Man of the Match goes to Saleem Elahi :k:
*Originally posted by funguy: *
kis ka?
yaar gadhe ka to nahi hoga na.....kisi chicken ya mutton ka hoga
**Some facts about PAK and RSA after todays match
This is the 5th win for PAK in SA
335 was the highest total for PAk against SA infact highest total between these 2
Highest total for any team v RSA
Previous hig was 323 by SA
This is the 1st time PAk score 300+ against SA
And this is only the 4th win for PAK against SA in last 7 yrs
1st time RSA concede 300 in 1st innings... records galore
This match had the 5th and 6th tons Pakistanis have scored against South Africa in ODI Cricket
PAK-SA: played 31 ODI= SA won 21, PAK won 10
IN Last 7 yrs PAK-SA played 20 ODI and SA won 17 matches while PAK only 3
Pakistan Played 11 ODIS in SA and won 4 of those 11 matches in 3 visits
In their last visit to SA, Pak played 4 matches and lost all 4 of them
PAk success rate against SA 32.25%
PAk success rate against SA is 36.36% in SA
PAk highest run 263-6 agn SA in Sharjah in 1999/00 season
SA highest run 321-8 agn PAK in Nairobi in 1996/97 season
SA made 300+ twice in total
SA made 266+ runs Agn PAK 6 times.. when pak managed their highest only 263
PAk's lowest agn SA in 109 but pak got allout 4 times below
SA's lowest agn PAk is 101 and only once they got allout below 150 runs
Only 3 pakistani playes made 4 100s agn SA and Ijaz Ahmed made twice and his 114* is the highest for Pak agn SA
On the other hand, 6 S.African made 7 100s, and Cullinan made twice and his 124 is the highest for SA agn Pak
G Kirsten made 940 runs in 22 matches agn Pak for SA
Ijaz Ahmed made 663 for PAk in 24 matches Agn SA, Inzamam is in no.2 for Pak with 662 runs now Inzamam has the record
Waqar Younis took 48 wkts in 27 matches agn SA, Wasim Akram in no.2 with 30 wkts from 21 matches
L Klusener took 32 wkts in 15 matches agn Pak, Donald in no.2 with 21 wkts from 14 matches
Wasim and Waqar took 4 wkts in a match for 6 times togather agn SA,
Wasim took twice..rest 4 times by Waqar
8 S.African took 4 wkts in a match agn Pak 9 times in total.
Klusener took twice ..both time 5 wkts
Wasim Akram has best Figure 5/16 for Pak
Klusener has best figure 5/25 for SA
hey guppies who are constantly have thier swords out for Rashid and Waqar, kindly no negative comments tonight :). Pakistan has a resounding win and lets celbrate it with an open heart :k: though there is always room for improvement but THIS is the Pakistani team we love to watch! insha’allah Pakistan will do even better in coming matches :k:
Great win.. aur kuch nahi tau SA ka “jhaaka” tau nikla ab… We can beat them too! ![]()
Saleem Elahi, Razzaq and Inzi scored in this match. The rest did not. That continues to be worrying. Bowling was good… Afridi chaa giya hai :k: :k:
Faisal’s post is a typical example of someone who puts his two cents ONLY after looking at the scorecard at the end.
Afridi Chaa gaya hai?. lolzzzz
exactly!!
the rest did not good because they didnt get chance to do good ![]()
and ofcourse Afridi chha gaya but before that Waqar sahi ‘chaaya’ thaa!
Saby, :k: you read ma mind.
yeah thanks i am so good at it ![]()
khair that was a joke, i mean smoe guppies will just vanish from the scene till Pakistan loses another match, i wonder why is that ![]()
We as Pakistanis are not good at praising or admiring others’ acheivements. However, we love to criticize. This is exactly what I am doing right now. I am criticizing the desis who don’t give credit where it is due.
Pakistan won by 182 runs!
good news!
gr8 performance by Saleem Elahi and Abdur Razzaq
congrats!
** Total turn around by Pakistan in Port Elizabeth **](http://www-pak.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/DEC/105692_RSA_11DEC2002.html)
Pakistan, with a near perfect display of one-day cricket, has levelled the Standard Bank One-Day International series with an emphatic 175 run win over South Africa at St. George’s Park in Port Elizabeth.
Winning the toss on a pitch that was always going to suit them a lot better than the one they had to face in Durban, Pakistan made their intentions clear with Shahid Afridi setting the tone of the innings in the first over.
