Pak v/s SA ---- 2nd ODI (Merged)

Waqar got thrashed in the opening overs but he made a good come back.:k: Sami was successful with his pace he got thrashed later on from tailender a lil bit. Imagine if Shoaib is fit and using his pace along with his rhythm SA will look hopeless like Aussies did in their backyard. If Shoaib could act sobre I am sure he will win everyone’s heart but he tend to lose track quite often and very easily. I wish PAK team could alway play like they did today. Bes of luck to PAK in the next game :jhanda:

Interesting, I was on irc reading the commentary and when the match was over some1 I don’t who actually that “some1” was said the same thing. He/She said “All I know is that it was all fluke for PAK nothing special” :hehe:

:hehe: dil ko laggi hogi, bhai… udher New Zealand mein jo honay wala hai.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

Apology accepted. I am not sure why you jumped with such a low level attack. The only two comments I made was

1. Except Elahi, Razzak and Inzi, no other batsmen was successful. Here is something for you:

R   M   B   4   6
Shahid Afridi   c Gibbs b Ntini         13  8   8   3   0
Yousuf Youhana      b Ntini          9  7   6   1   0
Younis Khan     b Donald    11  22  13  0   0
Wasim Akram     b Donald    0   1   1   0   0

I wanted to end this but now u r asking for it. How can u say everyone else failed if they didnt even get more than 7 overs to play. U know what, its a waste of time discussing this with u. :D
2. Afridi performed well. I always take him for a rather mediocre leg-spinner. He got 3 wickets for 35, compared to Waqar's 3 for 45

i dun know someone was saying that 256 runs 2nd wicket partnership is a world record.. noo its not.. actually yeh Pakistan ka best record hia with any country we play with..

congratss we won.. Question.. are u gonna broad cast next match or I have to buy another match :(

let us knwo

What a match!

I remember in April, there was similiar match between Australia and South Africa, both teams went into their 300s, but Australia came on top.

And this is the very same ground where India also played a huge knock against South Africa, not as big as this one.

Where are those people who said Pakistan batting sux!!

Please Please, come out from your hideout, what do you have to say now. I won't be surprised if they never comeback again.

And Faisal bhai, the figures you presented of other batsman not being able to score runs in this match, they were useless, because they came at a time, where you either hit the ball out of the ground or get out. So you can't say they didn't do well today.

The only man who didn't bat well is Afridi.

I said it all along, M Sami is promising bowler and specially in South African conditions, he will be invluable aspect to our number 1 bowling side in the world.

Waqar slapped everyone in the face tonite, those who criticized him all along, should be ashamed. Theway he bowled Smith And Gibbs, tells you how great this bowler is.

Afridi should now be counted as a specialist bowler as he has proved himself one.

I think we need to go with an extra batsman in Faisal Iqbal in the next one day in place of Saqlain.

Razzaq and Elahi showing their true colors.

So when is the next match?

Bring it on!

Well played by Pakistan as they outmatched South Africa in every Department. Great batting performence by Saleem Elahi and Abdul Razzaq. Lets hope Saleem Elahi continues his good batting throughout the series...but no doubt...he played well today. On the bowling, waqar got thrashed in the opening overs but came back nicely and Wasim was economical...and Afridi bowled well...as he picked up 3 wickets as well. He certainly deserves to be in the team...I don't know they didnt play him in the first match. And I agree with Umair on that Afridi must be considered as a specialist bowler...as he doesn't perfrom with the bat that often. Lets hope Pakistan continue their winning ways!!

haha, i told you question bhai, now all we need is that freak to come here and say it was a fluke :wink:

Where are the rest of the jokers of khel khilari? Remember how they vanished during the Pak series in Australia after the second match? I think the same thing happened to them today :wink: Becharay

Congratulations to our Paki friends : MIRACLES DO HAPPEN !!

I do not think that there has been any overnight improvement in the batting talents of the Pak team (which I am sure they will prove in the next match ;) ) but I do believe that this resounding victory will do a great deal of good to the confidence of the team...

