Pakistan disabled girl arrested for blasphemy

Re: Pakistan disabled girl arrested for blasphemy

lol... Couldn't have said it better myself. Next STOP, blind deaf babies...

**Lawyer moves court for bail of blasphemy accused girl

ISLAMABAD: A lawyer of a young Pakistani Christian girl, arrested on blasphemy charges in a poor suburb of Islamabad, moved a bail application before the local session court on Friday.
**Sources say that the advocate of the accused girl has submitted a bail application before session judge west M Azam Khan. The hearing for the case is scheduled to begin on August 28.

Police arrested Rimsha Masih, who reportedly has Down’s syndrome, in a low-income neighbourhood of the capital last Thursday after she was accused of burning papers containing verses from the Quran, and remanded her for 14 days.
Rimsha, aged between 11 and 16, is being held in a jail in Islamabad’s twin city Rawalpindi, and her case has prompted concern from Western governments and fury from rights campaigners.

Earlier on Thursday, Shamaun Alfred Gill, a spokesman for All Pakistan Minorities Alliance (APMA), told AFP that the lawyers were facing difficulties to see the accused girl and the jail authorities have told them to get permission from the top authorities.
Her legal team said they had approached the higher authorities in Punjab province but could not get a go ahead for the meeting.

Lawyer moves court for bail of blasphemy accused girl | DAWN.COM

I knew you or other who have 'intrinsic hatred' for Pakistan will take my sentence in the way you did. Thank you for showing that up.

I only said that "Pakistan is among those countries................but still are considered civilized nations."

And you came with negative answer to mock Pakistan how is that, Pakistan is being included in countries called "civilized nations"?

Gotchya! ;)

Let me tell you, civilized and uncivilized is a debatable term!**

Chacha Sahab, I CAN read the title and posts. :D
What I meant was that secularists/liberals here are just like the horses who have blinders and are either **trained or paid **to look only in the direction towards Pakistan and Pakistani laws.

No educated person would ignore the fact that Blasphemy IS an offensive act in a lot of countries....and while US first amendment maybe considered a good alternative, this does not mean ALL countries in the world must follow this law or amendment.

Got it?

AFP: Pakistan imam accuses Christian girl of ‘conspiracy’

Pakistan imam accuses Christian girl of ‘conspiracy’
By Khurram Shahzad (AFP) – 16 hours ago
ISLAMABAD — A Pakistani cleric who handed over a young Christian girl to police on blasphemy charges after she burned papers containing Koranic verses said Friday what she did was a “conspiracy” to insult Muslims.
Hafiz Mohammed Khalid Chishti, the imam of the mosque in the poor Islamabad suburb of Mehrabad, insisted he had saved the girl, Rimsha, from mob violence by handing her to police but said the incident arose because Muslims had not stopped local Christians’ “anti-Islam activities” earlier.
Rimsha was arrested and remanded in custody for a fortnight last Thursday after being accused of burning pages from a children’s religious instruction book, which were inscribed with verses from the Muslim holy text.
The youngster reportedly suffers from Down’s Syndrome and her treatment has prompted outrage from rights groups and concern from Western governments, but Chishti insisted she was fully aware of what she was doing.
“The girl who burnt the Koran has no mental illness and is a normal girl,” Chishti told AFP.
“She did it knowingly, this is a conspiracy and not a mistake. She confessed what she did.”
Under the Islamic republic’s strict blasphemy laws, insulting the prophet Mohammed is punishable by death and burning a sacred text by life imprisonment, though rights groups say the legislation is often abused to settle personal vendettas.
Chishti claimed the local Christian community had previously caused antagonism by playing music in services at their makeshift church during Muslim prayer time and said burning the pages was deliberate.
“They committed this crime to insult us further. This happened because we did not stop their anti-Islam activities before,” he said.
“Last Christmas, they played musical instruments and there was vulgarity in the streets during our prayers time. I warned them but they did not stop.”
During his sermon at Friday prayers Chishti told worshippers it was “time for Muslims to wake up” and protect the Koran.
Around 97 percent of Pakistan’s 180 million population are Muslim and the country’s tiny Christian minority has long suffered discrimination and poverty.
Mehrabad is home to around 500 Christian families but many fled after the page-burning, fearing a repeat of a 2009 incident in Gojra, in Punjab province, in which young Muslim radicals burned Christian houses, killing seven, after a rumour that a page from the Koran had been desecrated during a wedding.
Chishti said that on the day of the incident he went to Rimsha’s home after people showed him the papers she had burned, and he found an angry crowd outside and three or four Muslim women attacking her.
“Some women were beating her and other people were trying to break her arms when I rescued her,” he said.
Chishti said the girl confessed to burning the pages and insisted he had averted major violence by handing her over to police.
“People were demanding to burn their house, but I went to police and called them to avoid a major incident,” he said.
“I had the Gojra incident in my mind, when Muslims burnt the whole Christians’ colony. I did not want to repeat that.”
Police have registered a case against more than 150 people for damaging property during the protest after the incident but Chishti insisted nobody from the area was involved.
“I did not invite people to protest against the Christians. The people who protested against the incident were from some other area,” he said.
“The cleric who announced on loud speaker was also from another mosque and he did it outside this village. We have no link to that.”
Rimsha had been due to appear in court to answer charges on Saturday, but investigating police officer Zabihullah and Rimsha’s lawyer Tahir Naveed Chaudhry said the hearing was now expected on August 31.

