Pakiland Kuris

Re: Pakiland Kuris

same goes for girls dunn it.
there have been more threads about wmen complaining about rishtas and prospects or spouses than from guys..

and I will buy the argument the day there is a digest in pakistan competing with khaawateen digest called hazraat diget with every story about wife changing after getting married or dealing with pain in the rear inlaws, or stuff, then we can say "these ppl cant be happy"

oh yeah and factor in every single desi drama, anchal, kiran, pakeeza and god knows what garbage is read in Pakistan..

Excuse Me !! :hoonh:

I, being a reader of these digests find your comment highly offensive and an insult to the literary and moral standing of thousands of other avid readers.

Please elaborate why you used the degratory term for for these digest ?
This comment is quite ignorant, in my opinion. I suggest you take it back :flower1:

I came to know quite a few female literary Personalities of urdu language Like Huma Kokab Bokhari, Rifat Siraj, Anjum Nisar, Umera Ahmed late Shazia Chowdry, through the above mentioned monthly publications. I find these publications in accordance with moral values of our society. They provide Much needed dose of history, Art, literature, poetry, religious guidance, phsychological counsel and much more to our women, who otherwise keep a very limited contact with outside world

err sure excused

highly offensive? and hey if they are offesnsive to some ppl’s standards then I propose that those people’s standards are pretty low.

right the victim mentality and the guys are root of all evil type of stories that are in those things are not what society needs. when it does talk abotu outside worls it is from a myopic view and very judgemental..

note that I did not mention urdu digest or sayyara digest which I think are heads and shoulders above the soap opera crap in these other digests i mentioned. if these digest and the generic TV dramas are really indicative of the culture and society then boy am I glad I am not there.

LOL

I categorically stated that it was offensive to ‘me’ and many other readers . So basically you are saying My standard as well as literary taste of thousands of educated pakistani females(mostly) , is pretty low. Well to examplify, if I say Jane Austin produced nothing but crap, and those who read/ admire her are quite dumb.It would be like spitting at the moon. It would be a ignorant comment or my skewed bias

Well if get an overview of the discussions here, you would probably judge that most of the women hate men or boys, in general, and they reckon guys are perverts / root of all evils, bla bla. But if you read the threads carefully in Life 1, you would be astonished to find over-whelming majority of women dont get tired praising their husbands and how much they adore them and vice versa. You would be relieved to find out that they do not blame it on men folk rather their own gender for most of their problems, and guys mostly are not the bone of contention at all.

Same is the case with most of the stories / novel there. You can be hapily myopic about them, but they deal with wide verity of social and cultural issues and one can get the bigger picture only after reading some of them. I only got a slight idea of delicate nature of feelings of fairer gender after reading some of the classic novels by Huma kokab Bukahri and Rifat Siraj. I admire them for tackling different cultural taboos and sensibilities, in thier novel like a true artisan.

These two types of digests attract different type of reader and there is hardly any comparison. More like saying jane Austin is nothing infront of Noam Chomski ? or throw Reader’s digest in dustbin and read Economist ?huh :confused:

Pakistani women go from one exteme to the next... Before marriage they are skinny and relatively fit... After marriage they all turn into balloons. Never any middle ground.

**I categorically stated that it was offensive to ‘me’ and many other readers **

sorry, he intent was not to offend, but facts stand, those magaznies are trash mostly and bring no value. Just because you are offended that i find those magazines to be garbage, does not ncline me to change my opinion about those magazines.

** So basically you are saying My standard as well as literary taste of thousands of educated pakistani females(mostly) , is pretty low. **

No, thats what you said, i said that I think that those magazines are trash, u can take it as a difference in perspective or you can take it personally, which you did. I cant do anything about it. so i said if that is how you are going to view that statement then so be it..

**Well to examplify, if I say Jane Austin produced nothing but crap, and those who read/ admire her are quite dumb.It would be like spitting at the moon. It would be a ignorant comment or my skewed bias **

it would be indeed..

Well if get an overview of the discussions here, you would probably judge that most of the women hate men or boys, in general, and they reckon guys are perverts / root of all evils, bla bla. **

true…

**But if you read the threads carefully in Life 1, you would be astonished to find over-whelming majority of women dont get tired praising their husbands and how much they adore them and vice versa. **

ad you would find a completely different view in journals..

