Pakistan or Punjabistan?

Is Pakistan really our shared home. To know this read the following excerpt from a research paper on national identity in Pakistan.

"**Talbot says that the preference for Punjabis in terms of recruitment has prevented the national integration of Pakistan, which therefore is often called “Punjabistan”.**25 Basically, all of the ethnic conflicts can be seen as being against the Punjabi domination at the center. Punjab is indeed described to be the “only refugee for Pakistani nationalism”26.

**It is wrong to say that the Punjabi domination only began with the secession of Bangladesh. In fact, the 1951 census counted Punjabis to be 25 % of the total population, but they occupied 80 % of the army and 55 % of the administrative posts.27 **The conflicts between the center and the ethnicities deteriorated with the induction of the one-unit scheme in 1956. West Pakistan was united into one administrative province in order to “counterbalance East Bengal”, which composed about 55 % of Pakistan’s total population.28 This meant that West Pakistan technically only consisted of one province. The one-unit scheme also aimed to introduce absolute equality between the West and the East."

Read the full research paper at:

http://userpage.fu-berlin.de/~subin/islam.pdf

Re: Pakistan or Punjabistan?

True, and welll known. One the main reasons why what is now known an Pakistan will not last to the end of the century.

End of the century eh? Realdeal bhai jaan, elaborate on this logic please. Share your wisdom, for we all would like to find out how a nation that 140 million survived 56 years against an enemy 10 times bigger in population and more then twice its size, will end suddenly.

As far as Punjabi domination goes, I am sure uncle musharraf (the urdu speaking mohajir, not from Punjab) will disagree.

It does not matter who is the Chief Executive, as long as we have a strong Punjabi lobby. In fact it is not Pakhtoonistan Movement, Sindudesh or Azad Balochistan causing damage to Pakistan integrity, it is this Punjabi Lobby. The lobby was successful in elimination of Bengalis which was great setback to our two nation theory. That was their first target because Bengal being far more populous than Punjab could hamper the nefarious designs of the lobby. I still remember in 1998 once I was in Balochistan and talked to one of the Balochi about then Nuclear blasts by Pakistan. He was so rejoiced and proud to be Pakistani and said "for the first time I feel that I am a true Pakistan" after about a week, I went to Pukhtunkhwa, where I saw that gigantic scene against Kalabagh Dam. The people were abusing Punjab and Pakistan.
I am sure a commoner Punjabi is not aware of all this game but in turf of reality their leaders are so desperate to convert Pakistan into Pujabistan in real sense.
Till the time the Punjab domination is not shattered, the phenomenon of disintegration will persist. However Punjabi lobby is so stubborn in their stand that they would never allow anyone creating obstacle in their nefarious designs may it be Ayyub Khan or Musharraf.

What he meant was the end of this decade not the end of the century. Am I right Realdeal?

^^ Well so is Afghanistan as Pushtoonistan. A majority in any country will dominate as a result of shear numbers. Kabuli Kommies failed in their own country and the result was an extreme hate among Uzbeks and Pushtoons, or Tajiks and Pushtoon. Killing of 4000+ Pushtoons in Mazare Sharif by packing them in containers and executing them at close range. The same Kabuli Kommies are dying to ignite the same hatred against Pushtoons in Pakistan. These Kommies are hoping to destroy Pushtoon areas of Kohat, Bannu, and Malakand just like they utterly destroyed Pushtoon areas of Kandhar, Jalalabad, and Kabul.

Down with these Kabuli Kommies, the killers of Pushtoon.

Nice to see the collection of Pakistan haters in this thread showing their unity lol

So long as there is Pakistan, Punjabis will be the big bosses… You can’t have it both ways, if you want to be a part of Pakistan then shut up and go with what we’ve got to say but if you don’t then go on go ahead and remerge your Afghan lands with the country of your forefathers Afghanistan so that togther with the Pukhtoons at the other side of the Durand Line you take your country back from the Uzbeks, Tajiks etc…

frekin nuts! This will plunge Afghanistan into another civil war. Haven’t you had enough you Kabuli Kommies. How much Afghan blood you have to spill to quench your racist thirst?

My jaan I’m from Attock (in Punjab) and speak Hindko (a dialect of Punjabi) not a Kabuli.. And my latest crush also happens to be Punjabi (I’m over the Pukhtun one) so from this day forth I am a Punjabi. :snooty:

And we know it’s not the Afghan blood you’re worried about it’s their land you want to keep… Kiya karna hai? Achaar daalna hai Pathano ki banjar zameeno ka? Kuch bhi nahein hai unn mein ..

