Pakistan-India, Third ODI, Sat 9th April, Jamshedpur (Merged)

Re: Good News: Mohammad Sami out of the team

lol that writer sure is extremely optimistic. even goes onto say "ganguly will finally get some runs"! one too many pot brownies..

Re: Pakistan-India, Third ODI, Sat 9th April, Jamshedpur

Shopping spree to do-good, all in a day
Jamshedpur, April 7: It’s do-or-die for Team Pakistan at the Keenan, but with 48 hours to go for the match, Inzy’s boys preferred to take it easy. :k:

While the entire Indian squad, minus Sachin Tendulkar and Lakshmipathi Balaji, had a serious practice session in the morning, only vice-captain Younis Khan from the other side did nets, aided by coach Bob Woolmer.

For the rest of the team, it was spirituality and shopping. Leg spinner Danish Kaneria preferred visiting temples, while wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal and medium pacer Rao Iftikhar went shopping at Kamani Centre in Bistupur.My fav Adda. Woolmer, after the inspection of Keenan with Younis Khan, took to the Beldih greens for a quick game of golf.
The evening was reserved for a trip to the Meharbai Tata Memorial Hospital, where cancer patients are treated.

Skipper Inzamam-ul Haq, wearing black T-shirt and grey trousers, led the team through the wards, stopping by beds to chat with the patients.

For 20-year-old Manoj Kumar, it was a pleasant surprise as Inzamam came up to him and greeted him with a soft, “Aap kaise hai (How are you).” Kumar found himself short of words and could only smile at the skipper. “It is a memorable day of my life. I am a great fan of Inzy and I am happy that he greeted me with such kind words,” Kumar later said.** :k:

The team stayed in the hospital for around two hours, meeting the 70-odd patients. As on the ground, Inzy and dashing all-rounder Shahid Afridi were the star-attractions, getting the most requests for autographs.
Before leaving, Inzamam announced a donation of Rs 1 lakh to the hospital on behalf of the team.** :k:

In the morning, the team decided to skip nets and allowed the players to have the day to themselves. Kaneria, the second Hindu to play for Pakistan after Anil Dalpat, used the time to visit Beldih Kalibari in the morning, probably praying for a change in his team’s fortunes. In Calcutta, Kaneria had offered puja at the Kalighat temple. In the evening, the leggie found time for a quick visit to the Jalaram temple.

Akmal and Iftikhar preferred to go shopping at Kamani Centre and spent about two hours purchasing sarees and salwar suits for family members.

The duo did shopping worth around Rs 30,000. “The choices of both Akmal and Rao were very good. They purchased embroidered silk sarees and salwar suits,” said Rajesh Nagelia, proprietor of Ashok Vatika, a garment shop in Kamani Centre.

He said both the cricketers preferred not to have anything offered to them. “We offered them soft drinks and juice. Both declined, but very politely,” Nagelia said.

This will be the team per Inzi's annoucement:

1. Salman Butt
  2. Shahid Afridi (bo)
  3. Abdul Razzaq (bo)
  4. Inzamam Ul Haq
  5. Yousuf Youhana
  6. Younis Khan
  7. Shoaib Malik
  8. Kamran Akmal
  9. Rana Naved Ul Hasan (bo)
  10. Rao Iftikhar Anjum (bo)
  11. Danish Kaneria (bo)

The main problem is that Pakistan is only playing with 5 bowlers. Shoaib Malik not being able to bowl really hurts because then there would at least be an offspin option for variety and a sixth bowler in case one of the bowlers is struggling or gets injured.

Although India lacks quality all rounders like Razzaq and Afridi, almost all their frontline batsmen can bowl a few overs as a stopgap measure. Tenduklar and Yuvraj shone in the first two matches. Sehwag and Ganguly bowl periodically and I've read that even Dravid bowls passable off spin. India has 8-9 bowling options, Pakistan should at least counter with 6. Although they won't do it this match, I think that until Malik's action is cleared, Hafeez might be better in his place. It's too bad Saqlain fell apart - he would have been a perfect 6th bowler/quasi-all rounder.

Although not an all-rounder, when he is fit, Shoaib Akthar would also look good in that spot, assuming Rana is up to the extra pressure of being a lower order bat instead of a tailender.

Finally Razzaq batting up the order! I hope Pakistan persist with him on that spot. It makes much more sense to have him up the order where he will be facing pace bowlers and not spin bowling where he has shown vulnerability. Leave the spinners for Inzi and Youhana. Malik has shown he can slog in final overs in the past, which he'll have to do in a 5 bowler set-up.

I think the main thing people forgot in the tests and even the first two ODIs is that Pakistan has been fielding a third string attack. If healthy, Shoaib, Shabbir, or Umar Gul would have been bowling ahead of Khalil and maybe Rana and Sami would be dropped as well. I can only imagine what India would look like if Balaji, Pathan, and Zaheer were all hurt and Razzaq got a chance to go at a new ball pairing of Agakar and Nehra...

I think the above article shows Younis’s dedication to the game. While the rest of the team went for shopping he stayed back and practised in the nets so he should be ready for the 3rd ODI because a lot is expected from him. He could have easily went with the rest of the team for shopping and practised with the team. Whether he scores or not…I like his comitment to the game :k:

Re: Good News: Mohammad Sami out of the team

Walkover???? Remember 4 in a row in different conditions, in different parts of the world???in more tense situations??????

You get lucky to win toss in couple of games and talking about walkovers??????
You guys are funny.

If our six bowlers couldnt stop 356 runs, why play them? At least strengthen the department which can chase such a score. Mohammad Hafeez is the weakest link in the team and it is about time we got rid of him.

Another failed experiment and I dont think Inzi and co will be repeating it. Dont read too much from last one dayer. It was a steep target and that is why he came up the order and I really hope it wasnt a permanent move. Razzaq’s record down the order speaks for itself and he is much more effective there then up the order.

Re: Pakistan-India, Third ODI, Sat 9th April, Jamshedpur (Merged)

how long will ICC take to clear Shoaib Malik

I hope the team does well Inshallah. And if they loose again then so be it. It least it was anticipated by many.

The progressive performance by this team of Young & Senior talents has been very exuberating and thrilling to watch. It’s a bonus for us Pakistanis to see them squaring the Test series and the ODi is still open for grabs.

Losers or Winners - Make us proud & Come home safe Guys! :jhanda:

For Mohammad Hafeez, I was not in favor from the very beginning and the whole series...

According to the ODI Fantasy League Results, Arshad Khan is the only player who has outdone every other Pakistani player in the first 2 ODIs in the points department...now there are rumors that Arshad being dropped for the next match...I can see a lots of fungii on Pakistani selectores' brains...how brilliant to sideline a success...according to this logic, Indians should drop Tendulkar and Ganguly too which is highly unlikely... bingo! :)

Although Mohammad Sami is an awakward, unproductive and reckless bowler at times...but dropping him at this time is not a good idea...he might strike back when least expected...so it could be costly dropping him...

PS: I am in favor of bringing Shahid Nazir into the Pak XI and open the pace With Sami & Rana... :)

Its not costly dropping Sami now, you have two bowlers who we think are better than him in dressing room and plus now the 2 S are almost ready to make a comeback in green colours.

Saby, given humid and extremely hot conditions, no team can afford playing with 5 bowlers only. You got to have one extra bowler. However, given hafeez’s batting form, we can afford dropping him and adding Rao who can bat too. Bring Shahid nazir instead of Sami . Kaneira….i am not sure because in my opinion kaneria would be too expensive. He will be more expensive than arshad khan.

LOSER’s ATTITUDE…

There is only one result which every team should play for and that is to WIN the match. Even if you lose by one run, you still lost the match which indicates that your opponents were better than you.

Arshad khan bowled OK in first ODi. He was useless in second ODI. We need someone who could take wickets in the middle and Kaneria, though going for runs, has more chance to strike than Arshad.