Short-lived joy for the South Africans, the early wicket of Shahid Afridi for 13 off eight balls, turned into despair as Saleem Elahi and Abdur Razzaq set about the bowling scoring a record second wicket partnership of 257 in 40 overs.
Things might have been different had Lance Klusener held onto a fairly easy catch at third man when Saleem Elahi was on 34 and the Pakistan score 66, but that did not deter the batsman from taking full advantage of his second chance.
In complete contrast to the innings in Durban, he batted magnificently, to record his third hundred in four innings, surpassing his highest score of 108. By the time he was caught at cover for 135 off 129 balls included 19 sparkling boundaries, the highest score by a Pakistan batsman against South Africa, the damage had been done. When asked about his innings all he could only say was “Happy”.
Abdur Razzaq was a surprise coming in at number three, where he has had limited success, and played a marvellous chanceless career best innings of 112, his first hundred in this form of cricket. Using 120 balls to score his runs he recorded 13 fours and two sixes.
With the remaining batsmen throwing caution to the wind it was only Inzamam-ul-Haq who managed to score a quick 36 off 22 balls to leave Pakistan on a massive 335/6, the highest score ever by any team against South Africa and at St. George’s Park.
When the slaughter was complete, the bowling figures were in tatters with none of the South African bowlers able to maintain an economy rate of less than six runs per over. Makhaya Ntini and Allan Donald had some success with two wickets apiece.
Too win South Africa would have had to break the record for a team batting second and winning, improving on the 330 scored by Australia at the same ground after South Africa had posted 327.
A good start was imperative and Herschelle Gibbs provided it. A 57 run partnership with Graeme Smith ended when Waqar Younis, after having a good LBW decision turned down, replied by clean bowling Gibbs for 40 in the eighth over.
The wicket seemed to inspire him and he proceeded to bowl two excellent maidens in a row including the wicket of Smith for 18, who seemed to run out of patience charging down the pitch to drag the ball into the stumps.
Neil McKenzie became the third wicket of Waqar Younis when an in-swinger trapped him right in front for four.
Mohammad Sami, picking up three wickets, once again used his pace to caused problems for the South African batsmen. Boje, on the pull, was caught at long leg. Rhodes played outside a ball to be bowled and Kallis chased a wide one to be caught behind.
South Africa had in the space of 10.3 overs gone from 57/1 to 100/7 and Pakistan was well on its way to a well deserved win.
Pollock and Klusener resisted for a short period before Shahid Afridi, who had Mark Boucher caught behind, bowled Pollock with the wrong one and had Donald caught behind.
Bowled out for 153, South Africa recorded its lowest score against Pakistan in 12 home internationals.
The only positive for South Africa was the increased confidence and form of Lance Klusener. Ending the night undefeated on 29 he seems to be on the return to the form he showed during the 1999 World Cup.
Pakistan must rate this as one of their best performances in recent years and a total turn around from the performance in Durban. Their batting was near faultless and once Waqar Younis found his rhythm it filtered through to the rest of the team.
An emphatic win that should make them favourites for East London on Friday night before they move on to the quicker pitches in Cape Town and Paarl.
Faisal's post is a typical example of someone who puts his two cents ONLY after looking at the scorecard at the end.
Afridi Chaa gaya hai?. lolzzzz
Did I ever deny that? I would say something, but time waste karnay ka koi faida nahi. I really feel sorry for you, who has nothing to offer except to mock other people. Totally pathetic.
http://sports.yahoo.com/m/sk/news/reuters/20021211/reu-pakistanquotes20021211.html
**Pollock admits his side were outplayed in record defeat **
PORT ELIZABETH (Reuters) - South African captain Shaun Pollock said his team had been outplayed in every department after their record defeat to Pakistan in the second one-day international.
Having conceded more runs than ever before in 50 overs, South Africa could only reply to Pakistan’s 335 for six with 153 all out.
“When you’re chasing a huge score like that you tend to either get close or get bowled out cheaply. There’s no point in aiming for 280, you have to try to make the score but we just couldn’t get any partnerships going,” Pollock said after the match.
“Obviously we didn’t play well but they did and they deserve a lot of credit, particularly the two batsmen who put the partnership together,” Pollock said.
Opener Salim Elahi (135) and all rounder Abdul Razzaq (112) posted 257 runs for the second wicket.
"We would be even more disappointed if the result had anything to do with complacency from our side but I don’t believe it did.
“It just puts into perspective how good this Pakistan team can be. Remember they did beat Australia in Australia earlier this year,” Pollock said.
