Pakistan no better off under Woolmer

KARACHI, Oct 4: Pakistan’s national cricket coach Bob Woolmer is one of the highest-paid salaried persons of the country, but in his first year the team has not shown much improvement in ICC Test and ODI rankings.

Woolmer, who took over as national team coach after Javed Miandad was forced to quit in June last year, is costing Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) more than Rs1.5 million a month. This probably makes him one of the top salaried individuals in Pakistan. ( Itni to hamaray wazeeray Azam ya Mushi Kee bhee nahi hay :eek: )

The cash-rich PCB, for reasons better known, are also paying all the ***taxes of Woolmer :smack: ***, an information not revealed to the Senate Standing Committee on Sports and Culture.

The former South African coach under whose charge the Republic failed to win anything of note in five years completed one year in June this year with almost little or no improvement in Pakistan’s official rankings released by the game’s ruling body ICC in virtually an eight-country league with due respects to Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. In fact Pakistan has slipped in Tests ratings.

According to the latest ICC rankings Pakistan are a poor seventh in Tests and fourth in ODIs. When Woolmer took over Pakistan were sixth in ODIs and fifth in Test rankings.

Incidently, under Woolmer Pakistan has yet to win a tournament or a Test series.

Besides the fabulous paypacket the high-profile coach also gets favours by the PCB who allows him special leave to conduct coaching classes for ICC, banks and make special appearances on TV chat shows. (intiha hay jahiliyat kee , he should be coaching our young boys :bialan: )

Woolmer currently has gone abroad on a coaching assignment having been given special permission by the PCB.

ICC Test Championship

Current rankings:

Rank Team Rating

1. Australia 127

2. England 119

3. India 112

4. South Africa 100

5. New Zealand 100

6. Sri Lanka 99

7. Pakistan 95

1. West Indies 74

2. Zimbabwe 27

3. Bangladesh 5

Rankings in June 2004:

1. Australia 127

2. South Africa 112

3. England 107

4. India 102

5. Pakistan 99

1. New Zealand 96

2. Sri Lanka 94

3. West Indies 79

4. Zimbabwe 54

5. Bangladesh 1

ICC ODI Championship

Current rankings:

1. Australia 136

2. Sri Lanka 123

3. New Zealand 116

4. Pakistan 116

1. South Africa 111

2. England 109

3. India 97

4. West Indies 90

5. Zimbabwe 44

6. Bangladesh 14

Rankings in June 2004:

1. Australia 136

2. South Africa 113

3. Sri Lanka 110

4. New Zealand 110

5. India 107

6. Pakistan 106

1. West Indies 103

2. England 102

3. Zimbabwe 62

4. Kenya 28

5. Bangladesh 2 Note: Kenya, which was previously ranked in the official ODI table, has not played sufficient matches to record a rating during current period.

Source : Dawn Newspaper

Re: Pakistan no better off under Woolmer

you do not get a good coach for free. he's worth it, we have only one sport in pakistan so what if we spend a little money for a coach?

These rankings merely represent the state of the team. The team is building up really well, we are lacking quality players in Test (openers+bowlers). I don't care if Bob is making more than Mushy, Mushy is getting paid in other ways for screwing the nation anyway (lets stop political discussion here).

At least Shoaib Akhter must make more money than Woolmer. He is the only true star in our team. No other player has more value. Woolmer can only train the team (i.e. BOYS), but it is Akhter who can win games.

[Note] Yes Afridi is a star too.]

^ :rotfl:

^ Thankyou for laughing for me Captain1. My sentiments exactly. And you know the sad part is, this guy isnt even being sarcastic!

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

:insha: our ranking’s’ will improve after we beat England :smiley:

don’t agree with this article…stats don’t give u the whole picture…

and how is this not an improvement, looking at stats as well??

how many series did we play so far under the coaching of woolmer?

Anyone who is following the Pakistan cricket team and paying attention knows that Woolmer is making a difference, specially in the one day department. I hope he can do something with our test side as well.

:k: well said.

bhai sahib, khusray say baccha paidaa karan asan kaam naheen......what poor wolmer is doing is almost equivalent to acomplishing this task. ....thora sabar karo meray bachon....

Kisi baray hi dil jalay ne likha hai ye article! :hehe:

The team is definatley going in the right direction. Had it been some other coach I doubt players like Rana Naveed would have played for Pakistan, we probably would have picked some other lightning fast bowler who would srpay the ball all over the pitch, get smacked around for lots of runs abd practically learn to bowl the hard way by gaining experiece via international matches at the expense of Pakistan team. In ODI's we are more then capable of beating anyone in the world, we need to work on our test side as well and hopefully it wont take too long either with fully fit fast bowlers we have the bowling attack to 20 wickets agaisnt any team.

Yep the sadest part is that he is not even being sarcastic. :smiley:

i think wooolmer should be kick out and bhaipan(miandad) should again become the coach of pakistan....i m dam sure pakistan will even pass no1 ranking...yes u guess it right..0 rank

OK - you want to kick out Woolmer and bring back Miandad. Fine. He heas been tried and tested more than once and why should we turn the clock back.

Do you know what the top team nowdays are doing? If no than I will tell you teams like Australia and England employ professional trainers, nutritionists and specific coaches. Bob Woolmer whether you like him or not and his team are professional qualified coaches.

Javed Miandad is not a qualified coach (he has no coaching qualifications) and it does not mean that he was a good batsman and played international cricket that he will automatically make a good coach.

Also I don’t think he understand sports science or psychology/technology which is playing a big part in international sport.

Therefore, the alternative should be to train young Pakistano coaches and give them the necessary experience so that in the future they can coach their national team. In the meantime, rather than bring back Javed Miandad bring back someone like Wasim Raja who is a professionally qualified coach from the ECB.

One thing you also have to understand is that the current team Pakistan has got is one of the probably weakest. He can do so much and it’s up to these so called ‘Super Stars’ to perform on the day.

Therefore, the alternative should be to train young Pakistano coaches and give them the necessary experience so that in the future they can coach their national team. In the meantime, rather than bring back Javed Miandad bring back someone like Wasim Raja who is a professionally qualified coach from the ECB.

This isnt really a weak team. With batsmen like Inzimam, Youhana & Younis the middle order is sold, all rounders like Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi and Razzaq the lower middle order is explosive. In Kaneria we have the best leg spinner since Qadir. A riches of fast bowlers with Sami, Akhtar, Gul, Rana, Shabir all fit and fighting for a place in the side. A promosing and talented young keeper in Kamran Akmal. A very promising opening batsmen in Salman Butt. Some good prospects like Yasir Hameed, Imran Farhat, Hasan Raza, Misbah-ul-Haq, Taufeeq Umar etc.

All these are talented cricketers with a lot of potential and on their day can give any team a challege they wouldnt want to face. So this is not a weak team at all, actually far from it.

They have shown in ODI’s that they could be one hell of a unit. Winning an ODI series after being 0-2 down and clinching it 4-2 is some accomplishment not to mention we were without the services of some of our main strike bowlers and the back up bowlers were good enough to do the job.

So at full strength this can develop in one hell of a team. In Tests we have not performed upto our potential. We need work on that, play with more patience, concentration and soon we will come to terms with test cricket as well.

oh bhai cricket lover,mein mazak kar raha tha...in other means,i was criticizing tht idiot who thinks tht performance has not improved

So in the test matches - why have we not performed to our potential? So if its not weak why are we ranked so low in the ICC rankings. You mentioned guys like Sami, Imran Farhat, Rana, Shabbir, Misbah Ul Haq, Malik, Afridi & Razzaq etc. When was the last time they won the test match on their own (I know it is a team game but had a major contribution). Most of these guys are really one day specialist and they do they have what it takes to beat the best remember the tour of Australia?