…Jaaney do taake Pathan khud bhi aaraam se rahein aur hamein bhi chen ki do saansein lene dein (‘Punjabi maar gaey, Punjabi maar gaey’ ki mustaqil ratt laga rakhi hai)… :rolleyes:

we should also realise this fact that pathans and urdu speaking also helped the punjabis against the bengalis.pathans are still with them on many issues only the paktoon nationalist movemnets like anp and pkmap both are some what against punjab rest are with them on almost every issue.As far as urdu speaking are concerned they supported the punjabis uptill 1971 against the bengalis but when punjabi domination started and mohajir uprising with the help of army mqm originated in sindh.But then the party was out of the control of army and the army started operations against them now a punjabi is hated most by a mohajir

why did everyone helped the punjabis gainst the bengalis ?national integration can only be achieved if more provinces are created with autonomy and the capital should only dwla with foreign affairs currency and defence

Punjabi dominance in Pakistan must end for it too succeed. Punjab sucks out reosurces from other provinces for its own uses and never really gives back to the provinces.

For example in Balochistan sui gas is provided to *punjab **by **pipelines * yet that very same gas given to the very same province that produces it by *gas cylinders. *

Another example is that fields in punjab are irrigated by rivers that flow through *NWFP. *

Most high administartive jobs are held by punjabes. If you have ever looked in the army almst all high ranking officers in army are punjabees. Promotions arent given on merit, they are given on preferential treatment. Being a punjabee has its advantages.

*SO, Punjabi dominance must end. All ethncicities must be represented fairly and equally. Goverenment should invest equally in all parts of pakistan. Government should try to keep all ethncities happy. We dont want this pashtun vs punjabee, balochi vs punjabee etc sh!t. *

You guys are in denial about that pashtuns are happy with as pakistan as it is now. Have you ever been too Nowshera or Dera Adam Khel and talked to an ordinary pashtun? They'll tell you what they think about a punjabi dominated Pakistan? Many arent happy and tell you about issues like kalabah dam. Theyll tell you hopw punjabees are taking advatnge of pashtuns

It is not the external threat, but internal that we are discussing.I don’t have time to go into a detailed discourse right now, but Pakistan is heading towards a Yugoslavia situation. There are far too many tensions boiling over to be contained forever. It is Punjab who gain the most from Pakistan, as can be seen most clearly from the situation in Balochistan and Karachi.

If it were not for the force used to keep Pak together, it would have have disintegrated already. History shows force can’t be used forever to hold a nation together. History will repeat itself,as always,and in Pakistan

AKhan-agreed

Malakand- this decade would be pushing it, esp as US has too much interest in
Pak at moment

Chel C BAbau- The quote from you below shows why those who say
Pak will not survive say so, perfect example of how the
resentment is created, except this thinking is often forced at gun point

So long as there is Pakistan, Punjabis will be the big bosses… You can’t have it both ways, if you want to be a part of Pakistan then shut up and go with what we’ve got to say

lol and one can easily say that by just reading heading of this post and can expect what would have been posted. :hehe:

Lets sit a side and watch the cat dog fight.

If we are here on this forum in ten years, or even in five, and Pakistan is stil in tact, and it will be, I want every anti Pakistan guppy to smack themselves really hard in the face...

Pakpatiot1 you have confirmed the original statement of Pakistan is Punjabistan. If a Punjabi disgrace, humiliate or insult Balochi/Pakhtoon/Sindhi, its ok as they have the license to insult any race, but if any non-Punjabi reacts and utter a word against Punjabi then he will be labelled "Ghaddar" and Anti-Pakistan. Why?
If disgracing a Pakhtoon is not something ant-Pakistan how come it ture in the case of a Punjabi.
You used abusive language against Pakhtoons but if they reacts the administrator will ban him in the forum. So many Pakhtoons have been banned in this forum because they have reacted to Punjabi abuses. But since Punjabi have the license to insult and humiliate and abuse any race therefore, a Punjabi administrator will never take any action against him.
Come on, Punjabis dont be hypocrite and do what all you are supposed to do.

a. Only Lahore city consume electrify (Pakhtoonland production) more than entire Pakhtoonkhwa, why?
b. Balochistan is producing gas (which is their blood) but Balochis have been deprived of their own blood (gas) why?
c. Sugar and tobacco are only two major crops in Pakhtoonkhwa and these are the only two crops included in Divisible Pool. Why?
d. Despite Supreme Court decision, Pakhtoonkhwa has not yet been given their due electricity royalty. Why
e. You have a far better option of Bhasha Dam, but Punjab is insisting on Kalabagh despite the strong reservation of all the remaining three provinces. Why?
f. You go to any major city of Punjab and you will see 100% Pakhtoon as labour and Chabrhiwala.Why?
There are thousand of such whys which has burst my heart into pieces and not even a single Punjabi could ever give me a satisfactory answer.

I dont care about you saying anything about Punjabis.. Punjabis you can curse your heart out, and no one will care.. But I say this to those who think that Pakistan will break up into pieces… I will bet my life that in 5 years, 10 years, or even 50 years, Pakistan will not only be there, but it will be stronger and more cohesive then ever before..