Re: Paki wannabe Goray
vutevar yaar,,,,, i go to pak cuz my mamma pappa drag me there.....but then i try the kachoris that pathan baba makes and i never wanna leave....and the chappli kababs
with aloo cholay and ice cold pepsi yum!
i've been here in canada over 2 yrs and yet i wear salwar kameez at home (rarely outside) although my dad frequently wears it outside too.. my dad works as an IT pro and he tells us that many of his gora colleagues are actually IMPRESSED BY OUR CULTURES (the family values we have really blows them away).. so why don't we just respect ourselves??
and for those who r trying to be goras in pakistan they r true losers.. no matter how much they try they r pakistanis, not goras.. and yes they really need to work on their verbal english skills (that straight outta dictionary english seems kinda outta place in casual convs.) rather than trying to dress and look like goras. and this "modern pakistani" thing sometimes gets a bit too far > don't forget to place some of the blame on media
Oh you poor baby being dragged to Pakistan. You mean you have no desire to go there???
its very common problem with wanna be modern/or upper class in Pak,, people who can actually are from that class, they dont do that much though. only speaking a good english can get you through any interview in Pakistan without any skills for the job. ;) where you can get this anywhere else? :)
and its not Pakistan only it exists in most ignorant nations, how to speak, how to dress accordingly. and ignorant includes well educated people.
somehow people think speaking english makes you more eliviated in your social status. Any its also wrong of MCD and Pizza hut staff to (try to) speak in english. I think they there to help people who speak Pakistani languagues. :) may be they are trying to prove something there.
and i think this will go away when people really get rid of ignorance.
i know wut u meAn tHAt is hillArious
OMG
i would hAve stArted crAckin up in front of there fAces i cAnt hAndle my lAughter
OMG
soooooo
funny
heheheheheheheheh
I agree some people go way overboard aping the 'west'....look at how paki boys (and girls) try to 'dress' in the US....disgusting and I am not talking abt exposure or anything. boys should know how ridiculous their ghetto imitation is and girls simply look ugly.
And there is another side too. I have also never seen anyother people that get so embarassed about their own country men. This is in the reverse. Why are Paki kids embaraassed if their parents and gramps act slow when visiting west? If the western r russian granny does something it is 'cute' but if the desi granny does it it is embarasssing
I remember we went to this McD’s
So do I. I went in looking like a tramp, like you do get my first BigMac. I was surprised to see a fast food restaurant.Something which is considered cheap, for common folk full of posh folk in Lahore. All wearing western clothes, talking posh i.e. english with a little urdu where they lacked vocabulary. Food was crap so I left, them little food shops have better tasting food and cheaper.
I still cant get my head around why a fast food restaurant is the posh hang out?
And why do those who have an education i.e. been to uni wear trousers with ghay looking shirts? are you superior now
I have seen people wearing normal clothes in Pakistan at Mickey D's nothing special....
Overall as a population in Pakistan, People are always dressed well...even on weekdays...both men and women along with children. I was amazed as over here in the USA...people walk around in the same ol tshirts and jeans...with kids dressed same way too. In Pakistan there's this thing that u'll always run into someone u know....
I just realized that I might be getting off the topic...But for the Gora mentality...the shows like Sex and the city and Frasier and stuff all r constantly bpombarded on the cable there...and people get more into the gora skin after that....White wash...completely whitewash.....
I have seen "reserved tables" at MCD's in India in the early days. It used to be a place where only the rich went. Now it is a place where the rich and upper middle class go.
did you mean elevate or alleviate?
now only if they bathed more frequently and learnt abour deodorants..
Chel Chabila Babu Wrote
"but their linguistic skills were just horrendous “budd butt ding, ding butt, badd battt… dingg ding..”, "
LOL! for hours…
I can’t believe deodorant has not caught on in Pakistan. This is my biggest issue with my fellow Pakistanis specially in Pakistan. If you can smell it you must fix it. Sometimes even in America some of these guys are clueless. I swear I was on a bus in Chicago when I first came here in 1984. This dude came and sat by me thinking here is another Asian bhai. But, this man smelled so bad that within 5 minutes I had to leave and get off on a wrong stop just to avoid hacking on the bus. I will never forget it. ![]()
A language is a nations identity so it should be maintained, there is no need to speak somebody elses language, I agree it doesn’t make you any cooler, be original (we can learn English for academic/career reasons without using it as we should use our national languages or making it a status symbol).
As for other aspects of culture, well.. we live in a cosmopolitan world in which cuisine, costume, arts, architecture, literature are universal property. Nowadays everyone everywhere regardless of history, nationality or religion dresses the same (pants shirt), eats the same foods (pizzas, sweet ‘n’ sour, curry, burgers), listens to the same genres of music (in different languages), reads the same books (even if they’re translations in their own languages), lives in the same sort of houses, drives the same cars, plays the same video games and sports…
By wearing jeans and t-shirt nobody is being “western”, traditional Desi attire is too medieval and gay (e.g. Indian women wearing cocoons [saaris] and reset buttons in colors so bright they should be illegal for anyone over 5 yrs old :yukh: ), therefore “traditional desi attire” should be done away with because it either looks too scruffy or too gay.
Traditional western attire was what they wore in the middle ages e.g. capes, ruffs, doublets, kilts, gowns, jerkins, togas and stuff, nobody wears any of that anymore because it’s gay.
So Jeans/T-Shirt is not just western clothes, they’re universal clothes. Arabs, Persians, Afghans, Chinese, Japanese, Africans, South/Central-Americans and Europeans all wear them alike.
Most Shalwar Kameez is just uncomfortable and scruffy whilst the more formal varieties such as Sherwani seen at weddings and eids just shout out DRAG-QUEEN, FLABOYANT-PANSY, GAY, FAG, TRANNY etc etc.
I’ve been to Iran and even the remote village gypsies have such a good dress sense, they look all neat, tidy and meterosexual playing football in their jeans/sweat-pants, t-shirts and sweatpants whilst when I went to Pakistan even the people in the cities wore bloody aprons/dresses/skirts (a.k.a kameez) and tent pants (a.k.a shalwar), I was quite embarassed having took my Persian friend to Pak (it’s a good job everyone from my village was shag-worthy, Pak ki izzat bach gai), nobody tell to be proud just because it’s “our culture” because culture should evolve or it goes stagnant, the not so good things can be done away with because even the culture Pakis currently have was adopted from some place else (sherwani suit from ancient persian courts).
what makes it worse is when they try speaking the lingo: "Hey buddy" I was like WTF. How many times have you been to the UK?
Shalwar Kameez is just uncomfortable and scruffy
Get yourself some glasses, and a tailor. Not everywhere is America you know, I for one hate the american culture. What is so good about America?
Mr. Paki it seems as if **you **are the one having idenity crisis, and most of these wannabe goray are usually either mirpuris or punjabee.