Pakistan Princely Party (PPP) and how it continues to destroy democracy in Pak

Yes some of the hardcore PPP jiyalas will have tough time digesting the new title for their beloved party. Now that a little prince is the future king of the party, we should accept the new name of the PPP.

Unfortunately it is the reality, that PPP’s leadership is now pathologically committed to forming a dynasty that revolves 100% around the name Bhutto, just like their counterparts in India are stuck to Gandhi clan, or BDeshi politics is held hostage by Mujib dynasty.

Anyway this column is not going to talk much about India, Bdesh, or Srilanka. Today we must explore fully the extent of harmful impacts on Pakistan thanks to Bhutto princely party and other sundry groups of politikos lead by one mafia boss or the other.

Pakistan Princely Party has from its beginning done everything to destroy Pakistan’s political, economic, and social norms.

**How Princely party utterly political process - **

1. Opened Duali camp aka Bhutto torture camp.
  2. Started the tradition of physically throwing out political opponents from the halls of National Assembly, thus reducing the status of Assembly a third-rated bar or a pub.
  3. Established a Private Princely Militia called Federal Security Force (FSF), that killed and kidnapped political opponents.
  4. And the list goes on.

**How Princely party utterly economy **

1. Alloted food distribution centers to Jiyalas and turned food producing nation down to country like femine stricken Bihar.

2. Nationalized banks and started the tradition of looting money of the people.

3. Nationalized schools and destroyed education system

4. Nationalized industry and filled up and overloaded factories with jiyalas

5. Started the tradition of installing Mr. 10% as “investment minister”, and now Mr. 10% may become the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

**How Princely party utterly social fabric of the country- **

1. One word - socialism

2. Two words - Islamic socialism (worst combination of the worst political philosophies in the modern world)

3. Allowed Mullahs to decide who is Muslim and who is non-Muslim, thus making it possible to start a government sanctioned fitna.

Summary:

The list of Pakistan Princely Party’s sins is much longer than a single column would ever allow. However the Princely party is just a symptom of a much larger disease afflicting every political party in Pakistan. All these parties are now single-person (family) owned princely states that would not allow competent leadership to evolve and rise through the ranks of the party.

Each of these parties is princely, so there is no way they can ever allow “democracy” within the party. Thus Pakistani people will continue hoping against hope that democracy will one day flourish in the country.

Pakistan Princely Party and similar groups are totally undemocratic garbage group. And as they say, you can continue having elections for the next 200 years by putting garbage Princely parties, and you will continue to get garbage out of such elections. And yes the blame always goes to Pakistan Army, as the Pakistan Princely Party is filled with angels.

It is time Pakistani people demand that Pakistan Princely Party allows internal democracy first. Only then, this party or others would be able to provide democracy to the masses.

Re: Pakistan Princely Party (PPP) and how it continues to destroy democracy in Pak

you make good points. everything that you write can be easily verified and yet press never raises these issues with party leadership which begs the question why? answer: pakistani journalists are on the take and democracy cannot exist in a country where press is completely corrupt and partisan. unfortunately musharraf had the opportunity to put ppp away for good but he missed the opportunity because he pays too much attention to foreigners. i fear the only way to expose ppp's true colours will be to let it come to power. given the quality of ppp leadership, country will be completely mismanaged which will mean that people will be calling for army rule in less than two years. hopefully next army leader wont make the same mistakes that musharraf did. given the state of global economy, ppp rule will be very damaging for pakistan but sometimes its good to go through a bit of pain.

Re: Pakistan Princely Party (PPP) and how it continues to destroy democracy in Pak

Mr burqaposhx I agree PPP and any other party are all crooks and corrupt, unfortunately Musharraf wasn't saint either. He made deals with same corrupt elements of the political scene, he issued NRO to guarantee that people like Benazir, Zardari can come back and their "corruption" will be forgiven. Mashallah.

It is true that PPP has mass support in Pakistan but I am sorry to say that most of these supporters are either ignorant, slaves or corrupts. There must be few exceptions but I am making this statement in general. How can any sensible (not ignorant), independent (not slave) or honest (not corrupt) person support a party that is nothing but dictatorship or monarchy? When a party is run by the same family for 40 years then this can never support democracy in the country. Bhuttos only want/wanted to run the country themselves. First example was when big Bhutto refused to accept the fairest democratic elections of 1971 era and let the East Pakistan go just to keep his power in the West Pakistan. This was the most selfish act by any politician in the history of Pakistan. Then the latest example was by BB to try to be PM for the third time that is against the constitution. And in order to do that, she bent, made deals, went against interests of common people and finally lost her life. So, to me, PPP is there to run by Bhuttos only for their own interest and not for the interest of the country.

