Pakistan cricket .... In crisis or a passing phase?

So after the repeated failiures from our countryman in our cricket team, what do you guys think is the weak link in the team, it doesn’t really have to be one person, it can be from the team structure to more than one bowlers or openers, mid order batsmans etc.

One thing that Pakistan have been lacking for the past decade has been is 2 decent openers, eventhough when you have the classy players like Saeed Anwar opening, you always have someone on the other end who gets out quickily.
Lets go down memory lane and remember the openers we have had for past couple years.

Afridi = Failed mostly
Imran Nazir = Started out promising and consitent but ended up similiar to Afridi.
Wajahtullah Wasti - Good player with good temprement but not solid enough to play against quality bowling sides.
Imran Farhat - Didn’t get many chances but looked exactly like Imran Nazir, first couple deliveries gets hit for boundries but then gets out quickily.
Muhammad Wasim - too nervous of a player, similiar to Shoaib Malik, plays one day matches like test matches.
Saleem Elahi - Very inconsistent
Taufeeq Uma - Too many chances and failed
Naved Latif - same

None of these openers never really fit in with the exception of Afridi and the only reason was because of his abilities with the ball which gives him advantage over other batsman.

Mid order, rightnow we have preety good mid order lineup specially after the inclusion of Mizbah ul Haq, very consistent most times and with the exception of Youhana none of the other batsman are good under pressure. Yousuf Youhana, he has been by far the best Pakistani batsman for the past 2 years, he has regularly come in at no 3 but most times comes in the 3rd over resulting from early loss, he plays sensibly when needed and plays aggressivley when needed to score runs and fast rate, as of rightnow he is the only batsman in the team who is guarenteed a spot.

Inzimam-ul-Haq, as much as I’m a big fan of his batting, he hasn’t been there for the team when needed, despite of not playing today, he wouldn’t have done anything special in sense of winning the match for his team.
His running between the wicket is probably the worst ever in test cricket, and when ever he stays for a long period of time he gets atleast one batsman runout.
He has been more consistent in having surgeries than scoring runs.

Younis Khan, he is between good and bat, very talented batsman but gets out playing some poor shots, specially his sweeps, all a bowler has to do now is bowl to him on the leg stump and they are guarenteed 50% to bowl him out.

Shoaib Malik, I think he should be reserved for test cricket, he doesn’t have the qualifications of a one day player, he is a good sensible batsman but his strike rate is very low.

Wicket keeper, I think Rashid Latif is the only player in the team who is doing his job consistently, very good wicketkeeper and handy at times in batting. But for the past couple months he has been relied upon heavily with the bat and we have to comsider that he is wicket keeper and not batsman first like Gilchrist or Boucher.

Bowling, today was a little dissappointitng, just like the past couple matches, both Wasim and Waqar are out of form and all pressure is heavily on the replacement bowlers like Razzaq and Shoaib, I think my opinion has changed alot in the recent days about Pakistani bowling attack, they are still a quality attack but players like Waqar Younis have to go, his economy rate has been extremely expensive, maybe in mid 50s every 10 overs and plus he has a burden of captaincy on his shoulders which lowers his performance even worst, I think Waqar is still can be a good player but just like all other greats his performance level has gone down since being handed the captaincy.

Wasim for the past couple matches has been out of form, but a player like his caliber shouldn’t be bowling they way he has been giving extras for the past couple weeks. Eventhough he is known for giving no balls and wides quiate often but this too much and is overlooked by the critics most of the times because of his reputation as a classy bowler.

Shoaib has lost his touch since going to county cricket, his speed is still the same but there is no variety, and its going to take a long time to get that precious form back.

Saqlain has been a major dissappointment, not from his performance on the field but off the field as well and his involvement with county cricket has been a major cause behind his dissappointment.
When Pakistan plays Australia in the next months test series, he is going to have a major role, he will have to bowl like the way he bowled in India in the 99 test series.

Captaincy is in my mind the weak link in this team, specially the last couple matches I have seen Waqar Younis make some very stupid mistakes in both batting and bowling arrangements.
After saying that I think Waqar Younis should step down as the captain and perform only as a full time bowler, and PCB should rightly hand the captaincy to either Wasim or Rahid Latif.
Moin Khan is a very good idea and should be well suited for the job as well but Latif can also do the same if given the chance.

So my team for upcoming test series against Australia

Saeed Anwar
Mizbah-ul-Haq
Yousuf Youhana
Inzimam-ul-Haq
Younis Khan
Abdul Razzaq
Rashid Latif (Captain)
Wasim Akram
Waqar Younis
Shoaib Akhtar
Saqlain Mushtaq

You got 4 specialist batsman.
1 allrounder
5 specialist bowlers

The batting looks preety weak on paper but we don’t need risk takers like Afridi and Nazir in the team.
Mizbah should be given a chance to open.

So what do you guys think ?

I think its time for waqar, waseem and saeed to say goodbye to cricket. Not because they lost the last 3 series but because I think their performance in these 3 series was pathetic. I think its time for them to say goodbye to cricket unless they wanna stick arround to make some records. Personnaly I would suggest Waqar to retire I think its time for him to retire respectfully before he disapears in the history with a bad name. About Saeed he seems fit but I think he lost the touch he had. He's my favourite player but that doesn't mean he should stick around for ever. He had to leave cricket one day so why not now with respect and give chance to others. Akram I can see him making to the WC cuz I think he can still bowl and control the bowl well.

If you look at other teams for instance take AUS, if McGrath gets hit by Razzaq all over the Aussies would rest him in next game. Thats not because he got thrashed all over thats to make him think think and think what he did wrong and what he needs to do in order to stay in the team. But with PAK team its totaly different if one player performs well he gets the stamp to play for ever. I would have said to kick afridi too but I think his bowling saved him and thats why he is still in the game. I can understand why he could not perform in the Moroco and Kenya cup due to the pitch or mabye it was all new to him. But the way he played in SL is pathetic it was like he is asking the SL to come and take my wicket he was more than happy to give it away. I would never and ever like to see Malik in the team I can't understand what made PCB pick that guy. If PCB picked him on his talent then I am sure the coming years of PAK team looks even worst than this and if PCB picked him because of PAWA then I can understand.

Well there's more to write but I need to leave now so maybe if I feel like I will type again - am too lazy like PAK team :)

**My team

Mizbah-ul-Haq
Yousuf Youhana
Inzimam-ul-Haq
Younis Khan
Abdul Razzaq (Captain)
Shahid Afridi
Moin Khan
Wasim Akram
Shoaib Akhtar
Mohammad Zahid
Saqlain Mushtaq

PAK need to come up with a good opening pair that can atleast bat till the first 15 overs, thats a must. I don't know if Misbah can open but he seems very confident every time I see em batting. Opening could be Misbah with either Youhana our Younis Khan.

Nah yaar, I don't think any of three you mentioned above should even consider retiring, they all can still perform at the top level but really the burden of captaincy has really effected Waqar's bowling, even before he became the captain he was bowling dangerously, he did play some good innings while being the captain but on consistent basis he has been below average.
The only guy I'm worried about in case if form is Wasim, his extras has ruinded the game for him, his bowling in Super challenge series in Australia was a treat to watch, he was bowling at his best, he was keeping the length tied and also taking the wickets at the sametime, he hasn't been the same since.
I think the appointment of new captaincy can still fix things.
But coming test series against Australia is the last thing I want to see in such bad form of the team.
Our bowling can still improve but batting looks very difficult.
Lets hope for the best.

Yaar Waqar me ab wo baat nahi rahi. I would say let PCB do a test by taking the captancy from Waqar and let him play just as a bowler in one game "pani ka pani dodh ka dodh ho jai ga" About Waseem as I said he can still control the bowl so he can still make it to the WC.

About Saeed bhai I am not saying he is not performing or anything but his performance is not something that once can expect from such a great player. You can compare Saeed and Misbah for the last 3 series and see the difference. PAK is full of talented player specially youngsters all they need is a chance. PCB never take chances and they keep sticking to their oldies. Look at Misbah if he were given a chance earlier I am sure the guy would have cracked every bowling attack. He gets a chance at 29 how many years more you think can perform...3, 4, 5. Sub PCB ka kasoor hai. Go for talent NOT for pawa.

I think its the quite opposite, PCB goes for the talent and not professionalism in the batsman. The main example of that is Imran Nazir and Shahid Afridi, both of them are extremely talented batsman but whats the use of talent when you can't use it in a proper way?