South Africa could well play a World Cup semi-final at St. George’s Park should they progress that far but Pollock was unconcerned.
“If you reach a World Cup semi-final it really doesn’t matter what has happened before, it’s what happens on the day. I’m not worried about that. But if somebody manages to score 330 in a World Cup semi-final then that really would be a big ask!” Pollock said.
Pakistan skipper Waqar Younis was surprisingly subdued after his team’s massive victory but praised the twin centurions.
Asked what special methods of motivation he had used to inspire his men, Waqar replied: “I told them to enjoy themselves.”
**“It just puts into perspective how good this Pakistan team can be. Remember they did beat Australia in Australia earlier this year,” Pollock said. **
Sweet ![]()
Waqar replied: "I told them(team) to enjoy themselves
Muaah!!! ![]()
**Pakistan condemned South Africa to their worst ever one-day defeat to level the series. ** :smash:
[thumb=A]_38578773_elahi_razzaq300ap.JPG[/thumb]
Elahi and Razzaq played some brilliant shots
After taking a drubbing from the hosts in the first game, Pakistan hit back in style at St George’s Park, **with Salim Elahi laying the foundations for a 182-run victory with his third one-day century in four innings. :biggthumb:
Together with Abdur Razzaq, Elahi shared a magnificent partnership of 257 for the second wicket, a record for any team against South Africa in one-day internationals. ** :biggthumb:
[thumb=A]_38578803_donald_150ap.JPG[/thumb]
Allan Donald shows his frustration ![]()
A late flurry of wickets including two in the last over for Allan Donald failed to check the Pakistanis, whose final total of 335 was the fourth highest they have made.
South Africa’s previous worst one-day defeat was when the West Indies beat them by 107 runs in Kingston in 1992.
It was a perfect response by Pakistan after a poor batting display in the opening match of the series, which South Africa won at a canter by 132 runs.
The tourists recalled Sahid Afridi to open the batting with Elahi and he set the tone with three boundaries in making 13 from eight deliveries before he was caught by Herschelle Gibbs off Makhaya Ntini.
It failed to disturb Elahi, whose timing was perfect as he produced strokes of high quality all round the wicket, although he benefitted from being dropped on the boundary by Lance Klusener on 34.
Klusener and spinner Nicky Boje suffered the heaviest punishment as first Elahi and then Razzaq - with his first one-day hundred - reached three figures.
The pair were eventually parted when Razzaq slammed a full toss from Klusener straight down the throat of Ntini at long-on for 111.
Elahi followed shortly afterwards but for South Africa, the damage had already been done.
Set such a daunting target, their batsmen began briskly but once Waqar Younis had removed opener Herschelle Gibbs, their batting order collapsed.
Waqar also bowled Gibbs’ fellow opener Graeme Smith and trapped Neil McKenzie lbw in a an opening spell of seven overs that earned him 3-45.
Mohammad Sami proved equally effective in a five-over burst worth 3-26 and Afridi inflicted the damage on the lower order, also taking three wickets.
Saqlain Mushtaq then caught and bowled Ntini to wrap up a comprehensive victory :k:
Pakistan’s best ODI scores
-
371-9 v Sri Lanka, Nairobi 1996
-
344-5v Zimbabwe, Bulawayo 2002
-
338-5v Sri Lanka, Swansea 1983
-
**335-6 v South Africa Port Elizabeth 2002 **
-
330-6 v Sri Lanka Nottingham 1975
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Did I ever deny that? I would say something, but time waste karnay ka koi faida nahi. I really feel sorry for you, who has nothing to offer except to mock other people. Totally pathetic.
Faisal, I am sorry if I my comments made u angry. Wasn't the intent. I was just trying to point out how people make a mistake of analyzing things without fully knowing the details. I always thought u were a fact based interactor but I was disappointed in your flawed judgment. That's all.
Apology accepted. I am not sure why you jumped with such a low level attack. The only two comments I made was
- Except Elahi, Razzak and Inzi, no other batsmen was successful. Here is something for you:
R M B 4 6
Shahid Afridi c Gibbs b Ntini 13 8 8 3 0
Yousuf Youhana b Ntini 9 7 6 1 0
Younis Khan b Donald 11 22 13 0 0
Wasim Akram b Donald 0 1 1 0 0
- Afridi performed well. I always take him for a rather mediocre leg-spinner. He got 3 wickets for 35, compared to Waqar's 3 for 45
It never rains but it pours...
Some1, would be really interested in your views, was this another fluke? hehe