One more thing I would like to add is that PPP has always granted favors to its jialas. That could be in form of non-qualified jobs, allotment of plots or tickets to run in elections. And for these favors you see a mass crowd of loatas or generally corrupt jialas around. I do have respect for some really qualified individuals still part of PPP, i.e., Aitzaz Ahsan. But if he doesn't leave PPP soon, I am afraid that he will be loosing his respect as good politician too. Besides, it's shame for such qualified individuals like Aitzaz Ahsan, Makhdoom Amim Fahim etc to serve PPP under the chairmanship of Zardari (universally known corrupt) or a teenager Blawal.
May God bless Pakistan and give some guidance to our selfish politicians, education to our ignorant and freedom to the slaves of our feudals.

May be people who still support PPP, probably deserve leaders like Zardari or Blawal. No sane person would like to accept Zardari as leader of a big political party of Pakistan. What is his qualification in politics or his achievements for the country? Does anybody know more than that he was Mr. 10% or probably Mr. 20% to be? What has happened to the intellectuals of Pakistan? Is Zardari a better politician than Aitzaz Ahsan or Makhdoom Amin Fahim? Where is democracy this party has been making false claims for?

It's so sad to read and hear about BB being a courageous leader... Where was her courage when she self exiled herself just to stay away from the corruption cases filed against her? Why could she not stay in Pakistan and simply face the trials? She only came back when she was assured by the West and Musharaf that all cases against her would be dropped and she would most likely be given a third term.

May God give us some guidance and give us courage to get rid of all corrupt leaders of our country. May Allah free Pakistan of feudalism and let us have a free and independent judiciary. We need rule of Law. We would like leaders who can work towards the progress of our country. We don't need leaders like BB who had spent $6,000,000 on Evian water from France during her first term in 1989. This bill was for her family only. She was taking showers with the Evian water while majority of the population of Pakistan didn’t even have access to clean drinking water. And her claims were that she wanted to serve "ghareeb awaam".

well said bro:biggthumb

Disclosure: I am not “jiyala” or PPP-er :smiley: but I disagree with some of what you said below:

Any politicians can refuse to accept the undesired results, would that mean “break up” of the country? I don’t think so. He was backed by powerful army which supported his action (someone would say “army only acted as servant”), so breakup of the country goes simply beyond “I don’t accept”, I am sure there might be more parties involved as well (other than the Bengalis).

I agree, Benazir was selected “Chair-woman for life”, how democratic :rolleyes:. Unfortunately our non-dynastic-self-proclaimed-leader also tried to make deal with the very same “most corrupt” politcian.

Who should a party give ticket elections to? Non-members? :smiley: All parties when they come into power try to get their members into government jobs, PPP being more towards “socialism” might have done more in numbers than others.

I agree, there are probably many more deserving leaders/workers in the party but the 19year old who adopted “Bhutto” last name to make party “sell-able”.

That is true for almost all parties i.e. Jamate Islami, PML-N etc.

Amen!

ehtsab
By not accepting those elections made Benaglis feel as if they were no good. Under democracy, when a party wins in majority they should be given the power. And when Mujeeb won in the elections, Mr. Bhutto said no, we don't accept it and raised a NAARA of udhar tum idhar hum... That was a very bad message. And anybody in place of Bengalis had felt inferior, rejected or simply second class. To me that was the root cause of seperation of East Pakistan. What was Bhuttos reason for not accepting those election? Just that he did not like someone from East Pakistan to rule over West Pakistan?
I am sure there must be other reasons too. Some or our generals screwed up too. And in addition, India took the advantage of the situation and supported Mujeeb ur Rehman.

You are trying to make someone understand who would never understand :)

Well, I consider 'Bhutto' the main person that caused Pakistan break up because of a reason that even though mentioned at places, very few even know that or talk about that. The reason is obvious and not only that, it shows that Bhutto was not only cause, he actually planned breakup of Pakistan, much before 1970 election.

Here is proof: The day Bhutto launched his party and started talking against his mentor whom he used to call daddy (as claimed by many in media), Bhutto started campaigning to become Prime Minister of Pakistan.

But question is that, how he could have started campaigning to become Prime Minister by ignoring East Pakistan, that had 162 out of 300 seats in Parliament (more than 50 percent) whereas West Pakistan only had 138 of 300 NA seats?

This is how parties contested 'January 1971' election:

Party that contested only in West Pakistan:
PPP (Bhutto party): Contested on 120 out of 138 West Pakistan seats, none in East Pakistan.

Party that contested from both part of Pakistan: (knowing that they might not even win election, but still showed their interest and presence in both part of Pakistan). All of them got some votes from both part of Pakistan.

Awami League (Mujeeb party): Contested on 162 East Pakistan and 8 West Pakistan seats.
Jamaat-e-Islami: Contested on 151 seats (both in East and West Pakistan)
**PML(Qayyum): **Contested on 133 seats (both in East and West Pakistan)
**PML (Convention): **Contested on 124 seats (both in East and West Pakistan)
**PML(Council): **Contested on 119 seats (both in East and West Pakistan)

JUP: Contested from both in East and West Pakistan
JUI: Contested from both in East and West Pakistan
NAP: Contested from both in East and West Pakistan
PDP: Contested from both in East and West Pakistan

Election results shows that Mujeeb with simple majority needed no one to form government, as AL got 160 out of 300 NA seats. Bhutto's PPP with 81 seats was not even near to form government.

Well, it shows that Bhutto intention was obvious even before election, as Bhutto party 'PPP' did not even cared to contest election in any of East Pakistani constituency, and since Bhutto was campaigning to become Prime Minister, only way he could have achieved that was to break up Pakistan, and that is what he did (with collusion of some in Armed forces).

Mujeeb was innocent (though victim of propaganda by some crooks in West Pakistan) because if Mujeeb wanted separation, his party would not have contested in any of West Pakistan National Assembly seats (similar to Bhutto, whose party did not contested in any of East Pakistan NA seats), but his Party 'Awami League' contested in no less than 8 NA seats in West Pakistan (even though he knew he would not win seats in W Pakistan). Further, I believe he also made alliances with parties in West Pakistan before election (I think NAP was his ally).

If Mujeeb wanted to break Pakistan, it make no sense that his party would have contested election in West Pakistan, knowing that his party had no chance to win any seats in West Pakistan.

[Note: If Mujeeb was bias toward West Pakistan or ethnic based party, he would not have chosen word 'Awami' for his party, that is Urdu word and not Bengali word].

So, it shows that Bhutto had already made up his mind that he would try to create problem after election, that with people he may be having consent in military, probably knew that result would be break up of Pakistan. And that is why, when military operation started in East Pakistan, it is claimed that Bhutto said that 'Pakistan is saved'.

Why Bhutto did that?
That is obvious too. Bhutto was feudal with feudal mentality. He was intelligent too and wanted feudalism to continue in Pakistan, at least as long as possible. It is difficult for feudal to rule when military is ruling as military officers mostly come from middle class. So, feudal could only rule through sham democracy, but for that they need feudal society, where people are dependent on them for their day to day survival, and thus feudal can get elected.

Bhutto could have seen two threat to feudal rule in Pakistan. One is East Pakistan, that was not feudal society and other was industrial progress in Pakistan where feudal were not in control. So, first step he took was to get rid of East Pakistan and second step he took in West Pakistan after coming to power, that was to destroy industrial development and progress, or bring that into government control, so that feudal in power can use industrial jobs to control livelihood of poor industrial workers, as they use lands to control livelihood of poor peasants.

One should know that industrial developments and progress in Pakistan was started by non-feudal. Most industries and non-agricultural sector of Pakistan economy before Bhutto period was also under non-feudal personalities. Actually, many non-feudal were also getting into agriculture and fisheries, bringing changes in culture of how agricultural lands use to get managed by feudal. But after Bhutto nationalization and new developments, many non-agricultural sector of economy also went under the control of feudal.

Idea is same, that is to control livelihood of people and in result control people. Both steps by Bhutto prolonged feudal hold over Pakistan, as they are still in command.

When Pakistan get rid of feudal control for a short period (when military takes over), these feudal who control many (as they control lands, and after Bhutto, most industries including media, hence livelihood of many in Pakistan), use that to destabilized the government as much as possible.

Well said and gave logical explanation.
Shukriya Saleem Sahib.

Democracy means nothing, from centuries, the ellite class use to rule the countries, same is the case now, the only difference it made is, we can get rid of somebody after certain period of time without a bloodshed.

May it be USA or a 2rd world country like Pakistan or India, the throne stays in set number of families, after decade or two, one family leaves and new dynasty starts... same old game with new face.

arent all Pakistanis ignorant, slaves and corrupt?

I normally disagree with your analysis, but brother, ur above logic make lots of sense.

It’s pretty funny to see everyone agreeing on Saleem sahebs huge post, with “facts and figure” he has posted above.
No one ever questioned his figures and facts. More over failed to understand the strategy of the military rule and Yayas intension, which are falsely interpretated and acknowledged as Bhuttos mistakes by many Army rule lovers and Musharraf supporters.
Saleem Bhai, next time you do post some lies on ZAB put some more effort behind It.
IN one of your threads you stated something like this:“You am not against any leader of Pak (past or future), but you dont think Bhutto has done more than average by investing into nuke R&B (initiating) for his country.” Alone this statement proves that you dislike this person, regardless of what he has done or not done for us.
If you read on the historical events backed by many authores you will notice only mentioning military leaders, when refering to East and West Pakistan’s break up. More over you will find facts and figures related to the election quite different to what Saleem Saheb has posted above.
I would have refrained of such links to be hosted here, but you give me no choice Saleem. I dont want others to feel offended of what our Army has done in 1971. India took advantages of this uprising and supported East Pakistanis to Its full (using Bengalis as proxies) and our Army Generals failed to succeed coz of poor and false planning.
Unfortunately this articles has been edited by an Indian, but It states nothing but the truth.

Brother, you have all right to disagree with my analysis, but as far as facts and figures are concerned, it is not mine, neither I lie (I may make unintentional mistakes, but would not lie intentionally when quoting facts and figures). Though those facts and figures are available from various sources and I know it since long time (Bhutto PPP did not contested election in East Pakistan), I am putting some of many source available here.

Election 1970 … PPP did not contested on any East Pakistan NA seats, but AL and all other parties did.

Source one:
http://www.ppp.org.pk/history.html
(From PPP own site, with excuses for not putting any candidate in East Pakistan)

**There were not enough means and time to organize and carry the message of PPP to East Pakistan. The PPP, therefore, confined its election activities to West Pakistan and fielded its candidates in that wing. **

[Not enough means, what a BS … when PPP was one of the richest party that contested 1970 election, consisting of many rich Vaderas … where as Awami League and JI were poor parties. As for time, PPP started in 1967 and went into election campaign when other parties were not even thinking of any election in near future … especially AL that contested on 170 seats, 8 in West Pakistan.

If PPP confined to only West Pakistan, that no other party did, than how come Bhutto was thinking to get in power? Obviously, only those party were contesting to form government that were contesting election in both wings of Pakistan and had enough candidates to form the government.

So, if that is the case, Bhutto should have stayed satisfied as secondary party happy to get 81 seats, knowing that he did not even contested the election to get into power, and thus should not have even thought of asking Mujib to share power, when in reality it was only he and his party that was making so much ‘hue and cry’ about sharing power after election, on basis of West Pak and East Pak … idhar ham aur udhar tum]

Source two:
http://www.storyofpakistan.com/articletext.asp?artid=A140&Pg=2
( This is a good book to read for ‘History of Pakistan’ that is available on net)

A total 1,957 candidates filed their nomination papers for 300 National Assembly seats. While after scrutiny and withdrawals, 1,579 contested the elections eventually. None of the political parties filed nominations of their candidates on all the seats. Awami League nominated 170 candidates out of which 162 were for the constituencies in East Pakistan. The party that filed second highest number of candidates was Jamaat-i-Islami. It filed 151 candidates. There were only 120 candidates contesting the elections on the ticket of Pakistan Peoples Party, out of which 103 were from the constituencies in the Punjab and Sindh. Pakistan Peoples Party didn’t nominate a single candidate from East Pakistan. Convention Muslim League nominated 124 candidates, Council Muslim League 119 and Qayyum Muslim League 133.

Souce three:

1970 General & Provincial Elections (From above site):

Awami League ran 170 candidates, of which 162 were for constituencies in East Pakistan. The party that ran the second-highest number of candidates was Jamaat-i-Islami. It filed nomination papers for 151 candidates. The Pakistan Peoples Party ran only 120 candidates, of which 103 were from constituencies in the Punjab and Sindh. The Pakistan Peoples Party had no candidates in East Pakistan.

Source four:

Awami League](Awami League - Wikipedia)** ran 170 candidates, of which 162 were for constituencies in East Pakistan.** Jamaat-e-Islami had the second-highest number of candidates with 151. **The **Pakistan Peoples Party](Pakistan People's Party - Wikipedia) ran only 120 candidates, of which 103 were from constituencies in the Punjab and Sindh, and none in East Pakistan. The PML (Convention) ran 124 candidates, the PML (Council) 119 and the PML (Qayyum) 133.

The number is 167 out of 169. And regarding rest of your post:
You had my views and opinion backed by a site (proof) above.
You might like to elaborate on this as well.

Bhai, aap yea kahtay na .. not that my facts and figures are wrong :)

Well, there were 300 seats in election that were contested. Apart of those 300 seats, there were 13 reserved seats for women ... 7 from East Pakistan and 6 from West Pakistan ... making total seats - 313.

Mujib 'Awami League' took all those 7 women seats from East Pakistan, as he had 160 out of 162 East Pakistan NA seats plus most of East Pakistan PA seats (288 out of 300) ... and that is why you have figure 167 out of 169 (162 + 7) East Pakistan seats, that was out of total 313 Pakistan NA seats (300 elected + 13 reserved for women) :)

Still Saleem is right on spot, Bhutto how charismatic he was, but wasnt good for a complete Pakistan.

Very good analysis.

Well next time get your FIGURES right then.

Well that is your opinion, dont generalize.
What Bhutto had planned for this country and the other islamic states (muslims states) no other dared to do so. Indian feared him most and It had reasons.