**You would be relieved to find out that they do not blame it on men folk rather their own gender for most of their problems, and guys mostly are not the bone of contention at all. **

if you say so..

**Same is the case with most of the stories / novel there. You can be hapily myopic about them, but they deal with wide verity of social and cultural issues and one can get the bigger picture only after reading some of them. **

accha…waqai..

**I only got a slight idea of delicate nature of feelings of fairer gender after reading some of the classic novels by Huma kokab Bukahri and Rifat Siraj. I admire them for tackling different cultural taboos and sensibilities, in thier novel like a true artisan. **

so do the wite all the stories in all these magazines?

These two types of digests attract different type of reader and there is hardly any comparison. More like saying jane Austin is nothing infront of Noam Chomski ? or throw Reader’s digest in dustbin and read Economist ?huh :confused:

and just like I cant call entertainmentw eekly or national enquirer a great literary work, i cant call the pskistani trash risalas as some literary marvel, sorry.

you can read em all you want, I still think they are worthless trash not worth the paper they are printed on.

i dont get it...

agar insan ki fitrat hi achi na ho... koobsurat jism ko sar pe rakhna hai kia?

Nia, guys assume that if the assets are there, the personality is there too. Eons of evolution will not change this thinking.

well you need your love to last for more than just 10 mins.some assets with inner beauty is whats required

why is there this assumption that someone who is attractive will not have a good personality?

people are attracted to aspects of personality just like they are atracted to certain features whether it be complexion, physique or features.

If someone does not meet your requirements, then why force the issue.

and girls assume that if the asste are there then the personality must not be there?
why such an issue with guys? go read threads on this very forum started by girls and postings by girls who would not marry a guy with a mustache, or a dark guy or a short guy or a bald guy or some one who is not on a secure career..

by that token one can say that girla assume that if the guy is tall, fair, atheletic, loaded then he must have a great personality.

:slight_smile:

So basically you do not know the famous writers and obviously you have not read them, still you have the audacity to equate them to trash, mashallah :slight_smile:

Here i can bet Rs 50 siqa Raij-ul-wagat that you are not aware of the composition of any two of the popular digests !

I think i should breifly explain.

It starts with religious section, with ahadees related to moral’s / etiquettes.
Waste of precious paper ??? hmmm :chai:

Next is my favorite section dedicated to Ibn-e-Insha (Khawateen digest). either extract from his enchanting columns Or one of his masterpiece in poetry. No mater if i am a die-hard fan or hundred of thousand people adore his work, according to you it is worth only ruddi ka tokra :frowning:

Then comes the stories , novels etc … but obviously you dont read them and consider them waste of time and genocide of our brain cells ( which are already scarce ) so we should stay away from em :k:

Next is selected poetry, Interviews, cooking and varoius other section related to interest of ladies. As i am intereted in them so i read them sometimes, other wise I skip it and go to another favorite section.

This is the history section. I admit that a significant portion of my history knowledge is directly derived from that section.

But again, who am I ? I dont even now tad bit about history or literature or anything else …

Sir, You know it inside out. I guess I lost my 50 Rupees :bummer:

there were times when some of the digests(rare ones) or short novel/ stories were trash --
but now they have changed alot ..

khwateen digest has been producing a good stuff most of the times-- writers like humera Ahmed and few more know have wriiten down in regards to ethics

they were trash is the sense that stories in them were some charba from western novels --- this still happens -- but not in all .

Jassim, if that is all you saw, then you saw nothing.

Code_Red nay farmaya

**So basically you do not know the famous writers and obviously you have not read them, still you have the audacity to equate them to trash, mashallah :slight_smile: **

Not audacity, but the ability to review something objectively, alhumdulillah :slight_smile:

**Here i can bet Rs 50 siqa Raij-ul-wagat that you are not aware of the composition of any two of the popular digests ! **

I am well aware of them.

**I think i should breifly explain. **

go ahead..

