Pakistan a brain injury Persistent vegetative state patients Jawad Pasha

Re: Pakistan a brain injury Persistent vegetative state patients Jawad Pasha

I started to do some research to help you out and see if there is some kind of treatment available which you might not know of.
I am still trying to find out more about it.

Here are excerpts from an article I found . The whole article is about the ethical issues about PVS patients but this portion might be of some interest for you:

A review of the medical information concerning PVS was published in 1994 by the Multi-Society Task Force on PVS (MSTF).[8] They estimated that 10,000 to 25,000 adults and 4,000 to 10,000 children live in PVS in the United States.[9] PVS can be caused by acute brain injury (e.g. car accidents or lack of oxygen from a heart attack or near-drowning), chronic degenerative disease (e.g. Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease), or developmental malformations (e.g. anencephaly).[10] The injury or disease often results in profound damage to, if not complete death of, the cerebral cortex--that region of the brain believed by many to be responsible for all higher, cognitive functioning.[11]

A patient's prognosis must be considered when choosing medical therapies. According to the MSTF, there is no effective treatment available to reverse PVS.[15] The chances of spontaneous recovery depend on the cause of PVS and the age of the patient.[16] There is currently no hope for recovery from degenerative diseases (like Alzeimher's) or developmental abnormalities (like anencephaly). However, when PVS in adults was caused by a traumatic injury (e.g. traffic accident), one year later, 33% had died, 15% remained in PVS and 52% recovered consciousness. Of those who recovered consciousness, 54% had severe disability, 33% had moderate disability and 13% had a good recovery.[17] Among children in PVS dues to traumatic injuries, 62% recovered, 18% of those with a good recovery. When PVS resulted from a nontraumatic injury (e.g. cardiorespiratory arrest), only 15% of adults recovered consciousness, with severe disability being more common. Recovery among children was similar.

These statistics show that a significant number of people recover from PVS within a year after injury. However, the chances of recovery are much lower after longer periods in PVS. Therefore, the MSTF concluded that PVS should be considered permanent 12 months after a traumatic injury, or three months after a nontraumatic injury. However, a few cases of dramatic recovery after extended periods are well documented. One patient recovered after three years in PVS, to the point of being alert and well-oriented.[18]

Thank You very much Mirch
I shall send you some requirement some day to find for me some things not available at Pakistan
Here is a latest reply From a very helping doctor

"Dear Mr. Pasha,
thank you for your kind words of encouragement. There is trememdous research going on in the field of disorders of decreased consciousness such as persistent vegetative state (PVS) and minimally conscious state (MCS). Neurostimulation devices such as deep brain stimulation (DBS) are being used to see if we can help these patients regain motor and cognitive function back.
I only have hope to offer you and others in similar situation. As our understanding of the brain increases further, we may be able to help these patients regain useful function.
Personal Regards,
Nitin Sethi, MD"

For first time, doctors communicate with patient in persistent vegetative state

Brain scans showed woman was able to imagine playing tennis and walking round her flat
  •                                                                                                   [Ian Sample](http://www.guardian.co.uk/profile/iansample), science correspondent

•              [The Guardian,](http://www.guardian.co.uk/theguardian)                 Friday 8 September 2006

