Pakistan drop wicket-keeper Moin-- Merged

Allah tera shukar hai… Kamran Akmal replaces Moin. I would have preferred Zulqarnain but nonetheless good news. Interesting thing is that Rashid Latif is said to be under consideration. If Bob and Inzi can bring him back with his mouth zipped then he is our best bet for Australian tour even at this age. Actually Rashid should have been recalled after NZ series last year but Inzi stuck to his friend who let him down in crucial matches.

Pakistan Drop wicket Keeper Moin](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Pakistan drop wicket-keeper Moin)

Veteran wicket-keeper Moin Khan has been axed by Pakistan after Sunday’s heavy Test defeat to Sri Lanka.

“Moin has been dropped - we have called up Kamran Akmal for the second Test on the request of the team management,” said chief selector Wasim Bari.

A third gloveman, Zulqarnain Haider, is also in the 15-man squad for Karachi but at the age of 18 is thought to be too raw for the international arena.

Out-of-form former captain Moin has played 69 Tests for his country.

“He has been struggling for batting form,” said Bari, adding that former captain Rashid Latif is under consideration for a recall to the team.

Akmal, 22, has played six Tests and 12 one-day internationals. His last Test appearance was against India in Rawalpindi in April.

Fast bowler Riaz Afridi could make his Test debut in Karachi after Mohammad Sami was ruled out of the match with a groin

*Originally posted by saby: *

A third gloveman, Zulqarnain Haider, is also in the 15-man squad for Karachi but at the age of 18 is thought to be too raw for the international arena.

dint they see his age when they selected him in the test squad????
or has it just been revealed to them now....

our selection sucks just like our team....

and kamran akmal cant bat either....
i'd rather see younis taking the gloves than akmal....

i think they selected Zoni bcz he needs some experiance at higher levels he has never played at higher level so including him was to seek the skills from moin and i'm sure he would learn alot in this perioid of time with the team i think this is the main purpose of him being in the team as we all know Zoni probably will be our future wicketkeeper so let c how aKMAL performs i think he would perfrom better bcz he needs his place in the team and also Zoni in the squad akmal would be battling not to let let Zoni threaten his place bcz Moin is FInitO no more

Pakistan drop wicket-keeper Moin

Read all about it here:

chalo something good happened :slight_smile: finally .. moin is dropped

It was time for Moin to go, but we wont forget what he has done for Pakistan.. He will be remembered as a Fighter!! Saved Pakistan on many occasions!!

Well, i think that Kamran Akmal shud play the 2nd test

Somehow I feel sorry for him, because I think he used to be a world-class player. And ending his career like this, is really sad. But on the other hand I'm glad, because now it's like we're going into the match with an additional wicket as Moin has always thrown his wicket away for literally nothing in the recent matches.

I feel sad. Moin Khan is a great cricketer. It's unfortunate that he is having a bad patch with the willow. And it has come down to his removal from a two test series. They should have let him play on his home ground of Karachi. He is a real fighter and I am sure would have made a come back.

I still remember his words when all the players used to complain about 'too much cricket'. He said, "I don't understand why players complain about playing too much cricket... yay tau hamari rozi hay, khailaingay nahee tau khaaeingay kahaan say (this is our livelihood, how are we gonna make a living without playing)?

i wouldn't draw the curtains on moin's career just yet, apparently rashid latif of all ppl is in line for a recall after his match fixing allegations and what have you in the past.

moin just needs to rediscover his form with the bat and if he still has that hunger left within him and if that old spirit of his performance in the 1999 world cup in england returns then he'll be back.

now pakistan plz make my day and drop abdul "lazy and useless" razzaq and bring back afridi as a bowling option in tests he is a good bowler with his varied bowling, he takes wickets regularly in odi's and that is only in 10 overs just imagine him in tests sending quite a few to the pavilion.

man i feel sorry for Moin :( he is great player

He should've seen it coming, if he couldn't improve his batting performance after seeing that then it had to happen. i'm not really sure if PCB has said good-bye yet, but being dropped at this age and going for a young one is definitely one big sign.

He was a great fighter, sad that he lost his touch.

I'm glade to see him dropped. He WAS a great keeper/batsman but unfortunatly he's lost his touch in batting. He's been doing poorly in both ODI's and Test. It was time for him to go, now I hope he retires with some dignity. Time to bring Akmal or some other keeper.

The Game Responds:

*I love Moin Khan to death, but there is a limit to how many times a cricketer can fail. I do think he will be selected for the Australian tour, because anyone who has seen this shmuck Kamran Akmal bat can safely assume that we will be starting each innings with 9 wickets in hand. People, That Is All.*

Truely a sad ending for Moin. Let's hope he gets back in form quickly. He's one of the guttsiest players in the team. He's such a big support behind the wicket when you're bowling. As for Kamran Akmal, I agree with the game on this, he's such an unpredictable batsman. Sure he can keep the strike rate at more than a 100 but we cannot rely on him to be a solid wicket. Anyway, maybe Woolmer can turn him into a better batsman.

i feel sorry that moin has to leave like that, but y is kamran akmal recalled wen zulqarnain haider is there in the squad?

I am sure is news se Saby Bhai ke kaleje mein kuch thandaq pahunchi hogi.

Waise Seriously for all the Moin Khan Supporters, I do agree Moin WAS a Great player, (The key word being was), and there is no dearth of Talent in Pakistan, how long did you expect to hang on to Moin.

Good descision by the Selection Board, looks like Ehsan Bhais threat to email PCB has worked

Its good for Pakistan. Let play ZulQ in the next series and if he is an average keeper like Moin was and can bat a bit better than him than he should be kept for the Aussies tour as well. We would know how he keeps the wicket for Akhtar and other fasties. That would be a good test for him in Karachi.

Besides, be ready for Taufeeq Umar’s come back in Karachi. He is also a strong candidate for Aussie tour as well. As he is better (not so good but better) than other opening options on fast wickets on the island.

:dhimpak:

Moin Khan was truly a fighter and that quality kept him in the team throughout his career. His gritty batting bailed us out on many occassions in the past. He should have retired gracefully before Paktel rather than clinging on to the position.

Truly a great cricketer :k: He was at top of his game during WC 99 and CU series in Australia in 1997.

well i dun feel that sad although i lked moin but he was no way near to Rashid latif

Bring Rashid Latif back for aussies tour..WE NEED RASHID LATIF REALLY BAD FOR AUSSIES TOUR.....rashid is stil the best keeper in pakistan and he bats really well too...kamran akmal suks with the bat....he is absloutly pathetic with bat....

Hi

Also we need to play with 4 specialist bowler.
Shoaib, 2 other (depending on who r fit) , one spinner.

No razzaq.

MAlik can be 5 th bowler

5 bastman 4 bowlers 1 WK 1 all rounder