has led to confusion among readers and also does not allow all the facts to be assembled and debated in one forum. The recent example of this was when Mike denness fined Tendulkar. There were five threads running on the issue. Similarly I have had to delete multiple threads on a number of occassions. I hope you will understand. Let’s continue like this for a while and if you still feel strongly then we can review the situation again. Fantastic enjoy and write as much as you wish about Pakistan’s victory in this thread. Maybe we can start new threads when Inshallah Pakistan reaches the quarter final stages.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 24, 2002).]

Oki, issi sey kaam chalana parey ga. I agree guppies love to start threads of their own.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

I didn’t know we have quarter finals too. Winning 3 matches in a row is … :-/
Anyways lets see.

Originally posted by Pristine:
I heard this Sohail fellow is darn good in penalty corners. Is he the one?

Yes Pristine,
He sure is the one. He will insha-allah show us and the world his skills.
Besides being one of the pillars of our national team he is also a very nice person to.
I had the chance to hang out with him a few days while he played in Holland during the Champions Trophy.

Yes, I meant we won last in 94.

Anyway, I'll be happy if Pak ends up in semi-finals.

Pakistan Zindabad

Inshalah we will do good in World cup after all we are one of the favourites …

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited February 24, 2002).]

** Results for Monday 25 February

Pakistan 3 Belgium 2
Germany 3 South Africa 0
Spain 3 New Zealand 1
Holland 2 Argentina 1**

Pakistan came from behind twice to win this one. Well played Pakistan

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 25, 2002).]

Thank you for listening to us brother… I understand what you said, it might get a bit confusing if we have so many threads on the same topic…

Originally posted by Badshah420:
**Yes, I meant we won last in 94.

Anyway, I'll be happy if Pak ends up in semi-finals.**

Ill be happy only if they come back with the cup!!! semi finals arent good enough...

Ehsan, will it be possible for you to tell us who scored the goals for Pakistan each time a match involving Pakistan takes place...

thanks

Posted by 2bornot2:

IMHO, this is the most beautiful trophy in any sport. http://www.hockeyworldcup2002.com/trophy/default.cfm?opt=1

Spock as per your request, read the following and enjoy:

**PAK: (1) 3 Sohail Abbas (10,PC; 41,PC), Khalid Saleem (50,F)

BEL: (1) 2 Vitali Kholopov (5,PC), Xavier Brooke (36,F) **

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 25: Hockey minnows Belgium, drawing inspiration from the presence of Belgian Prince Philippe and wife Princess Mathilde at the National Hockey Stadium, fought gallantly before going down to mighty Pakistan today.

The Royal couple are down in Malaysia on an economic mission and took the opportunity to attend their first hockey match in a public capacity.

The brave and determined Belgians took the lead twice before they eventually succumbed in the face of Pakistan's relentless onslaught.

Vitali Kholopov gave the Europeans an early lead while Xavier Brooke scored from a field attempt less than a minute after the break. But on both occasions, their lead lasted only five minutes.

*Pakistani golden boy Sohail Abbas was his side's hero, leveling the scores with two 100km-plus short corner missiles into the back of the Belgian net. These two brought his tally to four goals from two matches in the tournament. *

Khalid Saleem gave the Asians the lead for the first time in the 50th minute with a field goal. Although Pakistan continued attacking, they were denied further goals by some excellent and dogged defending by goalkeeper Vincent Deneumoistier and his backline.

With a second win, the Pakistanis have full points and are perfectly poised to maintain their premier position at the top of Pool A when they meet New Zealand on Feb 27.

Belgium are still pointless but could give defending champion the Netherlands a tough fight when they face each other on Feb 27 after their gritty showing today.

PAKISTAN: Qasim Muhammad, Tariq Imran, Sohail Abbas, Wassim Ahmed, Muhammad Usman, Muhammad Saqlain, Ghazanfar Ali, Muhammad Sarwar, Kashif Jawad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Khalid Saleem, (Ali Raza, Muhammad Shabbir, Dilawar Hussain, Atif Bashir, Mudassar Khan, Muhammad Nadeem)

BELGIUM: Vincent Deneumostier, Thierry Renaer, Xavier-Charles Letier, Loic Vandeweghe, Thomas Vandenbalck, Maxime Luycx, Vitali Khopolov, Mick Beunen, Xavier Brooke, Jean Willems, Marc Coudron (Joeri Beunen, Fabian Berger, Charles Vandeweghe, Robin Geens, Gilles Petre, Xavier Reckinger,)

UMPIRES: Pedro Teixeira (POR), Hamish Jamson (ENG)

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 25, 2002).]

I read that Sohail now owns the highest goals by a Pakistani record now. Anyone know what the highest ever goal tally is and who is it by? Does the Golden Boy have a shot?

ehsan bhai, final score pehlay bata diya karein… I had to spend a few seconds to decipher this complex equation to figure kay Pakistan jeeta ya haara.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/redface.gif

Kher… well done Pakistan.

I am sure those of you who are lucky enough to be watching this stuff on telly can appreciate how well the team is playing.

The news article didn’t say how many penalty corners Pakistan got so I don’t know if the 2 goals Sohail scored were out of how many PC he actually shot. Anyone knows?

Thanks.

Pristine Bhai the scores of all the matches today are listed above.

Shukriya, shukriya... :)

Waisay, aapas ki baat hai.. Belgium say match itna phansa liya to agay kiya hoga? :-/

Kher, Allah maalik hai.

Ditto!

Belgiun took the lead twice, which isn’t good because the team would be under pressure against better teams like holland and germany, if they took the lead.

But as long as we win its all

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif