Re: Pakistan has asked ICC to change result of 2006 Test :)
^ Yes.....ICC is distributing LADDUS.....aap ko bhi kooch chahiye to maang lo.
Seriously though, I am usually against this kind of show of strength of "regional blocks" against the ICC or Umpires or supporting "chuckers".....as this is "racism in reverse"......but as regards the current Harbhajan and the Bucknor issue...I am with BCCI.
The thing about the PCB vs Hair issue - is that you don't refuse to play midway through a game to protest an Umpiring decision like the Pak team did. And Inzimam was clearly at fault in doing that. There was plenty of time for PCB to flex their muscles and give dhamki after the Test Match was over.
Whatever the grievances of a team is, they cannot be discussed while the game is being played on the field. What Inzi did was clearly school-boyish.
The thing about the PCB vs Hair issue - is that you don't refuse to play midway through a game to protest an Umpiring decision like the Pak team did. And Inzimam was clearly at fault in doing that. There was plenty of time to flex your muscles and give dhamki after the Test Match was over.
Whatever the grievances of a team is, they cannot be discussed while the game is being played on the field. What Inzi did was clearly school-boyish.
There is a little (or no) diff b/w mid-game refusal and mid-series refusal both are sort of blackmailing its hard to understand how someone(1) can support one and not other .... :)
as they sai "Roti hamesha garam taway per hee pak-tee hai". Had Pakistan not done that at that time, tu baad main kuch bhee na hota, just like if India had waited for tour to end to report all these problems.
^'Mid-game' mein there is game in progress on the field....mere bhai.
As I said before, I am not in favor of this kind of brinkmanship (as displayed by BCCI) , but this time the Aussies went too far......I have to say that they have become a very arrogant team under Ponting.....the same guy who pushed the BCCI President off the stage during the Champions Trophy victory celebrations in 2006.
^ and mis-series is when the series is in progress....mere bhai
You might already know this....(but I am not taking any chance !!)....in "mid-series" there may not be a game going on....and issues can be tabled, discussed and resolved without potentially disrupting the tour schedule.
be it "mid-game disturbance" or "mid-series disturbance", there is every chance of cricket getting disturbed
had ICC not bowed down to blackmailing of BCCI (as u call it) there was every chance of schedule and tour of getting disturbed
and on the other hand
had Hair not awarded the game to England in a hurry, there was every chance of resumption of the oval test once Pakistani team came out to play after protest
BCCI gave dhamki of action (canceling tour) if discussions failed.
PCB/Pak Team already took action (by refusing to continue playing a game that was in progress).
In a sense, BCCI gave diplomacy a chance while treatening to go to WAR.
PCB/Pak team went to war first and sat on the negotiating table later.
Talking of war...let's declare cease-fire between us and allow other to present their opinions.
Some1, I think you are wrong here.
As someone said, if you need to get a point across, you need action... Or your roti is never getting cooked.
If Pakistan had continued that game... NOTHING would have happened.
There is also no difference between a mid-game and mid-series protest. Timing is everything... and in both cases, it got the point across. If Inda had waited till the end of the series and if Pakistan had waited till the end of the match... It wouldnt have the same affect.
There is a little (or no) diff b/w mid-game refusal and mid-series refusal both are sort of blackmailing its hard to understand how someone(1) can support one and not other .... :)
as they sai "Roti hamesha garam taway per hee pak-tee hai". Had Pakistan not done that at that time, tu baad main kuch bhee na hota, just like if India had waited for tour to end to report all these problems.
Agree. You cannot be called wrong for protestin against a wrong doing. Never, no where.
Some1, I think you are wrong here.
As someone said, if you need to get a point across, you need action... Or your roti is never getting cooked.
If Pakistan had continued that game... NOTHING would have happened.
So you are saying that it would have been understandable if India had refused to continue playing the 2nd Test immediately after Symonds was wrongly given NOT OUT by Bucknor....or when Dravid was wrongly given OUT in the 2nd innings.
My only submission is this : Voice your protest if you must but at least give the other party some notice and a chance to respond to your grievances. If the other party's response is not satisfactory, then take action if you need to.
So you are saying that it would have been understandable if India had refused to continue playing the 2nd Test immediately after Symonds was wrongly given NOT OUT by Bucknor....or when Dravid was wrongly given OUT in the 2nd innings.
My only submission is this : Voice your protest if you must but at least give the other party some notice and a chance to respond to your grievances. If the other party's response is not satisfactory, then take action if you need to.
In that case BCCI/Indian Team should have traveled to Canberra for Side game (as per schedule) and should have protested to ICC saying that "we will keep on the tour ..will play 3rd test but If the problem is not solved by then, we will end the tour and will not play 4th test" What they did ? they decided not to travel to Canberra (as per tour schedule ) and Indian Team gave signals that they will not play Perth test unless problem is solved (as they want it). U cant pick and choose. In both incidents Teams blackmailed ICC in b/w Tour
Canberra game was an inconsequential game........and to tell you honestly....if let's say the 3rd test had started immediately after the 2nd test...I very much doubt that the BCCI would have instructed the players to refrain from playing it.
I have no love for the politicians-cum-Baniyaas set up that is the BCCI, but one thing I give them high marks on is PRAGMATISM....which again is very Baniyaa-like.
Re: Pakistan has asked ICC to change result of 2006 Test
All said and done…I am surprised to see all these pictures of wild celebrations in India at the news of ICC’s decision to withdraw Bucknor…as if India has won some major tournament. We still got thrashed in the first Test…fair and square…didn’t we…
People bursting crackers, distributing sweets…etc…
We have become Cricketaholics…Cricket maniacs…all 1 Billion of us…if you needed proof.
Some1, there are degrees of offences... In Pak's case, it was one HUGe one, that pretty much labelled the whole team cheats right there and then and warranted firm action right there and then.
In India's case, it was a series of small ones that made it a big one overall. Big difference. I'm all for tolerance, but some things need to be addressed right there and then. They dont have the same affect afterwards.
What's the point of changing the result of the game 1.5 years later, specially when it isn't going to change the outcome of the series, losing the series 3-0 or 2-0 doesn't change anything, we lost the series fair and square. Our bowling sucked the whole series without Asif and Akhtar and our batting sucked except Mohammad Yousif who scored 3 top class centuries.
The more appropriate thing would be to bring Inzi live on TV, let him eat 3 plates of Biryani and let him talk about his achievements etc. Once he is done with Biryani, take a bat and beat him (Akhtar style) for doing a childish act on field. Cricket is not the same game since that ugly day.