Saeed was a little off form for the past coule matches but he looks alot better and has been batting good for the past 2 matches.
Lets see if he can perform at top level.

I definatly agree with you about Waqar, he should be played without the burden of captaincy and lets see if he can too perform at top level.

I still doubt about Saeed performance. Have a look at his performance in the last few games. He socred 30's and 40's thats not something a team look for from a top order batsman. No doubt he is one of THE best ever but he lost his touch. In the last game agaisnt SL Saeed was droped twice and finally when he reaches his 50 he gets out. Compare Jaysurya even thou the guy had a shoulder injury he cruised SL to victory and hit a perfect 100.

Waqar and Saeed needs to realise they need to leave the team, specially Waqar can't stick to the team and play cricket for another 2 or 3 years just because once he USED to be a BOMB.

To be honest I lost faith in Shoaib too, not that I am saying he should be droped too we can still use him since he's young and has pace and the only good thing in Shoaib is PACE but nothing else.

The bad thing about our bowlers is they try to look for PACE, IN SWING, OUT SWING AND REVERSE SWING, none of them try to concentrate on line length except Razzaq and thats cuz he doesn't have such pace other wise he would go for SWING, PACE and all that instead of concentrating on ling lenght which is the backbone of bowling. Look at AUS bowlers did see how they got thrashed by Razzaq in the last game thats cuz the ball was old they could not handle the old ball properly plust one or two boundries they come under preassure and forget their line and length. Otherwise if you look at Aussie bowlers all they have line and length and plus pace. Just an oridnary bowlers but with perfect line and length they become perfect bowlers. PAK bowlers should first try to concentrate on their line and length, then swing and pace.

Guys don't get offended I am just posting my opinion and ofcourse I am not perfect, no one is.

I wish Imran Khan starto coach PAK team, he knows how to make them work hard.

My team for WC is:

Saeed Anwar (getting his form back)
Misbah (showed he can handle pressure)
Youhana (only solid batsman in the team)
Younis Khan (consistently scores, good running btw wicket)
Imran Nazir (should be given chance not as an opener, good style and technique, can improve if not under pressure)
Razzaq (My favourite, good batting/bowling) (CAPTAIN)
Rashid Latif/Moin Khan (Anyone would do)
Wasim Akram (takes wickets consistently, needs to improve line/length)
Saqlain Mushtaq (World class spinner)
Shoaib Akhtar (Fastest bowler, yet needs to improve line/length)
Muhammad Sami/Waqar Younis (Pick one)

Naved Latif is also a good batsman, not given enough chance to prove himself as quality batsman. If Imran Nazir fails, Naved Latif could replace him.

I have not included Inzamam because he is not a good ODI player. In test match no one is better than him. But in ODIs as soon as he comes in, run rate drops quickly. He takes too much time to get settled. And during that time atleast couple of his partners get runout. ODI is a game of running between the wickets which is the last option in INZ's mind. Therefore, he needs to go.

Shoaib Malik has to go. No doubt that he is the most pathetic player in Pakistan team.

Shahid Afridi is an exciting player, love to watch when he hits but most of the time, he doesn't score well. We need a time that is consistent in batting. Therefore, he has to go too.

Captain should be razzaq. He knows how to bowl as well as how to bat. He is a youngster with a lot of enthusiasm. He needs to be given a chance to lead the team as we need a captain who stays there for atleast 5 years. I think, razzaq is capable of leading the team well.

Originally posted by zakiahmed: *
Imran Nazir (should be given chance not as an opener,
* good style and technique,**

Yes, may be for Baseball.

... (Imran nazir).. can improve if not under pressure

We should get a motion approved by ICC asking all other teams not to put the dude under pressure. Damn, they had been so mean to him all this time.

I have not included Inzamam because he is not a good ODI player.

I don't like Bush as the president of U.S. as Malaysia is an island.

*Originally posted by *Zaalim: *

Yes, may be for Baseball.

We should get a motion approved by ICC asking all other teams not to put the dude under pressure. Damn, they had been so mean to him all this time.

I don't like Bush as the president of U.S. as Malaysia is an island.

Ha ha ha ZALIM... I like dyour sense of humour.

First of all I dont think major changes in Pakistan team would help that much... And i also think tht Waqar would survive Captaincy... Saeed will survive too.... And Sqlain will be back as well....
I agre with somone saying about RAshid, he is the only one who hasnt let team down so far.... He is the Best wicketKeeper in the world and also scores some quick runs.... Its a pity this same very team is struggling this badly which won almost everything that came in their way.... Reason is self confidence. I think coach needs to be changed and If at all captaincy is to be changed it should be given to Rashid or Wasim....
I thin kbest possible combination is .... for the tests
Saeed
Misbah
Youhana
Inzamam
Younis
Razzaq
Latif
Akram
Saqlain
Waqar
Shoaib

For one day swap Afridi with Saqlain

I think Waqar must go as his economy rate has been awful 4 da last few years. In tight games he gets da opposition off 2 a flier. We cant keep him 4 da test series has he hasn't got a 5 wicket haul apart from Bangladesh in da last 5 yrs. So my team against Australia wud b:

THIS IS MY TEST TEAM AGAINST AUS.

1. Saeed Anwar (Still sum class there)
  2. Imran Farhat (Huge potential)
  3. Yunus Khan (Steady if unspectacular)
  4. Inzamam (Reliable n brilliant but over weight)
  5. Youhana (Very consistent n brilliant temp. prbly Pak's best batter)
  6. Razzaq (Explosive in 1dayers solid in tests, cool n relaxed)
  7. Moin (very dangerous, dynamic n strenghtens batting)
  8. Saqlain (Second 2 Murali but still got it in him n needed in pak)
  9. Shoaib A (Super fast, very talented only matchwinner wen playin
    wid the 2 W's genuine strike bowler)
  10. Sami ( takes pressure off Shoaib as very talented, fast, athletic, superb wid da old bowl)
  11. Kaneria ( a talented leggie who will b very handy against Aus on home soil)

We have 2 take note dat they will b spinning wickets and though we hav a longish tail we dont need bits n pieces cricketers who perform wid neither bat r bowl. Then we must choose the captain from the after pickin the best team like Australia do. I wud go 4 SAQLAIN. Theres also sumthin abt Misbah dat i dont like. I mean da guy has no shots watsoeva n takes 2 many risks playin ba simple shot. Blv me at da moment he's benefittin from beginners luck!

Having seen Pakistan play over the past 3 months, there is one thing that is glaringly obvious. They seem to losing early wickets and putting pressure on middle/late middle order batsmen.

Pakistan may need to get back to the basics and do what they did in the 92 world cup. For example, Imran Khan and Javed Miandad when batting made sure they stuck around for at least the 35th over and and had about 7 wkts in hand. Then in the last 15 overs Pakistan's hard hitting batsmen scored about 130 runs.

In the current team, I believe Misbah and Inzi can play the anchor role. With Inzi opening up towards the end with batsmen like Youhana, Younis, razzaq, Akram and Moin (or latif).

Basically, Pakistan needs to stop the loss of early wickets, and everything will be alright. I still have faith in the bowling and believe it would come good, except for Shoaib. However, I hope he can prove many of us wrong and starts bowling well.

Are you guys picking up the TEAM for the PAK-AUS series ?? I dont think Inzi is going to play in that series.

PCB Losing Talented Players One By One

Sussex have signed Pakistani leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed as their second overseas player for the 2003 season.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/_38252606_mushtaq300.jpg

Mushtaq is still one of the world’s top spinners

**“His commitment to come back and prove he is still one of the world’s top flight spinners came across loud and clear, and a hungry man with talent is one to watch,” **said Sussex Cricket Manager Peter Moores.

BBC SOURCE

Pakistan’s Forgotten Spinner

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/_1971056_mushtaq300.jpg

Mush performance shouldn’t be forgotten in WC 92

indeed a gr8 sipnner :k:
isko to pakistani team mein hona chahiaye…

Rab Rakha

DerVaisH

Dervesh bahi ,team me 11 hi khila sakte hain na.. ab isko khilayenge to aap naraaz ho kar bolenge ki Afridi kyon nahi,saqi kyon nahi ya phir kaneria kyn nahi…

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

Dervesh bahi ,team me 11 hi khila sakte hain na.. ab isko khilayenge to aap naraaz ho kar bolenge ki Afridi kyon nahi,saqi kyon nahi ya phir kaneria kyn nahi....

So much talent don't know who to pick ;)