Pakistan Rises to Number 1 in Test rankings

Australia lose No. 1 Test ranking after 3-0 defeat in Sri Lanka

ESPNCRICINFO STAFF
NaNshares

http://www.espncricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/250100/250197.jpg

Australia’s capitulation at the SSC led to a shuffle in the ICC Test rankings Australia have conceded the No. 1 Test ranking to India after losing all three Tests on their tour of Sri Lanka. Virat Kohli’s team must win the fourth Test against West Indies, beginning on August 18 in Trinidad, to retain their top ranking.
Australia slipped to No. 3 after the 163-run defeat at the SSC; they had begun the series with 118 points but finished the contest just ahead of England, who also have 108 points at No. 4, on the ICC’s rankings.
As a result of Australia being whitewashed 3-0, Pakistan have risen to No. 2, having drawn their four-Test tour of England 2-2. Should India fail to beat West Indies in Trinidad, Pakistan will become the No. 1 ranked Test side for the first time.
Sri Lanka’s performance led to them over-taking South Africa to move into sixth place with 95 points. They had begun the home series against Australia at No. 7 with 85 points.
ICC Test rankings 1 India (112 points), 2 Pakistan (111), 3 Australia (108), 4 England (108), 5 New Zealand (99), 6 Sri Lanka (95), 7 South Africa (92), 8 West Indies (65), 9 Bangladesh (57), 10 Zimbabwe (8)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Australia lose No. 1 Test ranking after 3-0 defeat in Sri Lanka | Cricket | ESPN Cricinfo

re: Pakistan Rises to Number 1 in Test rankings

Hoping to reach No. 1 if India cannot defeat WI in the last test.

BTW performance of Australia in this series is not understandable.

Imagine if we had played better at Edgbaston and drawn the match, we would be number 1 right now.

right..

I should have not left it to Pakistani team for 3rd test...i could have get the draw...

Australia so dominant at home but lately VERY poor in Asia

4-0 vs India in India (2013)
2-0 vs Pakistan in UAE (2014)
3-0 vs Sri Lanka in Sri Lanka (2016)

Pakistan should play a longer series in West Indies as well

As fourth test of WI-Ind is getting washed out, guess who’ll be at #1](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=1) now: PAKISTAN!!! :jhanda:

Re: Pakistan Rises to Number 1 in Test rankings

I know it will be tomorrrow but I am starting the celebrations early. The rise is made more sweet due to the fact that it is at the expense of India, as we relieve them of this spot.

Jeo Pakistan. :jhanda:

Aap England kay saath nahi? :slight_smile:

Jee hum position badltay rehtey hain, yeh depend karta hai kay kis ka palra bharee hai. :snooty:

Saare jahaan se acha
Ye ......... humara

Mixed feelings, Top of the Test world but 9th in ODIs.

Pakistan is at it's highest and lowest point in Tests and ODIs in it's cricketing history. Weird times for our cricket

Good thing is that we can only go up in ODIs from here. A close series against England (even if we don't win the 5-match ODI series) will be a step in the right direction.

Hope test team does well in NZ and Australia later this year.

As someone saying we r performing better in test coz world has moved fast while we r still in 90s. Hence performance is better in test but worst in odi. I hope psl will be a step in the right direction. I seriously afridi thing shud have happened to pk cricket 15 years late. Many of our talented test n odi player wud have been playing proper cricket rather than try to follow tulle baaz of 1 in 40 matches.

BaiNgan ( Egg plant) pasand hain app ko?

Aane do

Never liked them :D

Last it happened was in 1988.

Which ranking is it again??

Sorry, i’m just believing it slowly :smiley:

And in celebration, the skies opened.

Wait, was it the other way around?

I see PD leading the celebration. Nice dhoti.

Confirmed match called off and Pak rises to number 1. :jhanda:

**9.35am **Bad news, folks. **Expected nonetheless. Called off. **Congrats to Pakistan for becoming the No. 1 Test team. Congratulations to India on their 2-0 series win.