Pak Vs. SA 3rd ODI (Highly Anticipated)

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

did wicket started behaving strangly only when paksitani team came to bat or it was same when SA was batting.
Or is it evening due which made condition so different. I havnt seen the match may be Ehsan bhai can comment.But I still think condition wasnt like where such a talented side will be 55/8.it might be 60/4 kinda condition definitly not 55/8.

Can someone comment on this.

Well, It is Bouchers home ground and he said before the match that the team which bats first will win the match, because the dew later on is so bad that the ball will swing a lot. During the early part when Pollock and Nitini were bowling the ball was swinging wildly and it was difficult to play. The commentators said that if such conditions persist here they should stop playing day, night matches here. One other commentator said that if Pakistan was bowling second here few of the SA players would have been in hospital due to the sheer speed of Shoaib and the swing.

This however should not take anything away from SA victory.

I personally think Pakistan bowled exceptionally well and got caught on a swinging pitch when they batted.

did wicket started behaving strangly only when paksitani team came to bat or it was same when SA was batting.
Or is it evening due which made condition so different. I havnt seen the match may be Ehsan bhai can comment.But I still think condition wasnt like where such a talented side will be 55/8.it might be 60/4 kinda condition definitly not 55/8.

Can someone comment on this.

yeah when SA were batting, there was normal bounce with no lateral movement off the pitch.
but in the evening , dew createdmoisture in the pitch resultd in extra bounce plus seam movement and the dust settled in to create a harder surface. Well thats what commentators pointed out. but Still 55/8 wasnt a good performance. yeah 60-4 or 5 is possible !

Right, I didn't see the match except from this evening onwards but this is what I picked up from the English panel in the studio:

Pakistan bowled superbly on a fairly easy pitch this morning and all of them did a great job in restricting SA to such a low score. When I came home, Pak were 38-4 and the ball was lifting and seaming sideways quite noticeably. Apparently it's a bad wicket to bat under lights normally, but today it was worse than usual because there was no wind. Chris Cowdrey said if Shoaib had been bowling in the same conditions a couple of the SA batsmen wopuld have ended up in hospital.

If you look at the scoreboard, the players who made any contribution were those who decided to play shots (Afridi, Wasim, Waqar). Younis and Rashid never looked like doing anything in those conditions and I think they should have played more agressively.

Put it down to a good learning experience for the World Cup, although I don't think any side can win batting second in those conditions. They need to re-think these day-nighters.

I think the next two matches where there will be more equal conditions for both sides will be a better test, and I think we'll probably win both, but SA are a decent side so it won't be easy.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Right, I didn't see the match except from this evening onwards but this is what I picked up from the English panel in the studio:

Pakistan bowled superbly on a fairly easy pitch this morning and all of them did a great job in restricting SA to such a low score. When I came home, Pak were 38-4 and the ball was lifting and seaming sideways quite noticeably. Apparently it's a bad wicket to bat under lights normally, but today it was worse than usual because there was no wind. Chris Cowdrey said if Shoaib had been bowling in the same conditions a couple of the SA batsmen wopuld have ended up in hospital.

If you look at the scoreboard, the players who made any contribution were those who decided to play shots (Afridi, Wasim, Waqar). Younis and Rashid never looked like doing anything in those conditions and I think they should have played more agressively.

Put it down to a good learning experience for the World Cup, although I don't think any side can win batting second in those conditions. They need to re-think these day-nighters.

I think the next two matches where there will be more equal conditions for both sides will be a better test, and I think we'll probably win both, but SA are a decent side so it won't be easy.

Well i didnt listen to the bbc commentry as extreme and ehsan did. I was wathing the match on south african channel so commentators were SAfricns and they were al raving about how good defensive side SA is (which is no doubt they are). Getting conditions no doubt but Safricans put the ball in right areas and our batsmen gifted them wickets by playing away. So lets not be harsh on them. I expect them to bounce back and win the series insha'allah!

