Pakistan squad for Champions Trophy announced

**Pakistan squad for Champions Trophy announced **

LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board has announced 15-member squad for ICC Champions Trophy including fast bowler Mohammed Asif who has not played any competitive cricket since July 2008 due to disciplinary and doping issues.

**Team: Younis Khan (Capt), Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Imran Nazir, Shoaib Malik, Mohd Yousuf, Misbahul Haq, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Mohammed Asif,Rana Naved, Rao Iftikhar, Saeed Ajmal and Mohammed Amir.

Pakistan squad for Champions Trophy announced,8/21/2009 4:48:25 PM

No Razzaq in there. :eek: Is he injured?

My team would be as follows:

1. Kamran
  2. Nazir
  3. Younis
  4. Afridi
  5. Yousef
  6. Umar Akmal
  7. Rana
  8. Umar Gul
  9. Asif
  10. Ajmal
  11. Amir

Contains 6 bowlers and 7 batsmen.

**Fawad Alam given preference over Razzaq :hmmm:
plus Nazir is only specialized (duh!!) opener … so Akmal or Malik will open the innings ..

We all know our batting strength ...
So i'll have one more batsmen there ...
Malik/Misbah in place of Rana

Dropping Razzaq is a big folly IMO.

Razzaq could have opened the bowling (cf. T20 world Cup) with Aamer - Gul and Rana/Asif being held back for the middle overs - plus his batting gives much needed boost to the late middle order.

I w'd have left out Rao Iftikhar Anjum. With Asif and Gul back he is not really needed....bari lambi parchi lagti hai bhai saab kee

The only problem is the tail is too long (starts at 7). wish they had n't dropped Razzaq. I w'd drop either Asif or Rana (probably Asif) and include Malik or Fawad. Need to bat down to no. 7 atleast in a 50-over game

Re: Pakistan squad for Champions Trophy announced

Thanks God Salman Butt is not included in the squad ........... Razzaq must be in the Squad .....

Razzaq had performed well in his comeback, so his exclusion is a surprise. The reason give by Iqbal Qasim is that they wanted a bowling allrounder rather than a batting one, hence Rana tipped Razzaq.

With Rao, it's not about parchi. The guy is unappreciated, and he performs quite well every time he's given a chance (and just a couple of weeks ago got a 5-wicket haul against Sri Lanka).

Only Asif and Ajmal are tailenders. Rana, Umer Gul, and Aamer can all bat.

^ also never seen Rao gets injured too.
Still I believe Razzaq should have given preference over him.

According to GEO Razzaq has been dropped because he is injured.

Pak cricket team announced for Champions Trophy - GEO.tv

Asif is your premier bowler even if he is aqal da annah. 7 batsmen plus Gul and Aamir can bat a bit.

Why on earth is Fawad Alam is in the team Razzaq is not

I would have also liked to see Razzaq instead of Rao Iftikhar Anjum. Most likely, Anjum will warm the benches again throughout the tournament, because he is the least preferred to start from all the bowlers.
Asif, Gul, Aamer + Rana Naveed as your allrounder. I think Razzaq is a better batsmen and you need a hard hitting No.7-8 which Razzaq fits perfectly. SAD!!

I would have dropped Rao or Fawad for Razzaq. But if he is still injured it's the correct decision. Also, Umar Akmal deserves to be in playing XI and I'm not sure if Gul is fit enough. Younis is going to have to make some tough decisions.

But a decent squad. Let's hope they all perform well, inshallah.

^ :nahi:

The team looks stable enough... Razzaq is injured, else he would be in the center for sure.... About Afridi being captain, I am sure PCB is ready to say Misbah bye bye for good now, if he does bad in this CT... Cause Younis said on various occasions that droppping vice captain is a difficult ask, so PCB replaced Misbah all together with Afridi.

Regarding Rao, I would say that he always does a decent job when ever he is given a chance. No one ever talked about training him or nurturing him to the right potential. Else I always see him as a first replacement contender whenever there is a need in the team.

it so obvious Razzaqs omission has nothing to do with cricket. Naveed has a good ODI strike rate and can bat, but I dont understand Iqbal Qasims rationale about having to pick either Naveed or Razzaq. WHy cant they play both ? Saf never dropped Mcmillan for Kallis.

If Rao can get in on one 5 wicket haul, why cant Razzaq get in on whole series of good bowling contributions. Whatever the reason for him being left out is, it has nothing to do with his performance.

Shoaib Malik? :bummer: