Paki beauty Ideals!

Re: Paki beauty Ideals!

Yes, i remember watching all the videos too…and what about the “Jeevan Chavan prash” or summat…where the onld guy runs for the bus…Oh an dwho could forget Hajmola!!!

The good old days!!!:teary1:

Fair and lovely has become very ‘sophisticated’ now…with face washes, night creams, day creams, sun blocks..you name it they have it! and the latest commercials feature fair girls getting rejected from airline jobs because of their complexion which is so not true!..

oh a new obsession in the market is ‘skin care’..the adverts are the funniest…a model with full make up on her face gives her face..i mean the make up… a goats milk bath (which is the soap) and becomes pink like a baboon’s bum and rather cheezily says…‘just do it to believe it’!!!..now where have i heard this before!?:konfused:

I remember those! Do u remember the Vicco toothpaste one where the bloke bites into this rock hard red apple to prove a point that his teeth r made of iron cos hes been using this toothpaste. :cb:
Theres was also those alma oil adverts with jaya prahda and sridevi doing the hair twirlling cos their hair was a “ghanney and sundar”.

Oh my god Fair and Lovely have gone up in the world havnt they? Had no idea they have a whole skincare range.
The whole idea of fair and lovely and this new product just confirms that views havnt changed over the generations at all and this is still what a lot of ppl long to have. Thats sad! :bummer:

:slight_smile:

Oh yeah…Vicco Toothpaste and powder!!!

Do you also remember the tacky UK ones about Himalaya carpets, Ram Prakash Sunderdaas and sons, Bombay Stores etc…
All the ones that ended with the guy in the gruff voice…“The Broadway, Southall, Middlesex”

you know what Amani06, i think it has become more and more pronounced now as the whole idea of beauty has changed completely... there is so much pressure on girls now to suscribe to such norms especially by their parents and peers! there's just no stop to it!:(

Wannabe_a_mum:
Yeh!!! Thats so true! Ah man those old ads that we used to see in indian films..man they were classic! Like the Cine Blitz and Stardust ones.
Lakha Jewellers tried to b more upmarket by getting that asian supermodel Yasmin Ghauri to star in them. I remember Bombay Stores having a very cheesy song to it.
As a kid i always wanted to do the hair twirlling like Sridevi in that advert but i cudnt cos i had really short hair and felt so swizzed by it.

i remember all these desi adverts, typical!

Nooree: I think its so sad that even tho we're in a different century and times have moved on, still that attitude is totally engrained in the minds. I think the post u wrote earlier abt rishtas and expectations is spot on. The girl cud b butt ugly but if shes as white as a sheet shes beautiful. It stems from inferiority complexes and issues and its just such a waste of time and energy cos there is so much more to ppl beyond what colour they r. Yet its these ideas that still seem to dictate. My daughter looks nothing like me. Shes like her father. My hubs English white and ppl actually ask me if shes my daughter(Yeh tumaari beti hai?). Can u believe it? I do wonder in 20 yrs when my daughter will b 22 what it will be like. Sadly i dont think much wud have changed.:(

i don’t get why MOTHER IN LAWS have to be so obsessed with the looks? My mom always told me, the guy might like me but his family might not like me coz i’m fat, inlaws barray Zaalim hotay hain… in fact, she always says i shud be tahnkful i found a family who won’t give me taNay over how I look. Yeah i should be thankful i married into a smart/educated family (acutally not being sarcastic, I am :lifey: )

Er anyway sorry abt the rant… Maira, from what you’ve told us abt urself (tall, slim, colored eyes, fair skin, etc), you ARE the pakistani beauty ideal. I don’t think you need to change anything abt yourself, you just need to be confident in who you are. How old are you? I think ur cousins who make fun of you are just jealous. I’m sorry u have to spend any time with htem, but whenever htey say something, just say/think, “at least I can change [this] about myself, but you cant change ur jealous nature/ugly personality.” (Ok i wudnt reocmmend actually SAYING that, but thinking it sure does help :clown:

Youre so right!I HATE it when people look all surprised and have this stupid disbelieving expression on their face.. and ask.'is she your daughter?' how do you handle it??

[quote=Sara516]
i don’t get why MOTHER IN LAWS have to be so obsessed with the looks? My mom always told me, the guy might like me but his family might not like me coz i’m fat, inlaws barray Zaalim hotay hain… in fact, she always says i shud be tahnkful i found a family who won’t give me taNay over how I look. Yeah i should be thankful i married into a smart/educated family (acutally not being sarcastic, I am :lifey: )

You know sara your right!I have seen girls who are just a teeny weeny bit chubby or curvy and they are obsessed with losing weight…not because their hubby minds it but theyre dead scared of what their in laws might say or think…enough to starve themselves! youre lucky mashallah…

On girls I like…

• Dark doe eyes
  • Full lips (top lip upturned and juicy)
  • Long yet thin and straight nose
  • Jet black locks of hair
  • Wheatish, olive, creamy or light-brown complexion
  • Hourglass body shape (big hips and big tarbooz) Of course these prefrences are not carved in stone, I like all races to some extent but generally I don't find Indian girls attractive unless they are Sikh (they look Pakistani)... I'm not fussy but I'm not a fan of skin that is too fair or too dark either (I like a medium complexion) and I can see that some light colored eyes can be beautiful but I don't find them as sexy or hot as intense dark eyes, light eyes just don't pierce your heart the same way, I'm not a great fan of light hair either (it looks burnt in the sun)...

Most of the really really fair skinned Pakistani girls I know are not my cuppa because their faces have a manly robustness to them, they have eyes that stare out like a goldfish, their skin is lobster pink and their hair looks like it's burnt in the sun and these are well educated groomed girls I'm talking about not road sweepers...

..So I think I'll stick to the prettier dark eyed, dark haired beauties.

urgh i’ve seen women in pak with the most hideous and ugly hair (not the natural black but colored) and its so …:yukh: fried, frizzy, etc.

Oh another rant about Pakistani mothers not selecting GS beauties for their sons :yawn:

My mother in law actually wants me to gain more weight

I just keep a straight face and say "Haan yeh meri beti hai, lekin gohre ki aulad hai aur gohron ki nasal hai yeh puri".
The look on their face is priceless.:D

interesting.....my cousins where colour contacts and dye their hair. Is that the normÉ What about long hair that goes to ur butt. How about long nails about 4 inches long!

sara516

Ièm turning 18. If I am the beauty idealm r they makin fun of me...shouldnèt they like me!:(

hehe. wasnt that the ideal like in the 1990’s? butt-long hair and mad long nails. beauty comes in all shapes and sizes and i dont think every guy has the same preferences i.e. fair skin, thin lips etc etc. ive seen enough desi guys interested in girls with a wheatish complexion. also some guys might like curly hair, others might like stick-thin women and still others might like women that are heavier.

anyways. a guy i know went to pakistan to find a bride and he met 6-7 girls…many of whom were fair, skinny…u know the whole “perfect” bahu. but he ended up picking none of them because he didnt like the fact that none of them could carry themselves well and fit well into his lifestyle. He is now interested in a rather sanwli girl with a not-so-skinny nose, a height of around 5’2 mainly because he loves the way she speaks and carries herself.
but wanna know the funny thing? the girl rejected him! said he wasnt thin enough for her! :rotfl: i guess when we judge others we forget that we can be judged in the same manner!

as far as girls being devastated by the fair-skin obsession in our society…sorry …but we are ALL responsible for it to an extent. everytime a picture of an indian chick is posted and we grin at the fact that “oh she’s such a kaali maasi” “oh our actresses are much prettier (translate: fairer) than the indian ones” you support this stereotype.