Saby, I saw Younis and Rashid batting and the ball was moving all over the place - but yeah, they both waved their bats too far away from their bodies. If you are going to do that on a spicy wicket then might as well give the ball a good crack instead of giving slips catching practice.

On a difficult wcket you have to be more positive. Akram top scored by swinging his bat like an axe, no airy fairy stuff and that's a best approach when the ball's moving like that.

Maybe India wants to get rid of Dravid and we can take him :). Just kidding. That is the type of fellow who can hold wicket in tricky conditions.

*Originally posted by Kareem: *
Maybe India wants to get rid of Dravid and we can take him :). Just kidding. That is the type of fellow who can hold wicket in tricky conditions.

Hypothetically, if it were a franchize system, and India offers to give Dravid to Pakistan and in return wanted Shoaib Akhtar... what would you say? :)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

Hypothetically, if it were a franchize system, and India offers to give Dravid to Pakistan and in return wanted Shoaib Akhtar... what would you say? :)

Hummmmmmmmmm.... Agreed..But you will have to take Agarkar also... It wil be package deal. ;)

You might wana shoot him after that.Thats ok with me.

Hummmmmmmmmm.... Agreed..But you will have to take Agarkar also... It wil be package deal. ;)

You might wana shoot him after that.Thats ok with me.

Take Agarkar !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never. :(

A sad day!
Regardless of how the pitch was reacting, 183 wasn't a big target, specially with the batting lineup which scored 335 runs just 2 days ago.
Maybe chasing 200+ may have been difficult but 183 wasn't a big target at all.

Oh well, next game, so tosses wins you match.

Pakistan bowled well, specially the 2 spinners, both of them bowled very nicely.

It would have been sweet if Pakistani bowlers bowled in the 2nd inning, all sorts of record would have been broken.

Those are the pitches of South Africa.

And someone said now says South African pitches are batting friendly, here is the proof.

I'm sure we wil win the next match.

Team should be the same, though M Sami should have played.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Team should be the same, though M Sami should have played.

Nope.

In my defence, I'd prefer Shoaib over Sami.

Take Yoyo out for a moment. His performance has been pathetic in three matches and didn't put score on the board.

I'd say give a chance to Faisal Iqbal.

One of the Semi-Finals of the World Cup is going to be in St George’s Park.

Would it be b/w South Africa and Pakistan?:wink:

St George’s Nightmare Is A World Cup Possibility

If Proteas play in the Port Elizabeth semifinal can they erase the jinx?

OMAR Henry brought up the most frightening prospect of all after Wednesday night’s calamitous defeat for Shaun Pollock’s muddlers by a Pakistani line-up that reinvented itself after last Sunday’s shame at Kingsmead.

“One of the World Cup semifinals is going to be (held) at St George’s Park and we could be in it,” said Henry yesterday.

“So we had better learn how to play there, and soon. We played Australia there last year, scored more than 300 runs, and were still beaten quite easily,” he said. “(On Wednesday) we were never even in the game except for a few overs when we started batting.”

Henry fingered inconsistency as a major worry with the World Cup now only six weeks away.

“Our bowlers were so disciplined at Kingsmead but at St George’s they were all over the place. We have to find out why this inconsistency is coming into our game,” he said.

“All the bowlers went for six runs an over but some took wickets and some didn’t,” said Henry.

He said the brainstrust needed to find out why. Which in itself does not inspire too much confidence because one would have thought they would know by now.

More worrying, however, than the inconsistency, was the apparent inability to come up with alternative plans when plan A was going so badly awry.

The fact is, captain Pollock could not find ways to disrupt the Pakistan rhythm, to change the pace of the game, and to pull back the flood of runs.

But Henry defended Pollock, who at times on Wednesday looked a beaten man as his bowlers took such an almighty caning. “It’s a difficult job and he is learning all the time,” he said.

