Pak vs India 1st ODI Feb 6th Peshawar

Re: Pak vs India 1st ODI Feb 6th Peshawar

^ I don’t know what D/L method means :bummer:

yeah very much true…and secondly how come Pakistan won by 7 runs when they were batting second :konfused:

Pakistan: 311+10(runs for 2 overs) = 321 / 7 in 49 Overs,
India: 328/10 in 50 Overs…

so Pak wins with 7 runs and 3 wickets, while one over in hands :-)**

sorry Dada Abba I still don't get it. I'll try and figure it out when I have some time :)

**Rukhsaar **plz don't forget to share your method of figuring out , that would be nice to know how it happened :-s
ps: I am serious...

Would anybody put all the batsmen dismissals please?????
I totally love Mohammad Asif bowling, He's got a potential to be the world's Best.. Gotta love this new Paki team.. I think Now all Pak need is a solid and professional batting.. Pak bowlers have been great, don't believe me?? Ask NewZealand batsmen.. or ask indians who played the Karachi test :)

^ Welcome to GS and KK.

FOR ME THE LOSing point for india is sachin batting look at their score at 1 time they were 302 and sachin was in the middle and india score just 27 odd runs yet another time he was playing for his pedigree nor for his team

sigh, is there an end to this disappointment at all? I watch until like 6 A.M. Things aren't as rosy anymore for India, Pakistan replying the same way and r.r was good enough. I wake up and look at the scoreboard and sigh the result is ofcourse Pak winning (AGAIN). But the saving grace is, we weren't stripped naked of our dignity like in the last test match. We can still say we did put up a fight. Alas I missed this nail bitting of an end. Seems like it was one heck of a game.

Congrats to Pakistan. Butt played an awesome inning. The landslide of the Indian batsmen towards the end made the difference. Remember us whinning about the total of 328 not being enough? So kudos to Pakistani bowlers as well. Now it all seems justified. Well, what's done is done. This is to looking forward to the rest of the series and hoping for more such thrilling ends. :)

some sentences are hilarious especially the last one … one should remind the author how often Pak scored 300+ while chasing against India in the last 12months or so

What a nail biter, but all credit to Pakistan who hadn't given up eventhough the Indians had crossed 300. The last 10 overs eventually came back to haunt the Indians. To chase such a huge total is a great achievement, and we were never behind the D/L score, in fact always well ahead. Despite Inzi's controversial dismissal, Younis Khan kept his cool and was playing wonderfully.

Only two worries, first Rana's opening spell was horrendous, the extras nearly cost us the game. Second, why do we seem to self destruct when the match is in the bag. Afridi's suicidal run, Malik and Butt throw away their wickets, and an absolute shocker from Moyo. It seemed like the 5th ODI against England all over again.

For the Indians, I think the fact that they had to get Inzi out for obstructing the field speaks volumes about their bowling problems. Not defending 328 is criminal, and they must be looking to chase from now on.

Oye, get brains......... He got out and others just followed him..
He played a very mature innings...:)

yeah… what a loose statistic that one as well. Here’s my comment to that article - let’s see if it gets published “after moderation”.

Quote: “But, a 300-plus score in an ODI is still huge and chances of Pakistan reaching that are less than 40%.” (http://www.expressindia.com/fullstory.php?newsid=62463&pn=3)

I fail to understand where the above mentioned statistic is derived from. Just considering the two teams performances against each other in recent times, 300+ runs have been scored by both teams quite frequently… a simple search on cricinfo yields 17 matches played since the beginning of 2003, out of which 7 yielded runs in 300+ for at least one team. These are highlighted below. Out of the 7 matches where at least one team made 300+ runs, Pak has only been short of 300 runs in one instance, while India has been short 3 times. Therefore, Pak’s so called chances of making 300+ runs are about 6/7 times, i.e. 85%, while India’s come out at 57%.
2004-05 at Jamshedpur: Pak 319 India 213
2004-05 at Ahmedabad: India 315 Pak 319
2004-05 at Dehli: Pak 303 India 144
2004-05 at Visakhapatnam: India 356 Pak 298
2003-04 at Karachi: India 349 Pak 344
2003-04 at Rawalpindi: Pak 329 India 317
2004 at Colombo: Pak 300 India 241

From Pakistan’s point of view, I hope Sachin plays many more similarly mature innings, because when he scores a hundred, Pakistan usually wins.

As the set senior batsman, it was his responsibility to make sure he batted Pakistan out of the game. The fact that he attempted a ridiculously risky reverse sweep shot right after reaching his 100 doesn’t help.

yupp Muture Inning for Himself
not for india Wht is chappel doing Sending Irfan and Dhoni early he thinks he is making a plan for 2007 WC.Well if india will win the world cup for me.it will not be a big deal because after winning they will lose too often in other matches i think Irfan should only be a bowler nor a pinch hitter aur dhooni sirf yahaan naach raha hai asian pitches per bahaar jaa kar dhooty utar jaye gaye is ki phir bhi yaar india sirf ek chiz per dheen daita hai aur woh hai batting

Mashallah, must’ve been one heck of batting by Salman and Malik :clap: I can’t watch the highlights until tomorrow night :frowning: Congrats to all guppies and the team for successfully chasing the score :alhamd: :jhanda:

I am confused here, what you expect from him, a 100 with a good pace when Sehwag was gone. Sending Pathan and Dhoni up is team management's approach, they have been doing it from last few matches.
Where does 2007 WC, and Chappel comes into Tendu's innings?

I think what he means is that sending Pathan as one down is not a long term solution for India, Chappel has been doing it frequently now, trying to turn Pathan into a geniune allrounder. Overuse of Pathan will kill his bowling abilities and India will lose its top bowler. Dhoni might be used as one down, fine. On Tendulkar issue, I won’t take his century as of any value not just because of India lost the game, but the way he played it.

Who are you arguing with... You cannot satisfy likes of him and funguy etc. Even if Sachin scores 200 in 100 balls they will come back and say he didnot do in 90 balls.

Fact is that he moved from 87 to 100 in 12 balls.Yes he didnot hit big shots but he didnot waste any ball either.Another fact is that he let the inning revolve around him, inspite of Sehwag getting out early, for almost 42 overs and when he left run rate was close to 7. Another fact is that Mr. Asad Rauf showed his patriotism and gave him out when he was about to unleash his shots . Asad saved 25-30 runs for Pakistan.

Im sure he is wroking his ass off to get things in order. He is a good cricketer. Hope to see him back with new attacking mentality.