Islam Ko khatra hay... As per these jahil mullahs, Islam Ko non Muslims say Nahin in jahilon say khatra hay.

Reading posts like this is like reading GSBOT with no eyes and ears, and only one button turned on. :hehe:

Please pardon me/ignore and carry on. :slight_smile:

That wouldn’t be so hard if you didn’t write every other post in every thread.

I have seen you in action and know for a fact that debating you is like banging my head against a wall. That is why I try not to take the bait. Happy victories!

p.s. intrinsic hatred? LOL… you thekedaars of Islam and Pakistan :nahi:

Finally you are getting hold of the situation/ground reality.

“conspiracy” … was this mullah ‘constipated’ when he said that?

He can lie to protect the locals, wow… what an idiot.

The Animal Within

Asma Jahangir (former president of the Supreme Court Bar Association)

The incarceration of an 11-year-old on charges of blasphemy and threats to her life, the shaving of the eyebrows and the head of a tailor for being tardy and the chopping off the nose, tongue and gouging out the eyes of an adversary during the Eid holidays should have sent shivers down anyone’s spine. In any humane society, under these circumstances, all public gatherings, including Eid khutbas, should have seriously addressed the sinister ways of using religion as a cloak in using perverse forms of violence. The disease is contagious and has taken deep root in Pakistan. Such violence is condoned, defended and glorified through some sections of the media. Names of influential perpetrators are blacked out, while the vulnerable victim and family members are grilled to death. Simply calling for a “report”, on the directives of the head of state of the country, is not enough. At the very least, the perpetrators should be arrested, their acts publicly denounced and persecution in the name of religion, especially against a child and that, too, from a minority religion, deprecated in the strongest way possible.

There is often doom and gloom in the country, but one had hoped that the Eid holidays will bring some calm. And they did indeed. Even cell phone calls were made unavailable for Eid enthusiasts. It was a strange kind of calm with news of barbarism the only entertainment. How in the world can any decent person rejoice, even at Eid, after reading that an 11-year-old has been sent to jail for presumably desecrating the Holy Scriptures? Those accosting and tormenting her wanted her blood. The keepers of the law pushed the poor child in prison, in the hope of appeasing her bloodthirsty neighbours. It is moments like these that make one question all faiths that can churn out such bloodthirsty followers. It is not simple bigotry (which by itself is unbearable) but the cruellest form of it mixed with a desire for blood — a child’s blood. Can one imagine the trauma of an innocent child being hounded and then locked away on the charge of blasphemy? If anything is heresy it would be to use religion to intimidate, persecute and harass people and that, too, a mere child.

The exhibition of religiosity in our society has reached dangerous heights. There is total freedom of religion but its manifestation has limits. Declaring other fiqhs like those from Fiqh-e-Jafferia kafirs is a crime. An open invitation to kill them and slogans seeking revenge against them are pasted all over in public spaces, including even on government properties. Surely, the state has a responsibility to arrest those seen so obviously blackening the walls of cities in this manner? This inertia and fright has emboldened religious militants. The Hazaras in Balochistan and simple travellers from Gilgit have been massacred ruthlessly. Not only the government, but all those who are selling themselves as the saviours of the nation must speak up. Violence is not a left or right issue. It is an issue of Pakistan’s survival and dignity. It is a disgrace for any country when its religious minorities leave because of persistent persecution.

Anger is not limited towards religious minorities alone and in fact extends to all vulnerable classes. The tailor gets humiliated. What for? For not getting the sahib’s and the begum sahiba’s clothes ready in time for Eid! A kami gets his eyes gorged out for illicit relations. Where is the law that the puritans made for such vices? It seems that all it has done is to lend further legitimacy to those who preach hate and sit on judgment of other people’s virtues. Let this end now. Let the next Eid be dedicated to peace. Let the faithful not confine themselves to the sacrifice of the best fed animal they see but take care of the animal within.