What was left unsaid, however, is that the captaincy cupboard in SA is pretty bare. If not Pollock, then who?

“It’s better that this happened now, rather than in the World Cup,” said Henry, seeking a positive spin on a very negative night.

“At least we still have time to talk about these things and work out what went wrong.”

Brave words, but the fact is that, in three short days, SA went from the sublime to the ridiculous. On Sunday on a helpful Kingsmead pitch, it should be said they looked like a team that could beat almost anyone in next year’s World Cup.

On Wednesday night, they looked like a bunch of inept, outclassed and overawed amateurs against a team which, for once, played at its irrepressible best.

It is hard to know whether one should be encouraged, or deeply concerned by Henry’s insistence that at least 12 of the final World Cup 15 are in this current squad. There were only three places still up for grabs, he said.

Maybe we should not be getting too jumpy. After all, Pakistan were World Cup finalists in England in 1999. Everyone knows they have a bunch of cricketers simply oozing class and talent. Maybe there is no disgrace in getting so badly mauled by them and in conditions pretty much like those they would find on their own continent.

And therein lies another issue. The South Africans might argue that they would hardly expect to be playing in SA, on pitches more suited to their Asian opponents. But Henry had little sympathy with that notion.

“We have to learn to play on all surfaces. SA is a unique country. We have different areas where we can create the same conditions we would find on the subcontinent or in Australia,” he said.

**"East London is likely to be quite similar to Port Elizabeth (in the third one-dayer today).

“The thing is we need to learn from the lessons of the heavy defeats against Australia and Pakistan at St George’s and we have to come up with a way of dealing with those conditions.”**

Again, brave words, but hardly comforting as Port Elizabeth was one of the first cricket test venues in SA, hosting international teams a century ago.

If we have not learned to play in those conditions yet, are we ever going to?

Protesting that there is still time is wearing a little thin now. The batting order is still in disarray. All the different permutations being tried are only half working and there is another thought even more scary than the prospect of a semifinal at St George’s Park. Can Jacques Kallis keep saving the sinking ship? His sublime form cannot last forever.

saray k saray under pressure mai ajatay hai afridi ko opener bhaij kar

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Take Agarkar !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never. :(

ok let me change the offer.You dont need to give us Shoib.Just take Dravid and Agrakar.But one condition you will have to keep Agarkar in playing elven if Dravid is playing.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

And someone said now says South African pitches are batting friendly, here is the proof.
*..hummmmmmmm where were you when 330s and 270s were made.

I'm sure we wil win the next match.
** Amin **

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

That would be a tough call. Depends how the other Pak bowlers were doing. If they were in top form, then yes, else, no.

Pakistan lost a match which they could have won...The bowlers bowled really well, especially Afridi, and Saqlain. The batters totally failed...Its hard to believe that such talented players like Inzamam, Youahana, and Younis Khan got out like the way they did. Pakistan just blew a great a performence by their bowlers...Lets hope for the best for the next match!

I know team is very talented specially Yoyo,Inzi and younis but somehow it appears to me that they day one guy scores every one esle also scores and they end up making 300s.But when they fail they all fail together.

Look at this
1-20 ,2-27 , 3-33,4-33, 5-39 ,6-48 , 7-49 ,8-55 .
Isnt this disgusting?

Pakistani Batting lineup is too good to do this.

=====================================

I know team is very talented specially Sachin, Ganguly and Sehwag but somehow it appears to me that they day one guy scores every one esle also scores and they end up making 500s.But when they fail they all fail together.

Look at this

1st innings: 1-2 , 2-9 , 3-29 , 4-51 , 5-55 , 6-92 , 7-118 , 8-118

2nd Innings: 1-23 , 2-31 , 3-31, 4-33

Isnt this disgusting?

Indian Batting lineup is too good to do this

have you heard of something called origionality.yaar be origional… :wink: :hehe:

This was a disgusting loss-we cannot chase-period. :(