• Article history

A 23-year-old woman who has been in a vegetative state since suffering devastating brain damage in a traffic accident has stunned doctors by performing mental tasks for them. Brain scans revealed that the woman, who has shown no outward signs of awareness since the accident in July last year, could understand people talking to her and was able to imagine playing tennis or walking around her home when asked to by doctors.The discovery has astounded neuroscientists who believe it could have dramatic implications for life and death decisions over other patients diagnosed as being in a persistent vegetative state (PVS). Last year, an intense legal battle over the life of Terri Schiavo, a woman diagnosed as PVS, was brought to an end when US courts upheld the decision to remove her feeding tube in March. She died 13 days later in a Florida care home.
Neuroscientists at the Medical Research Council’s cognition and brain sciences unit at Cambridge and the University of Liege in Belgium used a brain scanning technique called functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) to detect signs of awareness in the woman, the first time scientists have been able to do so in a PVS patient. The technique is now likely to become a standard way of determining how conscious vegetative patients are.
“This is extremely important. It’s the difference between life and death. From cases in the UK and the US, we know that end-of-life decisions are of course extremely important and this will definitely change the way we deal with these patients. When you have signs of consciousness, you cannot decide to stop hydration and nutrition,” said Steven Laureys, a neurologist at the University of Liege and co-author of the study which appears in the journal Science today.
Researchers led by Adrian Owen at Cambridge University began tests on the woman five months after her accident. Although she had emerged from a coma, she was diagnosed as being in a vegetative state, in which patients enter a cycle of sleeping and waking and even open their eyes, but are completely unresponsive.
Scientists ascertained that the woman could understand speech by playing a variety of sentences. Using the fMRI scanner, which takes snapshots of brain activity every second or two, they spotted different parts of her brain lighting up depending on which sentence she heard.
Previous attempts to spot signs of awareness in PVS patients have been inconclusive because brains can respond to some actions automatically. The uncertainty forced the scientists to come up with a test that would show categorically whether the patient was conscious or not.
Dr Owen said: “We said to her, when you hear the word ‘tennis’, we want you to imagine being on the centre court of Wimbledon playing a big rally and every time the ball comes to you, you struggle to get it back. Then, we had a second scenario in which we wanted her to imagine going from room to room in her home.”
The two scenarios were chosen to trigger activity in different parts of her brain so they would be picked up by the scanner. While thinking about tennis, the scientists hoped to see a part of the brain called the premotor cortex, which governs limb movement, flicker into life. If she thought about walking around her flat, they expected to see a brain region called the parahippocampal gyrus, which handles mental maps of places, light up.
During the scans, the scientists said the words “tennis”, “home” or “rest” every 30 seconds and looked for changes in her brain activity. Remarkably, after each word, her brain lit up as expected, suggesting she was responding to the instructions. Further tests showed her brain activity was indistinguishable from that of healthy volunteers doing the same task.
Scientists now have to discover how common it is for others in a vegetative state to be similarly aware of their surroundings. The woman in the study has since been able to follow her own reflection in a mirror, leaving open the possibility the brain scans may simply have picked up very early signs of her recovery.
Dr Owen added that the technique had shortcomings in helping diagnose patients, as some may not hear or understand the questions during a scan. “This gives us one more tool for making those very difficult decisions,” he said.
Professor Colin Blakemore, neuroscientist and director of the Medical Research Council, said: “This is very impressive evidence for what continues to function in the brain, but function doesn’t mean awareness or even potential for awareness. This is a strong indication that it is worth continuing to find ways of raising conscious awareness in such patients, because this work suggests the brain is still capable of cognitive function.”

Thanks again. Thanks to all caring for us.I am sure these all efforts will not only help Jawad Pasha but also one day be helpfull for thousands others, I realise that this fourm is not supposed for so a serious topic but my little knoweldge about computer and weak English and also my good luck that I started here to find such an encouraging support.
” I also want to discuss two ideas with every one having knoweldge about brain demage.** Can we try some sort of electric shocks instead of DBS?** And second that I am sure that if with the help rehab specialist help and guide us and if we get some machines like a walker, arm mover and a sit-stand machine , we can easily go to get motor function by making movement a habbit and easy with very low signals which are always present there.

Please read a part of an artical

What is persistent vegetative state?
Though it sounds unkind to refer to a human in such terms, even medical dictionaries define persistent vegetative state (PVS) as the condition of living like a vegetable: in other words, existing without consciousness or the ability to initiate voluntary action. Though people in this state may occasionally give the impression of being awake and sentient, making random movements and opening their eyes and even appearing to smile or cry, they are unable to respond to communication or demonstrate awareness of their environment. This is different from an ordinary coma, in which the patient's eyes are closed, and which rarely last more than four weeks. The other key difference is that a person in a coma hasn't necessarily lost all cognitive function (ie, brain power); they are just temporarily unable to access it. If they recover - and many do - they may have cognition afterwards.
PVS is the result of irreparable damage to the cerebral cortex - the "thinking, feeling" part of the brain - but it is not to be confused with brain death. And while the "persistent" bit in the title indicates that the condition, unlike coma, is generally deemed permanent, there are intermittent reports of "recoveries". Last week, it was reported that a 23-year-old woman who has been in a vegetative state since suffering devastating brain damage in a traffic accident was suddenly able to understand speech. And in 2003 an Arkansas man, Terry Wallis, returned to consciousness 19 years after he was injured in a car accident, stunning his mother by saying "Mom" and then asking for a drink of fizzy pop. Such breakthroughs are controversial, in both medical and legal circles. The British Medical Association, for example, currently deems such miraculous events not as recoveries from PVS, but as an indicator of an earlier misdiagnosis.
Because legal systems do not generally equate PVS with death, and diagnosis is difficult, there have been several famous court cases involving people in this condition. The most high-profile centred on Terri Schiavo, a 26-year-old Florida woman who went into a PVS after collapsing and suffering a heart attack in 1990. In 1998 her husband, Michael Schiavo, petitioned for her gastric feeding tube to be removed; her parents did not believe the diagnosis and took the case to court to prevent medical care being withdrawn. Ultimately, the court challenges were unsuccessful and in 2005 Schiavo's feeding tube was removed, leading to her death. There is no treatment for PVS. Instead, the medical team concentrate on preventing infections and maintaining the patient's physical state as much as possible. The most common cause of death for a person in a vegetative state is infection such as pneumonia. For most such patients, life expectancy ranges from two to five years; survival beyond 10 years is unusual.
Helen Pidd

