Why do people in Pakistan feel the need to act like Goray??? I’ve no problem with Paki people trying to assimilate when abroad “when in Rome do as the Romans do” but it’s extremely irritating and unnecessary when they do it back at home, it’s not like it makes them look any better or they do a good job of it anything, look like a bunch of losers when they do crap like that “Hans chala kawwey ki chaal to apni bhi bhool gaya”.
I remember we went to this McD’s, can’t remember which one and it was hottt and sweaty as anything outside that day and we walk in and see all these darker than dark families dressed uncomfortable Gora style, uncles wearing tuxedos (to a fast food place lol) and they were sweating like pigs, I’m like what the feck is wrong with a decent Shalwar Kameez and some Chappal like me and my cousin were wearing??? It looks miles smarter and much more comfortable than pants shiit and then they try speaking in English, God you’d piss your pants if you heard them , not clear accents like ours, these were educated businessmen but their linguistic skills were just horrendous “budd butt ding, ding butt, badd battt… dingg ding..”, I could swear half their vocabulory was learnt striaght out of a dictionary and they’d never actually heard it being pronounced, anyway we started speaking in English and boy did that shut them up.. Later when we went to order something the Eff-ing moron at the till tried telling me the Rs. In English, same freshy accent, I just told him I don’t speak English… Like what’s wrong with Urdu? It’s so much nicer than boring old English, stick to what you can manage instead of looking a fool, Goray to yeh bann nahein saktey jo bhi kar lein…
Babu, you just hit the nail right on the head. It is so freakin' irritating to see people acting up like that. Whenever I visit home, I find plenty of morons trying to pull the same act out of their you know what. I have this guy from school who lived in the US for six months and supposedly got the "Degree" in music, who is always talking to me in English. I answer back in Urdu. He gets back to me in English. I keep speaking Urdu ... he keeps speaking his "Master's language". Well, I think all it is is inferiority complex that Goras left us with 50 years ago. We feel inferior speaking our language, wearing our clothes, practicing our religion, and sticking to our traditions. While most of the nations take pride in displaying their culture, we feel ashamed. How long are we going to keep blaming others for our own shortcomings? How long would it take for us to stand up to our values without turning red-faced with shame. Indians are far better and ahead of us in this regard. And it is not only secondary school literates who are doing this, it is decent, well-off, educated faimlies of Pakistan who are also falling in the same trap. I would love this thread to continue, I swear!
but why are you so worried about them...........let them do whatever they like.....english is our secong language.......and we must not be ashamed of learning something from dictionary...........dictionary isi liye hoti hai i think......agar ap loag pakistan mai hotay tou ap bhi unhi jaisay hotay.......i wonder..why you guys hit and blame others for nothing. language hi tou hai..........koi hawwa tou nahi hai....
Barbie, we are not blaming them for speaking a language, or dress, or whatever. The blame is for showing off unnecessarily, feeling pride in another language, and feeling ashamed of our culture. You say English is our secondary language, so why are we trying to make it our primary language? It should remain Urdu. Diversity does not bother me but the fact that that diversity is an outcome of a depressed, low self-esteemed mental state.
That’s not always the case! Maybe they are trying to polish up thier skills in the English langauge, which btw is the hardest to learn, and perhaps they know that you are fluent (well it seems like anyway) in Engilsh and are more likely to help them. Not everything is an inferiority complex
Lol... belive it or not I haven't experienced Pakistan yet. I went once when I was 3 and so I'm really curious. CCB you've painted a picture of what some people are like there. It's disappointing that people may feel ashamed of their own culture. I was hoping to go there and really learn my culture not have people speaking English to me and trying to act Western.
At the end of the day the third world has its inbuilt hierarchies...pakis were ruled by the master british like safi fan said and still look up to them today...
but to be honest its harsh to only blame pakistanis for this...the whole third world is like this...oriental countries love up white people and so do africans...at the end of the day Western countries have led us to believe that they possess a culture superior to ours and every day we adopt theirs thinking it is the best way to live and losing our own sense of identity...
Pakis and most of the third world get confused between modernity and progress...thats why we are jealous of india...they are modern it doesnt neccesarily mean they are progressive...
you have chosen verryyyyyy obscure surrounding and you are trying to generalize it on population of 150 million folks …
Which shows the veryyyyy limited exposure you get in Pakistan or you are allowed to…
Better get out and meet common people … no one will talk to you in english unless you speak pathetic urdu .. which is the case with many young pakistanis raised abroad… They find it hard to communicate in urdu (with exception of few)
And there is nothing wrong in speaking english in accent one likes, it is a foreign language and we need to learn it.
Also there is no ‘universal’ or ‘perfect’ english accent… People all around the world, speak it in their regional accent, even in Britain
No doubt one enjoys good sounds and voices but mocking somebody solely on the basis of accent is nothing but a hollow superiority complex
Also it is appropriate to speak words which can be traced back to dictionary rather speaking 60 % slangs in casual conversation
yeah i also had some beef with this issue...the thing the gets me the most is even goign to pak on a PIA flight...there's always some chick wearing the tightest jeans and top (sleeveless of course) on a PIA flight (going or coming from Pak to toronto)...i mean, what u tryign to prove? ur not a paki? come on! ur taking a PIA flight in the first place..how much more of a paki are u?
so what? i agree tight jeans and sleeveless is inviting trouble and perverted stares from some men but i dont think it has to do with forgetting your identity…
personally i find fat aunties with big chests in salwar kamiz sheer enough to show their assets and see thru salwars-so-common-in-pak much worse…
^ the whole point of goign to pak is ..GOING TO PAK....so why bother trying to look all western? i mean, if they are so embarrased of wearing shalwar kameez in public that they have to look "white"? come on! if thats the case, next time wear a burkha where no one could recognize you.....seriously! if it looks like a paki, talks like a paki, it must be a paki! its a no brainer
about fat ladies with their oh-so-see through clothes...thats a whole other issue..