By the way do you follow match scorecards or fantasy leage results?

Not really. Sometimes teams get lucky even when they deserved to lose. There have been countless such matches.

I just wish that PCB sends shoaib akhtar to play rest of the matches. I seriously believe that Pakistan can bounce back, they have the talent n potential, they just need some luck and offcourse shoaib effect. Alot of people may not agree with the idea of shoaib's inclusion in the team and i totally agree with that. He is arrogant and irresponsible but don't forget he is a watch winner and right now we need a match winning bowler in the side. It appears that PCB are eyeing at some long term benefit by keeping him out from this crucial stage of the series. Probably telling shoaib that see these boyz can play n fight even without you. Okay I admit that he has been pampered alot in the past and as a result we have a spoiled brat who thinks that he can get away with any thing anytime and PCB thinks that they need to change their policy now with shoaib. But my point is the guy has never been superfit therefore there is no need to expect that he will be superfit in future and will play for Pakistan for next 5-7 years. He is 30 years old and the way he bowls it is evident that he has a short bowling career. I think it will be a miracle if he will bowl with the same intensity after the 2007 world cup, so why not cash him when he is at his prime and when he is much needed. If PCB wants they can put a leash on him (like they are doing right now)even when he is in the side. I guess keeping him out of the test side and then during first couple of ODI's is a good enough lesson for him right now.

--------------x---------------
Too bad you don’t agree. ( you were not suppose to any ways )

Loser’s also need winner’s attitude with which Pakistan always dominated our ‘Hindian cricket philayers’ who until recently had this attitude “Sachin-gaya-to-match-gaya raaaaaayy” :smack2:

So enjoy your newfound ‘Form’ & ‘Dhoni’ talent until Pakistan recuperates its selection problems to former glory.

Facts of history!!! :smokin: ps; this is not weed either,

raindance uncle, phoenixdesi isnt indian. awein hi gaali galoch. lagta hai indians ne neend haram kar rakha hai..

OHHH MERRRAY MOLLA…MUGHAY UPPAR UTHA LAY TU…

I am considered to be an Indian? What an embarrassment…i should go and drown myself somewhere…

oh bhai, i want Pakistan to be the WINNER, WINNER WINNER and only a WINNER…

waisay agar 2 match jeetnay kay bad agar indians nay neend haram kardee hay hamaree (according to someone) tu let me think....... Since Miandad six in 1986 pakistan nay aab tuk tu indians fans kee zindigeyah tabah kar dee hoon gee, aur bhut say indians players kay future bhee:D

Pakistan persisted with 5 bowlers for a long time, since before the world cup - including the last time Pakistan played India in Pakistan. 5 bowlers in these conditions is not a winning strategy. Up until recently, Razzaq was continiously getting exposed in 10 overs. If you read the entire post, you would have noticed that I said Pakistan is playing with a second or third string attack. Six bowlers is the correct strategy, getting the best 6 is a different matter.

Inzamam said last night that Razzaq or Malik would come up the order depending on the situation, so check cricinfo for that one. I’m not sure how you can say it was a failure, because Razzaq played well. In fact Pakistan made 250 runs faster than India did. The reason they lost was because they couldn’t hold on to their wickets.

I’m not sure giving Razzaq the last 10 overs to bat is the best use of his talent. Imagine if India only used Sehwag for the last 10 overs and he consistently made 30 runs off 20 balls. Is that better than giving him the chance to make 70 of 40 balls? Razzaq is under used and he shouldn’t be confined by his past success, especially when Pakistan is having all sorts of top order problems I’m sure if you put Inzi down in the last 10 over there, he’d do well too - but why waste a great batsman like that?

Check out Razzaq’s scores in this series. He’s been exposed against spin bowling. His only good innings was in the first test, where he blocked spinners and let Akmal do the scoring. Is this a useful talent in ODI’s? Put him where he has a chance to succeed - against a new ball with fielding restrictions in place.