Friends I can guarentee you that Pakistan will win the next 3 matches, not because of Pakistan's superiority but South Africa's confidence.
Once they loose badly, they keep on losing.
Thats what happend to them when Australia played them in the 7 ODI series in March.

Re: Congratulations to our Paki friends : MIRACLES DO HAPPEN !!

*Originally posted by Some1: *
I do not think that there has been any overnight improvement in the batting talents of the Pak team (which I am sure they will prove in the next match ;) ) but I do believe that this resounding victory will do a great deal of good to the confidence of the team...

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

The only man who didn't bat well is Afridi.

Waqar slapped everyone in the face tonite, those who criticized him all along, should be ashamed. Theway he bowled Smith And Gibbs, tells you how great this bowler is.

Afridi should now be counted as a specialist bowler as he has proved himself one.

I think we need to go with an extra batsman in Faisal Iqbal in the next one day in place of Saqlain.

well Afridi jitni dair bhi khaila acha khaila, and thats they way he should play in SA , play with heart. He gave them the momentum plus he bowled very well!

You are dead right about Waqar, i was looking for a proper word for what he did to his critics :)

and you are spot on with Faisal's inclusion too, and he should open with Elahi with Afridi coming in late order.

insha’allah we will win the series :k:

Wow! I am on a high :slight_smile:

All I’m gonna say for now is

The Boyz are back in Town :jhanda:

Full analysis later!

Now that Some1 is here, this thread suddenly got interesting. Post some more, will you? :D

Right, watched every ball of this match and a few thoughts. Firstly, Elahi made a decent ton which I think justifies what I said earlier about giving players a fair chance before we ditch them. I reckon Taufeeq might have done ok today as well on a good track, but in the end Afridi’s bowling and general enthusiasm more than justified his inclusion.

Razaq is a good no 3 and he should stay there IMO. He defends well when necessary and he can flay the attack when it’s time to step up the pace. The only bowler he can’t play is Shane Warne lol!

Bowling-wise Waqar was expensive but he bowled some jaffers today as well and got three top order wickets. He came back well and showed he’s still a class act as a bowler. I was a bit disappointed when Wasim came to congratulate him after one of the wickets fell he didn’t look too enthusiastic in his response. As Captain he can’t have that attitude to one of his players I think.

Afridi did a fine job with the ball, and his enthusiasm was a key factor in the win. His batting still sucks but his character more than makes up for it I guess :hehe:

I think this series will re-establish us as one of the teams to watch out for in the World Cup, but conditions do play a big part. Today we batted first on a great track and got to bowl at SA under lights – and did a great job without any doubt. Let’s see how things go if the situation is reversed.

An important turning point anyway. I think we are on the way back. :k:

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
I was a bit disappointed when Wasim came to congratulate him after one of the wickets fell he didn’t look too enthusiastic in his response. As Captain he can’t have that attitude to one of his players I think.

come on yaar, he shows a lot more respect and enthusiasm with Wasim, in the first ODI he hugged and tapped wasim twice or thrice when Wasim bowled Smith
Dont look for such things and ruin your celebrations. What i feel is that all the players are settled and united to do well in future!

Sorry yaar, i don't want to put a damper on things purposely but I noticed that. Wasim came running from the lentgh of the field to hug Waqar, and our captain turned his face away looking slightly confused.

I didn't see the first ODI so if Waqar did that then great. I'm proud of him for making that gesture :)

well Extreme Bhai, dont go onto Extremes, I watched each and every delievery and Waqar responded pretty well to everyone. and it was nice to see Waqar and Wasim together. Both are Gems of Pakistan, and Only media and our Pakistanis bring this kinds of difference, other wise I know its normal. If we dont care about this stuff then there is nothin in the team, Its totally Unified and playing as a single unit.
Waqar was not EXPENSIVE at all, that moment demanded HITTING and they (SA’s) were doing pretty well, even they flew some chances of edges which means badluck for Paki Bowlers, but then see how Waqar Responded, Middle stump Uprooted after that idiotic LBW decision by the umpire,
and under these circumstances, that was a great performance and come back,other wise Gibbs was going on everyball.
so it was natures call, e should be seeing the result, after all, all is well thats ends well. :k:

well said :k: