Pakistan president offers team some advice

General Pervez Musharraf, the Pakistan president, took some time off yesterday to watch the second NatWest Challenge match against England at The Oval – and give the Pakistan squad some advice.

Pakistan lost the match by seven wickets due mostly to inspired performances from James Anderson and Marcus Trescothick but while in the Pakistan dressing room, Musharraf expressed his delight following the team’s thrilling victory in the first game at Old Trafford.

He also advised the team to continue with their hard work: “Although I didn’t see your victory, I know that you have given the nation much needed delight and happiness. I would advise you to continue with your hard work.”

He added: “Winning and losing is part of the game. Just try to give your best, play hard cricket in the true spirit of the game. I have all the reasons to believe that if you play to your potential, you can be world-beaters. You are the best talent that has assembled here. You are the future of Pakistan cricket.”

Musharraf is also a patron of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and reminded the players: “Pakistan cricket is in safe hands and I am optimistic that you will help Pakistan regain the lost glory.”

When introduced to Shoaib Akhtar, he had some words of appreciation as well as some rather sobering advice for Pakistan’s fiery bowler who is so often surrounded by controversy: "I have seen you bowling and I am a real fan of yours. But I have observed that at times you don’t strike the balance that is essential to be a successful sportsman."

On meeting Rashid Latif, the Pakistan captain, he was happy to see a new team unity under his leadership: “I am impressed with your leadership. You have gelled the team together and that is the key to get the best out of your unit.”

Musharraf addressed the whole team and was forthright in telling the young squad that the captain was the only commander of the team and advised the boys to respect and listen to him: “You can run your unit when you have one commander and I am glad that this team has one captain who calls the shots.”

our president is sooo encouraging.. :k:
Lets hope to win on sunday and we will insahllah :jhanda:

Did he really say that India is not playing with Pak because they’re scared. Come one mr. president, u r smarter than that. I can’t believe he said that.
Anyways, inshallah Pakistan will win on sunday. That Anderson guy is getting on my nerves, man.
:k: :jhanda:

Where did he say that in the above statement. :konfused:

^ thats what i m thinking :slight_smile:

kashur? wo president hian.. such comments doesnt suit him.. but i m sure he felt the same way :smiley:

and we must get salonki n trescothick’s wickett in first few overs. :mad:

Nope thats where he said that.

*Originally posted by proudpakistani007: *
^ thats what i m thinking :)

kashur? wo president hian.. such comments doesnt suit him.. but i m sure he felt the same way :D

he Must have realy felt that since he is General and has fought wars with india, so i guess he knows indian better than all of us.

Sometimes mr. president disappoints me. He is the leader, comments like these doesn't suit him.

His full statement is as follows:

"I presume there was a stage they got scared of playing against us, we always beat them and they couldn't face us. I feel that is the problem.

"The stakes are high and one would like to reduce this tension but if we play regularly we can enhance our friendship. We need to play more," he concluded.

I think it is quite a reasonable statement as he said that there was a stage when they got scared of playing. This was around the late 80's early 90's when Pakistan was regularly beating them.

^ yeah those were the best days :frowning:

Nikemaa.. trueeeee :jhanda:

*Originally posted by a1kashur: *
Did he really say that India is not playing with Pak because they're scared. Come one mr. president, u r smarter than that. I can't believe he said that.

What is so wrong about his words... Truth is truth....how come India can play Hockey...and other minor games w/ Pak..and when it comes to cricket inn ke phaat jatee hai (Dhotee)...

i 100% agree w/ President...

What if he did say it.
He is 100% correct, Indian govts can't suffer another humiliation in the hands of Pakistan, this time in the cricket ground, and if India gets beaten to an below avg Pakistani team, it would be even more embarassing. Now India have even more excuses.

In 1980's we played 30 matches against India, ** won 19 ** of them and lost 9. There was 2 matches with no result.The first no result match was in 1984 in Sialkot. It was 40 overs a side and India batted first and made 210 largley because of a wonderful knock by Vengsarkar.Match was abandoned as a draw as the news that the Indian Prime Minister Mrs. Indira Ghandi was assasinated reached. The rest of the tour was also called off. (apni bari ley li, hamari bari nahi di) :) The second no result match was played in 1989 in Karachi and the match was called of after only 14.3 overs due to crowd disrution. Pakistan was batting and the score was 28/3 when the match was called off.

In 1990's we played 45 matches agaisnt India, ** won 26 ** of them and lost 17. Again 2 matches with no result. The first no result match was in 1997 played in Colombo, rain and bad light after 5 overs stopped the game, and Umpires reduced the overs per side to 33. When the game resumed, it had to be called off again due to bad light. Acha hi hua Pakistan was batting first and after 9 overs the score was 30/5.The second no result match was played in Toronto in 1997 and was called off after 31.5 overs due to rain. Pakistan yet again was batting first and the score was 169-3.

The bottom line as long as India & Pakistan keep playing, the more chances of India getting humiliated and thats why they dont want to play us. We have such a suerior record, it just goes to prove our dominance.

What he said was right, and any of you who object to that and think it didnt suit him, :nono3:

I think Pakistani players were nervous playing in front of Gen. Musharraf rite?

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
I think it is quite a reasonable statement as he said that there was a stage when they got scared of playing. This was around the late 80's early 90's when Pakistan was regularly beating them.

It is ridiculous to think that, because in the late 80s we toured pakistan and Pakistan also toured India before that. In the early 90s Pakistan was the one which refused to tour India twice.

Imagine Advani & Co. making same statements now ? I think it is really stupid but I dont blame Mushy for his desperation.

LM - In the 90s India's winning % was higher than ever, so take your stupid logic elsewhere.

Why India losted many match to pakistan? becase bad boling. India beter beter bating but pakistan fast boling. so losted many match in 199- also 80.

Is why world cup beat very good.

But why some persons say poltics things in criket? Mushraf not talk like presdent! only solder.

Also say such scold to Shoib not good...why public scold? to scold beter do "Shoib come drink tea in room" then private tell! is beter that.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

It is ridiculous to think that, because in the late 80s we toured pakistan and Pakistan also toured India before that. In the early 90s Pakistan was the one which refused to tour India twice.

Imagine Advani & Co. making same statements now ? I think it is really stupid but I dont blame Mushy for his desperation.

52-30 rings desperation in your mind? Anywayz, you said the same thing when everyone was hailing musharraf after he went to Serena Hotel Isloo, and mocked the indian commissioner with humour, and you said its inappropriate for a president to goto a dhaba (which shows how little you know about pakistan) and talk. And dont even bring your advani bappu into this, its been proven he ordered the Babri Mosque destruction orders, now being a hindutva, you wouldnt understand his desperation ;)

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

LM - In the 90s India's winning % was higher than ever, so take your stupid logic elsewhere.

Munna go learn some mathematics first. Who cares what India's winning percenmtage was against any other team. We are talking about Pakistan and India here and even in the 90's we had a superior record. Scroll up and check it out your self. 45 played between the two countries and we won 26 of them..... hmmm nice percentage!!!!!

who care? I caring and all India also world caring. more peapul caring how much India winning more to any other country peapul. is why ICC also lisening. If India no play then 1/2 world criket money going going gone!

^— :hehe: