i’ve been thinking to fly into Lahore from Delhi and then take the train to Karachi and back. what do you guys think? is it a good idea? wud you do it urself?
if i do take the train, can any1 plz tell me which train i should take and which class of service i must travel in to enjoy my journey…i wanna meet people and see Pakistan slide by thru my train’s window.
i had a trip from lahore-karachi-lahore....i think the train was rawalpindi express and the whole journey was great...trains were great and they were fast. sorry wont be able to give u any info since i had that trip agesssss back so dont know how the trains are like now.
on the other hand yes its a very good idea and i would do it (if halaat are good)...
as far as i can remember we went by rawalpindi express and it was normal economy class.
i had a trip from lahore-karachi-lahore....i think the train was rawalpindi express and the whole journey was great...trains were great and they were fast. sorry wont be able to give u any info since i had that trip agesssss back so dont know how the trains are like now.
on the other hand yes its a very good idea and i would do it (if halaat are good)...
as far as i can remember we went by rawalpindi express and it was normal economy class.
thanks for the encouragement to take the train in Pakistan. yes, u r right...trains have their own charm :) iA, i'll take the train.
its ok, i understand that u don't have any info. lets see if some1 will guide me. i accessed Pak Rail site but its very inadequate. it doesn't give u much info. thanx for ur input :)**
thanks for the encouragement to take the train in Pakistan. yes, u r right...trains have their own charm :) iA, i'll take the train.
its ok, i understand that u don't have any info. lets see if some1 will guide me. i accessed Pak Rail site but its very inadequate. it doesn't give u much info. thanx for ur input :)**
u welcome
yeah the website is not good..kuch search hi nahi hota like fares etc or its my browser.
i hope someone can give u more details. good luck
nope, its NOT ur browser for sure...site hii meN gaRbaRii hai...haN, dekhiye koi shaayad bataaye kuchh :)**
took that route several times... its always a fresh and memorable experience. if you have a "thing" for traveling, and not looking for luxury, then i say you must give it a try. there were many trains operating between karachi and lahore, some of them were Shalimar, Korakoram, RWP Express, Awami, Khaybar Mail, Alama Iqbal, Pakistan Express and few more. but now due to some reasons they have only a few left.
I suggest you take Khaybar Mail, it runs between Peshawar and Karachi, and passes from Lahore. Travel either by Sleeper or Lower A/C or Business Class. Although its roughly 14-15 hours journey but be prepared to spend 2-6 hours extra.
Traveling by Pakistani train is awesome experience if you plan your journey wisely. PK Trains do get late a lot so you must be mentally prepared for it. If you want a really comfortable journey then you can choose AC Sleeper (Really comfortable seats and attached bathroom in 2 people or 4 people cabin) in Tezgam or Khyber Mail. Unfortunately AC Sleeper coaches are not available in faster trains like Karakoram & Karachi Express. Karakoram & Karachi Express takes relatively less time as compared to other trains. You can get a seat in those trains in AC Business coaches. These are good too.
Since its winter season, so you can travel via economy class too but be prepared for lots of dust through windows and most of the times overloading in the coaches (in terms of people and luggage). If somehow you choose Economy class then only choose Karakoram or Karachi Express becoz they have less stopovers. Other trains will have more stops hence more disturbance of people boarding and leaving the train.
If you need to know something else about Pakistani trains, just ask me. I have a huge experience of traveling by all Pakistani trains, all classes, all routes :D
KKF bhai, best of luck for the journey. I love to travel through trains. But unfortunately I couldn’t do so for almost a decade. But do share with us your experience. Keep your camera with you and share your pix with us also. I would wait for it. Have fun
Traveling by Pakistani train is awesome experience if you plan your journey wisely. PK Trains do get late a lot so you must be mentally prepared for it. If you want a really comfortable journey then you can choose AC Sleeper (Really comfortable seats and attached bathroom in 2 people or 4 people cabin) in Tezgam or Khyber Mail. Unfortunately AC Sleeper coaches are not available in faster trains like Karakoram & Karachi Express. Karakoram & Karachi Express takes relatively less time as compared to other trains. You can get a seat in those trains in AC Business coaches. These are good too.
Since its winter season, so you can travel via economy class too but be prepared for lots of dust through windows and most of the times overloading in the coaches (in terms of people and luggage). If somehow you choose Economy class then only choose Karakoram or Karachi Express becoz they have less stopovers. Other trains will have more stops hence more disturbance of people boarding and leaving the train.
If you need to know something else about Pakistani trains, just ask me. I have a huge experience of traveling by all Pakistani trains, all classes, all routes :D
sufi bhai, you smell like a train carriage now : p lolz whenever there is thread regarding trains, you are there
AC Sleeper to sirf Khyber Mail aur Tezgam main hee available hai in Karachi-Lahore route. AC Sleeper kee pics available nahi hain becoz I've traveled only once in it and didn't had camera at that time. But thats for sure it was really comfortable journey.
First sleeper (non-AC) kaafi trains main hai but I've never traveled in those. The most I've traveled in is Economy class and AC Business class. Economy class is great in winter season and AC Business is great in summer season :p
Aur mere khazanay main bohattttttttttt saari pictures hain pakistani cities, villages, hill stations, tourist attractions kee :D
AC Sleeper to sirf Khyber Mail aur Tezgam main hee available hai in Karachi-Lahore route
Lekin in trains ki reputation to bohat kharaab hey Sufi bhai, I mean kuch arsa pehley tak to yuN hi tha, ab kuch behtari hey ya nahi? Aap recommend kartey heiN in trains pe safar karna Lahore-Karachi route pe?