Pakistan in England, 2006
Shoaib included in preliminary squad
Cricinfo staff
May 18, 2006
Shoaib Akhtar was included in Pakistan’s 21-man preliminary squad for the tour of England this summer, marking his return from a career-threatening knee injury. Akhtar, who underwent twin knee operations in February, recently resumed bowling in the nets and clarified that he was on his way back to full fitness…
** Preliminary squad** - Inzamam-ul-Haq, Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Taufiq Umar, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Faisal Iqbal, Shahid Afridi, Bazid Khan, Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Danish Kaneria, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Asif, Rao Iftikhar, Mohammad Sami, Umar Gul, Zulqarnain Haider
I think the Pre-squad announced is what we expected and the final squad will be no different. the question remains will pakistan go with the tried and tested “ghaday-ghoray” openers or will they want to give “Bazid Khan” a good run in the test team? and I think Saqlain Mushtaq is also long forgotten as he was not considered at all.
Good to see they have included 2 w-keepers and I hope Z. Haider tag along but on whom’s expense:confused:
Re: Pakistan preliminary squad for England *announced
It only adds to the suspense, you see. Watch out for a full week's worth of holiday time which will force the nation's schools to temporarily shut down as more complaints from the parents will be registered in principal's office, who, after constant months of staying in a state of depression and emptying those bottles of narcotics and anti-biotics every night, will hand his resignation, and on the way back to home, is likely to tie himself to the railway tracks, increasing the sales of the likes of Jangs, Nawai-Waqats and Khawateen Magazines to all-new heights.
And to top it off, watch out for this entire episode to be written in Inzamam's auto-biography next year. The climax, the behind-the-scenes exclusives, and the fashionable but limited material ever produced and published as the stock of Urdu Bazar will rise, once again. Those people, all they have is a bunch of those waahiyaat horror and romance novels lying around in cheap but affordable prices (commonly sold by Teen Dabbay Walas on the streets) which attracts the masses who are still in their yester-years as violence will be heightened to increasing levels, hence this entire saga will continue to bloodstream the hopes of the entire nation while Western Media will feed off of it, all because of that one man from Khanewal, Rao Anjum Iftikhar. I command he be given the tamgha of Nishaan-e-Haider now, or else, face the ruthless tyranny and woeful opression!
:CareBear: Dhobi_Bhai I was waiting for something like this all day. There was nothing else which I can think off can be written about Rao Iftikhar. Nice one.
what ever Yasir said during the Pakistan A team match in Abu-Dhabi cost him iggy by the selectors, and I think a clear signal that he should talk with the bat rather than the tounge :p
Baycharaye say essi bhi kiya narrazi-gi hai bhai, he is a new kid around the corner let him stay in the team yaar for a while, bachaye ki jaan lo-gaye kiya:hoonh:, and in any case he is better than chacha Arshad
What Yasir spitted in front of the media (although he ate his words two days later) is of much lesser value than what those four players did during the EurAsia Cricket Series that has now become a national scandal. The lowest point of this entire episode was the discovery of two beer cans from the boot of the car, all this entire saga just 24 hours before their grand finale with India. On top of all this, they were forced to pay a paltry pocket-change of a fees while every single one of them still retained their positions in the 'A' team for their summer tour of Australia.
If anything, the above should have been a case which selectors should have overlooked, instead of now leaving us with one opener less.
Ricky Ponting's brawl and S. Warne scandal and drug use during the WC03' are more shameless acts than this, you cannot bench the A' team players when resources are thin, or considering its the high profile tour against the world's professional cricket hierarchy.
They were reprimand for their fault, much of the blame goes on the management as well, how did they allow them to go sight seeing before the finale. Making blames/ accusation's is not healthy no matter how much you are bummed; "whatever comment made by Yasir and if twisted by the media and reversed after two days" bottome line the damage is done.
As our brother Dhobi has clearly pointed out, the extent of damage caused by those 4 individuals was way more than Yasir's. In a sense, Yasir's comment was coming out of frustration and we have seen international players behaving worse than that. And the media probably did not help his cause either. If Taufeeq deserves a chance, so does Yasir.... considering the situation or form he was dropped in!
Do we really need such a large squad, hopefully the final squad will be cut down to 17 because half of these players aren't going to play.
No surprises really, it's the same old names all over again. I have a feeling Inzi has already decided which side is going to play so basically it's down to who are the lucky guys who win a free vacation.
Absolutely right. I think Inzi will have plenty to say on who goes to England and will probably favour players rather then deciding upon the best player for the tour. Free vacation probably someone who is close to Inzi.
Absolutely, and I am not disagreeing with you at all. Taking in assessment as to what Hameed has done comparing it to the now-known scandal, the latter has caused more damage than the former (As Truelies Bhai has indicated above). I personally don’t see the point of the management in having to ‘baby-sit’ the professional cricketers and forcing them to remain in front of their eyes. Most of the time they are temporarily migrated thousands of miles away from their home to represent their nation, get paid for their work they love to do, and assumption is every single one of them knows how to manage and ethically deal with such situations that arise overtime (without having an ‘authority’ to look upto for asking permissions). I don’t suppose the management has very much to do with this, let alone anything.
Relating to the Ponting and Warne ‘incidents’, yes, they were all considered very low-points from the point of view of theirs and their country’s. One of the incidents has been outlined in vast detail here, which you are more than welcome to read.
If a child sneaks from the back of the classroom behind the teacher’s back while the latter is focused on teaching for that child’s betterment, would that be the fault of the teacher or the kid who has rather overlooked and brushed the mentor aside for a few hours worth of fun-time, getting caught in the process and still being promoted to the next grade-level?
I agree with you Dhobi bhai they should have been dealt with in stern way, but management is sole responsible for the team/players; how they spent time ( how much time for the practice, other drills and enough time to relax) and not becoming F1 racer and as far as the passing grade and promotion to next class, as long as you get a good grade (performace in the game) you are promoted.
However, there should be a place for Yasir regardless of what he said, he is a quality player, only require proper attention, even if he gets 50% of the attention that Shoaib Malik got, Yasir would be a different player by now:grumpy: but oh well.
once again we have wholesale leftie batsman’s all of a sudden (farhat, Butt, umer and kamal)
we will have a full throttle pace battery and make shift spinners will support Danish but the big question is how will the batting #'s crunch up?