every culture has them..what are the features of a beautiful gir in Pakistan?
Re: Paki beauty Ideals!
i think in pakistan your only considered beautiful if you have one or more of the following:
fair colour
slim nose
small/thin lips
slim figure
long or thick hair
and if you have different coloured eyes or hair naturally then that is considered a bonus...this is my opinion of what people think in pakistan, but its different in UK.
I didn't realise that small lips were considered pretty! That's random...
I think that in much of Pakistan it's the delicacy of features that is valued -- hence the small lips. I don't think really thin lips are considered as pretty as ones that have some fullness, but are small.
Also, large, doe-, almond- shaped eyes.
Sahar02 i think ur avatar describes it perfectly..but ofcourse with brown hair
I agree with sanam; Pakistani guys or their mums dont care about the education, personality and values and sense of style a girl has rather they care about the outer beauty which sanam described perfectly.
well tall girls r also appreciated in pak
^ not by a lot of people though - i have heard aunties go like " kuch zayada lambi nahi hai" while 5ft 0-4inches ki larkian with patlay naak are considered more beautiful :O
I actually find girls like lara dutta more beautiful even though ashwariya is pretty as well -
LOL Aaaana. That's quite funny. I think you're right. Though I think jet black hair is not a problem for Pakistanis -- as long as it is long and thick.
thanks - but it's true, some ppl expect way too much.
I really disagree with the way that people - thats INDIAN and PAKISTANI place so much emphasis on looks......like my MIL even says to me that I am lucky that I am fair, about her daughter who is unmarried she says "bechari rang mein maar khagayee" just cos she is quite dark in her complexion!
Like the song says....."Goreh rang peh nah itna guman kar...gorah rang doh din mein dhal jayega"!!
Joh kuch hai, Allah mian neh banaya hai, aur unki banayee huwi har cheez khoobsurat hai....
Well, i have noticed one thing…no matter how odd the guy looks, it doesnt matter the mum wants a beauty queen for her son.."hoor kay pehloo main langoor’
literally…as far as beauty is concerned…one of my aunt’s was looking for a daughter in law and i asked her what she was looking for…she said, well the girl has to be charming…so i showed her some charming girls, which from what i understood meant: girls who are cute, nice personality, no raving beauties, very pleasant and educated girls from good families. She said no to each one of them!
WEll charming according to her was like Sanam said…long hair, dont care about black, they can be streaked and very stylish, very fair, fair enough for your veins to stand out! raving beauties and thin..anorexics are preferred and yes tall as well…which for them means 5 feet 3 or 4 inches..I’m 5.8 and i am termed a giraffe:naraz:
Youre absolutely right! with this craze of wanting a fair skin all of these complexes are becoming even more pronounced and our older generation is making it worse with these outrageous demands of fair as milk skin ![]()
Oh my god ive actually heard some1 say exact same line! I was like what the hell. I cudnt believe sum1 cud say that but they did. ![]()
This made me laugh so much reading this cos u know what-its SO true!
U hit the nail on the head totally with this. This obsession with being white will NEVA go or it will take several and i mean SEVERAL generations for it do die a death.
stupid fair and lovely doesnt help the situation either ![]()
I feel sorry for all those poor women who use/d Fair and Lovely and that other stuff called “TIBET” - they were literally killing their skin! I used to see people buying it in Birmingham and only got to know what it was for when I was about 14/15!![]()
Anyone remember the advert for Fair and Lovely- the girl getting a rishta visit???
at Fair and Lovely adverts. I havnt seen a fair and lovely ads recently. R they still like that? But i remember the rishta ones where the guy comes round and hes really not a handsome bloke himself yet when he sees the girl all he thinks is “isnt she fair and lovely.” and he uses that as his decision to marry her and spend his whole life with her. I call it a mad and bizarre obsession.
Talking of old adverts - what was the VICCO advert for???
The newly married couple one???
Oh god i remember the Vicco one. Its a wedding scene and the dulhan is havin her mayoon or something and there all putting ubtan on her and then on her wedding day she looks all GORI. All because she used Vicco Ubtan. They show the husband using it after marriage as well cos i guess he also wanted to b white.
Dont ask me why i remember these Ads. I think its years of watching indian films as a kid when there were only videos in those days and u watched most of the adverts. And of course Vicco and Fair and lovely were 1 of the main ads of the time!![]()