Now look here by grace of God Jawad Pasha is doing much better

Assalam o Allakum
Hope you all will be fine with good health
Jawad Pasha is continuing his improvement.He haw reached to be a fully conscious and aware and we are hope full of his regainingl motor functuins.He hinself looks confident about his improvent, A very better condition. We could not get any help from anywhere but a support frm you all.Please pray for us

Shukar Alhumdulillah. That is fantastic. May Allah grant him complete and best of health. And keep you and your whole family in His Hifz o Amaan. Ameen.

on March 5th, 2009 :
It is now two years old but for us it is not more than yesterday. Ubaid Pasha left home on this date but never came back. The killers are still allive and our son is no where, Jawad Pasha who can not say a word is looking for his brother Ubaid to bring hom some where at week end. No one in the world can believe that one can kill a man who was only hope for a
Persistent Vegetative State brother,

My heart goes out for you Anwar. May Allah reward you with abundance of sawaab for all your hardships.

Shukar Alhumdulillah

Great to hear about Jawad Pasha :alhamd:

Anwer, I have thought of you since your first posting and say a prayer for you and your son when I think of it…for sure, the whole Terri Schiavo story broke my heart. Bless you and yours for caring and seeking so much for your son.

Have you ever looked into eye-controlled input devices? By looking at certain letters or blinking eyes, a vetetative person can actually “type” into a computer. It may be a way to allow your son to communicate. Its worth looking into I think…here is a link for you…

Hand/Eye Controlled Input | Head Mouse

Thank you Mamoof3, ehtasab, Mirch **and all others at **paklink.
I am little happy now to see this support.
This has now become our mission.
Improvement of Jawad Pasha is now not only improvement of my son.
It is a hope for thousands other.
One can realize that almost after 4 weeks of a trauma /Coma if one comes out as PVS or Locked in Syndrome , what is he told.
“For most such patients, life expectancy ranges from two to five years; survival beyond 10 years is unusual"
Doctors more say that there is no hope and they try only to make life easy for such Persistent Vegetative State and other patients.
According to an estimate there are more than one hundred thousand such patients in the world and no one gives them a hope.
Please pray for us.
I love to see the time that Jawad Pasha could be quoted as an example of recovery for those who's loved one are victims of such a great problem like this.
As for as my search is concerned Jawad Pasha is now the world's most improving/recovering PVS,
Most of you are better than me in English and computer.
Please Search on this issue.

^ Anwar bhai Allah swt can do anything, be persisten in treatment as you have been, do wazeefas for him :insh: hopefully he will lead normal life soon.

Kindly can you please send me this dua in arabic font. I have this dua but its little bit different. I am used to recite it when I am in extremely sad state.

rozendeva = shaziaraja and all here at paklink

Please Pray for Jawad Pasha

Remember him when you pray

That gave me a sinking feeling when I read this therefore I could not respond immediately. Then I read a story as to how someone tried to implicate you in some property dispute claiming that you abducted their son or someone but their own relatives got caught for the crime.
Sabr o zabt and being steadfast on these issues is the only option we have. Never leave hope. Allah will reward you in dunia and akhrat for all these tests. Inshallah . Ameen.

I'm deeply sorry to hear about the loss of your son ubaid. you are a very strong person, and you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers... may Allah help your son jawad and give him good health and the strangth to recover.

Please see Jawad Pasha in **a brain injury PVS Jawad Pasha of Pakistan **here at paklinks in Personal - Friends and Family

Now I want to say more about his recovery.This winter no cough and no fever (First winter).A little cough some time due to water in mouth ( Balgham) but that is not a problem.We have perhaps seen 2 type of Seizures/Fits .One is perhaps due to electric changes in brain. We are seeing it after every 6 to 8 months, Its syptem starts 2,3 days before attavk. He feels perhaps some pain and starts water from mouth (Jhag). Its timing was 30 to 40 minutes but last year January this was more than 2 hours till he became senceless in result of medication at hospital.(Changes of temprature in right and left side of body was noted). Other type of seizure we were facing was perhaps called sudo. We was facing it often but now we control that by diverting his attention to some other side as when we feel it is starting. There may be reasons pain,tention,feelings or complaints. He is quite healthy but now we are in need of exercise machines for him.
Will you like to know more. Please ask specific questions.It will help us.

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/thumbs/50995/jwd6.jpg