The animal within – The Express Tribune

Why not exclude minorities from this law? They don't believe in Islam any way to start with? they why bother? BTW, is there any minority protection laws in Pakistan ?

The laws would remain irrelevant unless enforcement is there. I don't really care what the law says. I would rather have it thrown out. But we need to do more than that. We can have a million laws to protect minorities. Enforcement is the problem. Mentality is the problem.

If someone influential occupies my land, it would take me at least 20 years to get it back (if I am fortunate enough), regardless I am a minority or majority.

Yeap...the 11 old insane girl burnt it on purpose. (that's the problem...proving on purpose or not when it becomes a law).

It does not matter whether you eat it or not, it might sound natural for an American to eat meat, but for some Indians in India, cow is god, I have seen ladies literally worship cows on daily basis...the cow herd who comes to milk the cow will be severely chastised if he raises his hand on the animal. So they can argue the same way, it is offensive to hear that you killed a cow.....by the way there is no law in India to paint gods and godesses nude.

Civilized nation....not anymore....the day Uncle Sam's army leaves Afghanistan, there is no telling.

i am in india and i know what indians do with cow more than you...
as far as matter of girl is concerned you can see my earlier post......
as far as painting god and godesses nude is concerned there are other laws under which one can be booked..and i do not support such kind of act..one who asks respect for his religion should show for other religion too..but that does not mean one should leave following his own religion....
and you should remember M.F.Hussain had to leave india after such painting fearing backlash from indian hindus

In a new an interesting twist on the case, the otherwise hard-line All-Pakistan Ulema Council, which includes the Khatm-e-Nabuwwat movement, seems to be taking a sympathetic stand toward this girl’s case. They have demanded that the government appoints an independent panel of Muslims and Christians to ascertain the fact of this.

Pakistani Muslim leaders support Christian girl accused of blasphemy | World news | guardian.co.uk

Perhaps there is still some sanity left among the “ulema.” Im shocked!

MF Hussain would have been protected by Government till the end, there is no question about it. Also, there is no law as draconian as the Pakistani law to book him. The worst case would have been booking for inciting communal violence, under which Indian courts have hardly punished anybody.

I would have appreciated him if he stood his ground and lived in India. instead of he choose to politicize it and live abroad, under the patronage of hypocrite rich. I wonder why the Sheikhs who hosted MFH did not offer the same kind of welcome to Salmon Rushdie. I like freedom of expression, but I can never forgive MFH for making this a religious issue by going to religious bigots for support. I also wonder if he would have had the same guts to offend Muslims. I like true liberals and atheists for that reasons, they don't leave anyone - they are fair.

I was covering the back ground of cow worship in India, it may be on the decline now, but in south, what I have seen is what I am describing. Also, in general vegetarianism is very prevalent in India and animal abuse is condemned. In such back ground you can understand why they want to ban beef. It is somewhat akin to preventing sale of Alcohol in Saudi. Again, I am not saying they should ban, cow slaughter, but there is no comparison between cow slaughter and blasphemy law that seems to be vague and draconian.

MF Hussain would have been protected by Government till the end, there is no question about it. Also, there is no law as draconian as the Pakistani law to book him. The worst case would have been booking for inciting communal violence, under which Indian courts have hardly punished anybody.

I would have appreciated him if he stood his ground and lived in India. instead of he choose to politicize it and live abroad, under the patronage of hypocrite rich. I wonder why the Sheikhs who hosted MFH did not offer the same kind of welcome to Salmon Rushdie. I like freedom of expression, but I can never forgive MFH for making this a religious issue by going to religious bigots for support. I also wonder if he would have had the same guts to offend Muslims. I like true liberals and atheists for that reasons, they don’t leave anyone - they are fair.

I was covering the back ground of cow worship in India, it may be on the decline now, but in south, what I have seen is what I am describing. Also, in general vegetarianism is very prevalent in India and animal abuse is condemned. In such back ground you can understand why they want to ban beef. It is somewhat akin to preventing sale of Alcohol in Saudi. Again, I am not saying they should ban, cow slaughter, but there is no comparison between cow slaughter and blasphemy law that seems to be vague and draconian.

You cited example of conviction rate in cases of inciting hatred…you must check conviction rate of the cases booked under anti blasphemy law.
I am no fan of mfh and does not support his act so no point in arguing about it.