Pakistan disabled girl arrested for blasphemy

Re: Pakistan disabled girl arrested for blasphemy

Just because someone does something that may be offensiveto you dis not mean they need yo be punished. You do your worship and don't worth abut some crazy nut. That is called being civilized IMO

Not really janab unless you live in US where first amendment to US constitution is applicable.

Many other 'civilized' countries do not follow US first amendment and... what you said.

Pakistan is among those countries who do not follow first amendment but still are considered civilized nations.

No criticism from our secularists/liberals against those countries who have blasphemy laws enforced. But they are happy to pick on Pakistan. :D

the law is only a reflection of the societal norms. coldblooded killers like ilm deen are considered national heros. what can you expect from mobs?

Aray bhai - I am not picking on axcountry. IMO the blasphemy law is uncivilized. You may feel differently. Hai ki nahin? Chalo Isis disagreement mein milao haath!

Yes in your opinion blasphemy law may be uncivilized. But like I said, this is not considered uncivilized among many 'civilized' countries.

It does not matter if I feel differently or not, what matters is *blasphemy law is followed by a lot of countries around the world.

Numbers matter I agree. But lots of people or countries following a law doess not make it civilized or otherwise. For me not practicising the R's is also uncivilized- reduce reuse recycle. It is just different perspectives.

Maybe I should have used unwise or barbaricor unjust or destructive (all from my POV of course).

By neanderthals probably. By their standards, it is quite civilised!

No criticism from our secularists/liberals against those countries who have blasphemy laws enforced. But they are happy to pick on Pakistan. :D

That can't possibly have anything to do with the fact that this is a pakistani forum and this thread is about a disabled girl being charged with blasphemy IN pakistan. Oh no, the secularistis/liberals just like to b!tch about that paradise of a country.

Stop being a troll all the time. It is getting very annoying.

Just because someone does something that may be offensiveto you dis not mean they need yo be punished. You do your worship and don’t worth abut some crazy nut. That is called being civilized IMO

I dont care if any one thinks I am civilized or an uncivilized person but cant stand insult to holy scripture,holy prophet!
Thats important for my iman!

but would you kill someone for something they say or believe? here is the thing - anyone who doesnt believe in another's religion is technically a blasphemer.

if denying someone's god(s) or prophets are true gods or prophets can be done in a way that doesnt seem blasphemous, do show me how?

^ Denying and insulting are two different things. You shouldn't allow people to openly offend another group of people if you want to maintain what is now called 'social order'.

the differences are sometimes very subjective. people get offended at the lightest of things when it comes to faith. and what might seem as innocuous to you may be a big deal for someone else, and vice versa.

And that is the subtlety that escapes some. A truly spiritual person would not want to use force against real or perceived insulters. And I thought all religions taught peace.

What & how social order was violated in this case? For me, its hard to grasp how people who’re seeming educated, rational & are aware of what is happening, yet defend insanity like this?

A disable child with down syndrome, who in all probability is incapable of understanding right from wrong & more likely illiterate is charged with crime under questionable law, yet there are people who are defending this.

Can you not see something wrong with that?

http://uspolitics.einnews.com/pr_news/111637354/cair-calls-for-release-of-pakistani-girl-held-for-blasphemy

CAIR Calls for Release of Pakistani Girl Held for ‘Blasphemy’

PR Newswire

WASHINGTON, Aug. 23, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ – A prominent national Muslim civil rights and advocacy organization today called on the government of Pakistan to release Rimsha Masih, a Christian girl who is being held on blasphemy charges after she was accused of burning pages from a textbook that included verses from the Quran. Human rights organizations report that the girl, who is a minor, may have Down syndrome.

In a statement, the Washington-based Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR) said:

"It is imperative that the government of Pakistan immediately release Rimsha Masih and ensure her safety and that of her family and their community. The arrest of such a young person, especially if she has a mental disability, is a serious violation of Islamic principles.

"Human rights violations like this must be condemned and challenged not only because of their great injustice against vulnerable people, but also because they are falsely committed in the name of Islam.

"It is reported that an angry mob played a role in inciting this arrest, and we ask Pakistani officials to investigate those circumstances. The reports of media and human rights organizations depict actions by local officials and extremist leaders that are unjust and contradictory to Islamic teachings.

"In this incident it is not the girl who violated Islam’s teachings but the extremists who seem to have fueled this unfounded anger.

“We recognize that President Zardari has ordered local officials to explain the arrest, but we urge more concrete actions to protect minorities and other vulnerable members of society.”

CAIR is America’s largest Muslim civil liberties and advocacy organization. Its mission is to enhance the understanding of Islam, encourage dialogue, protect civil liberties, empower American Muslims, and build coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding.

And to what extent would you go to protect your ( and hopefully other) imaan? You have a vividly imagination - you want to defend blasphemy laws because you feel if that is repealed the next imminent what if scenario is someone insulting holy book etc. Aren't there more important what if scenarios to worry about. Some would call your views fringe / extremist.

Please read the post I was replying to.

Would denying a hindu god constintute blasphemy? I don't think so. Insulting a hindu god? Yes, I think it would. This is a matter of definition.

Is it a punishable offence? That is another matter and depends on the society you live in. Should people be allowed to act on their own if they consider something blasphemous? No.

Itna emotional na ho jaya karain.

Expectations from this impotent government? They gave honorary doctorate and medals to Rehman Malik after more than a thousand innocent lives were lost in Karachi in one year.

Please show some spine now. A little of what you show to save bank accounts in Swiss banks. Save your 'liberal' credentials please.

And to what extent would you go to protect your ( and hopefully other) imaan? You have a vividly imagination - you want to defend blasphemy laws because you feel if that is repealed the next imminent what if scenario is someone insulting holy book etc. Aren’t there more important what if scenarios to worry about. Some would call your views fringe / extremist.

I said I dont care!
There are laws in indian states which prohibits cow slaughter by Muslims because it hurts Hindu sentiments as they consider cow as “mother”.
Whats your take on this?

How about dishing out community service instead of killing the offenders. Death is too disproportional a punishment for emotional hurt and there'd be be less of that if TV didn't report it 24/7.

A stupid law, I'd say. Completely inconsiderate of the minority sentiments.

points to ponder:

Why when muslims burry their daughters alive and proudly say that this is right as per our values, you and so-called ullemas don't get offended and think it as an insult to Islam and the prophet (pbuh) as burrying daughters alive is strongly condemned in our scriptures
Why when you see loads of filth all around you, you don't get infuriated as cleanliness is half of our imaan
Why when people openly adulterate eatables and even medicines and sell sub-standard things, you don't get upset as our prophet (pbuh) has said that 'one who does adulteration is not one of us'
Why when even the dead ones get raped, you and ullemas don't get upset
Why when people take law in their hands and cause 'fasad' and do all that in the name of protection of Islam, why don't you feel bad
Why when students beat their teachers and insult them, protectors of Islam don't come out
Why do you guys get enraged about the bans on minarets in other countries but keep your eyes wide shut when worship places of others get desecrated and when your courts give orders to destroy minarets on mosques of others

Saying that I love my religion and prophet (pbuh) as a lip service without following his Dos and Don'ts especially in public dealings is in simple words Hypocrisy or Munafiqat.
Islam is a beautiful religion, be proud of it. If you want to earn respect from others, simple recipie is to follow the sunnah of the prophet (pbuh) especially in public dealings and daily activities. believe me this will work.