**It starts with religious section, with ahadees related to moral’s / etiquettes.
Waste of precious paper ??? hmmm :chai: **

yet the ahadeeth in these sections are the same ones that we hear all the time, there is litle in terms of equating hadeeth and principles to todays day and age.
But regrdless…if you go back and read my previous comments, it was specifically in reference to the trashy stories in these digests.

**Next is my favorite section dedicated to Ibn-e-Insha (Khawateen digest). either extract from his enchanting columns Or one of his masterpiece in poetry. No mater if i am a die-hard fan or hundred of thousand people adore his work, according to you it is worth only ruddi ka tokra :frowning: **

yet again, I am referring to the the bulk of the stories, much of it original content for these digests. I want to read Ibn e insha I can go buy his book. I dont need a trashy digest for that. Yes it introduces readers to some good stuff but again my point was about the stories in those digests.

**Then comes the stories , novels etc … but obviously you dont read them and consider them waste of time and genocide of our brain cells ( which are already scarce ) so we should stay away from em :k: **

ahhhh… i sense a retreat, you know it and I know it that majority of those stories and worthlss crap, swimming in the stench of our sociey’s stereotypes, enforcing victim mentalities, escapism without reality..and are sob stories for the most part.
I mean make readers grow thir horizons, whiny lost love stories, same ol same ol saas bahoo, nand bhabhi , bad husband baychari biwi, ghareeb gharana jahaiz issues, tye of crap. aray logo…ghissa pita crap, why dont you try to empower women, wat about noting women’s resources, how about focusing more on independent women, how about focusing more on real situations rather than stories…

**Next is selected poetry, Interviews, cooking and varoius other section related to interest of ladies. As i am intereted in them so i read them sometimes, other wise I skip it and go to another favorite section. **

**This is the history section. I admit that a significant portion of my history knowledge is directly derived from that section. **

is this the stories section that you decided to just dodge?

**But again, who am I ? I dont even now tad bit about history or literature or anything else … **

dunno, you know yourself best..

Sir, You know it inside out. I guess I lost my 50 Rupees :bummer:

you lost your 50 rupees because in your zeal to make an argument for the sake of an argument, you lost the basic premise that was about the crap stories. I bet that once you started writing this you realized that aside from cooking, excrepts from other books and writers, the digests are crap.

You did a good jo explaining what the magazine has, and thats another problem, they stick to a formula that works with gofd knows how many of these risalas floating in the marketplace..is there nothing more to share with readers, is this the best they can do, does this meet all the needs of our society?

People do not buy those magazines to read hadeeth, but flip to the masala stories and thats it. Yes you may read it end to end but

defending these digets by noting the had hadeeth upfront is like defending PTVs crap programming by saying oh yeah but they have farman e iahi and iqra and news…sure they do but the regular programing sucks.

same with the digests, unoriginal, uninspired, pathetic writing not doing zilch for our society..

niyal, I guess I was exposed to these magazines when they were trash. It has been ages since I flipped thru one.

so they were trash in your view because

1- short novels and tories were trash
#2- charba of western novels were trash

I agree, but hey I am not an avid reader and have not made any effort to pick one up in ages. the times I was exposed to that or akhbar e jahan etc were when I was in Pakistan and at some relatives house and bored outta my skull with power outage and insomnia late at night..

It was a bonanza if I ran into an archies or readers digest while combing their digest basket for something to read.

I agree, but hey I am not an avid reader and have not made any effort to pick one up in ages. the times I was exposed to that or akhbar e jahan etc were when I was in Pakistan and at some relatives house and bored outta my skull with power outage and insomnia late at night

That explains it. :) Just like there were crapy writer who wrote Imran Series, after the original one got popular. You can guess just after reading a few paras that if the writer is genuine or cheap copycate. Same way I can deduce the quality of the story without going through the whole crap... Imagine if you never had read original Imran Series, and only found the work of those crapy writer and read them for time killing ... there is no way you would believe me praising him or his original writing . Would you ?

Fortunatly i found mostly the quality stuff there and frankly I cant even count the number of magnificient stories and novel i have read there

ahhhh... i sense a retreat, you know it and I know it that majority of those stories and worthlss crap, swimming in the stench of our sociey's stereotypes, enforcing victim mentalities, escapism without reality..and are sob stories for the most part.
I mean make readers grow thir horizons, whiny lost love stories, same ol same ol saas bahoo, nand bhabhi , bad husband baychari biwi, ghareeb gharana jahaiz issues, tye of crap. aray logo...ghissa pita crap, why dont you try to empower women, wat about noting women's resources, how about focusing more on independent women, how about focusing more on real situations rather than stories...

You have a stereotype based on very limited exposure ...
like I would not dare generalize PTV drama, because I know they are sooo many of them and obviously sizeable quantity is crap too, I know very well but I also bear witness to the fact that PTV has well established tradition of producing marvelous stuff. And mostly it is good quality stuff , and ocasionally it is excellent. And If I want to list down the Excellent production from PTV then it will be a very long list.

Just because you do not know any of the famous writers ( Yes they are famous) and many of their novels have been adapted into blockbuster Drama serials, so I would be wasting my time telling you about them, and the wide vareity of subjects they cater in their stories. At times these stories are so bold in escence that It is hard to dramatize some of them, I hope they will overcome this challange with the advent of more private chanels.

Code_Red nay farmaya

*That explains it. :) Just like there were crapy writer who wrote Imran Series, after the original one got popular. You can guess just after reading a few paras that if the writer is genuine or cheap copycate. Same way I can deduce the quality of the story without going through the whole crap... Imagine if you never had read original Imran Series, and only found the work of those crapy writer and read them for time killing ... there is no way you would believe me praising him or his original writing . Would you ? *

wrong comparison...

*Fortunatly i found mostly the quality stuff there and frankly I cant even count the number of magnificient stories and novel i have read there *

okay, may be magnificent for you. I suppose those worthless rags made a masisve turnaround and are writing quality stuff now.

You have a stereotype based on very limited exposure ...

lets do this, you go pick up any issue of this rag, put the stories and a summary of each story and let guppies decide whether they think its trash or is worthwhile.

The challenge is that the stuff is mostly predictable, its the same old same old..same ghissay pittay issues .. i mean u can literally have a computer program create the situations at random..

*like I would not dare generalize PTV drama, because I know they are sooo many of them and obviously sizeable quantity is crap too, I know very well but I also bear witness to the fact that PTV has well established tradition of producing marvelous stuff. *

just like sizable quantity of PTV dramas are crap, I believe that a sizable amount of what is in yoru digests is crap, unless in the last decade they did a complete 180 degrees

*And mostly it is good quality stuff , and ocasionally it is excellent. And If I want to list down the Excellent production from PTV then it will be a very long list. *

Nope, majority of the dramas are crap, there are some good ones, and very few excellent ones. There are few that are unique, many follow the same formula stuff. I swear if I see that dude who plays grandpa..not qawi, but whats his face, mustache glasses and always has these idiotic deep dialogues like " aray mian saleem... ab log badal gaye hain, zamana badal gaya hai, kucch samajh mein naheen ata kya ho gaya hai...asa pehlay toh naheen hota tha" type of shyt, I would go to the set and pimp slap the writers, producers and actors for continuing to produce crap that does not do anything.

comedy's are phakkar mazzaq, the deep social dramas are about the same issues and do not offer solutions, are too stuck in societal stereotypes and reinforcing the stereotypes, victim mentality among certain groups.

*Just because you do not know any of the famous writers ( Yes they are famous) and many of their novels have been adapted into blockbuster Drama serials, so I would be wasting my time telling you about them, and the wide vareity of subjects they cater in their stories. *

famous does not mean good, blockbuster does not mean quality, and covering wide varieety of subjects does not mean they cover it in the right way.

we can discuss desi dramas in general in the entertainment section, and I admit while I stopped watching dramas because they were crap, but i suppose they were targeted to the lowest common denominator in pakistan, and thus they do not appeal to me.

PS: I am not the only one saying that these digesta are/were crap, someone else said the same thing dinn they.

NO they are trash becaz they contain the nonsence of 2 cultures spicely mixed with fake version of translations …

mostly this is found in suspense digest .. by some chance or not you may find written at the end — taken from the novel —so & so – and when you actually read the particular novel – it is all very different ..

this whole was sometimes summed up into short stories